Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

making dublin UGGlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ahh Uggs - possibly one of the worst things to happen ever. OK they may be comfortable but no guy finds them even remotely attractive. They smack of lack of effort and laziness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Down with this sort of thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Jeebus

Was waiting for another thread like this to come round. They seem to have had another surge in popularity.

Uggs look awful, all men will agree with this. They are always worn by women with jeans and an Abercrombie & Fitch hoodie. I saw three girls in Shannon airport walk by each other in literally the EXACT same outfit a week or two ago, the exact same right down to a tee.

It smacks of complete lack of confidence too, as if your fashion has to completely conform to whats 'in' at the moment. And don't give me that "they're comfy/warm" crack either - get yourself a pair of those fluffy slippers shaped like gorillas feet - they'll look better and all.

Such a vast amount of women dress the same these days that its prompted many discussions of this very subject between myself and my friends lately - all of which have ended with a split of opinion in the group : whether we should burn all of these people who dress the same on a steak, or pity them. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

i think there ok actually, (and im a fella).,
    see blokes get shoes specifically because there warm and comfy, why shouldnt the girls do the same?
    what does get on my nerves is those studenty lookin ones that wear manky addidas/reebok runners with the Oneils navy tracksuit bottoms that are too long and scraping off the ground with all frayed bits on the end oh and usually a hoodie, even in the rain they wear these bottoms.,
    anyone else know the type im on about.,lol., you'll see loads of them in town.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Ahhh a good Aussie icon.

I do actually think they can look good on a really hot chick with a nice tanned pair of legs. I have seen lots of cute lil vixens pull them off real well but on some outer suburban trashbag they just look cheap particularly wearing those trackie dacks with writing on the ass .. no thanks. Apparently Pamela Anderson was spotted wearing them a while ago ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

KamiKazi wrote: »

thanks for posting that, didnt know wtf they where :confused:

My boyfriend thinks they are sexy on me with tights and a hoody

and he understands why I wear them and on one occasion tried them on himself*

babe if you're reading sorry but you said they were so comfy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

My boyfriend thinks they are sexy on me with tights and a hoody

and he understands why I wear them and on one occasion tried them on himself*

babe if you're reading sorry but you said they were so comfy:D

of course he said that, he's no fool. one of the first lessons we learn about women. "how do i look? you look lovely darling". what you probably didn't hear is when he muttered: "just don't wear them in public okay?"

as for him trying them on, it says a lot about him really: 1) he likes you very much, 2) he has small feet 3)well we know what small feet mean :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wear them under jeans for warmth and comfort
    €8 in Penneys, all you can see is a bit of black under my jeans

they're really ugly and I'm embarassed by them
    and if you wear them over jeans or with skirts they make your legs look fat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

so ye dont like uggs then lads....
    http://www.w3sh.com/archives/UGG-all-ads6-thumb.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

eo980 wrote: »
    Ahh Uggs - possibly one of the worst things to happen ever. OK they may be comfortable but no guy finds them even remotely attractive. They smack of lack of effort and laziness.

True. I wear mine only when I couldn't be arsed tying laces and I know I wont be getting out of the car, like last night when I collected my sister from work. (Great driving shoes, and great for making sure your pyjamas pants stay dry! Again, this is only when I wont be seen in public!) I don't have a problem if people want to wear them, I just don't really like them on me. My boyfriend has alway hated them, always called them my ugly boots, and I know few guys who find them attractive. That said, some girls can wear them and look great. It's just the other 99% who look awful! (Like me!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TheB

vtec wrote: »
    i think there ok actually, (and im a fella).,
    see blokes get shoes specifically because there warm and comfy, why shouldnt the girls do the same?

We do.. but IMO they don't need to be as hideous as Uggs to do the job .. I have(lower) thigh/knee length (depending on whether you turn down the cuff) soft-as-butter caramel leather boots .. they are very warm and comfy (heel is high-ish but wide) plus they make my legs look both slimmer than they really are and about 4 miles long.. the only thing they have in common with Uggs is they are a similar(ish) colour..

I love them so much I bought a pair in black too! :D

Bx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

Femmy wrote: »

!= reality

she'd look hotter in heels too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,780 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Cremo wrote: »
    what i don't get is with this freezing weather these boots are actually quite practical,

Rubbish,

These are practical
    http://www.amazon.com/Danner-Fort-Lewis-200-Gram/dp/B000MSPZ96

Remember proper boots and skirts were fashionable?
    Those were the days :D

fortunately, some girls look hot whatever they wear. as mentioned though, she'd look better without them. Also, that's a photo trick, the leg is bent and the ugg is tucked under the leg, so it doesn't look like she has elephant stumps for legs as she would do if she were standing. on the other hand, if she were standing we wouldn't be looking at her shoes:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

but unfortunately most of the horrors wearing ugg boots look nothing like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I find it even stranger that anyone would let someones else's footwear bother them enough to go on about it this much.

No we still don't like Uggs. As mentioned she'd look far hotter in other footwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

UGGs are ok looking though much prefer the knee height leather boots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

how many chics would you encounter on a daily basis with legs that long? very feckin' few. don't delude yourself that just because one person with Peter Crouch disorder can pull them off everyone can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,780 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

gcgirl wrote: »

Bonus Points

As would most guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭halfinch

ei....but there are comfy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

but the same problem can exists with boots as with uggs (although not as bad) but they can still make your legs look frickn' massive! they are worst over jeans.

TheB wrote: »
    We do.. but IMO they don't need to be as hideous as Uggs to do the job .. I have(lower) thigh/knee length (depending on whether you turn down the cuff) soft-as-butter caramel leather boots .. they are very warm and comfy (heel is high-ish but wide) plus they make my legs look both slimmer than they really are and about 4 miles long.. the only thing they have in common with Uggs is they are a similar(ish) colour..

I love them so much I bought a pair in black too! :D

Bx

nothing wrong with good old fcuk-me boots:D

of course he said that, he's no fool. one of the first lessons we learn about women. "how do i look? you look lovely darling". what you probably didn't hear is when he muttered: "just don't wear them in public okay?"

as for him trying them on, it says a lot about him really: 1) he likes you very much, 2) he has small feet 3)well we know what small feet mean :p

Yeah just thought of that now you said that but mine are very roomy,

He is a size 11 and that myth does really apply to him (yay for me) but I really have found that big feet does not always mean big socks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

well we know what small feet mean :p

We do indeed, small feet -> small shoes :D
    kowloon wrote: »
    Rubbish,

These are practical
    http://www.amazon.com/Danner-Fort-Lewis-200-Gram/dp/B000MSPZ96

Remember proper boots and skirts were fashionable?
    Those were the days :D
    Get with the days please! My god, what you're suggesting there is complete social suicide! :eek:

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    We do indeed, small feet -> small shoes :D
    Get with the days please! My god, what you're suggesting there is complete social suicide! :eek:

Actually with the right outfit and 'look' from the lady they'd be kinda hot. Much more so than Uggs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Like, OH! MY! GOD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

Flukey wrote: »
    As for being the ugliest things around, some of you are probably too young to remember legwarmers or cullottes!! Hopefully they never come back.

Culottes! Aaarrrggghhhhh!!!! When I was 12 my mother got a pair, and myself and my brother told her they were horrible. We learned a lesson about women that day, after seeing the sulk we sent her into, but she learned a lesson too: culottes stink. But wait and see... they'll come back one day!

UGGs look great on a really sexy girl, but then again, as long as a girl is sexy enough, she can wear literally anything, even a bin liner, and she'll look good*.

* Except culottes.