Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget day discussion thread. Your budget chat goes here.(Rules and links first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Can't tell if you're being serious.........

Ok, tell me what financial benefit do we get from the gas Shell extract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

the way i'm starting to figure it, myself and my wife will lose about 4k net on 2010 v 2011. as much as i'd like to think this was a fair budget, i'm not so sure now:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Jesus... she's talking about High School Musical now?! WTF>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

high school musical? ffs! if half the people here could afford a gun after this....

defintely, from april to end of september ill be getting about 600 a week.

sorry for all the q's my mammy's not home :D
    Yes, I believe you will have to pay tax then. But I'm not sure the amount. Sorry!

OisinT wrote: »
    Yes, I believe you will have to pay tax then. But I'm not sure the amount. Sorry!

no problemo. im sure i wont starve and im sure ill still be able to put petrol in my car. dont smoke or drink anyway so im still +100 on many people on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

so is there a tax on not wearing puffy pants or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Two Hundred and Eleven Joan?

Wtf I know the economy's bad but it's not back to the Stone Age just yet!

also she sounded like she was about to cry there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

"In the year two hundred and eleven"

She really is a terrible speaker.

Joan, love, you're talking out yer arse.

come on Sinn Fein please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

the way i'm starting to figure it, myself and my wife will lose about 4k net on 2010 v 2011. as much as i'd like to think this was a fair budget, i'm not so sure now:(

How did you work that out?

WTF she's on about WWII now... so we need another world war Joan?

Social protection? :rolleyes: yeah... the US is known for its social protection Joan. :rolleyes: x a billion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Employee Tax Credit down 180
    Personal Tax Credits down 180

for both single and married. There's another tax rise there! Trying to figure out the following:
    "Employee PRSI/health levy pension relief gone"

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

according to my calculations I'm down another €1500 a year, but hey the ministers took a €10k paycut, so all is grand, wonder when they'll sneak in the matching increase in their unvouched expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Wompa1

This is ridiculous...they don't seem to be telling the whole story on RTE at least. I can't use the video player...Hadn't heard about them increasing the distance for non-adjacent grants, income levy is going up?...it's worse than I had thought so...

I thought it was just going to 2006 levels? Is it? or is it higher?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Isn't great that we elected all these people so that they can be there in our national building, The Dail, to hear the voices of each other!

Fcuk! The place is that empty, the Dail bar must be packed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

That womans voice makes me want to headbutt a brick wall.

Biggins wrote: »
    Isn't great that we elected all these people so that they can be there in our national building, The Dail, to hear the voices of each other!

Fcuk! The place is that empty, the Dail bar must be packed!

they're not in the dail bar atal they're outside having a fag with their pint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Wompa1 wrote: »
    This is ridiculous...they don't seem to be telling the whole story on RTE at least. I can't use the video player...Hadn't heard about them increasing the distance for non-adjacent grants, income levy is going up?...it's worse than I had thought so...

They gave absolutely no time to Sínn Féin . My problem with this, it's not exactly fair for a non bias organisation. Ohhh wait, forgot rte is not.

Joan B is off on a rant again, will she ever phek off with her ****e.

they're not in the dail bar atal they're outside having a fag with their pint

Theres no smoking ban in the Dáil bar for future reference .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Cowan will get himself thrown out if he's not careful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,423 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Wompa1 wrote: »

I thought it was just going to 2006 levels? Is it? or is it higher?

All that stuff is in the budget summary here:

http://budget.gov.ie/Budgets/2011/Documents/Summary%20of%20Measures%20Combined.pdf

msg11 wrote: »
    They gave absolutely no time to Sínn Féin . My problem with this, it's not exactly fair for a non bias organisation. Ohhh wait, forgot rte is not.

Think Sinn Fein get their 40 minutes after Joan Brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,364 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

http://www.kpmg.ie/budget2011/calculator/index.htm

Interesting enough, but working off pre-budget assumptions, which they promise to update later this evening. According to it, I'm down about €110 a month.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Oh Jesus, that is the leader of our country, heckling like a child, jesus its embarrassing, this is going all over the world.

Think Sinn Fein get their 40 minutes after Joan Brutal

Sorry my bad, On the rté interview not in the dáil.

Ginny wrote: »
    Oh Jesus, that is the leader of our country, heckling like a child, jesus its embarrassing, this is going all over the world.
    I hate to say it, but he's right. She is talking a load of shíte now. Focusing now on the past and talking about ghost estates. She is not discussing anything of relevance and/or a way to fix it... just complaining about how things were done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭Degag

msg11 wrote: »

Sinn Fein are after this i think.

Fair play to Joan, she's used all of her 40 minutes. Pity most of it had to do with The World War, High School Musical and Japan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Just a quick question on college reg fee increase, does it apply to students already in 3rd Level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Lenihan talking sh*te on TV3 now.