Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Restricted List out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Here ye are.
    Great stuff, thanks for that Sidney; I ran your scans through an OCR program, results attached for everyone's printing and copy'npasting pleasure.
    I'm pretty sure it's a true and accurate rendition, but it's very UNOFFICIAL.

If anyone sees any errors in the transcription, let me know and I'll change it asap.

edited to add:
    Buggery!, rrpc beat me to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Thanks for beating me to it you guys, but it's not a fair match if I'm sitting here in the middle of an ESB powercut :p

Hmmm.

“assault rifles” means—
    a)rifles capable of functioning as semi-automatic firearms and as automatic firearms,
    b)firearms that resemble such rifles;

So a firearm that resembles an automatic firearm is restricted. Thing is, I don't know what specific cosmetic feature makes a firearm resemble an automatic firearm which a hunting rifle does not have. I mean, sure, AR-15s are an easy fit to this, but the M-16 is not the only automatic firearm out there and it certainly isn't the only pattern for one. The M-14 is as well, and the M-1 Garand had fully automatic firing modes added towards the end of the second world war. And both of those look a lot like most hunting rifles. Lovely.

shotguns manufactured, adapted or modified so as to render them incapable of containing more than 3 cartridges,
    That's a pretty major change, taking a range of shotguns that were legal for use on clay pigeons and other non-game things and making them restricted.

the following short firearms designed for use in connection with competitions governed by International Olympic Committee regulations:
    The designed for is, I understand, already recognised for that daftness that it is (a lot of firearms now winning ISSF matches in Ireland are not designed for ISSF matches, they're just suitable for them - things like the Ruger and Browning .22 pistols and that new plastic Hamerreli for example).
    But more annoying is the fact that there are no International Olympic Committee regulations for firearms or target shooting competitions. There are ISSF rules, but the IOC don't get involved. That's already been shown when the IPSC applied to the IOC to be in the Athens Olympics and were told "not up to us, check with the ISSF, we don't do that sort of thing". So basicly, that paragraph is a nonsense.

And of course, 5(a):
    ammunition with penetrating, explosive or incendiary projectiles
    Amazing what damage one comma can do, isn't it? :D
    (Anyone here got projectiles that won't penetrate? Other than airsofters and paintballers?)

I'm pretty sure you could argue that shotgun cartridges, of all types, now qualify as sabot rounds under that SI as well.

There is something bothering me though - there's a nice definition in there of "silencer", but that's a definition in an SI - and an SI cannot overrule an Act (if it could, you could just redefine law as a Minister without ever needing to go near the Dail, which would make a coup d'etat a lot easier on the paperwork, but a lot more frequent an occurance as well). So now we have conflicting definitions for things like silencers and long firearms and so forth; how's that to be reconciled?

And that bullpup rifle bit is a bit daft as well. I'm sure G22 owners won't like it much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Sparks wrote: »
    Thanks for beating me to it you guys, but it's not a fair match if I'm sitting here in the middle of an ESB powercut :p

And that bullpup rifle thing is a bit daft really. It's like they just want to get rid of the G22, but that's already

Another powercut? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Should pay the bill on time :D

Shouldn't let construction crews dig with JCBs near substations...
    And not sure what happened with the editor there.

So a firearm that resembles an automatic firearm is restricted.

There is a straight pull Steyr Aug in 223 availabe in UK. Any chance of getting one here now ? :( Only restricted but what are the chances ?

There's mention of a prohibited weapon, 5 (g) "ammunition for a prohibited weapon", where is this list ? Is there one ?

The prohibited list is in the Act Bunny, it's mostly things like flamethrowers, stun guns, cannons, that sort of thing.

In Section 1:
    “prohibited weapon” means and includes any weapon of whatever description designed for the discharge of any noxious liquid, noxious gas or other noxious thing, and also any ammunition (whether for any such weapon or any other weapon) which contains or is designed or adapted to contain any noxious liquid, noxious gas or other noxious thing;

the following short firearms designed for use in connection with competitions governed by International Olympic Committee regulations:
    The designed for is, I understand, already recognised for that daftness that it is (a lot of firearms now winning ISSF matches in Ireland are not designed for ISSF matches, they're just suitable for them - things like the Ruger and Browning .22 pistols and that new plastic Hamerreli for example).
    But more annoying is the fact that there are no International Olympic Committee regulations for firearms or target shooting competitions. There are ISSF rules, but the IOC don't get involved. That's already been shown when the IPSC applied to the IOC to be in the Athens Olympics and were told "not up to us, check with the ISSF, we don't do that sort of thing". So basicly, that paragraph is a nonsense.
    It can be a bit funnier than that Sparks. AFAIK, the ISSF sport pistol competition was actually derived from the NRA (US) bullseye pistol competition and many of the firearms designed for that were transferred straight over to ISSF.

Bit of a chicken and egg really.

Other countries (Canada for example) also use the Olympic designation. Because the IOC delegate to the respective sports governing bodies, it's a distinction without a difference and it's easier for people to know what they're referring to.

The 'designed for' bit could be a double-edged sword, because it implies intention on the part of the manufacturer. As everyone knows, manufacturers make things to sell them, so no manufacturer is going to say "my product is designed for the Olympics and you can't use it for anything else".

A quick trawl of websites shows that very few use the 'Olympic' word at all. Anschütz refer to ISSF, Pardini do mention Olympics but only in reference to medals won.

The ISSF rules only specify the size and shape (including grip shape), weight and minimum trigger weight for pistols.

All those with six ounce triggers on their Hammerlis take note :D

The prohibited list is in the Act Bunny, it's mostly things like flamethrowers, stun guns, cannons, that sort of thing.

Ivan will be disappointed :D

Thing is RRPC, it's not what they mean, it's what they say...

For example, if they say IOC, do they mean ISSF events in the Olympics only; or all ISSF events? (For the non-ISSF shooters, there are events - such as fullbore pistol shooting - which are not in the Olympics (since the early 70s) but which are ISSF events. The implications there should be obvious)

Thing is RRPC, it's not what they mean, it's what they say...

I think you've missed my point. As very few manufacturers (if indeed any) say their pistols were designed for Olympic competition, does that not mean that there are none?

That sort of is my point rrpc :D

If I've understood the SI properly, the drafters ought to have said "suitable for ISSF competition", not "designed for IOC competition". And if the SI has mistakes like that in it (and like the conflicting definitions), then it's going to add to the problem we see now where noone's sure what the story is.

That sort of is my point rrpc :D

Well now that we're agreed on that, the only other place you went wrong was with the ISSF fullbore pistol which is restricted anyway.

If you take the derogation at face value, it means .22 semi and single shot pistols only.

There could be arguments with regard to the semis, but I can't see any with the single shot free pistol.

As for the semis, the only rule is the ISSF one, and that just about covers everything in a .22 semi-auto.

Except Walther P22's of course ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bigred

to Sparks and RRPC's discussion of Olympic vs ISSF;

Won't the lack of a list of specific, named list of allowed & restricted firearms just mean the local super will look at a picture of a pistol and if it's got a match grip and looks 'targety' it's ok, as opposed to someone buying, say, a sig mosquito and wanting to do some informal target shooting.

What about all those guys from Hilltop and places like that with revolvers etc. - they're hardly 'Olympic Grade', but are good enough to hold some of the best scores in the country at the moment.

They're hardly going to have a list of all the pistols used in previous Olympics and base their decisions on this? How would they even know?
    Is it all back again to the 'idontlikethelookothat' school of law-making for this area at least.

Did those of you involved in this process ever discuss the generation of a database of allowed/restricted/prohibited, such as that which exists in Canada? Given we've gone one step, is this something possible in the coming years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Seamus357

I assume if your shotgun came with a magazine restrictor limiting the capacity to three rounds then it is in compliance with the restricted list? This is currently the case for hunting anyway.

(a) shotguns manufactured, adapted or modified so as to render them incapable of containing more than 3 cartridges, but not to shotguns

bigred wrote: »
    to Sparks and RRPC's discussion of Olympic vs ISSF;

Won't the lack of a list of specific, named list of allowed & restricted firearms just mean the local super will look at a picture of a pistol and if it's got a match grip and looks 'targety' it's ok, as opposed to someone buying, say, a sig mosquito and wanting to do some informal target shooting.

Presumably that's what the DoJ had in mind to be honest, otherwise the distinction wouldn't have been made.
    What about all those guys from Hilltop and places like that with revolvers etc. - they're hardly 'Olympic Grade', but are good enough to hold some of the best scores in the country at the moment.
    That's a whole different area bigred. Although a revolver will work for the competitions, it can be a major disadvantage at rapid disciplines, only mitigated by the fact that trigger weights are reduced way below the minimum.
    Did those of you involved in this process ever discuss the generation of a database of allowed/restricted/prohibited, such as that which exists in Canada? Given we've gone one step, is this something possible in the coming years?
    Yes, Sparks brought it up with them as well as others. The problem with a list is that it can never be definitive and needs to be kept up to date as well as making the whole thing extremely unwieldy. I'm assuming a commonsense approach will be adopted, I can't see why it won't. In cases of dispute, it wouldn't take much to prove whether a pistol was suitable or not.

rrpc wrote: »
    Yes, Sparks brought it up with them as well as others.
    Actually, no I didn't, I was there when it was raised and didn't contradict the chap who suggested it, but I don't agree with the idea for similar reasons to the ones you raised. I didn't contradict it at the time because you don't get into an internal dispute with your team while sitting at a negotiating table!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Seamus357 wrote: »
    I assume if your shotgun came with a magazine restrictor limiting the capacity to three rounds then it is in compliance with the restricted list? This is currently the case for hunting anyway.

(a) shotguns manufactured, adapted or modified so as to render them incapable of containing more than 3 cartridges, but not to shotguns

Hunting yes, protected species hunted under season, but for vermin you could have as many cartridges as your gun could hold and then more. Now it doesn't matter any repeater (shotgun) no more than 3 cartridges

Actually, no I didn't, I was there when it was raised and didn't contradict the chap who suggested it, but I don't agree with the idea for similar reasons to the ones you raised. I didn't contradict it at the time because you don't get into an internal dispute with your team while sitting at a negotiating table!
    :o Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Seamus357

So shotguns with more than three round magazines will have to keep the limiters in the magazine tubes all the time and not just while hunting protected species?
    Is that the general understanding of the new restricted list in relation to shotgun capacity? Is there not a danger that the Guards may interpret this differently and try and restrict all shotguns with a capacity above three rounds even when magazine limiters are in place in the tube?

Seamus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

Seamus357 wrote: »
    So shotguns with more than three round magazines will have to keep the limiters in the magazine tubes all the time and not just while hunting protected species?
    Is that the general understanding of the new restricted list in relation to shotgun capacity? Is there not a danger that the Guards may interpret this differently and try and restrict all shotguns with a capacity above three rounds even when magazine limiters are in place in the tube?

Seamus

It says "manufactured, adapted or modified so as to render them incapable of containing more then 3 cartridges." So limiter should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

It says "manufactured, adapted or modified so as to render them incapable of containing more then 3 cartridges." So limiter should do.
    Good- that's my remy 870 safe.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,259 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

It might have to be permanant, such is the wording in the EU categories
    At least perm enough that it can't be quickly removed and inserted at will. It must be fixed and to remove it requires a bit of work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm thinking I'll have a problem with my Baikal MP-153, it can take up to five carts. I had planned on a DIY solution, if it'd work, of a piece of wood of suitable size in the magazine tube so as to render it capable of only taking 2 + 1.

But, obviously that modification wouldn't be permenant if that's what's to be needed.

I presume to make permenant a magazine limit would entail a trip to a gunsmith?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

johngalway wrote: »

Correct and you will most likely have to take the gun to the Garda Station to show the FAO that the magazine has been permanently restricted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

With all the *insert flattering term...* floating about for the last, what, year or more about .223's being the devils spawn I'm that relieved that tinkering with the shottie won't bother me a bit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

Right so an assault rifle means rifles capable of functioning as semi-auto firearms AND as auto firearms. Does this mean it must have a selector switch? semi now then "click" full auto:confused:

An M1 Garand is not an assault rifle and is just a 7.62 semi auto rifle.

No meaning givin of what a full auto is defined as.

Are semi auto rifles up to and inc 7.62 un-restricted? As long as they are not assault rifles?

Are .303 rifles un-restricted?

Is this the way it will appear in law or is this only a rough gide as to the changes?

Cheers, Chem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Don't know how it's done exactly John but I've seen A5's with some sort of a rivet in the magazine tube in Belgium where the 3 round rule for semi's has been enforced a lot stricter years ago and it didn't look like too complicated a job. Anyway, I suppose your local gunsmith will be able to come up with a permanent fix fairly easily.

On a general note : I think the word "penetrating" has to be read to the intention of the law and not to the letter of the law. In my opinion you'll have to interpret it in the sence of anything that isn't specific hunting or target shooting ammunition. Stuff like armor piercing, tungsten core, tracer ammunition etc etc that's for sale in other jurisdictions ( the US springs to mind ) for the likes of .303 and .223 would fall under this rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭2347

The following ammunition is declared to be restricted ammunition for the purposes of the Act:

grenades, bombs and other similar missiles, whether capable or not capable of being used with a firearm, including explosive military missiles and launchers

Ok so let me get this straight "grenades, bombs and other similar missiles" are only restricted :eek: I know they are illegal by EU law but my god why aren't they outright illegal :confused:

EDIT: I don't want any and I know that no Chief Superintendant would let anyone have any. I'm just saying that it's crazy grenades are legally only restricted and in the same category as slugs :D

chem wrote: »
    Are semi auto rifles up to and inc 7.62 un-restricted? As long as they are not assault rifles?

It also says:

"...(b) firearms that resemble such rifles..."

So no, it doesn't look like it I'm afraid. I'll have to put that Bushmaster on hold...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Correct and you will most likely have to take the gun to the Garda Station to show the FAO that the magazine has been permanently restricted.

Only thing is a lot of repeaters are registered as single barrel firearms, no mention of pump action :rolleyes:
    (d) silencers capable of being used only with long rifled rim-fire firearms;
    I notice it specifies .22lr so a silencer for a .22wmr is still restricted, they should have just allowed them for rimfires across the board (even though it's the centre-fire that needs them) !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

It also says:

So no, it doesn't look like it I'm afraid. I'll have to put that Bushmaster on hold...;)

What I was getting at is the Garand style semi auto rifles. They are not black evil looking things, but look more like hunting rifles.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

An assault rifle is a selective fire rifle or carbine firing ammunition with muzzle energies intermediate between those typical of pistol and battle rifle ammunition. Assault rifles are categorized between light machine guns, intended more for sustained automatic fire in a support role, and submachine guns, which fire a handgun cartridge rather than a rifle cartridge. Assault rifles are the standard small arms in most modern armies, having largely replaced or supplemented larger, more powerful battle rifles, such as the World War II-era M1 Garand and Tokarev SVT. Examples of assault rifles include the AK-47 and the M16 rifle. Semi-automatic rifles, including commercial versions of the AR-15, and "automatic" rifles limited to firing single shots are not assault rifles as they are not selective fire. Belt-fed weapons or rifles with very limited capacity fixed magazines are also generally not considered assault rifles.

Just a point to the shotgun debate. Dont go welding up your mags yet. Wait until you find out for sure what the meaning of the law is regarding mag capacity;):D

What I was getting at is the Garand style semi auto rifles. They are not black evil looking things, but look more like hunting rifles.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

An assault rifle is a selective fire rifle or carbine firing ammunition with muzzle energies intermediate between those typical of pistol and battle rifle ammunition. Assault rifles are categorized between light machine guns, intended more for sustained automatic fire in a support role, and submachine guns, which fire a handgun cartridge rather than a rifle cartridge. Assault rifles are the standard small arms in most modern armies, having largely replaced or supplemented larger, more powerful battle rifles, such as the World War II-era M1 Garand and Tokarev SVT. Examples of assault rifles include the AK-47 and the M16 rifle. Semi-automatic rifles, including commercial versions of the AR-15, and "automatic" rifles limited to firing single shots are not assault rifles as they are not selective fire. Belt-fed weapons or rifles with very limited capacity fixed magazines are also generally not considered assault rifles.

Just a point to the shotgun debate. Dont go welding up your mags yet. Wait until you find out for sure what the meaning of the law is regarding mag capacity;):D

No, I think section 4 subparagraph 2(c) and (d) makes a clear distinction. It says single shot or repeating firearms up to an including 7.62 are unrestricted. (d) then refers to single shot, repeating or semi-automatic rimfire rifles, so the distinction is plain to see. NO non-rimfire semis (excluding shotguns of course). Or am I wrong...?

spideog7 wrote: »
    Only thing is a lot of repeaters are registered as single barrel firearms, no mention of pump action :rolleyes:

:eek: Very good point! Am I the only one beginning to think that in the bureaucratic mess that is the administration of Irish law, this list will become very difficult to enforce? As Spideog has said a lot of pumps and semis are registered as 'single-barrel', etc. I find myself wondering if the vagueness of past systems will put paid to this one somewhat...?

Right so an assault rifle means rifles capable of functioning as semi-auto firearms AND as auto firearms. Does this mean it must have a selector switch? semi now then "click" full auto:confused:
    Yes, basicly. And that's a pretty good tally with the "real" definition - which is that it should be an intermediate (between pistol and rifle) round in terms of how much powder is behind the bullet, select-fire, medium-range (to 400m) rifle.
    The classic one certainly is - but as I said, towards the end of WW2, the US army was experimenting with things like a fully automatic mode for the M1, which eventually lead to the M14
    And so long as they don't look like assault rifles - as defined by the SI.
    If they aren't fully auto and they don't look like what the SI defines as assault rifles.
    Is this the way it will appear in law or is this only a rough gide as to the changes?
    As of May 1, that is the law.

Yes
    So it's restricted.
    No meaning givin of what a full auto is defined as.
    Do you need a definition? :)

Did you read the document?

Only semi-auto rim-fire with a capacity of up to 10 rounds are not restricted. All other semi-autos are restricted. .303<.308, so I'd hazard a wild guess that it's not restricted.

“repeating firearms” means firearms that are loaded and reloaded from a magazine or cylinder by a manually-operated mechanism;
    Sounds like a pump-action to me.
    I notice it specifies .22lr so a silencer for a .22wmr is still restricted, they should have just allowed them for rimfires across the board (even though it's the centre-fire that needs them) !!
    It doesn't specify .22lr, just rim-fire. Unless you're reading something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Come August 1st, do we know how will holders of then restricted firearms be treated? Will they have to surrender their guns pending approval from the commisioner?

johngalway wrote: »
    I'm thinking I'll have a problem with my Baikal MP-153, it can take up to five carts. I had planned on a DIY solution, if it'd work, of a piece of wood of suitable size in the magazine tube so as to render it capable of only taking 2 + 1.

But, obviously that modification wouldn't be permenant if that's what's to be needed.

I don't think you have to make it permanent. After all you could sell it to someone with a restricted licence and they wouldn't want a permanent modification. In fact you could apply for a restricted cert yourself if that's what you wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,259 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Well it doesn't distinguish between any of the shotgun types. A pump action is just repeating shotgun.
    I don't think this is right. It says "silencers capable of being used only with long rifled rim-fire firearms". the way I saw it was that rim-fire is included to distinguish it from centre fire, and long rifled is included to excluded rim-fire pistols. It is was refering to .22lr only then it would of have to included the caliber. The caliber was included in every other section were applicable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 spot2008

the hunter doesnt konw what he is talkin about. he should be band from this site.

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Come August 1st, do we know how will holders of then restricted firearms be treated? Will they have to surrender their guns pending approval from the commisioner?

I imagine we'll know by May 1st, which will give plenty of time to sort things out before August 1st.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Thought the debate about the bow thing was bad but this is mental.. If a gun is blackish and looks nasty its not for use by johnny punch clock.. If the minister for madness and all things wacko was in power he would save more lives and stop the suffering of lots of people by restricting the sale of slash hooks,,:D:D WARNING THIS IS A JOKE(CRAP ONE)
    :D:D:p
    Notwithstanding any of the previous and pertaining to the subsequent it shall be illegal to look at any slash hook with a feeling of bitter resentment. This shall encompass all or similar slash hooks in the size range from a no 9 to a no 3 a no. 9 Peirce slash hook the aforementioned slash hook further refereed to in part 2 (G) subsection shall now be namely known as the slasher. Any slasher over a colour rating of 7 shall be exempted, notwithstanding the above all slashers are deemed as offensive weapons by the state and their customary use in the sacrifice of dead elephants is deemed an offence and is punishable by death.. Certain styles of attack are still permitted on those who claim to hold sporting rights.. They can only be dispatched on the first sun following the full moon which proceeds the Autumnal equinox between the hours of 5 and 20.
    me thinks me xbow is restricted now as its not on the res. list....

Ivan please keep on topic.

They'll have to get their renewal from the commissioner. If that's not forthcoming, they'll have to surrender their firearm same way as if they'd had their renewal refused by their local super, except for the inability to take the commissioner to the district court to appeal a refusal (which you could do with the local lad).

However, noone knows as yet what the commissioner's disposal towards restricted stuff will be. Personally, I'm a pessimist on this one and rrpc's an optimist.

But what it boils down to is that if the commissioner wants to, he can make renewals and applications for restricted certs either very straightforward, or practically impossible, on either an individual or a blanket level. He has more power with restricted certs than the local superintendent has with normal certs, by a very wide margin as a result of the CJA2006. Which ought to be a scary sentence for anyone, to my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

That bombs and missiles stuff would would cover a lot of commercial fireworks I suppose.

There's a whole great big explosives act for all that Stevie. No room in our little Firearms Act. :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

That is an extremely dodgy legal definition. The US Ban of 1994-2004 was much maligned for banning firearms purely on aesthetic grounds, but at least they gave a list of requirements such as combinations of pistol grip, flash suppressor, bayonet lug and so on so you knew where you stood.

Can an RFI be submitted to find out just how that is going to be determined? Modern assault rifles come in all sorts of shapes and sizes these days.

Out of interest, does anyone make a target (ISSF standard) rifle with a pistol grip? If not, why not?

As I read this, the G-22 has been placed on the Restricted list? That's a bit of collaterol damage, there.

NTM

Out of interest, does anyone make a target (ISSF standard) rifle with a pistol grip? If not, why not?

Pretty much all of them do.

bild.php5?id=2003&maxwidth=600