Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget day discussion thread. Your budget chat goes here.(Rules and links first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Rodin wrote: »
    Highest collectively? Most numerous of spenders?
    Those who spend the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

M cebee wrote: »
    i wish he'd shut up

Wud you perfer him to not be there..like the majority. At least he shows passion and makes sense. Dont like..dont watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

OisinT wrote: »
    The others are going out to give interviews, also part of their job.

No, it should be done after, they should all hear each other out and show some ****ing respect.

Sure I will try that in work the next day. Ah I was outside giving an interview for Rté...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

budget and dail responsibilities first, interviews after

msg11 wrote: »
    No, it should be done after, they should all hear each other out and show some ****ing respect.
    budget and dail responsibilities first, interviews after

:rolleyes: The only reason SF is there still is because they are last.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Primetime'll be interesting tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

I like the passion. It's the type of attitude that gets me riled up and angry. The type of speaker you'd like to hear/see at marches and protests.

At the same time, as a TD he is undoubtedly getting a nice wage also.....

I liked what he said once about needing politicians who aren't just in it for the 'perks and the Mercs'..... I hope he still follows through with this thought....

As a TD of less than two weeks duration, I'd say his first BACS payment hasn't even been processed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Beer

Agree with him about payments of wages compared to UK positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Those who spend the most.

As a group?

unfortunately for you,you've no proof of that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Spot on about the public service pay cap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Looking forwards tonight to it. Should be great fun!

As a group?
    Just get at whatever point you're trying to make. :rolleyes:

Yes, those who are upper-middle income spend the most in this country individually and as a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Jaysus, I might vote SF this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not all of them surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

Do you know who will be on ? A rep from each party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Jaysus, I might vote SF this time around.

I'd say alot of others will be as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭davetherave

35 minutes and he is still going strong. Looks like he has another 20 or say pages to get through. SF making the most of their allotted time anyway.

Bit rude of her to keep interrupting him though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

They should all be there till the very end. Look if this is case, get these lads on the clock. I bet that dail would be full if it was on the clock.

Christ has that guy wrote a book ? Fair play to him, he is bringing up some very valid points.

irish-stew wrote: »
    I'd say alot of others will be as well.

even if Pearse stood up and said nothing, id still vote for Sinn Fein. thats just my preference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

As a TD of less than two weeks duration, I'd say his first BACS payment hasn't even been processed

don't all the SF td's just take the average pay and donate the rest to their prisoner fund party?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Millicent wrote: »
    Ah ha! Found it. Hardtalk on BBC.

Sealed my hatred for the wench.

Thanks very much for that. What an offensive little person she is - up there with Brian Lenihan's father in 1990 who responded to a journalist's question on emigrant statistics with "that's good; let them go!". And how dare Coughlan say we're going because we want to, because we have PhDs and more qualifications than ever. What an ignorant, obnoxious offensive thing. The vast majority of Irish people who are emigrating that I know are pulling all the strings they can to stay at home. I'm certainly trying to avoid it at all costs.

PS: According to Doherty, while we are emigrating 66 Public servants (including judges) in Ireland earn are paid more than €500,000 per year!

msg11 wrote: »
    They should all be there till the very end. Look if this is case, get these lads on the clock. I bet that dail would be full if it was on the clock.

Christ has that guy wrote a book ? Fair play to him, he is bringing up some very valid points.
    Oh, I agree... but lets not say fair play on SF for staying... they were waiting their turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Simply exercise your free will and turn the channel off/over

i'm biased

i just hate listening to SF pontificating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

35 minutes and he is still going strong. Looks like he has another 20 or say pages to get through. SF making the most of their allotted time anyway.

Bit rude of her to keep interrupting him though..

He'll explode before then. He needs to throw in a dramatic pause or something... Hes a machine.

Hope hes on primetime :)

Ebbs wrote: »
    He'll explode before then. He needs to throw in a dramatic pause or something... Hes a machine.

Hope hes on primetime :)

imagine how his wife/girlfriend feels after sex :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Dionysus wrote: »
    Thanks very much for that. What an offensive little person she is - up there with Brian Lenihan's father in 1990 who responded to a journalist's question on emigrant statistics with "that's good; let them go!". And how dare Coughlan say we're going because we want to, because we have PhDs and more qualifications than ever. What an ignorant, obnoxious offensive thing. The vast majority of Irish people who are emigrating that I know are pulling all the strings they can to stay at home. I'm certainly trying to avoid it at all costs.

PS: According to Doherty, while we are emigrating 66 Public servants (including judges) in Ireland earn are paid more than €500,000 per year!

I saw that [Coughlan] while worrying about getting a job out of college (one never transpired). I swear, I nearly put my foot through my laptop.

This ruddy SF man is scary.

Scary that if there was a few more like him with the clear skills he has in getting to the core points and making them clear to the public and addressing them, this country with similar quality IN ANY PARTY might actually get somewhere.

But no, we have what he called them "Gombeen politicians"

don't all the SF td's just take the average pay and donate the rest to their prisoner fund party?.
    Yes, as far as I know.
    I know Arthur Morgan does for sure.