Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are men the new women?

• 01-08-2003 04:51AM
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭

For decades perhaps even centuries woman have requested equal rights, and rightfully so, but as we arrive at the supposed dawn of equality have the rights not just been balanced,
    but overcompensated?

There is regular talk about a glass ceiling in the work place but there appears to be a new glass box around some types of employment.

Take for example - working at a cash register.

It seems this has become a job completely dominated by women. In fact in my entire life I have met a total of 2 men in this job and countless women. However there is the reverse when it comes to "stock taking" or stacking shelves or whatever you wish to call it. It seems this has been left almost totally to the men.

As it happens, in my family my brother and I are left to do most if not all of the physical tasks around the house, such as bringing in turf, bringing a full bin around the front of the house for collection etc. etc.

My sisters claims they are incapable, but women are the first to lament that they are capable of anything a man is.

Of course, I am being totally biased here, I can’t help it, I'm a man, but I'm constantly bombarded with "Independent woman" & "Girl Power" that I'm beginning to wonder exactly what
    that means.

It used to be that a woman would stay at home and a man would go out and work. Now of course I see the assumption that that’s what SHOULD happen to be sexist, but I don’t see how living in that situation is sexist.

Woman aged 19-25 are now the biggest demographic in almost every thing there is a marketing department for. So as a result its women's ads that are dominating television. If I hear "periods" or "menstruation" on daytime TV I'm going to throw up.

It is not all right for a man to be sexually aggressive towards a woman, granted there is a fine line between sexual harassment and flirting but still a woman can be sexually aggressive towards a man.

A man buys a woman a drink is being presumptuous or even too forward, but I know girls who regularly go out with enough money in their pocket to get them into the nightclub and for a
    taxi home again, but go home plastered.

Sure, women are constantly bombarded with this image of the perfect woman. From models to television ads to the latest pop star. But men also suffer from this "perfect woman syndrome", I mean every man is measured by the girl he comes home with.

Am I being unfair?

Have women suffered for so long that they deserve their time at the top?

Don’t get me wrong. Men are not innocent in this whole affair. In fact we are the architects of our own demise. A woman’s greatest weapon, her sexuality, is mans greatest weakness.

Man can crumble under the slightest sexual innuendo, the slightest hint that they might actually, for lack of a better word, score.

It is because of this, because of mans own instincts betraying us, that we are doomed.

So yes, men are the new women but deservedly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Eh ivan
    working at a cash register

They can keep it lol
    "stock taking" or stacking shelves

we are stronger its a proven fact.Their are some jobs better suited to one or the other
    "Independent woman" & "Girl Power"

Ya whatever its one less bill for you.
    If I hear "periods" or "menstruation"

ya if i hear one more max pad ad ill kill someone
    that SHOULD happen to be sexist

Face it my friend at the current time if your White and male your ****ed no matter what you do your blamed for something or other
    Have women suffered

How has any women alive today suffered unless she.s like 60 + or live in the middle east ? compleat buill****
    So yes, men are the new women but deservedly so.

Speak for yourself m8

and seeming you are one of many men that see this now isnt that how "equility" happened for women ?.........Ivan your last line was basicly a lie down and take it in the arse statement if you see or feel unfairly treated do something about it .......Simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Kambika

In my opinion most women nowadays are only using the feminist movement for their own purpose. The example that you gave was perfect for that. They let the guys pay for their drinks and expenses, go home without giving anything back and feel so "girlpower". Thats not what I call independant woman.

iv spent 6 hour.s reading equalitarian sites the fight for TRUE 50/50 equility (god bless broadband and not sleeping) and i must say We males are being ****ed around no end

i like this from amazon (which isnt a equalitarian site lol)
    You keep hearing about how tough women have it, yet it puzzles you that men make up only 43 percent of university students, but make up 94% of the prison population; 94% of the workplace deaths; over 80% of the suicides; over 80% of the homeless; will die 6 years earlier than women, and no one seems to care? Allow yourself to take this journey into enlightenment and self fulfillment. The answer is simple: it's anti-male sexism

It,s also very intersting to read about how young boy,s are being used as basicly payback no one care,s about them in school now which is true (being 19 i know)

I would REALLY suggest any guy go read up on this...................................It could just open your eye,s ..www.backlash.com (go to gender) www.equalitarian.net and just google

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Metrosexuals: It's a Guy Thing!

An emerging breed of man, the metrosexual, shows his soft, sensitive, feminine side.

I saw this here on MSN and wanted to puke.

Yes ivan that,s what they call brain washing after all some guy,s are bound to crack under 30 + year,s of anti male bashing and how to be a good person you have to "get in touch with his feminine side"

Last time i checked i dont have a feminie side im male pure and simple

It,s good to be male lad,s dont forget what you are not who they tell you be

Well dont get me wrong, I like woman, hell I love women but that doesnt mean I want to be more like them or become one.

All I want is pure equality, is that so much to ask?

Or do we need to start our own Masculinist movement?

i agree

But the vast majort of people arent like feminist,s or those extream male groups 50/50 down the middle is only fair to both side,s

http://www.ncfm.org <
    some very good stuff in the "reading zone"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

A masculinist movement would be instantly shouted down as chauvanistic and sexist. We're screwed.

It's just that the scales are tipping. The whole sexism thing will probably swing rather unfavorably in the male directin for a while, then back to the female side. A very, very long time from now, maybe it will settle at 50/50.

A masculinist movement would be instantly shouted down as chauvanistic and sexist. We're screwed

Thats true anuff read some of the site i gave the address of above they get a lot of crap just because they speak up not being allowed to attend a collage open day because "theirs no space" but when they called up pretending to be a womens group they where let in

hmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

*shrug*

Women are just as animalistic as men are. Ask most women, and they'll tell you they prefer are manly man over a really sensitive one any day.

Besides, women could never control the world, in a dictatorship sense. Men are stronger. Any beginnings of oppression of the male would result in riots. And Men -v- Women in direct combat == Women lose. That's a bit extreme. I'd say it'll see-saw for a few hundred/thousand years before settling at roughly 50/50.

If we're still alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Rolo Tomasi

agreed the emergence of the metrosexual is a worrying development. I cant help but feel that the line between sexuality has become blured in recent times. Although maybe this is a natural development. In Thailand lady boys are accepted as almost a third sex. Is the west just catching up with our eastern neighbours?

I think everyone is concerned with there appearance and as with most things some individuals will take it further than others.

tbh: we dont need a masculinist movement, (I, for one am not burning my boxers in protest). This would only lead to a line drawn between both camps and to antagonism. I fink we (blokes) have little to worry about. besides women with more power, I fail to see any downside.

Originally posted by Rolo Tomasi
    agreed the emergence of the metrosexual is a worrying development. I cant help but feel that the line between sexuality has become blured in recent times. Although maybe this is a natural development. In Thailand lady boys are accepted as almost a third sex. Is the west just catching up with our eastern neighbours?

Oh please.

I'm definitely a free thinking individual, but 3rd sex?

Sorry, no, I draw the line. Not on my watch.

How could it be a natural development, its unnatural?

And please, dont use the word "metrosexual" it gives me goosebumps.

Although maybe this is a natural development

very douthful this is (id say) a direct cause of all the femenist crap in the world today a small amonth of guy,s are bound to conform (sell outs! lol) after all its pritty much MEN= EVIL rapist,s Women = loveable people that hate war blablabla (bull)

And Men -v- Women in direct combat == Women lose

iv read about a possible Real sex war because of cloneing and the advent of lab womes (ie men dont need women and women dont need men APPRENTLY) .................Personaly i would perfere not going down that road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

LOL at this thread :p

Name one thing men cannot do because women won't let them??

No one is forcing anyone to go Metrosexual (I still don't quite understand what that is anyway)

Some women seem to think that acting like a man is the only way to get equality and respect and all this "laddish" culture that women seem to be rushing to embrace is a bit silly and hypocritical ... but that has nothing to do with the oppression of men ... most men love it
    Originally posted by Ivan
    It is not all right for a man to be sexually aggressive towards a woman, granted there is a fine line between sexual harassment and flirting but still a woman can be sexually aggressive towards a man.
    It is not alright for a woman to be sexual aggressive towards a man if the man doesn't like it, but how many men do you know who wouldn't like it .. show me a man who feels threatened by an "up for it" woman (who isn't gay or being chatted up by the office face-like-a-donkey-arse)
    Have women suffered for so long that they deserve their time at the top?
    On top?? They are still miles below us in nearly every aspect of life ... show me one area of life (other than mothering) a man is not allowed into.

All this has nothing to do with the oppression of men ... it is to do the changing gender roles and the loss of male identity that some men experience. Men need to feel they have a special role in life, that they alone can do certain things that provide for their family and society. It is all about what the man feels he can offer to a potential mate that makes him worth and special. My Dad always barges in front of my mother when a ligthbulb needs to be changed, even though my Mom knows exactly how to change a light bulb and his done it a million time before. Every male needs to feel that his mate needs him so he can define his own selfworth.

But FFS its 2003!!! 1 Million years of evolution behind us!! Get over it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

They let the guys pay for their drinks and expenses, go home without giving anything back and feel so "girlpower". Thats not what I call independant woman.
    said Kambika

True in the case of *some* women but when this happens to a man, I think they should just explain why they think it's unfair and refuse to pay for everything instead of putting up with it and holding silent grudges An intelligent woman will see your point, anybody who dosen't agree - you're better off without them.
    a direct cause of all the femenist crap in the world today a small amonth of guy,s are bound to conform (sell outs! lol) after all its pritty much MEN= EVIL rapist,s Women = loveable people that hate war blablabla (bull)

Feminism = eqality between the sexes , not replacing male domination with female domination. Sure, there are some feminists, mostly in the USA, who come up with "all men are rapists"-type garbage but, frankly, any one who believes such a thing is an idiot.
    It's also very intersting to read about how young boy,s are being used as basicly payback no one care,s about them in school now which is true (being 19 i know)
    said bizmark

I think this is more of a class issue - true, working class males seem to have become alientated from the education system ( the reasons for this are complex) but you could not say the same for males from wealthier backgrounds.

And finally, Ivan, who on earth would dream of working at a cash register???? (Though I noticed more men at that job in France than u'd see in Ireland.)

As for the general idea of this thread, I think men and women of my age (20's) get along pretty well in general. I think we're much better off going to school, college and working together than men & women of previous generations who were segregated more. (According to my parents, many women used to go to college just to find a good husband in the 60's - that seems completely silly now!)

Feminism = eqality between the sexes.......not true it = rights for WOMEN only not both m8

equalitarian = 50/50 eqality for both (which i support)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

No, it's trying to bring the level of women's rights to an even level to men. Equality won't happen if most men aren't in favour of it too!

Maybe they go overboard in PC-crazed America at times, but that dosen't happen in Ireland!

Maybe they go overboard in PC-crazed America at times

so true

Originally posted by Wicknight
    LOL at this thread :p

Name one thing men cannot do because women won't let them??

You challenged me so I accept.

When I used to go on holidays every year with my family to Kerry, a little place called waterville where my mother grew up.

Her sister owns a caravan park there, or rather used to, she's since sold it.

My sister used to do regular baby sitting for a particular family, although it was a service provided by my moms sister and she hired all of her nieces who were interested & available.

My sister wanted to go out one night so she begged me to baby sit for this family as they desperate.

So I caved, I mean sit around playing with children til they go to bed and then watching tv and getting paid IR£10 was a big deal at that time (I was about 16 at the time).

So my sister took me down to the family and said, this is my brother and they looked at her rather strangely as if to say - uh...hes a boy, but she explained I had experience baby sitting and was a responsible young adult (a complete lie but anyway).

So they accepted and shortly afterwards they left for the pub.

It was still bright so I took the kids outside and we played soccer (2 boys & 1 girl) they were much younger than me so I played in goals for fear of hurting them.

We played that for several hours before I finally decided it was time for them to go to bed. So I put them to bed (pretty simple really - Kids time for bed - OK!). Then I settled down to a few hours of watching some late night tv.

When the family arrived and saw that the place was clean and the kids were in bed they seemed rather delighted and surprised at the same time. The gave me my IR£10 and an additional IR£10 because they were so late.

The next day when they came up to the office of the caravan park and requested me to baby sit again, my Auntie heard about how I was baby sitting the night before, about how I was a "spectacular young man" but would hear none of it. She claimed she could not allow me to baby sit for fear I might SEXUALLY MOLESTE the children.

Thats just one particular instance, I can think of others but then you just asked for one.

No one is forcing anyone to go Metrosexual (I still don't quite understand what that is anyway)

Metrosexual was a term used by microsoft, read further up and you should see a link (assuming its still there) it means a man who is in touch with his "feminine side".
    Some women seem to think that acting like a man is the only way to get equality and respect and all this "laddish" culture that women seem to be rushing to embrace is a bit silly and hypocritical ... but that has nothing to do with the oppression of men ... most men love it

And I'm afraid that that is utter BS on both counts.

Women who act like men do not get anywhere in modern businesses. Its women who use their sexuality as a tool, rise the highest. Its a pity they should have to do this in order to get any kind of success and of course its part of nature and thus theirs to use as they see fit.

And any man who says he likes a girl to act a bit "laddish" is a closet homosexual. Wearing my shirts is as laddish as I like any girl to be thank you very much.
    It is not alright for a woman to be sexual aggressive towards a man if the man doesn't like it, but how many men do you know who wouldn't like it .. show me a man who feels threatened by an "up for it" woman (who isn't gay or being chatted up by the office face-like-a-donkey-arse)

If a woman is dressing sexually is that not sexual harrassment?

If a woman comes to work wearing a short mini skirt is she not evoking a response in a man which will get him into trouble?

Sued for sexual harrassment, fired for misconduct - labelled a rapist?

I gurantee you any man in this scenario will dislike this.

But it isnt really about whether he likes it or not. If its not alright for us to be sexually aggressive, then why is it alright for them?
    I mean its not called EQUALity for nothing.
    On top?? They are still miles below us in nearly every aspect of life ... show me one area of life (other than mothering) a man is not allowed into.

All this has nothing to do with the oppression of men ... it is to do the changing gender roles and the loss of male identity that some men experience. Men need to feel they have a special role in life, that they alone can do certain things that provide for their family and society. It is all about what the man feels he can offer to a potential mate that makes him worth and special. My Dad always barges in front of my mother when a ligthbulb needs to be changed, even though my Mom knows exactly how to change a light bulb and his done it a million time before. Every male needs to feel that his mate needs him so he can define his own selfworth.

But FFS its 2003!!! 1 Million years of evolution behind us!! Get over it!!!

And I'm not saying men are being oppressed, I'm simply saying thats the way it looks like its heading.

And with regard to your anecdote, thats a completely different generation for starters. What I'm talking about comes from my generation, those who are in their 15-30's.

Woman are being taught from a much earlier age that sexuality is a weapon, exploit it. Perhaps it is, but its up to us to cop onto that and get over it.

Amazing 1 million years of evolution behind us and we still let our groins do the thinking.

Now I know I may come off as some kind of woman hating biggot, but I'm not really. As I've said before, I like woman but I dont like being manipulated (Not that I'm implying all woman are manipulaters)

"spectacular young man" but would hear none of it. She claimed she could not allow me to baby sit for fear I might SEXUALLY MOLESTE the children.

sad but true people think like that

iv makes some good points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Silent Bob

Originally posted by bizmark
    It's also very intersting to read about how young boys are being used as basicly payback no one cares about them in school now which is true (being 19 i know)
    It's interesting that when girls were underperforming in school there was a constant call of "this needs to be rebalanced" etc.

Once girls started overperforming w.r.t. boys in school people said "it's just because girls are smarter".

This is obviously bollocks, I know both very smart guys and very smart girls.

i had a iq test done by the irish goverment......Have a iq 86% of the population is under (120)

YES YES SHOCK AND AWE THE GUY THAT MAKES CRAP POSTS!!!!!!:D

anyway the idea that guys are "just worse" is bullox to the extreme ..........BUT anything that would help a male (god forbid) now adays is not pc :rolleyes:

i suffered from the same crap in school to such a point i went on the "hop" for over 2 months (and i was smart anuff to still uncauth) when i was 14 school really isnt designed around guys even all male schools

She claimed she could not allow me to baby sit for fear I might SEXUALLY MOLESTE the children.
    Well i was really talking about areas of life that men cannot get on rather than the views of a specific person, but I do agree that anything to do with mothering (as I said in my original post) is seem as a woman only industry.

But you did actually get the first job, and if you were an adult at the time and didn't have to follow your aunt you would have got other jobs. Hardly men being oppressed is it.

And I'm afraid that that is utter BS on both counts.

Women who act like men do not get anywhere in modern businesses. Its women who use their sexuality as a tool, rise the highest. Its a pity they should have to do this in order to get any kind of success
    It is amazing that you cannot see the real problems with that situation. Have you actually thought about it. Why do women who us sex climb the hightest? Because men still control everything. Your example is hinged totally on the sexist nature of men, who hire the sexy girl rather than the person best suited to the job. Explain please why this a womans fault.
    And any man who says he likes a girl to act a bit "laddish" is a closet homosexual. Wearing my shirts is as laddish as I like any girl to be thank you very much.

You are not following what I mean by "laddish." I don't mean talking in a deep voice and wearing trousers. I mean going out on the piss, getting rat-faces, scoring 5 guys in the club, shagging one of them and then pissing off home at 4am. Getting drunk, one-night stands, going on the pull etc etc. Everything lads mags like FHM, Playboy etc promote women seem to be embracing because they think if men can act like this so can we.

If a woman is dressing sexually is that not sexual harrassment?

If a woman comes to work wearing a short mini skirt is she not evoking a response in a man which will get him into trouble?

Okay this is total bullsh*t. What are we in biblical times. A woman dressing sexually is not at all sexual harrassment. AT ALL.

Are you honestly saying a women is responsible for the actions of a man who is aroused by her?? Again what are we in biblical times. Everytime my manager comes into the store the girls all start swooning over him cause he is (supposable) very good looking. By your logic he is sexually harrashing the girls in the store. Come off it.

Sexual Harrashment - you actually have to harrash someone, not just turn up and look good.

If its not alright for us to be sexually aggressive, then why is it alright for them?
    Your definition of being sexually aggressive seem to be dressing sexy. Last time I check that was fine for men as well.

Now I know I may come off as some kind of woman hating biggot, but I'm not really. As I've said before, I like woman but I dont like being manipulated (Not that I'm implying all woman are manipulaters)

If you think you are being manipulated by women cause they dress sexy and then you can't control yourself, well I am afriad the problem lies with you. The good looking girl in the office who dresses nice and has a great rack who asked you to get her a cup of coffee is not oppressing you. As the saying goes Just Say No

Originally posted by Silent Bob
    It's interesting that when girls were underperforming in school there was a constant call of "this needs to be rebalanced" etc.

Once girls started overperforming w.r.t. boys in school people said "it's just because girls are smarter".

This is obviously bollocks, I know both very smart guys and very smart girls.

Actually quite a lot of research (all over the world) has gone into why certain groups of boys are underperforming in schools (note - not underperforming compaired to girls, just underperforming - it is not a them vs us situation).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Hrmmm....

I'm reminded of fightclub.
    "We are a generation of men raised by women".

I think its for the better.

In fairness on a work scale its down to who works hardest and in alot of cases (and in my areas) its women. I am now in a nearly totally female dominated environment.

As for social manipulation. Men are idiots when it comes to sex and sexuality. Its always been the case. People use advantages they have, its a trait of humanity and human evolution. Fair play to them I say, and if a guy allows himself to be walked over, more fool him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Women do 80% of the world's work and earn 10% of the world's wages.

Originally posted by neuro-praxis
    Women do 80% of the world's work and earn 10% of the world's wages.

Seriously?

Have you got statistical proof?

their was a UN report but one of the people that made it said in 1996 it was compleat bull****

they took women at home/work/hobbys/charity groups etc etc etc
    and only men that work PLUS excluded some jobs as well :rolleyes:

a REAL study shows men work 3 hours longer than women in a working week plus WORK doesnt tell the difference between say a lumberjack and a Games tester

AHHHHHHH have to love the power of mass media to tell a lie and people to take it in

Oh ya women make up 43% of the work force not 80 :rolleyes:

nd earn 10% of the world's wages.

ALSO ask yourself WHY the hell would any company hire men if they can get women for 90% less *never mind the fact single women in america make more than men 101 cent to 100 cent*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,676 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Wicknight
    Okay this is total bullsh*t. What are we in biblical times. A woman dressing sexually is not at all sexual harrassment. AT ALL.

If you think you are being manipulated by women cause they dress sexy and then you can't control yourself, well I am afriad the problem lies with you. The good looking girl in the office who dresses nice and has a great rack who asked you to get her a cup of coffee is not oppressing you. As the saying goes Just Say No
    However, what about the one in the skimpy top, where I could see (without trying) that she had a mole on the under side of her left breast....

Whats wrong with business wear at work?