Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proponents of the No vote

• Registered Users Posts: 16,488 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    im not the one making up conspiracy theories

if you read my posts you would notice

I reference any claims i make instead of putting on a tinfoil hat and sprouting nonsense

but go on today is attack ei.sdraob personally day, since you cant address logically the points being made you are lowering yourself

/

I have read your posts thats how I know what you're like.
    You attack people and love nothing more than a bit of mud slinging.
    I feel you deserve a taste of your own medicine, you insult enough people.
    You're underhand and sly, also possibly the most pig ignorant person Boards and thats saying something.
    You love attacking the No side of the Lisbon debate, I'm a No voter but I don't focus all my energy on discrediting the Yes side, I have better things to do with my time.
    As for spouting wild conspiracies, please give some examples to prove this, I'll be waiting tin foil hat at the ready.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Elmo wrote: »
    I think you give the list of proponents of the Yes Vote who all come from very different backgrounds and some are very interested in this treaty for their own ends it has nothing to do with the people of Europe.
    That's a very sweeping statement. You really think that every group I listed secretly has some vested interest in getting it passed? That not one of them truly believes the treaty will be good for Ireland and Europe?

Again a NO vote doesn't take us out of the EU.
    I really wish people would stop saying that, the only people who have ever said that are people on the no side straw-manning the yes side. I thin kthis quote sums up the reality quite well:

By rejecting [The Treaty of Lisbon] we are basically saying that we do not want Europe to operate efficiently or rationally, and that we now consider the EU to be a mechanism that is acting in bad faith and not in the interests of the Irish State." - Paul_Hacket

You cannot deny that. We will have rejected EU treaties three times. We seem to have no faith in the EU as evidenced by the dozens of things that people seem terrified will be visited on them if we vote yes. It's undeniable that developing such a reputation can and will effect relations with the EU in the future and the decision of businesses to locate here. There are EU countries they can locate in that aren't fighting their neighbours every step of the way because they're terrified of things that are never going to happen

When you look at the YES campaign you see that it consists almost entirely of the far left, the far right, the middle, the left, the right and the far out, the liars, the losers and the lunatics.* They're the capitalist, the fascists, the catholic church and the builders and the banks. They're the people who've been supportive of the EU since we joined and would love nothing more than to see Ireland subsumed into an EU nation state to satisfy their various vested interests.

*Just name calling for the sake of it.
    Except that that's not true. You have misrepresented several organisations and missed out most of them because they don't appear to have any vested interest, such as charities, unions and retailers. seriously, just look at this cabal of misfits:

· Sinn Fein
    · Socialist Workers Party
    · The Worker's Party of Ireland
    · GUE/NGL group in the European Parliament
    · Independence and Democracy group in the EU Parliament
    · Libertas
    · Coir/Youth Defence
    · Irish Society for a Christian Civilisation
    · éirígi
    · People's Movement
    · Irish Peace and Neutrality Alliance
    · UNITE The Union
    · Campaign Against the European Constitution
    · Comhlámh (NGO)
    · Communist Party of Ireland
    · Community & Workers Action Group
    · Irish Anti-War Movement
    · Irish Republican Socialist Party
    · Irish Socialist Network
    · People Before Profit
    · Socialist Party
    · 32 CSM
    · Workers Solidarity Movement.
    · ATTAC
    · AFRI
    · UKIP
    · Technical Engineering and Electrical Union
    · Independent Workers Union

The only organisations there that have any kind of credibility are the trade unions. I don't know why they're against it but I'd be fairly confident in saying that it's a protest vote over some side issue or because they believe the socialists misquotations about workers rights

nullzero wrote: »
    As for spouting wild conspiracies, please give some examples to prove this, I'll be waiting tin foil hat at the ready.

Seriously?

€200 billion in fisheries
    €1.84 minimum wage
    Forcing us to engage in military action in a terrorist attack
    European superstate
    Abortion, gay marriage and EUthanasia
    Death penalty
    Massive conspiracy to pretend the guarantees are binding
    Corrupt surveys to make up fake issues and pretend to address them
    Keep voting until you give the right answer
    Ryanair allowed buy Aer Lingus in exchange for the campaign
    Rigged polls to make it look like the yes side are ahead
    Lisbon allows Turkish accession (with fake video)
    Lisbon makes EU law superior to Irish law
    Losing the right to referendums
    Self-amending and escalator clause
    Privatisation of healthcare and education
    More military spending
    Lavelle case could happen here
    Charter of human rights allows the EU to take the homes, assets and children of people with mild intellectual disabilities and alcoholics
    Voting weight halved
    Loss of veto in all areas
    Allows EU to raise our corporation tax
    Conscription into a non-existent EU army
    EU commission diverted €10 million to yes campaign
    Treaty is the same as the constitution dressed up to avoid referendums
    Fake polls made up by Coir

I could go on all day but you get the idea

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

mangaroosh wrote: »
    I invite him to engage in a logical and rational discussion

...is this the humour forum? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Seriously?

€200 billion in fisheries
    €1.84 minimum wage
    Forcing us to engage in military action in a terrorist attack
    European superstate
    Abortion, gay marriage and EUthanasia
    Death penalty
    Massive conspiracy to pretend the guarantees are binding
    Corrupt surveys to make up fake issues and pretend to address them
    Keep voting until you give the right answer
    Ryanair allowed buy Aer Lingus in exchange for the campaign
    Rigged polls to make it look like the yes side are ahead
    Lisbon allows Turkish accession (with fake video)
    Lisbon makes EU law superior to Irish law
    Losing the right to referendums
    Self-amending and escalator clause
    Privatisation of healthcare and education
    More military spending
    Lavelle case could happen here
    Charter of human rights allows the EU to take the homes, assets and children of people with mild intellectual disabilities and alcoholics
    Voting weight halved
    Loss of veto in all areas
    Allows EU to raise our corporation tax
    Conscription into a non-existent EU army
    EU commission diverted €10 million to yes campaign
    Treaty is the same as the constitution dressed up to avoid referendums
    Fake polls made up by Coir

I could go on all day but you get the idea

Seriously I could go on about how the Yes side have acted. Yes to Recovery! Seriously!
    That's a very sweeping statement. You really think that every group I listed secretly has some vested interest in getting it passed? That not one of them truly believes the treaty will be good for Ireland and Europe?

Both side are making sweeping statements some of those that you have mentioned aren't that good CIF and the Irish Banking Federation have vested interests as do FF.
    You cannot deny that. We will have rejected EU treaties three times. We seem to have no faith in the EU as evidenced by the dozens of things that people seem terrified will be visited on them if we vote yes. It's undeniable that developing such a reputation can and will effect relations with the EU in the future and the decision of businesses to locate here. There are EU countries they can locate in that aren't fighting their neighbours every step of the way because they're terrified of things that are never going to happen

Again the French and the Dutch did say NO and Denmark said no once they are still part of the EU.

Our reputation is sound as it will ever be that is just scaremongering from the YES side. I have never said that the NO side have done that but both side are playing foolish games.
    Except that that's not true. You have misrepresented several organisations and missed out most of them because they don't appear to have any vested interest, such as charities, unions and retailers. seriously, just look at this cabal of misfits:

Seriously have I misrepresented FF, the Banks, the builders, the developers, the capitalists, the catholic church????? this are just as misfits as any of the organisations that you mention.

I mean you have Micheal Martin suggesting that Ireland was a lovely place in the 1940s and 1950s one would think it was nothing like a repressed nation like those in East Europe. (I would suggest for a minute that Communism is a good thing but then I don't think Capitalism works all that well either).
    I don't know why they're against it but I'd be fairly confident in saying that it's a protest vote over some side issue or because they believe the socialists misquotations about workers rights

The those on the Yes really believe Ireland will be taken out of recession with Lisbon.

Seriously I could go on about how the Yes side have acted. Yes to Recovery! Seriously!
    You know what you're right. What the hell would these people know about the economy :rolleyes:
    American Chamber of Commerce
    Construction Industry Federation (CIF)
    Consumer Electronic Distributors Association (CEDA)
    Cork Chamber of Commerce
    Cork City Business Association
    Dublin Chamber of Commerce
    Dublin City Business Association
    Engineers Ireland
    Fashion & Footwear Federation
    Financial Services Ireland
    Galway City Business Association
    IBEC
    ICMSA
    ICT Ireland
    ICTU
    Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland
    Institute of Professional Auctioneers and Valuers
    Irish Banking Federation
    Irish Congress of Trade Unions
    Irish Consultative Committee of Accountancy Bodies
    Irish Dairy Industry Association (IDIA)
    Irish Exporters Association (IEA)
    Irish Farmers Association
    Irish Fish Producers’ Organisation
    Irish Franchise Association
    Irish Hardware & Building Materials Association
    Irish Hotels Federation (IHF)
    Irish Medical Devices Association (IMDA)
    Irish Sheep and Cattle Farmers Association
    Irish Software Association (ISA)
    Irish Taxation Institute
    Irish Tourist Industry Confederation (ITIC)
    Irish Travel Agents Association (ITAA)
    Killybegs Fishermen’s Organisation
    Limerick Chamber of Commerce
    Limerick City Business Association
    Network Dublin
    North Dublin Chamber of Commerce
    Pharmachemical Ireland
    Retail Ireland
    SIPTU
    Small Firms Association (SFA)
    Society of Irish Motor Industry (SIMI)
    South Dublin Chamber
    Telecoms and Internet Federation (TIF)
    Waterford Chamber of Commerce
    Of course we should ask the communist party or Youth Defence. They'll know what to do!
    Again the French and the Dutch did say NO and Denmark said no once they are still part of the EU.
    Again, no one on the yes side has ever said that we'll be kicked out of the EU. You are responding to an argument that was never made. We will have said no three times btw
    Our reputation is sound as it will ever be that is just scaremongering from the YES side. I have never said that the NO side have done that but both side are playing foolish games.
    I've given a very good explanation as to why our reputation won't be as sound but you've simply stated that it will. What's your reasoning? Also
    Seriously have I misrepresented FF, the Banks, the builders, the developers, the capitalists, the catholic church????? this are just as misfits as any of the organisations that you mention.

Which category do the builders, FF and the church fall into from this list you gave:
    the far left, the far right, the middle, the left, the right and the far out, the liars, the losers and the lunatics. They're the capitalist, the fascists.....would love nothing more than to see Ireland subsumed into an EU nation state to satisfy their various vested interests.
    The only ones that apply as far as I can see are middle and capitalist. OH NOEESSSS!!
    The those on the Yes really believe Ireland will be taken out of recession with Lisbon.

That's an extremely overly simplistic way of looking at it. Of course it won't single handedly solve all our woes but it will help and since every reason to vote no has some level of falsity to it or is completely irrelevant, we'd be shooting ourselves in the foot for no reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

The only organisations there that have any kind of credibility are the trade unions. I don't know why they're against it but I'd be fairly confident in saying that it's a protest vote over some side issue or because they believe the socialists misquotations about workers rights

That's quite an arrogant point of view. I wonder how many of those organizations you actually know.

On the same grounds I could argue look at the shower of misfits who are in support of a 'Yes' vote...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

realcam wrote: »
    That's quite an arrogant point of view. I wonder how many of those organizations you actually know.

Which NO organisations do you most admire then?
    On the same grounds I could argue look at the shower of misfits who are in support of a 'Yes' vote...

Its odd to see O'Leary and ICTU on the one side alright. But alliance on the Yes side are from the Centre of Irish politics. The alliance on the No side come from the extremes.

I find the Communist Party of Ireland and Coir, Sinn Fein and UKIP to be far more unusual bed fellows than say Labour & FG, Intel & Ryanair, FF & SIPTU.

Its the nature of referendums though. I remember Dana and the Pro-choicers being on the same side in the last Abortion referendum.

realcam wrote: »

Admittedly I don't know all of them but going through them individually:

· Sinn Fein - Have seen lies from them
    · Socialist Workers Party - Have seen lies from them
    · The Worker's Party of Ireland - Have seen lies from them
    · GUE/NGL group in the European Parliament - - don't know a lot but they appear to be communists
    · Independence and Democracy group in the EU Parliament - Related to UK Independence party. Nuff said
    · Libertas - Nuff said
    · Coir/Youth Defence - religious fundamentalists
    · Irish Society for a Christian Civilisation - religious fundamentalists
    · éirígi - Hardcore nationalists. One of their reasons for a no is "It denies the people of the occupied six counties the right to vote on the future of Ireland"
    · People's Movement Have seen lies from them
    · Irish Peace and Neutrality Alliance (PANA) - lies about neutrality. Have been against the EU since the start
    · UNITE The Union - Don't know why they're against it
    · Campaign Against the European Constitution - looks to be related to PANA

I got bored at that point. you get the idea

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Which NO organisations do you most admire then?

Good question. I'm pointing out all the dodgy ones so could you both please tell me which organisation best represents your views and why?

· FF - Have seen lies from them
    · FG - Have seen lies from them
    · Labour Party - Have seen lies from them
    · EPP group in the European Parliament - - don't know a lot but they appear to be capitalist
    · The Banking Federation of Ireland - Nuff said
    · FF - Nuff said
    · The Catholic Church - religious fundamentalists
    · Any of the UNIONS - Don't know why they're FOR it

I mean we could go on with looking at what organisations are running campaigns for this treaty if and we would see that on both side there are people that we don't agree with and some that we do agree with. But as you said it fairly boring exercise.

· FF - Have seen lies from them
    · FG - Have seen lies from them
    · Labour Party - Have seen lies from them
    Such as? Bearing in mind I've explained the context behind the "Yes to recovery" and it's not a lie, it's an opinion which is all you can give about the future
    · EPP group in the European Parliament - - don't know a lot but they appear to be capitalist
    OH NOOESS!! :eek:

Where'd you get them from btw?

· The Banking Federation of Ireland - Nuff said
    In what way? Is their opinion on the economy irrelevant?
    · FF - Nuff said
    No need to mention them twice
    · The Catholic Church - religious fundamentalists
    Seriously? Btw they haven't taken a position on it, just clarified that they are not actively against it because the actual fundamentalists said they were
    They're on the no side :confused:
    · Any of the UNIONS - Don't know why they're FOR it
    Workers rights I would assume :confused:

Such as? Bearing in mind I've explained the context behind the "Yes to recovery" and it's not a lie, it's an opinion which is all you can give about the future

Recovery will happen regardless of the treaty the treaty has nothing to do with recovery it was written before the economic crisis something that no one on the yes side saw coming so I doubt it bares an real reflection on the economy.

You can see the lies of all politician parties in any of their Pre-election manifestos. FF is a good example.

In what way? Is their opinion on the economy irrelevant?

The Banking Federation of Ireland's opinion on the economy is irrelevant, the banks and developers brought the economic crisis.

I copied your list I forgot to remove the Christian group.

Are the NGO's actively campaigning?

Recovery will happen regardless of the treaty the treaty has nothing to do with recovery it was written before the economic crisis something that no one on the yes side saw coming so I doubt it bares an real reflection on the economy.
    I asked you for a reason and you've just restated your position. Of course it's not directly written down in the treaty. Confidence and uncertainty are not written down in a treaty, there is no clause that says "Confidence in Ireland in the mind of the CEO of AMD will be set at 94% and uncertainty at 3.6% and this will cause him to create 147 new jobs here through a research project". But just because it's not written down in the treaty does not mean that it should be ignored or that pointing it out is scaremongering. You and I both know that this treaty and Ireland's acceptance or rejection of it will have implications far beyond the text written in it and pretending otherwise and insisting on a treaty article that legally sets confidence levels is disingenuous.

If we vote down the treaty again that cements us as a country that's going against the grain in Europe even though being in Europe is one of our most important advantages and creates uncertainty about our future as the EU moves on and we try to fight them every step of the way. It appears that we now consider the EU to be a mechanism that is acting in bad faith and not in the interests of the Irish State. I can't say for sure what the consequences of a second no will be but neither can you say that there will be no consequences.

Ireland is becoming unpredictable and unreliable. There is now pretty much no point in having any future treaties because the Irish people didn't even read this one, they rejected it for a variety of reasons that have nothing to do with the treaty. They can't address our problems because they're mostly imaginary and/or irrelevant. We're not technically breaking the rules but we're making life extremely difficult for our neighbours because we're too lazy to read the treaty and would rather get our opinion from a lie on a poster. The government can negotiate until the cows come home but all that will happen is someone with an agenda will stick a lie on a poster and we'll vote it down again. Even if Lisbon does get renegotiated to, say, stop the move to QMV, we'll have idiots shouting "IT'S 90% THE SAME!!!!!!!". Even if they only include things that Ireland can opt out of in future treaties they're not sure to pass because some group could easily tell us that they're not really allowing us to opt out (as is happening now) and we might believe them as we've believed all the other lies. Besides which they don't want to limit themselves to only changes that countries can opt out of. Really the only way to have any confidence of getting a treaty passed in future is for Ireland to be excluded entirely. The situation of a few hundred thousand misinformed people on the peripheries of Europe grinding progress to a halt because of proudly touted misconceptions cannot, should not and will not be allowed to continue forever.

Is your response to that still "it doesn't say in the treaty that it'll fix the economy"?

And honestly, why do you think all of these business representatives are for the treaty if voting yes will have no effect on the economy? What do they have to gain from pretending?
    You can see the lies of all politician parties in any of their Pre-election manifestos. FF is a good example.
    With the treaty specifically.....

The Banking Federation of Ireland's opinion on the economy is irrelevant, the banks and developers brought the economic crisis.
    so we should ask the communists, the Shinners and the religious fundamentalists instead? I assume you've taken all your money out of the bank and keep it under the mattress since that's your view?

Are the NGO's actively campaigning?
    I don't think so but they have voiced support. What's their vested interest?

My response is that the Treaty was written at a time when the economy across the world was in good shape, I feel that this current treaty will soon be changed due to the economic issue.

The Catholic Church has also voice its support. What's their vested interest?

We could go around in circles all day listing the people who are in favour and those who are not in favour. It might not just be the government and I on some issue agree with many on the Yes in relation to other issues. But it is a waste of time.
    so we should ask the communists, the Shinners and the religious fundamentalists instead? I assume you've taken all your money out of the bank and keep it under the mattress since that's your view?

I don't think we should ask the bank sector because they seem to have even less of a clue on the economy.

I am not a capitalist but I also am not a communist.
    Ireland is becoming unpredictable and unreliable.

And that is not the fault of the electorate it is the fault of the government and their current set of policies and their set of policies for the last 12 years.

If some one had told you that Ireland would be in deep recession from 1973 to 1993 do you think you would have believed them?

Ireland is a very stable political landscape, the main 3 parties have very little difference and it is unlikely that they will rock international waters or cause an major instability in the Irish economy. Saying NO won't change that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

well these are laws we can do without for starters. I think a person is well capable of lowering the volume him/herself. todays news. The european commission (EC) has noted today that all MP3 players sold in the European Union will soon come with a required "default setting," in an effort to "discourage" users from listening to music at volume levels that will eventually hurt their hearing. as if people are braindead and can't understand the logic of this LOL. does the eu commission think people are that thick or is it hard-control over the peoples choices again. idiotic laws from the eu

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I think it would be very hard to argue that a No vote will not cause uncertainty in the markets and some unstability.

For how long that will be is the issue and who knows?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

zenno wrote: »
    well these are laws we can do without for starters. I think a person is well capable of lowering the volume him/herself. todays news. The european commission (EC) has noted today that all MP3 players sold in the European Union will soon come with a required "default setting," in an effort to "discourage" users from listening to music at volume levels that will eventually hurt their hearing. as if people are braindead and can't understand the logic of this LOL. does the eu commission think people are that thick or is it hard-control over the peoples choices again. idiotic laws from the eu

Unfortunately some are and end up deaf.

I'd really need to see the article and the directive because there is a whole website set up about EU myths.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Unfortunately some are and end up deaf.

I'd really need to see the article and the directive because there is a whole website set up about EU myths.

ok here ye go http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/19643.cfm

My response is that the Treaty was written at a time when the economy across the world was in good shape, I feel that this current treaty will soon be changed due to the economic issue.
    You don't seem to be understanding me. It is not a provision in the treaty that will help the economy, it is Ireland's acceptance of it and the resulting goodwill and reputation that will bring. I don't know how to explain it any clearer.
    The Catholic Church has also voice its support. What's their vested interest?
    No they haven't as I said. They're neutral, they just came out and said they are not against it as some claimed.
    We could go around in circles all day listing the people who are in favour and those who are not in favour. It might not just be the government and I on some issue agree with many on the Yes in relation to other issues. But it is a waste of time.
    Yeah it's a waste of time from your perspective because when a direct comparison is made between the yes proponents and the no proponents there's a very clear winner in terms of reputability and general sanity.

I don't think we should ask the bank sector because they seem to have even less of a clue on the economy.
    What about all the other business groups?

And that is not the fault of the electorate it is the fault of the government and their current set of policies and their set of policies for the last 12 years.
    Again you don't seem to be understanding me. We appear unpredictable and unreliable because we have repeatedly shown that we can so easily be swayed by lies. We're unpredictable in that the EU has absolutely no idea what they can put in a treaty to satisfy us
    Ireland is a very stable political landscape, the main 3 parties have very little difference and it is unlikely that they will rock international waters or cause an major instability in the Irish economy. Saying NO won't change that.

You keep saying that but pretty much everyone who knows anything about the economy disagrees with you. Are you sure that you're looking at this objectively and not with a certain bias of not wanting it to be true?

The way you keep pointing to one or two groups who support a yes to dismiss them and ignoring all of the other ones that don't fit your theory of vested interests and not caring about the country looks a lot to me like confirmation bias

shouldn't it be up to the person that uses this device what volume they want to listen to either way without a dictatorship doing it for them. in relation to k-9 post

I would agree to an extent, though I wouldn't see a problem with reasonable limits if it is becoming an Health issue.

We could have a whole debate over this and other areas, but it would drag this OT. Would be a good idea for a new thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Manufacturers should not be allowed to produce products that are unsafe. That is what the directive prevents. No individual will be jailed for listening to music too loudly. However big companies that produces products that cause harm to consumers can face penalties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭vanla sighs

EU RULES wrote: »
    My good friend Tommy O'Brien posted this on Politics.ie

Come on this is obvious. If you have a real care for Ireland and not some false romantic insane nationalism(like some do on here) then you will vote yes to Lisbon. I am voting yes as a proud Irishman and European.

I mean look at Future Taoiseach for instance. The guy is living in his own little world, 'viva la republique' indeed.

You seem to forget that it is the Irish people who have already rejected the Lisbon Treaty..........

Which parts?

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Manufacturers should not be allowed to produce products that are unsafe. That is what the directive prevents. No individual will be jailed for listening to music too loudly. However big companies that produces products that cause harm to consumers can face penalties.

how does it cause harm to a person ? there is a volume control on it that allows you to listen on low settings or high settings so how is that unsafe ?. people have a choice whether to blast their ears out even though they know the dangers of this or use their own minds to use it sensibly. next you will be restricted from walking too fast as it could cause stress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

K-9 wrote: »
    I think it would be very hard to argue that a No vote will not cause uncertainty in the markets and some unstability.

For how long that will be is the issue and who knows?

What markets?

The Irish market-Very unstable anyway for reasons for another forum.

Scaremongering as the bible of the markets the wall street journal will tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

how does it cause harm to a person ? there is a volume control on it that allows you to listen on low settings or high settings so how is that unsafe ?. people have a choice whether to blast their ears out even though they know the dangers of this or use their own minds to use it sensibly. next you will be restricted from walking too fast as it could cause stress.

One is reminded of a book called 1984 by george orwell.

Totally agree with you.

What markets?

The Irish market-Very unstable anyway for reasons for another forum.

Scaremongering as the bible of the markets the wall street journal will tell you.

I wonder what happened after a No the last time.

Again, I'm not saying it will be a long term reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I'm not going to reply individually here, but let me say a few things.

Both sides have raised smoke screens and I'm most annoyed myself with the stupid placards from the 'No' side when there is real reasons out there and they go on about some silly 1.84 minimum wage threat.

But...

- The treaty has fvck all to do with recovery of the economy.
    - The claim that only dodgy organizations support a 'No' vote can be easily reversed. The fact that FF and our government and in fact all the established parties support a 'Yes' alone would make me think twice.
    - No matter how much you 'Yes' guys twist it, the thing became a joke with the 2nd referendum. I don't have to explain why surely.
    - And my biggy is...: People are in denial about the EU moving away from an economical union to a political union. The foundations being laid here have serious democratic deficiencies. In fact the entire process screams 'democratic deficiencies' itself, too. Yessers say 'but it's an improvement'. Well it is if it was still just about an economical union, but it isn't and for what it's going to be it's very dangerous actually.

These reasons are enough to instill serious doubts. But there is plenty more.

I'm not going to engage again in a debate in this forum, both sides are hardened and this debate here cannot be won anyway. But I have enough listening to the crap about the 'No' people all being effectively ignorant retards who don't know what they're doing.