Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Bye Bye De Gea :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Umpalumpa

If de gea goes I'd like to see a top class keeper come in,but who is top class that could be available?I think van gaal will go for the ajax keeper who would battle it out with Valdez. He would cost 8m max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I'll be devastated when this De Gea announcement is official :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

United denying it according to ssn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,456 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

SSN saying no truth in the rumours about talks

Id make De Gea the best paid utd player at the club, he deserves it alot more than Rooney tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

He would have signed a new contract months ago lads. Its obvious he is moving. No surprise to me anyway. Good luck to him. He has been excellent for the Team. Up step Valdes now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

**** De Gea if he wants to go. He was talking of emulating Schmeichel when he first came from what I remember, and now he's off at the end of his first contract, to the main rival of his boyhood club? Ah here! See ya, close the door after ya.

Headshot wrote: »

Id make De Gea the best paid utd player at the club, he deserves it alot more than Rooney tbh

So true. He is in top forme all season round and has probably given us like over 20 points this season from his saves. And the best part is that he is still young and not at his peak yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Umpalumpa

**** De Gea if he wants to go. He was talking of emulating Schmeichel when he first came from what I remember, and now he's off at the end of his first contract, to the main rival of his boyhood club? Ah here! See ya, close the door after ya.

Have to agree.either he signs a new contract before the season ends or he gets sold.enough with the will he or won't he crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

It's funny you guys hate Rooney for wanting to leave and at the same time worship De Gea for wanting same and not even signing 1 extension with United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

I'd say all parties involved want to keep it quiet ip until the end of the season but you would imagine at this late stage he has decided to move.

Disappointing purely from a team building point of view. Despite the numerous comments on here about not needing a top tier keeper next season, as we will be better defensively, I'd strongly disagree.

It's a step backwards in the rebuilding project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,614 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Absolutely, I'm sure it's more then a decent deal he is being offered but I'd happily make him the best payed player at the club as he has earned it going by his performances, he alone must be worth 10 points a season plus even.

I believe he is gone though and it could be a case of no amount of money would make him stay.. He just wants to go back to Madrid. Either way he has been a great player for us and I'll be sad to see him go.

I really don't think Valdes is good enough we need to bring in another keeper although I'm at a loss to see who is available right now, either way we will be downgrading in that position methinks.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    It's funny you guys hate Rooney for wanting to leave and at the same time worship De Gea for wanting same and not even signing 1 extension with United.

There has been no signs so far that De Gea wants to leave. This whole drama has been very low profile and there's not too much known about whether d gea wants to leave or not. Who knows, maybe he would love to move back or maybe he is settled and comfortable with life in Manchester. The closer we get to the transfer window the more stories we are going to get. Reports today saying De Gea has agreed personal terms. Then half an hour later it gets denied. Very little people know much about this story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Van Gaal said the deal is on the table, highest paid keeper in the world by a distance. I think he is gone

Should be used to get another player, Bale, Ronaldo I'm not fussy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

If he wants to go, let him. There'll be more youngsters looking to step up to the plate. Be grand. Lloris in the meantime and a solid CB pairing would be golden. Get the spine of the team sussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

He would have signed a new contract months ago lads. Its obvious he is moving. No surprise to me anyway. Good luck to him. He has been excellent for the Team. Up step Valdes now.

Do you not think it was possible that he was waiting to see if we got top 4 before deciding what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Its not official yet.

I'm prepared for the worst but maybe its just another news story. I don't know like but anyway.

EVENFLOW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Do you not think it was possible that he was waiting to see if we got top 4 before deciding what to do.

hopefully

hold up here

Last time i looked he's a utd player. You believe gutter journalists that don't have a clue of utd. Who knows they maybe right but id only believe them when I see De Gea officially leaving the club.

Marca is a rag of a paper and only good for toilet paper and then its a last resort

There has been no signs so far that De Gea wants to leave. This whole drama has been very low profile and there's not too much known about whether d gea wants to leave or not. Who knows, maybe he would love to move back or maybe he is settled and comfortable with life in Manchester. The closer we get to the transfer window the more stories we are going to get. Reports today saying De Gea has agreed personal terms. Then half an hour later it gets denied. Very little people know much about this story

No signs that De Gea wants to leave? How about stalling contract for 2 years? There are rumors that club wanted to negotiate his contract at the start of last season and it's not signed yet. If that's not the indication then I don't know what is.

Mark Ogden ‏@MOgdenTelegraph 2 minutes ago

Word from #mufc is that no deal done with Real Madrid for De Gea, contrary to reports in Spain. Time will tell if that remains the case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Everyone is so angry in here today. I don't like it.

Let's bring back our circlejerk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Marca rumours two days after they get dumped out of the CL = yawn

I wouldn't blame De Gea for leaving anyway, if it does happen. Madrid is his city, and even though their fans are an embarrassment it's still Real Madrid.

I blame Utd for letting him get to this stage of his contract. We get Nani, Valencia and Smalling nailed down on contracts ages ago but De Gea is left until late. Very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

If it's angry here, i'd imagine the r/RedDevils sub-reddit would be a mob waiting to lynch De Gea

Another thing. He went nuts when Fellaini scored on Saturday. DDG celebrated like they won league. He is giving us everything he has. Maybe he misses home, maybe his GF hates Manchester.

Madrid and Barca are the big dogs, especially to a man from Spain. Hot weather, better lifestyle, people who are damming him would do the same if they got a chance.

He has given 100% so far and if he does leave once he leaves and does all he can for us while under contract for us that's all that matters and should matter.

EVENFLOW

No signs that De Gea wants to leave? How about stalling contract for 2 years? There are rumors that club wanted to negotiate his contract at the start of last season and it's not signed yet. If that's not the indication then I don't know what is.

Lot of people were saying and I read stories about this couple months ago that he wants to see if we can get Champions League football before committing his future to the club. That has only recently been guaranteed. He has been stalling but I don't think that is necessarily an indication he wants out.

hold up here

Last time i looked he's a utd player. You believe gutter journalists that don't have a clue of utd. Who knows they maybe right but id only believe them when I see De Gea officially leaving the club.

Marca is a rag of a paper and only good for toilet paper and then its a last resort

Yes and Rooney is United player and signed 2 extensions since fans started hating him for wanting to leave. For De Gea people give excuses but for players like Rooney people somehow assume he should stay at United forever without ever wanting to leave.

It's not gutter journalism, it's very clear which way this is heading. It's just a matter of time before it becomes official. Van Gaal even said contract is on the table and it's upto De Gea to make the decision. Mata said he don't know whether De Gea is staying or not. There are very clear signs, you just have to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

OctavarIan wrote: »

I wouldn't blame De Gea for leaving anyway, if it does happen. Madrid is his city, and even though their fans are an embarrassment it's still Real Madrid.

I blame Utd for letting him get to this stage of his contract. We get Nani, Valencia and Smalling nailed down on contracts ages ago but De Gea is left until late. Very poor.

Its not as if the club were busy giving outncontracts and forgot about him, if he didnt wanna enter negotiatians they cant force him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

How I hope it goes down:

Deal announced
    De Gea arrives over
    TV stations all recording the transfer
    De Gea walks over to greet Perez
    De Gea flips the middle finger
    Stone cold stunners him
    LVG and ed appear from the crowd
    De gea and ed sign a new 5 year contract there and then
    LVG brings a 12 pk
    They celebrate like so:

steve-austin-the-rock-hulk-hogan-shotgunning-beers-beer-gifs.gif

I think its possible :P

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    If it's angry here, i'd imagine the r/RedDevils sub-reddit would be a mob waiting to lynch De Gea

Just about to check in over there. Doing my daily routine.
    Reddit boobs first though.

OctavarIan wrote: »

You can't point a gun and make him sign a contract. There are rumors that he is pushing contract talks from last season. Not sure how can anyone blame club. Btw, Smalling, Nani signed contracts when they had 12 months or less remaining on their contract.

Lot of people were saying and I read stories about this couple months ago that he wants to see if we can get Champions League football before committing his future to the club. That has only recently been guaranteed. He has been stalling but I don't think that is necessarily an indication he wants out.

Van Gaal answer says a lot. Not sure about others but I for one am completely convinced that he will sign for Madrid this summer and we are not in strong position to hold them for more money either.

jayo26 wrote: »
    Its not as if the club were busy giving outncontracts and forgot about him, if he didnt wanna enter negotiatians they cant force him

I love how everyone knows what goes on behind closed doors.

Plenty of offices and companies get held back with things, especially these routine things.

Yes and Rooney is United player and signed 2 extensions since fans started hating him for wanting to leave. For De Gea people give excuses but for players like Rooney people somehow assume he should stay at United forever without ever wanting to leave.

It's not gutter journalism, it's very clear which way this is heading. It's just a matter of time before it becomes official. Van Gaal even said contract is on the table and it's upto De Gea to make the decision. Mata said he don't know whether De Gea is staying or not. There are very clear signs, you just have to see.

I think you dont understand. You are believing hear say and gutter jounalists. You have no idea whats happening in the background at utd.

Its annoying that people jump the gun and they like the newspapers have no ****ing clue whats happening at utd. Its all hear say and Marca ****e

Believe in De Gea for the now and curse he's name if he goes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

If he leaves, so be it. It sucks, but it's not the end of the world. more and more, we're shutting teams down to the extent they are only getting one or two shots a game. So if De Gea goes while we strengthen our defense and midfield, then his role won't be as vital.

There's not much point blaming him; he'll live a far nicer life in Madrid, and certainly be getting more recognition on a club and national level with them. Probably play with better players short term too.

Don't even hold much against United about it either; the switching of managers meant he was never going to get sold over the last 2 years; neither LVG nor Moyes would have wanted their first acts to be ousting a player who dragged the club up the table.

And that shouldn't be ignored; without him, we would have been far, far worse off the last two years. To me, he owes the club nothing, because he has saved the club from even more deplorable standings over the last two seasons. He's been a rock. Personally wish him the best of luck and it will be interesting to see how he gets on over there with a bigger spot light on his back.

I think you dont understand. You are believing hear say and gutter jounalists. You have no idea whats happening in the background at utd.

Its annoying that people jump the gun and they like the newspapers have no ****ing clue whats happening at utd. Its all hear say and Marca ****e

I found you can really spot the young people in here who don't work in big companies or offices who don't understand what happens in companies.

So you wait till he leaves before making any point? I have no idea about what's going behind the scenes, but what I know is De Gea's contract expires nest summer, he has not signed one yet and Van Gaal said it's upto De Gea as the contract is already offered. If he wanted to stay he would have signed one already. You just can't brush off all the reports about him leaving, not every story is bs.

It doesn't have to be signed straight away. His money won't go up straight away the second he signs it, regardless.

I found you can really spot the young people in here who don't work in big companies or offices who don't understand what happens in companies.

I think it's easy to spot people who think they know it all or they are the only one who works in big companies or even think job contracts are anywhere near same as football contracts.

I feel like im hitting my head of the table with ya Giggsy lol.

I dont see why you cant wait to know if he's leaving or not before you make your point. Some contacts just take time to iron out. Maybe he's waiting to know if utd get CL or maybe he's playing hard ball with utd. Im sure there's plenty other reasons to add to them.

I can certainly brush off those reports because their coming from that gutter newspaper Marca.

Just have patience and not rush to conclusions is my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

If we are selling Dr gea, we need to leave Madrid with a varane or a bale signed. We made a mess of the ronaldo deal in terms of improving our team with getting players off madrid.
    If we are selling Dr gea, we need to leave Madrid with a
    are selling Dr gea, we need to le
    Dr gea

348912.png

I think it's easy to spot people who think they know it all or they are the only one who works in big companies or even think job contracts are anywhere near same as football contracts.

Yeah. So they are more complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I'll be a little disappointed with him tbh, if he signed a new contract Madrid still would have bought him, we would have got a lot more money.

If he does go I hope we make it as far in the CL to face Madrid and then knock them out, should give the players some extra motivation to score

I feel like im hitting my head of the table with ya Giggsy lol.

I dont see why you cant wait to know if he's leaving or not before you make your point. Some contacts just take time to iron out. Maybe he's waiting to know if utd get CL or maybe he's playing hard ball with utd. Im sure there's plenty other reasons to add to them.

I can certainly brush off those reports because their coming from that gutter newspaper Marca.

Just have patience and not rush to conclusions is my advice.

I have patience and lot too, you can see that by my posting history except this De Gea story.

I'm convinced he is off. If he stays then brilliant, if not then fine. We have to plan ahead with at least a good keeper as it's near impossible to replace De Gea with any realistic available keepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

re de Gea, I'm his biggest fan, he's been phenomenal for us and is only getting better. His handling, shot stopping, movement, distribution are second to none. I'm being extremely picky of him here, but the only fault I could find is that of late, his starting position tends to be a little deep when teams are attacking us quickly after we lose the ball.

I watched him closely over a long period and his position while we had the ball in the attacking half was in the 'D'. Always.
    That still remains the case more often than not, but he seems to be dropping to his 6yd line very quickly as soon as we lose the ball, and sometimes you'll see our defenders asking questions of him why he's not collecting balls (through balls especially) near or at the edge of his box.

He's been immense for us, like I said, and I'll be bitterly disappointed if and when he does leave us for Real. But will I feel bitter towards him, or feel that he's letting the club down? Will I feck, I'll wish him luck and support the next lad in in the same way if I think he's good enough.

In ten or fifteen years time, David de Gea will be spoken of as one of the best goalkeepers the world has ever seen. Whether or not the majority of that time will be at United looks very unlikely now though.

But he's still David de Staya for now.
    (that hasn't gotten any funnier)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Oh and for what it's worth, I rate van der Sar as a better goalkeeper than Schmeichel.

I do love goalkeeping! :D

Chelsea U21s lost to West Ham U21 1-0, which means ManUtd U21s won the title.

It's 3 titles in 4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

if we got bale or ronaldo this summer and de gea left he would be quickly forgotten about. while de gea is a world class goalkeeper, if we signed either of those players it would imo make us title favourites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Does Falcao get a medal?

Champions of England!!!

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

De Gea leaving would be a massive loss. We should try and sign Petr Cech as his replacement as I cant see Valdes regaining his previous form.