Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tues July 31st 18:45 Three Rock -v- Mellon Heads

• 27-07-2007 11:44am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭

Early start in 3 rock this tuesday: Tues July 31st 18:45 Three Rock -v- Mellon Heads - as usual update the list above your post with your status.

Anyone planning to bring mates along for a run with next season in mind be sure to list them in the Others section here - if there's loads of new players will need to put a cap on it and schedule a separate session/friendlies for them to show what they can do. Again, as in the 'Next Season' thread, we're not just looking for lads to make up the numbers next season, we're looking for good players who will be commited for the whole season and will improve the squad, so keep that in mind.

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - unknown
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - will be there
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - unknown
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - unknown
    Others - none yet

Edit: joe can I bum a ride w/ you from sandyford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - unknown
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - none yet[/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - unknown
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Im gonna stay as Unknown on this one. Its an early kick off, so I havent made these ones yet. But Im not saying I wont make until I know for sure.

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - Unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - unknown
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Fatmag

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - will be there
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - none yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - will be there
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - Sav

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - will be there
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - Sav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - will be there
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - Sav

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Art - will be there
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Others - Sav

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Would've expected a few more new players to have been using tomorrow night to show what they can do, as Des said last week. I've added 2 lads I know below, but was expecting others.

Anyone know what the story with Niall, Colm Field, Enda is?

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - will be there
    Michael - will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - will be there
    Art - will be there
    Anto - unknown
    Martin - will be there
    Sav - will be there
    Others - Fran, Ken (both mates of Gav&Jules)

Anto will be going if he can't get time off work to go to see shels play in Kilkenny afaik. I cant go so I can play. Sfc Red, who expressed his interest in the other thread is going to that game but intends to come along next week afaik. A midweek match in Kilkenny is ridiculous. Ah, the eircom league, tis brilliant :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

As LR said above i'll be heading to Kilkenny lads but i'll certainly be there next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Shels are in Kilkenny tomorrow?

Jules can you give a lift from Sandyford?

Myself, Ed and Martin need to get there.

I can get a bus from Drumcondra Station though it'll probably take 90 mins to 2 hours to get their on the bus in rush hour traffic

Anyone know what the story with Niall, Colm Field, Enda is?

Yeah, I had a PM from Niall over the weekend, he's off on hols, but he has been injured, he was injured in the cup game, tried to start the nexct game but had to come off. I actually prefer that lads tell me they aren't a hundred percent, than be a liability during games. (which Niall did do that day, but we were fairly short on numbers afai remember).

Colm Field has been out injured for ages too, but he's in contact with me every week anyway.

Enda went off to France a few weeks ago, obviously has no internet connection.:confused:

Jules – will be there
    Michael - will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Holidays
    Ed - will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will Be There
    Gav - will be there
    Art - will be there
    Anto - Won't be there
    Martin - will be there
    Sav - will be there
    Others - Fran, Ken (both mates of Gav&Jules)

That's fourteen for this evening.

Jules – will be there
    Michael - will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Shay - will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Holidays
    Ed - will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will Be There
    Gav - will be there
    Art - will be there
    Anto - Won't be there
    Martin - will be there
    Sav - will be there
    Others - Fran, Ken (both mates of Gav&Jules), Larry

Makes fifteen for this evening.

Yeh, I can give lifts from Sandyford. Will PM Des with details later, but its a 2 minute walk from sandyford or stillorgan luas stops, and we'd want to be aiming for 17:45 cos its a nightmare getting out of the industrial estate.

Car is jammed with tools but should be able to take 3 passengers just about.

OK Jules, if you can take three that'll be me, Ed and Martin, if not then I'll send Ed up to go with Joe and Colm. and myself and martin will meet you. I'll finish work at five so I'll be well on time, so will Martin.

That's if Joe can give lifts, I've just texted him to find out.

I'll post when he replies.

OK, Joe got back to me.

He'll pick up at 6.10 at the usual place. So Colm and Ed can be there.

I'll meet Martin at Sandyford, and we'll go in Jules' car.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

LeixlipRed wrote:
    Anto will be going if he can't get time off work to go to see shels play in Kilkenny afaik. I cant go so I can play. Sfc Red, who expressed his interest in the other thread is going to that game but intends to come along next week afaik. A midweek match in Kilkenny is ridiculous. Ah, the eircom league, tis brilliant :D

Dude sfc red is my foot.ie name, get with the programme :D

Yeah LR is right. 99% of the time I'd play football myself over watching but the male parental figure has gotten the day off work to bring me so I shall be Kilkenny bound this week but available from then on.

Boardeaux 5-1 Mellon Heads

g'rup!

Our biggest win in a competitive match lads, well done to all involved.

We're building a nice base for next season, and we have a very good team spirit now, we keep that level of performance up and we'll do very well next term.

Very impressive tonight lads. Easily could have won by more and we were rarely roubled at the back. Looking forward to claiming that right full position as my own and the beginning of the new season :D

Yeh, that was a great performance lads....fair play all-round. Great to see such good football being played, the last 2 were great goals - great all-round build-up and a good lay-off by Joe for Colm's goal, and great work by Ed and Art down the left and a super finish by Art for the fifth.

They were not a bad team (2nd or 3rd in league), but were made to look average, and when you consider that their goal was a freebie, and me and Sav should've added at least 2 more goals, it shows what a good performance it was.

Encouraging thing for next season was the improvement in all areas of the pitch, and the competition for places that the new players are bringing can really only help push us on to the next level next season. Also great to see the massive improvement on cutting out the back-chat to the ref.

and me and Sav should've added at least 2 more goals, it shows what a good performance it was.
    And Ed's free that got a decent save from their 'keeper, was closer to the target than our two earlier frees!!
    Also great to see the massive improvement on cutting out the back-chat to the ref.
    Apart from the sending off!!

seansouth wrote:
    Apart from the sending off!!

Gutted..miss the last game of season over that! First time Ive ever opened my mouth to him and he shows me the line...lesson learned!
    He's still a c*nt tho! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Nice work by everyone, particularly liked gav's 2nd goal (just before half time) from hassling the defender.

Thought it was good how they really didn't have many chances despite having a very good player up front.

Goalscorers (for our 80,000 fans) were:
    Gav
    Gav
    Larry
    Colm L
    Art

LoBo wrote:
    Thought it was good how they really didn't have many chances despite having a very good player up front.

I wouldn't say he was very good, just big and strong and fast. We should have dealt with him better in the 1st half he got too much of the ball. At times we needed to put a foot in and let him know we were there, it was too easy for him at times.

If I can be a negative bollix for a minute and spoil the party, the result wasn't really reflective of the game overall IMHO.

Remember everything was evenly poised at 1-1 in the first half with neither team really dominating, it took a deflected goal to put us 2-1 in front. That, along with Gav's goal to put us 3-1 up, both happened in quick succession right before the half time whistle which really took the wind out of their sails. Otherwise I think we were all subconciously settling for a 1-1 HT, which would have been a different kettle of fish in the second half.

I'm not taking anything away from the win, we did deserve it overall but it took a bit of lady luck to get us moving, on another day we might not get that lucky break so I don't think we should take our eye off the ball (pun intended).
    Our biggest enemy right now is complacency tbh.

Nope, no room for negativity here, you're off the team. :D

You make some very good points Sav.

But I think that once we went 3-1, there was only ever going to be one result. They started to lose the heads, just like the team last week, and once that happens, you can kiss goodbye to a result. It was happening to us at the start of the season.

I think it was 2-1 at half time? Gav scored them both. Now, the goal they got was a total fluke, error of judgement from Karl, but these things happen. In fairness, we'd had two free kicks, and Jules' chance before they scored.They had a free kick too. We had made more chances, but yeah, that big lad they had up front was trying to create for them. Our defence did well though, and shut them out.

I made a couple of changes at half time, which I said I'd do, and it took a few minutes for everyone to adjust, but our attacking play in the second half was the best I've ever seen from a Boardeaux team. Good passing, good movement, there were decent options for a pass, this starts with the defenders by the way, but yeah, we played around them, rather than trying to force the issue. Everyone fought for the scraps, and we won the majority of the 50/50 posession.

Our third and fourth goals, Larry and Colm, while not things of beauty, were well worked, we got the ball into the box, and got among the defenders, made them make mistakes. And when the chances came, we took them. That is what has been missing. That bit of luck you talked about, but honestly, I think to a certain extent, you make your own luck at times, with pure hard work, good play and never giving up.

As I said already, after Larry scored, they lost it. That goal was decisive, because I felt thay had started to maybe get a bit more posession around our box, get a couple of shots off. Yeah, maybe one of the shots could have brought it back to 2-2, but, again, the defence held out, as they have done for a good few weeks. We haven't been gifting posession very often, and the back four cover each other very well, and stupidly conceded goals have been cut out.

That third goal galvinised us. We could tell that the other team had started to fight the ref that they were frustrated. Our lads see that, and it relaxes us. "Keep doing what we're doing and we'll be ok, nothing stupid, nothing rash, just keep playing the game". The attackers have confidence in the defenders, and the defenders know that if they can get posession and pick a decent pass, the attackers won't waste it. By gaining posession I mean either forcing a wayward pass, a good tacle on their attacker, or force a shot that goes wide. Make them chase the game.

A couple more chances came our way, and the fourth and fifth goals were the icing on the cake.

It could have been more. Jules' first half chance, your own shot that clattered the bar and Ed's free kick got a decent save out of the keeper. I think they had four, possibly five, shots of note in the whole hour.

I agree with you about the luck. But it's luck that has been passing us by in the early part of the season. Swings and roundabouts I suppose.

Complacancy can be a killer alright, I agree with that, but I suppose that's up to me to not let it take a hold. I better have an aul read of Fergie's book before next week :)

:o

Jesus, that was long, and I do apologise if it comes accross as a bit ranty, I certainly don't mean that.