Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

FAS recriuting for British army in Limerick !!

1234568»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

toomevara wrote: »
    Yes, I don't indulge in moral relativism.
    Well condem those brutal murders then. Lets see it. M15 will be watching you though. Dont upset your "masters" Male nurse...... Now let me think what I know about them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Well condem those brutal murders then. Lets see it. M15 will be watching you though. Dont upset your "masters" Male nurse...... Now let me think what I know about them?

Oh dear, quite an excitable wee chap aren't we? All us male nurses are of course flagrantly gay, hugely flamboyant homosexuals dahling....lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

Oh dear, quite an excitable wee chap aren't we? All us male nurses are of course flagrantly gay, hugely flamboyant homosexuals dahling....lol.
    I never knew that. Thanks for telling me. I am due to be admitted next week for a minor op. Must be careful then if there are any non female nurssies about then.

Ah, we're all lovely really. Good luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Yes we know the british army in this country for many many years. They had one particular division named as the black and tans. They were the scum of the earth and jailbirds and slaughtered many thousands of decent Irish people,. The IRA got rid of the scummy army and british rule from the south and they also assisted in ridding us of the likes of the murdering paras from our streets.Remember the killers who were ordered to murder 13 decent innocent people on bloody sunday? So please do not tell me that our feddom fighrers are guilty of slaughter. That is the brits particular trait which has been used against hundereds of thousands of decent Irish.
    Join the british army and under the influence of drugs murder decent people.

According to official sources, between January, 1920, and the Truce on the 11th July, 1921, the Irish casualties have been estimated at about 700 killed and over 800 wounded. According to contemporary press reports about half of the total were Volunteers and half civilians. It adds up to 276 Volunteers killed, and 288 civilians either shot dead in affrays, found dead labelled as spies, or taken out and murdered by masked men on one side or other. The British casualties in the same period were 366 police and 162 soldiers killed and 600 police and 566 soldiers wounded. 20 more RIC men were killed and forty wounded between the Truce and the disbandment of the RIC in January 1922. Source: The Blacks and Tans (The British Special Police in Ireland) by Richard Bennett - Published in 1959.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I doubt the idiotic pricks who (a) support terrorists and (b) deface public property with graffiti would be accepted anyway :rolleyes:

In fact, those are perfect character traits to work on. You hardly think that the British Army is going to recruit people with moral backbone, people who would tend to think about the rights and wrongs of orders? What sort of army would that be? They want cannonfodder who do what they're told. They always, always want people who will do dirty inhumane jobs such as torture, jobs which thinking, compassionate people would not touch with a barge pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Hmmm I may be wrong but I'm sure that there were a few other parties killing and slaughtering over the past few years...now what were they called again, oh yeah, the IRA.

You could do worse than join the British army if you're interested in becoming a professional soldier. It is, at least a functioning fighting army rather than a glorified gendarmerie.

If only! That's what Ireland needs - a gendarmerie/civil guard - Spanish style, to deal with the drug lords, terrorists (of all persuasions), scumbags and to make our sacred Republic a safe place to live in. Let those who want to follow a military career join a real army such as the US/British or indeed the Taliban if they are that way inclined. The Republic has no need for an army and without air/sea power it is a joke. That is not to denigrate our army personnel - but what is the point, we are never going to be able to take independent action against anybody and we should not get involved in foreign adventures (Chad/Kosovo/Afghanistan) as we have no arms industry benefiting from wars across the globe. Ireland didn't tool up all these regimes in the first place - leave it to the British/Americans/French and others who benefited from arms sales etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Dionysus wrote: »
    In fact, those are perfect character traits to work on. You hardly think that the British Army is going to recruit people with moral backbone, people who would tend to think about the rights and wrongs of orders? What sort of army would that be? They want cannonfodder who do what they're told. They always, always want people who will do dirty inhumane jobs such as torture, jobs which thinking, compassionate people would not touch with a barge pole.

Obviously.

Nobody that has ever attended University is serving in the British Army right now. They're far too busy being thinking and compassionate to consider a career in the BA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

If only! That's what Ireland needs - a gendarmerie/civil guard - Spanish style, to deal with the drug lords, terrorists (of all persuasions), scumbags and to make our sacred Republic a safe place to live in. Let those who want to follow a military career join a real army such as the US/British or indeed the Taliban if they are that way inclined. The Republic has no need for an army and without air/sea power it is a joke. That is not to denigrate our army personnel - but what is the point, we are never going to be able to take independent action against anybody and we should not get involved in foreign adventures (Chad/Kosovo/Afghanistan) as we have no arms industry benefiting from wars across the globe. Ireland didn't tool up all these regimes in the first place - leave it to the British/Americans/French and others who benefited from arms sales etc.

Ireland (or at least Dublin and the IFSC) plays a major role in arms dealing. Many of the worlds biggest arms dealers are based here for tax reasons. Have a look at a few of the brass nameplates down the IFSC!

Good for the exchequer so I'v no problem with their presence!

Poccington wrote: »
    Obviously.

Nobody that has ever attended University is serving in the British Army right now. They're far too busy being thinking and compassionate to consider a career in the BA.

Indeed. One of my very best mates is a war photographer. He's been in Afghanistan and Irag with the Canadians, Americans and British and he's about to ship out to Sangin to hang out with 40 Commando, Royal Marines. He's a citizen of the republic and always meets a number of southern irish lads on his jaunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

To be honest, if i were out of work and stuck on this pissy rock i would join the British army and go shoot myself some <snip>.

edit:Rabies

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Indeed. One of my very best mates is a war photographer. He's been in Afghanistan and Irag with the Canadians, Americans and British and he's about to ship out to Sangin to hang out with 40 Commando, Royal Marines. He's a citizen of the republic and always meets a number of southern irish lads on his jaunts.

Why didn't you send him my way?

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Caoimhín, no more comments like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Uimhir:374

Ceist Pharlaiminte

Chun an Aire Oideachais agus Eolaíoctha
    To the Minister for Education and Science

To ask the Tánaiste and Minister for Education and Skills if it is appropriate
    for FÁS to be acting as a recruitment agency for the British Army.
    - Finian McGrath.

* For WRITTEN answer on Wednesday, 5th May, 2010.
    Reference Number: 18045/10

Freagra

Tánaiste Mary Coughlan

I understand that the matter in question relates to the Millennium Jobs Club,
    which is funded by FÁS and operated by the Moyross Development Company
    Limited. The primary objective of the Jobs Clubs is to provide training to
    assist participants who are ready for work to develop skills they can use to
    find a job.

FÁS makes funding available to Jobs Clubs on a nationwide basis in order to
    cover their running costs. However, the day-to-day operation of each Club is
    the responsibility of its Jobs Club Leader under the supervision of the Board
    of Management.

At FÁS' request, the Millennium Jobs Club has now ceased the practice referred
    to and all Jobs Clubs have been made aware of this matter in order that it will
    not happen again.

Did you send them the email/letter?

Its bad form for a agency to try and recruit people for jobs. People don't need the money at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

As anyone who has been to Moyross will tell you, it's a place with high unemployment and all the attendant social problems (as the media calls them). If a young guy wanted to get out of there and the British Army gave him the money, skills and chance to do so, then good luck to him. Better doing that than waiting around for barstool republicans or Fianna Fail to help him.

Yeah, never mind about the people whose country they are going to occupy, whose freedom fighters they are going to kill, whose citizens they are going to torture and whose villages they are going to terrorise. Sure, wouldn't the British, and all these cheerleaders, love to be living under foreign occupation?

As long as Mr Lasyarse undereducated scumbag knacker can get a job doing all of this sure isn't he coming up in the world, God bless him.

Make no mistake: the people who are cheerleading this sort of thing are the same sort of people who throughout the centuries have been contending that the British are a force for civilisation in the world and are therefore justified in occupying other peoples' countries and "doing what it takes" to assert British power and crush independence movements.

It's tribalism at its worst: "our boys" right or wrong and to hell with the rights of non-British peoples. When, in 1976, the European Commission on Human Rights found the British state guilty of carrying out a policy of "torture" against Irish citizens (in a case brought by the government of Ireland) through its use of the 'Five Techniques' these same people would have lined up talking about the "opportunities" awaiting somebody who joined the military wing of the British state. So much for "bravery".

And then they expect sympathy when one of these mé-féiner scumbags, like that guy from Ballyfermot a few years back, end up getting justice in the form of a highly appropriate brown box while occupying lands beyond Britain.

Yeah, never mind about the people whose country they are going to occupy, whose freedom fighters they are going to kill, whose citizens they are going to torture and whose villages they are going to terrorise. Sure, wouldn't the British, and all these cheerleaders, love to be living under foreign occupation?

As long as Mr Lasyarse undereducated scumbag knacker can get a job doing all of this sure isn't he coming up in the world, God bless him.

Make no mistake: the people who are cheerleading this sort of thing are the same sort of people who throughout the centuries have been contending that the British are a force for civilisation in the world and are therefore justified in occupying other peoples' countries and "doing what it takes" to assert British power and crush independence movements.

It's tribalism at its worst: "our boys" right or wrong and to hell with the rights of non-British peoples. When, in 1976, the European Commission on Human Rights found the British state guilty of carrying out a policy of "torture" against Irish citizens (in a case brought by the government of Ireland) through its use of the 'Five Techniques' these same people would have lined up talking about the "opportunities" awaiting somebody who joined the military wing of the British state. So much for "bravery".

And then they expect sympathy when one of these mé-féiner scumbags, like that guy from Ballyfermot a few years back, end up getting justice in the form of a highly appropriate brown box while occupying lands beyond Britain.

Ah give over would you. If they went off an joined the German army would you bring up World War two, if they went off and joined the Italian army would you mention the Romans killing the Christians. Honestly, Limerick is a world away from Northern Ireland, I'd say most people in Limerick couldn't give a damn about a united Ireland, especially after the IRA murdered a Garda here. If you asked them to choose, they'd be more annoyed about Dell leaving and the hurlers being so crap. Maybe we're ignorant, maybe we've moved on, who cares, good luck to any lads who sign up.

good luck to any lads who sign up.

Yes, and better luck to the natives who have to endure them.

Sure why not. Great to see we can reach agreement on this most important of topics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,281 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yeah, never mind about the people whose country they are going to occupy, whose freedom fighters they are going to kill,

The Taliban?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The Taliban?:confused:

I know. Madness isn't it!

They are freedom fighters... Just don't mention the public stoning of adulterers, bombing of girls schools, zero womens rights, hostage taking. Cause the taliban would never do that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,281 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

discus wrote: »
    I know. Madness isn't it!

They are freedom fighters... Just don't mention the public stoning of adulterers, bombing of girls schools, zero womens rights, hostage taking. Cause the taliban would never do that...

The Taliban are fighting for the freedom to carry these out, and more, because they're really misunderstood social workers.

Yeah, never mind about the people whose country they are going to occupy, whose freedom fighters they are going to kill,

Lol, only in ireland....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

but there's no danger, its a professional career

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

No one said it wasn't dangerous.