Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

American top 30

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Woops!:pac:

Are you going to sort out an interview with the winner BH? :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

no.30 & 29: Scott Steiner & Chris Masters

I think two posters in particular can be proud of the fact that almost singlehandidly they got these two into the top thirty, everyone else on the list had multiple people vote for them but still here they are Big Poppa Pump and The Masterpiece sharing no.30 & 29 in our count down.

no.28: Shawn Micheals

He may be retired now (since March 29th) but Micheals had a quater of a year as an active roster member of the WWE and during that time with his Wrestlemania retirement match vs The Undertaker as the highlight he made enough of an impact to make no.28 in this poll.

no.27: Doug Williams

A very busy man this year after finishing up with The British Invasion / World Elite he had a run as X-Division champion in TNA during which he became a member of the group Fortune. He later turned face and dropped the X division title only to become the new TNA TV champ.

no.26: Ric Flair

Woooooooooo! My current occupation usually involves teaching the meaning of english words to people who have english as normally their 3rd language and yet i dont think id stand a chance trying to explain the word retirement to Natch, but sure why would I want to as it would mean the end of his insane(ly) great promos.

no.25: Dolph Ziggler

Mr Ziggles has grown up quite a bit this year and established himself on the card. With Vicky Guerrero at his side now he is getting airtime and heat and after a long IC title reign and competing in both WM's MITB ladder match and SD's MITB match at the same named PPV he has impressed enough to round off the top 25.

no.24 & 23: John Morrison & AJ Styles

our second joint placing reavealled so far and our third overall see's the Shaman of Sexy and The Phenomonal one share the spoils here. Morrison has had some great matches this year and seemingly with the E behind him he could place even higher next year. Meanwhile if anything TNA's use of AJ has probably meant him placing much lower than he's capable of as he went from being the world champ to being a Flair Clone fighting for the TV title while still having great matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Not the top 33 however as 3.Alberto & 4.Del Rio are the same person
    CMpunked wrote: »
    So these would be the top 33?
    (not in order, obviously...)

1. Davey Richards,
    2. Rey Mysterio,
    3. Alberto Del Rio
    4. Del Rio, Ricardo Rodriguez
    5. Bryan Danielson,
    6. John Cena,
    7. The Miz,
    8. John Morrison,
    9. Chris Masters,
    10. Kurt Angle,
    11. Wade Barett,
    12. Batista,
    13. Roderick Strong,
    14. AJ Styles,
    15. Alex Shelly,
    16. Chris Sabin,
    17. Sheamus,
    18. Roderick Strong,
    19. AJ Styles,
    20. Shawn Micheals,
    21. Chris Jericho,
    22. Scott steiner,
    23. Dolph Ziggler,
    24. Ric Flair,
    25. Doug Williams,
    26. CM Punk,
    27. Mr Anderson,
    28. Randy Orton,
    29. Nexus,
    30. Jeff Hardy,
    31. Christian,
    32. The Undertaker,
    33. Chris Hero,

FYP ;)

No.22: Roderick Strong

The first name from the independant Circuit and the man who is argueably top of the competitors at that level right now comes in at no.22 in our list and as the current ROH World Champion, Full Impact Pro (FIP), and Pro Wrestling Guerrilla (PWG) champions I think its hard to argue with his making this list.

No.21: Chris Hero

Another Ring of Honor wrestler makes the list at no.21 in the form of Chris Hero. He is currently in his second reign as one half of their tag team champions with Claudio Castagnoli (who himself made the top 50) as the Kings of Wrestling. They most recently had a great match as they defeated Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin at Glory by honour IX.

No.20: The Undertaker

He missed a lot of the year and his feud with Kane was not loved by all but then again his feud and match with Shawn Micheals was enough to get HBK no.28 in this vote so its no surprise that the phenom has just sneaked into the top 20.

No.19: Christian

Another who has missed some of the year through injury but he still has his peeps and they have voted to reflect how good he was before injury. From MITB contender to NXT mentor you were always sure of a good performance from captain charisma.

No.18 Jeff Hardy

The erratic enigma and TNA champion comes in at no.18 and the past year has been his full return to that company. Jeff has risen to the top in that company and been involved in some good matches but the logic behind his heel turn has been questioned by many as has his extracurricular activity by the courts, these may be contributing factors as to why the TNA champ isnt anywhere near the top TNA star in our list.

no.17: Nexus

As a collective unit The Nexus have wreaked havoc on WWE televison since their impactfull arrival on the Viewer's Choice edition of Raw in an attack on Cena, Punk, Luke Gallows, Jerry Lawler, Matt Striker, Justin Roberts, and other WWE personnel around the ring, as well as destroying everything at ringside, including the announce table and the ring itself. The members of Nexus collectively sharing this place are David Otunga, Heath Slater, Justin Gabriel, Skip Sheffield, Michael McGillicutty, Husky Harris, Darren Young & Michael Tarver.

no.16 & 15: Mr Anderson & Randy Orton

Orton looked like he could be going the Stone Cold route at one stage this year and while RKO'ing guest hosts left right and center seemed on his way to a much higher placing but despite him not quite reaching the heights he seemed to be capable of its still been a pretty good year for the Viper. He would however chuckle I would imagine at the fact that he is sharing his placing with the man that if reports are to believed he got fired from the WWE Mr Anderson/Kennedy. Ken has had a great year since moving to TNA and has proven himself in many peoples eyes as a main eventer not only for the future but for now. He continues to have great promos and at the moment is in the world title hunt so seems deserving of this high a vote.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I'm quite enjoying these lists and your write-ups BH. I assume #17 Nexus excludes Barrett!! Pleasantly shocked to see Orton far down the list lol.

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I'm quite enjoying these lists and your write-ups BH. I assume #17 Nexus excludes Barrett!! Pleasantly shocked to see Orton far down the list lol.

Thanks, yep your assumption is right only the ones listed are included in the #17 placing. No CMPunk as im sure you guessed ive no interview lined up with the no.1 but sure if the bostoncrab or someone else swings at some point they can refer to this.

btw Ive asked 5 different posters to do write up for no.s 1-5, only short one but so far ive recieved 2 of them and been and have been told another two are on their way and im still to recieve a response from one, so hopefully the write ups will stay good as tbh ive not been putting too much thought into them

No.14: Dave Batista

This year we saw a new side to big Dave and wether he was wearing a hat or not (see Bubs vote) he made an impression on even the biggest Batista haters. He debuted his weiny heel character and really impressed on the Mic and since his involvement with the McMahon/Bret story which lead to his once again becoming World champion he garnerd far more interest. Unfortunatley after winning over so many fans with his new persona Batista exited the WWE although atleas it could be argued that our no.14 for the past year went out on top. MMA surprisingly seems to beckon for Batista but I wouldent rule out him being included in next years vote too.
    batista.jpg

No.13: Alberto Del Rio

Argueably this years breakthrough star of the year, Alberto has been booked very strongly since he announced his arrival by taking out his little buddy Rey Mysterio on Smackdown. Since then he has continued this rivalry and continued to impress to such a degree that despite only making his WWE debut in June of this year he was voted no.13 in our list of best wrestler working in America, most would expect a strong future for Del Rio.
    alberto-del-rio-wallpaper-preview_80003.jpg

No.12: Rey Mysterio

From a top notch feud with CM Punk to the above mentioned feud with his fellow Mexican Alberto Del Rio Mysterio has been on form this year despite a number of injuries. The WWE rewarded him for this fact by given him his second World title reign this year and we are rewarding this little high flying Mexican by voting him the 13th best wrestler of the past year.
    rey2010psp.jpg

No.11: Davey Richards

Another ROH star makes the list and at No.11 Davey Richards is the highest placed wrestler from there on our list. He is known as one half of the American Wolves but more recently has been competing in singles competition including a tournament to determine the inaugural ROH World Television Champion in which he faced his tag partner Eddie Edwards in the final and New Japan Pro Wrestling's Best of the Super Juniors tournament. In the tournament he displayed the great in ring ability that has gotten him so high in this vote when despite not winning it overall he won 5 out of his 7 matches in the 2 week tournament.
    Davey+2.png

No.10: CM Punk

The Straight Edge Saviour has had a mixed year with both his straight edge society dissolving and Injury but overall he has remained a constant source of entertainment and has excelled this year on the mic. From his promo at the royal rumble to destroying rey in front of his family he truely earned his despicable me slammy and has been a great heel this year. He has also added another dimension to his WWE character with his stint on the announce team and has made the show more entertaining from this position despite his injury.
    cmpunkpspbugzwp.jpg

No.9: The Miz

The Miz has been someone who has gradually improved year on year and as much as people may genuinley dislike the guy this year he seems to have made the step up to someone of importance to his brand. Be it him "mentoring" and then feuding with Daniel Bryan on NXT and Raw, forming ShowMiz or his winning and cashing in his money in the bank contract to become the new world champion he has brought his A game and honestly looks to be someone the WWE can now rely on going forward. Another huge leap forward for The Miz this year as I doubt many would have guessed he'd make the top ten last year nor ushering in the era of awesomeness.
    miz-wwe-champion-wallpaper-preview.jpg

No.8: Chris Jericho

Another who has missed a chunk of the last year and argueably may have placed even higher than this respectable 8th place had he not done so Jericho was often one of very few reasons to watch Raw/SD at times this year. He had despite winning the world title during the past year Jericho also put many of the younger talent over before going on hiatus such as John Morrison or Jack Swagger who cashed in his MITB contract against Jericho. Combine this with his time in the tag devision with The Miz and the great promos he cut almost every week and its easy to see why Y2J takes such a high placing in the vote.
    chris-jericho.jpg

No.7: Sheamus

Our own SOS comes in at no.7 and after winning not only 1 (TLC last year) WWE title but 2 (fatal 4 way) aswell as becoming the King of The Ring for 2010 it really isnt a surprise that Big Red is so high on the list. Add in the man that as far as kayfabe goes he is the man we can thank for HHH being on the shelf for the majority of this year and it could be argued he would be expect to place even better. He seems far more comfortable and assured of himself both on the Mic and in the ring this year and you would have to expect the first Irish born world champion will be at the top of these kind of lists for the foreseable future should he continue like this.
    Sheamus-Wallpaper-Preview.jpg

No.6: Chris Sabin

As one half of the Motor City Machine guns Chris Sabin has taken part in not only some of TNA's best matches of the year but some of the best matches in wrestling period in the past 12 months. These two have given many a reason to watch TNA and have shown what tag team wrestling can be (in contrast to the WWE's product) with numerous great excibitions against teams such as Generation Me and most notably their Best of 5 series against Beer Money.
    Chris_Sabin_Banner_3_by_motorcitymachinegirl.jpg

No.5: Wade Barett
    Charisteas wrote:
    I voted for Wade Barrett as one of the top wrestlers for 2010 mostly because of the huge impact he has made in the WWE this year. 12 months ago, he was an unknown rookie in developmental, and now he is one of the main reasons I am watching Raw every week. The debut of Nexus this year was probably the greatest wrestling moment of 2010, and Barrett along with Nexus have been booked relatively strongly for the remainder of the year, even though some critics saying that they would only last for a few weeks.

They have lost in some high profile matches lately, and because of that, people have complained that Barrett and Nexus have been poorly booked as of late. But considering that they were all unknown rookies 6 months ago, they not only won the battle to have John Cena join them, they also got him fired. So despite their ups and downs, they are still in a very strong position on the WWE roster.

Wade Barrett has been excellent in his role as team leader of Nexus, good on the mic and decent promos, and believable interaction with other superstars, most notably with John Cena and David Otunga. I also believe he is a very good wrestler, not looking out of place when wrestling with Cena, Orton and other veterans in the company. He is entertainment on every level, and is now definitely accepted as a main-event talent, with or without Nexus. Here's to Wade Barrett pushing on in 2011 and hopefully becoming a WWE Champion.
    Wade-Barrett-psd56467.png

No.4: Alex Shelly
    Gimmick wrote:
    Long been seen as a guy with buckets of telent and charisma, but who "just is not big enough to go far", Alex Shelley has become something of a by word for the reasoning that small guys wont make it to the top of the game. 2010 has shown that size no longe rmatters in the wrestling game, and Shelley is a proud exponent of this. Better known as a tag wrestler with Chris sabin, many feel, rightly or wrongly, he is the top guy in the team. I am sure Sabin fans will argue, but as we are only splitting a hair I would not get too wound up by this. This year for Sheeley will be remebered as the year the MCMG brought Tag team wrestling in America back to peoples attentions. With some crazy feuds and matches with Beer Money and Generation Me, and even a few where they managed to make the Dudleys look half decent, few can argue the merit of MCMG being Americas best tag team at the moment, but to just look at it that way ignores Shelleys contribution. He is the mouth piece of the group, he is the one who sells the feuds who draws you in. One to watch for years to come, Shelley has age on his side as well as his seemingly limitless ability, so for that, we can all be very thankful.
    m_c3f4ad40f59242caa6cf59e6c31ab988.jpg

No.3: John Cena
    Rjd2 wrote:
    Its been one of the most interesting Cena years, however despite many memorable moments for his fans and even his detractors, booking wise he has been let down in crucial moments of the year.

His feud with Batista was excellent stuff and a worthy Mania World Title Match. However looking back I think Batista should have won the Mania match. Dave as heel champ with Cena chasing could have been a license to print money, instead the feud petered out before Dave went of to new pastures. The Nexus stuff however is what most people will remember Cena for when they look back at 2010. The debut of Nexus on Raw was an obvious highlight and Cena done a truly wonderful job in selling them like death that night. Danielson spitting at Cena was an obvious highlight and true WTF moment for the IWC.

The feud has had some fantastic moments which did excite many jaded WWE Fans, however when push came to shove, they were reluctant to really pull the trigger on Nexus. Nexus really should have won at Summerslam, and even after they somehow got the feud back on track before Survivor Series with the firing stipulation, they pissed that away with Cena returning that night. However you probably shouldn’t blame Cena for his booking, all reports indicate he doesn’t politic like other guys. His matches for the most part were quite good, he is never going to appeal to some of the hardcore IWC but I doubt he really cares anymore. His match with Dave at Mania was arguably the second best of the night behind Taker v HBK and on reflection overshadowed a rather disappointing effort from an off-key Edge and Jericho.

The one match however which really highlighted Cena’s class was his performance with Wade at HIAC. We all know Wade is money when he speaks, but as a worker he is very limited. , but Cena carried him to a 4 star match. The way that Cena can still involve the crowd was perfectly highlighted that night as well. You compare how he carried Wade that night to Orton’s performance with him the following month and the difference is startling. Wade did nothing different that night, but Orton simply wasn’t able to carry Wade to something as memorable as what Cena did. The silence of the crowd that night brutally illustrated this as well.
    He is one of the few who still brings a big match feel to his PPV matches, something which few can do these days. Until someone steps up and connects with the crowd as well as he does and provides solid PPV matches and moves as much merch, his position as top dog on Raw will remain intact.

Next year will be interesting, ideally we get a Taker Mania match and a CM Punk feud is something that could be huge if given enough time.

I also want to see a match with Bryan as well…
    Cenexus3_original_crop_340x234_display_image.jpg?1287728489

No.2: Kurt Angle
    2010 has been a very turbulent year for TNA but one pillar of consistency has been Kurt Angle. After a mediocre 2009 by his standards, Angle constantly delivered throughout 2010. Whether he was helping Anderson to his best career match by a long way, tearing it up with Styles when all eyes were on TNA on January 4th, running through the top ten or taking on Hardy in one of the most exciting, dramatic matches this year - Angle has been pure excellence no matter what.

For me Angle has been the most dynamic, consistent wrestler of 2010 with a body of work better than nearly anybody else along with always making his opponent look like a million bucks - win, lose or draw. What more can you ask from a guy?
    american-professional-wrestler-kurt-angle-200x154.jpg

No.1: Bryan Danielson/Daniel Bryan
    Flahavaj wrote:
    They said he wasn't big enough. They said he hadn't the charisma. They said he wouldn't be able to work the WWE "style." They said he wouldn't cut it in the big leagues.

And yet after his first full year in WWE, Daniel Bryan, the wrestler formerly known as Bryan Danislson has confounded his critics in the most emphatic way possible. Danielson has shown the wider wrestling world why he has been for so long termed the "Best in the World" by his indy fans. Danielson has held the US title for many months now and has carved a niche for himslelf by putting on excellent matches in the opener of every PPV, restoring the belt's credibility after years of mediocrity and shoddy booking. If he continues in this vein he bis guaranteed to make the top 5 or better in polls such as this for years to come..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

I have to say, fair play BH for all the effort you put into this. Well done to everyone who voted on this too.

Daniel Bryan - boards.ie PW forum American Wrestler of the Year 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Thanks for all the hard work BH.

Delighted to see Danielson win, I was certain Angle would win given his popularity on here. Nice one.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Delighted to see Danielson win, I was certain Angle would win given his popularity on here. Nice one.

Ha, I imagine a good chunk of peeps here don't watch TNA, and it'd be the TNA audience haranguing people to put Angle up at the top :o. Shocked to see Shelly so far up, since he hasn't cut a promo all year....also that the guns were split :confused: Danielson and Angle were my top two but in reverse order. Angle's had much better varied matches all year long but it's incredibly refreshing to see Danielson work his magic, especially since he's an internet nobody (in vince's eyes initially anyway).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ha, I imagine a good chunk of peeps here don't watch TNA, and it'd be the TNA audience haranguing people to put Angle up at the top :o. Shocked to see Shelly so far up, since he hasn't cut a promo all year...

a true promo in the sense of the word no but he has been good on the mic, that promo with the guns in the ring with mcguinness and magnus where shelly was taking the piss out of mcguinness was hilarious

The Guns were split as a few people voted for one (generally Shelly) over the other and even once if I recall Shelley was voted for while Sabin didnt get a vote from that voter. So they get split up while they both got votes when someone just put MCMGs down. I found it interesting though that they picked up enough points that the small few extra Shelly had over Sabin was also enough for him to leapfrog Barett into 4th spot.

3 WWE stars in the top 5
    7 in the top 10
    14 in the top 20 (taking Nexus as 1)
    18 in the top 30

2 TNA stars in the top 5
    3 in the top 10
    5 in the top 20
    9 in the top 30 (including Steiner who left last Feb)

0 Current ROH guys in the top 10
    1 current ROH guy in the top 20
    3 current ROH guys in the top 20

Retried: HBK
    out of PW atm: Jericho, Batista

Interestingly a lot of people missed an awful lot of time this year who made the list, Jericho, Taker, HBK, Christian, Del Rio (only arrived in June), Cm Punk, Batista etc

From this list id think:

As D2D said, Boards.ie PW (BPW) Wrestler of the year: Bryan Danielson

BPW WWE wrestler of the year: Bryan Danielson
    BPW TNA Wrestler of the year: Kurt Angle
    BPW ROH Wrestler of the year: Davey Richards
    BPW Tag Team of the year: The Motor City Machine Guns

Breakout star of the year: In terms of WWE Danielson would take it but he would have been on lists like this previously despite not being with the E, so id think Wade Barett.

BPW is predicting big things for next year from: Alberto Del Rio, could have been breakout star but only debuted in June

BPW's most improved superstar: Maybe next year it can be based off wrestlers previous placing but im giving the inaugural award to The Miz, see the lil write up by his no.9 placing to see why he's getting to actually be awesome for the WWE.

BPW's biggest angle of the year: Nexus inavade the WWE
    BPW's current main eventer of the year: Kurt Angle
    BPW's current mid carder of the year: Bryan Danielson

BPW's highest ranked non americans: 1.Wade Barett 2. Sheamus 3. Chris Jericho

BPW female wrestler of the year: Layla closely followed by Natayla
    BPW's oldest superstar to make the list: Ric Flair

BPW's gone but not forgotten list: Shawn Micheals, Chris Jericho, Batista, Christian, the undertaker, Christian all missed big chunks of the year through injury, retirement, not renewing contracts etc but still made the top 20

Man, we're a smart group! :pac:

Humorously it's almost exactly in line with my personal thoughts although I've no doubt that Jericho smokes both Barrett and Sheamo in the ring and on the mic. Ask him!

:confused: about the love for Layla, I'd consider her the worst out of herself, Nattie & McCool. Although i was surprised her match with nattie wasn't awful, i would've credited Nattie for that.

Man, we're a smart group! :pac:

Humorously it's almost exactly in line with my personal thoughts although I've no doubt that Jericho smokes both Barrett and Sheamo in the ring and on the mic. Ask him!

:confused: about the love for Layla, I'd consider her the worst out of herself, Nattie & McCool. Although i was surprised her match with nattie wasn't awful, i would've credited Nattie for that.

tbh I think the women got 1 or 2 votes each in total. I would agree with you about Jericho but he did miss a good chunk of time and that was recent time too which sticks out for people.

wonder who got the closest with their top 10 prediction? (well votes to be more accurate)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

Bit surprised to see Danielson win. Compared to his work in previous years this year hasn't been that impressive imo, but no doubt the huge leap in the number of eyes seeing him has helped.

Well done BH putting this together. It'll be interesting looking back on the list and comparing it with future years.

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    Bit surprised to see Danielson win. Compared to his work in previous years this year hasn't been that impressive imo, but no doubt the huge leap in the number of eyes seeing him has helped.

in ring maybe not but even in-ring it hasn't been bad at all, he has had some great matches with dibiase, miz, ziggler etc

i think what has impressed me most about bryan this year is that he has shown more charisma than ever before, the first nexus attack where he choked out roberts, the feud with michael cole, he has slipped effortlessly into place in the giant machine that is titan towers, even some of his biggest fans said that he would struggle coming to terms with wwes style, he was a wrestler not an entertainer, he couldn't work pg tv, they have been proved wrong

well i was probably one of the few who voted layla, for me it wasn't about picking the best workers of the year but the people who entertained me and laycool despite all their haters have actually entertained me at times and layla for me was more entertaining than mrs taker, layla has been more entertaining on the mic than any other female in tna/roh or wwe this year for me, i like to see new stuff and laycool commentating on their own match (which some found annoying) i found refreshing and amusing

there are better female workers in america but charisma wise the difference between neidhart and layla is huge

• Registered Users Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

What's even more impressive about Daniel Bryan's win is that he has only really been a regular on Raw for four months, and wrestled on just a handful of PPV's.

With Wade Barrett and Daniel Bryan both in the top 5, i wonder does this deem NXT to be a big success for the WWE, or would these two have become stars anyway?

Charisteas wrote: »
    With Wade Barrett and Daniel Bryan both in the top 5, i wonder does this deem NXT to be a big success for the WWE, or would these two have become stars anyway?

interesting question, barrett had floated around down in florida for 3 years seemingly not going anywhere in particular, they had given him numerous different names, they put in singles competition, tagged him with paul birchill, they tried him on commentary, both sheamus and drew were called up to the main roster well before him despite both being signed at the same time

Yep, Layla has tons more charisma than Nattie, which (especially with Divas) is far more important in today's wrestling. I really like LayCool's stuff as well (except for that awful commentary work one time!)
    Charisteas wrote: »

NXT is quite the failure (it being on WWE.com and not American TV is the yardstick lol) but these two would've been stars anyway. Barrett is tall, wide, and exceptional on the mic - all markers for a push at some point in WWE. Danielson is just too good of a worker to keep down. He has staunch, loud supporters both backstage and in general, so he'd've made it whatever show he started on.

I'll cite CM Punk as my reasoning -- he came in from ROH as an Indie hero, and was massively over (getting the loudest reaction at SSeries 2006 i believe). WWE buried him for about 2 years after that, but the cream rises to the top and any other cliches you'd like. Bottom line is that in general, talent always wins out and gets their chance to shine, especially in this era of "all of our attitude era stars are gone/dead/retired".

Danielson would've been a bit riskier but he came along in the right period in WWE, when size matters least. Barrett was always a dead cert. The stars aligned for these two as 2010 was a year when HBK, HHH, Batista, Taker and other main-stays weren't really around. No way the Nexus angle would've happened/gone on as long as it did if these old hands were around.