Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IMRA season and Boards AC team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭jlang

I was thinking of heading to Howth as my first IMRA outing. I don't plan on going particularly fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭earlyevening

I plan on doing all of the Leinster League races except Ballinastoe. I'm disappointed to miss that one as I love it but I'm getting married that week. Similarly I'll miss the Galtees that week which is a pity too as I've walked up Galtymore a few times and would fancy running it.

I think I'll go to Mayo next weekend for Croagh Patrick and give it a go - I'll be in the West anyway for another wedding on the Sunday so why not?

I think Howth would be a handy enough first race - not too difficult/long. Give it a go! The winter route was good but I missed a turn and ended up on a golf course!

Will hopefully meet those I haven't met thus far on wed.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'm going to Howth, and my mate is too. We've told a few others about it, who work in Northface in The Village in Kildare, and they'd be up for it too. They're thinking about giving special rates for IMRA guys and gals, that's not confirmed yet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

The annual imra WW relay race is on in 8 6weeks or so, and as per the details below from the imra forum, teams and training are being mooted. I reckon that Boards have enough talent to put out a competitive team, so I'm going to register a Boards AC team, will all runners who are interested in running one of the legs declare their interest (either here or PM me), and we'll pick the best of the bunch. I'd like to get this started early coz there's a strict limit of 30 teams this year.

from imra forum:
    Week 1 Briefing (by race director Joe Lalor)

The summer hillrunning season has started so it must be time to start thinking about getting ready for the Wicklow Way Relay. As most of you know the WWR is a fundraising event for our Junior Squad. As in previous years there is a limit of 30 teams at €15 a runner, but a minimum per team is set at €60 (even if only 2/3 runners)

Get your entry form in: Entry forms can be downloaded from www.imra.ie with details of appropriate fees and return address.

Start training: Over the coming weeks build up your distance, meet others doing the WWR and discuss tactics, and maybe get on a team or pick up new team members.

Consider maps and guides:
    Maps: 1. To cover the full route Discovery Series OS 56 and 62 are needed, scale 1:50000

2. The Harvey map of Wicklow (1:30000) has excellent colour definition and is most recent. It covers Prince Williams Seat to Lugnaquilla, stages 2 to 5

3. The largest scale map available at 1:25000 is Pat Healy’s map of Glendalough and Glenmalure (healyp@eircom.net)covers stages 4 to 6

Guides:1. Wicklow Way Map Guide EastWest Mapping

2. The complete Wicklow Way O'Brien Press

3. OS Wayfarer Series Wicklow Way OS

As usual over the next few weeks I will issue a WWR briefing each Monday, this should answer any question anyone new to hillrunning might have. This week I wish to confine myself to three important issues.

1. The closing date is the 29th May or on the receipt of the 30th entry (with fee). The WW can accommodate more than 30 runners but the minor roads and lanes we use cannot deal with the traffic generated by 30+ teams. Some regulars were late in entering last year and the door was held open, not this year, you have been warned.
    2. Team captains sign that they (and their team) will abide by the rules. One rule that is obviously being flaunted is the one that states “all runners will have previously done their leg”. It is easy to see what happens, a runner falls out and someone from the office or club is press ganged into running without any knowledge of the event or the route. This is unfair to the runner involved and to the organisers.
    3. Most runners treat the WWR as a fun event but it is also a competitive inter club event. Bearing both those points in mind there is a slight rule change. As usual substituting runners is allowed up to race start (as long as they are registered IMRA runners and know their route) but once the race starts runners or running order cannot be changed. To spell this out if a runner misses his or her handover another team member cannot run in their place and the team remain competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

With less than a week's recovery from Edinburgh, I don't think I'd be doing the team justice. But in a pinch, if you need someone for a short leg, let me know.

Cheers Krusty, I was hoping you'd be up for this. Having had you on my shoulder for much of Ticknock, I pity the runner who will have to contend with your "never-say-die" attitude in this relay, week-post-marathon or not. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

I'm in! Have sent you a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

If its the taking part thats important then I'm in too. Damn the fact that I'll have jogged around Edinburgh for 26 miles the previous weekend. :)

Anyone taking part is advised to have recced their leg in advance. Leg 7 is the one I know best but that'll be too long for me to run a week after Edinburgh. A shorter leg will do just fine. I tick the box for a 'vet' runner too on the team....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Damn the fact that I'll have jogged around Edinburgh for 26 miles the previous weekend. :) Leg 7 is...[snip]..too long for me to run a week after Edinburgh.
    I refer the honourable gentleman to the recent trail race (22kms), also a week after your previous marathon, in which you came 8th overall! I suggest you take a couple of legs. :)

If its the taking part thats important then I'm in too. Damn the fact that I'll have jogged around Edinburgh for 26 miles the previous weekend. :)

Takin' part, takin' schmart, we're out to place in this;)
    Anyone taking part is advised to have recced their leg in advance. Leg 7 is the one I know best but that'll be too long for me to run a week after Edinburgh. A shorter leg will do just fine. I tick the box for a 'vet' runner too on the team....

And the case load of estrogen I drugged you with in Rotterdam will soon tick the other box:D (WW Relay regulars will know that to "score", a team must include a vet and a lady amongst their members).

There's a fair bit of interest in this from Boardies, which is great. If there's anyone who wants to run, but feels hesitant to declare their interest lest it seem I'm trying to put forward a super-competitive team, please feel free to PM me and we'll see if we'll have the numbers for a possible second team. This really is a great race to be involved in!

Great muddy race in Howth this evening. Enduro went haring past me on his 2nd lap when I was on the outward bit, so I trust he won :). I ran steady and finished well in what was supposed to be just a fitness test for me for next weekends Connaught races. I think I passed the test. Saw at least one other Boardsie so hopefully we get a decent team score this evening. Picking up my BAC vest tomorrow morning so I'll have it running (or more like walking) up Croagh Patrick :D Thanks Woddle.

By my reckoning BAC were 4th team in Howth...
    Clonliffe 15
    Rathfarnham 33
    Sli Chulann 37
    boards 54
    Crusaders 93

BAC finishers and times were:
    1 33:38:00 Great running Enduro.
    11 37:42:00
    42 42:47:00
    63 44:50:00
    64 44:53:00

Well done guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭jlang

First IMRA race for me. Didn't want to start too fast so I'd be able to run with the crowd but when it got steep and people started walking I wasn't sure what to make of it. By the top I was glad I hadn't hared on and knew it was going to be a struggle to get around even one lap. Any time the person ahead of me slowed I had to consider whether to speed up and try to get past or if I was just thankful for the break.

I was a bit dainty in the many muddy sections and the downhills until I slipped at a corner coming down on the first lap and ended up stretched out flat in a puddle. No injury except pride but my shirt soaked up most of the puddle so I was carrying a bit of extra weight from then on :) I'd been wiping the mist off my glasses on my shirt up before that but with nothing clean left to wipe with I just carried them for the rest of the race. (My eyesight isn't that bad so this wasn't really a major issue - I often take them off if it rains while running)

Nothing to lose after that so I got stuck in a bit more on the second lap and without my glasses I just went on feel on the downhills. Reminded me of the controlled out-of-controlness of skiing where you pick your line a bit ahead but let the feet/knees/etc react to whatever the surface throws at you. That sounds confident but in fairness, in comparison to others, I think I was still a bit dainty. Spent most of the lap trying to catch up with one particular gentleman but each time I got close someone else overtook me and I wasn't in control of the gap for a little while.

Got confused as a few very fast guys passed me coming down the second time. I though I was being lapped but it was only a two lap race so they must have been behind me up till then. A lot seems to depend on what order you start in or at least the running order when the trail narrows as only the people close together can really take advantage of places suitable for overtaking. This time around this was to my benefit as I wasn't in any condition to do any passing. On the hilly laps I overtook maybe 5 and was lucky to only get overtaken by 20 or so although I had a nice sprint in to the finish, reclaiming a couple of places once I was back on familiar level ground. Registered as boards ac but I don't know if my 48 mins was low enough to affect the team result.

Shattered at the finish, it took me ages to get my number off. I exchanged grins/thoughts with a few other finishers but I didn't really know any other runners so I congratulated Enduro (who I'd met once before) on another win, replaced my clothes (soaking from my earlier spill) and went home for a shower. I'm clean but I don't think my oldest runners will ever be white again.

Edit: 44:37, 60th62nd position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hey mick, ya had a good race alright, ya piped everyone in that group of 5 that were together at the finish! We were blessed with the weather in Howth summer the previous 2 yrs, but even the overcast damp weather couldn't take away from tonight being a great race! I went in today with no expectations at all, haven't been on the hills since the Crone woods race, and took off gingerly enough, but soon found my stride and was happy with my finish. I think I did good missing Bray head last wed, I would have blown up going up the climb, whereas the Howth climbs were far easier on my calf muscles today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭Enduro

That was a fun race tonight. I don't know what it is about the howth route, but the race is always enjoyable. The contrast in the mucky section between the first and second lap was amazing. It was like a herd of wilderbeast had migrated through in the interem!

Inspired partly by the thread on here about running barefoot, I wore uncushioned fell running shoes tonight. The other reason for wearing them was I reckoned the weather would make the non-hardpacked sections of the course quite mucky, and indeed it was. The full grip enabled me to really let loose and fly down the muddy descents, which was very enjoyable, particularly the long descent to the end of the lap.

Good meeting you again jlang. You looked like you were buzzing at the end! Slogger Jogger's consistant good form continues on with this race again. I'm sorry to be missing the weekend in the west. Croagh Patrick is the finest hill run in Ireland IMHO, and the atmosphere over the weekend is usually fantastic. International ultra-running commitments take me off to Bergamo this weekend though, for a 24 hour race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭Enduro

While I think of it....

I was talking to Sinead Roche, laptop operator to the stars, this evening. She was saying that if any of you want to get your team details updated to be Boards AC (if it isn't already) then you should send her an email on the Tuesday before the race. She should then be able to get the details updated before the race so that they are reflected in the race. There is an email address for her on the IMRA site.

Aaghh. My finishing time wasn't recorded. I think I finished around 30 something. I wasn't in a crowd running over the line so I can't see why I was missed. Hopefully someone can shed some light on it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Man that race was class. 65 mins, really enjoyed it. Well done to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

There's a fair bit of interest in this from Boardies, which is great. If there's anyone who wants to run, but feels hesitant to declare their interest lest it seem I'm trying to put forward a super-competitive team, please feel free to PM me and we'll see if we'll have the numbers for a possible second team. This really is a great race to be involved in!

I'd be on for running a leg or two at a more casual pace so if there's interest in a second team count me in please.

And have to add what fun it was in Howth last night, couple of hairy moments on the last muddy descent but managed to keep my ass off the deck and not lose a shoe in the mud. Made missing the Utd Arsenal game worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

beertons wrote: »
    Man that race was class. 65 mins, really enjoyed it. Well done to all.

Didn't make it up last night traffic would have been too much.
    Am doing the Hellfire course next week though for sure.
    Hoping the weather improves before then as I only have road shoes for running.

I assume those trail shoes don't come in an overpronator model ?
    I'd be worried about using the trail shoes and ending up with problems from lack of support.

I assume those trail shoes don't come in an overpronator model ?
    I'd be worried about using the trail shoes and ending up with problems from lack of support.

In general you will need less support in a trail shoe than a road one- issues such as under/over pronation tend to go out the window when your ankles are dealing with rocky, muddy, terrain anyway. I'm a heavy over-pronator, and use brooks adrenaline for the road, but have found the inov8's here http://www.inov-8.com/Products-Detail.asp?L=26&PG=PG1&P=5050973101 very useful- they provide a good degree of cushioning from impact, and seem to be very popular as an "entry" shoe for off-roaders.

Recently a lot of mountain runners have been raving about the Salomon Speed Cross 2, but maybe someone else can comment on them? (I'm eagerly awaiting a pair of them in the next few days:))

In general you will need less support in a trail shoe than a road one- issues such as under/over pronation tend to go out the window when your ankles are dealing with rocky, muddy, terrain anyway. I'm a heavy over-pronator, and use brooks adrenaline for the road, but have found the inov8's here http://www.inov-8.com/Products-Detail.asp?L=26&PG=PG1&P=5050973101 very useful- they provide a good degree of cushioning from impact, and seem to be very popular as an "entry" shoe for off-roaders.

Recently a lot of mountain runners have been raving about the Salomon Speed Cross 2, but maybe someone else can comment on them? (I'm eagerly awaiting a pair of them in the next few days:))

Thanks for the link and the info, was assuming that there was no difference alright based on the descriptions in all listed shoes available for offroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Clonliffe 15
    Rathfarnham 33
    Sli Chulann 37
    boards 54
    Crusaders 93

Setanta 82. Not doing as well since Enduro defected!
    In general you will need less support in a trail shoe than a road one- issues such as under/over pronation tend to go out the window when your ankles are dealing with rocky, muddy, terrain anyway. I'm a heavy over-pronator, and use brooks adrenaline for the road, but have found the inov8's here http://www.inov-8.com/Products-Detai...1&P=5050973101 very useful- they provide a good degree of cushioning from impact, and seem to be very popular as an "entry" shoe for off-roaders.

Recently a lot of mountain runners have been raving about the Salomon Speed Cross 2, but maybe someone else can comment on them? (I'm eagerly awaiting a pair of them in the next few dayssmile.gif)

I find the same. Use Brooks Adrenaline for road running but find I can get away without most shoes for off-road. Used Adidas Swoops last night and they were fantastic for the muddy bits. Not so good on rocky trail though.

Clonliffe 15
    Rathfarnham 33
    Sli Chulann 37
    boards 54
    Crusaders 93

BAC finishers and times were:
    1 33:38:00 Great running Enduro.
    11 37:42:00
    42 42:47:00
    63 44:50:00
    64 44:53:00

Well done guys.
    Aaghh. My finishing time wasn't recorded. I think I finished around 30 something. I wasn't in a crowd running over the line so I can't see why I was missed. Hopefully someone can shed some light on it.

By the looks of things from the photos, you may have finished in 20th place earlyevening (only one lady ahead of ye), which would give Boards AC (1,11,20=32) points, ahead of Sli Cualann on (8,13,14=35 points), for second team home, after Clonliffe (4,5,6=15). Rathfarnhams score above as given by SJ includes a lady in 13th, disregarded in the mens team comp, AFAIK. Worth fighting your case for, I guess to Sinead Roche at the email in a post above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Am doing the Hellfire course next week though for sure.
    Hoping the weather improves before then as I only have road shoes for running.

The Hellfire is one race where you should have no problem with road shoes.

Thanks for the update Hard Worker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Peterx

I have the Salomon Speedcross 2, the INOV8 x-talon 212 and the INOV8 roclite 285.
    The Speedcross are the comfyest, look the best and have a grippy soft compound rubber. They are ideal for longer events due to their comfort and support. However, the cut of the rubber sole leaves them slightly on the narrow side especially as the heel is much higher then either of the INOV8's. They have a slight pronator support.
    The Roclite 285 are very good on boggy offroad, they have very little cushioning. Ideal on Lugnaquille say. Medium density rubber compound
    The INOV8 x-Talon 212 are feckin brilliant but have a very soft and grippy rubber which will not last long - only for racing in, training will wear them out too quick.
    I'll be wearing the x-Talon's on Croagh Patrick and probably the roclites on BenGorm (if i still have legs that work)
    The INOV8 have no pronator support, pure hill shoes :)

In saying all that the Speedcross would be a good bet for the Leinster evening league due to the amount of hard surface encountered there.
    The INOV8 x-Talon 212's are your "today I am running my fastest" shoe, they are barely heavier then the Brooks T5!!!

Thanks Timaay, Enduro and co. And well done EarlyEvening!!! If its confirmed its a terrific result for BAC.
    I was really buzzing after last nights race :)
    I ran conservatively cos my back had been at me and in the end that helped as I had something left towards the end.
    I nearly DNFed though... as half way through the 2nd lap I felt something (must have been a nail) puncture my runner and come through into my foot. I lost some time as I was hobbling, but I managed to hang on to Ben Mooney and Donna, who passed me at this stage, and temporarily forget the pain on the downhill. I was wearing my Salamon Speed Cross IIs (god bless them) 'cos they were the difference in the end as they helped me zip past them on the dowhill when they were struggling for grip I think. I was just grateful that it was a straight short finish and not a lap around the pitch like the Winter race (that would have finished me!)

By the looks of things from the photos, you may have finished in 21st place earlyevening (only one lady ahead of ye), which would give Boards AC (1,11,21=33) points, ahead of Sli Cualann on (8,13,14=35 points), for second team home, after Clonliffe (4,5,6=15). Rathfarnhams score above as given by SJ includes a lady in 13th, disregarded in the mens team comp, AFAIK. Worth fighting your case for, I guess to Sinead Roche at the email in a post above?

I've just completed my own mini investigation into the photos from the night which pretty much confirm I finished 22nd overall (which is probably 20th male. I see 2 females ahead of me). I've emailed Sinead to let her know. I deffo want a full scale tribunal set up over this one. I'll go right to the very top for justice! I'm getting much more competitive when there's team results to fight for!
    Brill race. Hope all the new boardsies are enjoying it.

Sinead tells me the results are provisional and that my position will be reviewed. Hurrah!

10:30pm results updated. 22nd overall, 20th male - so our team came 2nd!

Have we enough for a team in Mayo? SJ is going. Donothop - are you? Who else?