![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
![]() |
Green Party candidate wants your ideas
I was in his blog that my local Green Party candidate for the local elections, Roderic O'Gorman, is seeking ideas on making cycling safer (see his comment reply from this morning).
I had a few idea, "Quick Fixes" (the Government will love their relatively low cost and the resulting photo ops) and some "Long Term" goals. I'll email Roderic a link to this thread. Quick Fixes
Long Term ideas
|
| Thanks from: |
|
|
|
To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-) |
|
|
#2 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
Mandatory lights should be included on all bike purchased, the uk have mendatory bells ... what is the use if there are no lights.
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
![]() |
Education and Training for cyclists and motorists.
If potential cyclists are taught how to cycle correctly, they will realise how safe cycling can be. If drivers are taught how to drive around cyclists, the potential danger will decrease. Helmets/high-viz/lights/bells are all secondary to this. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Clondalkin's Finest
![]() |
As time goes by, the more convinced I am that many dangerous situations are created by cyclists themselves. Every single day I see cyclists breaking lights, riding on the wrong side of the road or the wrong way down a one way street, riding on the inside of buses and HGVs, or riding at night without lights. More than once I've ridden across town and not encountered one other cyclist who stopped for a red.
Pro-cycling politicians and lobby groups are always the first to speak out about how dangerous or careless driving will endanger cyclists' lives, but they aren't great at telling the cycling community that it needs to get its act together. Yes, we all know about how many motorists don't have a clue about how to interact with cyclists but, if anything, a greater proportion of cyclists are clueless about how to ride in traffic. Anything that educates people a bit more would be welcome. The unfortunate thing is that the behaviour of bad cyclists has consequences for the rest of us. I've had more than one motorist lose the plot with me in my time and the last incident was so serious I had to report it to the police. I can't help but think that some of these incidents are prompted by built up resentment to riders constantly flouting the law. I'm not saying that it makes their response right. I just don't fancy getting run off the road by some angry psycho. I'm not convinced of the utility of high viz vests. To me they don't seem any more visible than say a light coloured jacket. Lights stand out much more. Unfortunately, a lot of people tend to buy the cheapest lights around, which sometimes only provide pin-pricks of light. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
|
Are reflectors mandatory on bikes sold? i.e. must be given with the bike.
The only problem with mandatory lights is they might go for cheapo ones, and people will stick with them. While they might have bought decent ones otherwise, but do not want these to go to waste. Companies should give a free branded high viz vest, will pay for itself with advertising. Cycle tracks should have no walking signs on them, in addition or in place of the bike signs. Nothing to do with safety, but bike theft shoudl be taken more seriously, I expect many do not get a bike for fear of being robbed. Dunno what could be done, maybe a much higher punishment or something. Might lead to more getting or using their bike, i.e. I often get a bus to town as I will not leave my bike out. If bike theives were beheaded I would gladly cycle in ![]() More cyclists means more people are aware, and less of the "us & them" attitude would be a good thing stemming from that. VAT should be taken off all health/fitness related equipment.
|
|
|
#6 |
|
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
![]() |
I totally agree with ElTonto.
This is what I sent off in an email. The first 2 paragraphs deal exactly with that issue. --------------- I am both a leisure cyclist and a commuter; I also own a car. As such I take a lot of care in my bikes, they are worth a lot to me - and not just in terms of price. Unfortunately there are many people who just see bikes as a cheap way of getting from A to B. They don't have a vested interest in keeping it in good condition, they don't want to spend money on it. Typically they get as cheap a bike as they possibly can, and dump it when it breaks and get another one. These sort of people are not going to voluntarily go and buy lights, or service the bike regularly. Invariably I see people on such bikes, dressed head to toe in black, no lights. They also tend to break traffic lights without understanding the possible consequences of such an action, and generally tend to have poor bike-handling skills. (Of course you can say most of the above of many lycra-clad cyclists on race bikes too, but in my experience they tend to be fewer in number). These cyclists possibly have never driven a car, so do not understand about blindspots etc. The problem with all of this is that the gardai seem to do nothing whatsoever about it - so the cyclists get away with it (or are perhaps ignorant of their law breaking) and so nothing changes. Because of this, many motorists see all cyclists as waster, law-breaking, inconsiderate sub-species. I think that this is the first and most important thing to address: the gardai MUST clamp down on cyclists behaviour. Period. Once the 'rogue' cyclists have been 'tamed' then I think motorists will be forced to see us all as valid road users - part of the traffic, rather than getting in the way of the traffic. When this happens then laws should be implented (and hopefully enforced) similar to the Netherlands where the priorities of cyclists are above that of motorists when it comes to collisions etc. As it is many motorists have no respect for cyclists whatsoever - they drive and park in cycle lanes, they overtake dangerously, they pull out in front of us etc etc. Unfortunately none of this behaviour seems to be clamped down on by the gardai either. Sorry this is turning into an essay - will try to shorten it from here: To summarize: - The laws regarding cyclists use of lights and obeying traffic lights need to be enforced - The laws regarding motorists endangering cyclists (driving too close, dangerously, parking on cycletracks etc) need to be enforced. - Laws need to be added/changed to protect cyclists above motorists in a collision. These must also be enforced. - the law mandating the use of cycle tracks must be repealed. Cyclists should NOT be seperated from traffic onto the path - cyclists ARE traffic and should interact with motorised vehicles correctly (and vice-versa). Many cycle tracks are unsuitable at least, if not downright dangerous. I would actually be in favour of removing cycle tracks entirely - especially the ones raised at the same level as the path. - DART and LUAS must be made to accept bikes on the trains/trams at off-peak times. Iaranrod eireann must be made accept bikes on trains at all times. - Government needs to do more to encourage cyclists - the bike to work scheme was a good start, but also they should encourage companies to provide facilities like showers, lockers, secure bike locks etc in the form of tax breaks etc. - Police must cut down on bicycle theft and vandalism. Interfering with a bike should carry the same penalty as interfering with a car. There should be a centralized database of bike frame registrations and owners, similar to the car vehicle registration. ---------------- Perhaps I should add as clarification that I am not in any way trying to ride a high and mighty horse about cyclists who 'only' use the bike to commute - far from it - the more the merrier. I am just trying to make the point that all cyclists need to understand that their actions have consequences. Right so... Pick away.... edit: Hi vis is no replacement for decent lights. Active vs Passive lighting. Hi vis will only be visible if there is a light shining on it. So a car waiting to come from a side road will not see a cyclist coming up the road with no lights but with hi vis on if they are not being illuminated by oncoming headlights. At least with lights the driver will have a better chance of picking the cyclist out of the dark. Personally: 3xrear lights (bright), 2xfront lights (bright), high-vis winter jacket. My philosophy is that you cannot be visible enough - ever. Last edited by kenmc; 20-01-2009 at 16:37. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
![]() |
On this topic, does anyone know of any cyclist training qualifications? If for example I wished to run cyclist training or something, is there anywhere I can get some sort of recognised qualification?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
![]() |
Jaysus, I was in school with that fella, and now he's running for office... makes me feel an awful lazy fecker
|
|
|
#11 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
It just won't happen (and I for one am happy with that )
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
![]() |
I am a student, and while I think the bike to work scheme was fantastic, I do feel excluded. The government are upping the capitation fee for all students as of 2009 again, and i see no reason why a similar system, with a few tweaks, could not be implemented for student cyclists.
I think the message needs to be spread amongst cyclists too; the red light means we have to stop too. I know it's already been mentioned, but it's atrocious that some feel above this. What about VAT free safety equipment, ie, good lights, helmets, etc? I think most other things have been covered by previous posts. |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
![]() |
Some of my my priorities would be:
-Getting rid of the mandatory-use law -Better enforcement of traffic laws for all road users -Increased use of 30kph limits in urban areas -Allow cyclists to treat a red light as a Stop sign for the purposes of a left turn -Training for cyclists, and about cyclists -Improved secure bike locking facilities, in general but particularly in connection with public transport -Increased Garda attention to stopping bicycle theft -Removal of VAT from bicycle safety and security equipment -Requiring Local Authorities to address cyclists' needs in any roads planning I'd support ideas such as the cycling bus, but I'm less convinced about hi-viz jackets. Compulsory lights with every bike sold is a good idea, but I fear that in practice it would be counter-productive because the lights provided would be inadequate. Education and enforcement of the law would be more effective. The importance of requiring councils to think about cyclists is borne out in the example of a junction in Roderic O'Gorman's own area (and mine). Coolmine Cross was recently revamped by Fingal Co. Co., after long consideration and at great expense. For cyclists it now has no cycle lanes, no advanced stop lines, no toucan crossings: nothing. It doesn't even have signage to point out some of the good alternative routes available for cyclists, and doesn't seize the perfect opportunity for a cycle route presented by the wide path through Coolmine Woods. This is a junction that is on a main road and within a kilometre or so of two large secondary schools, two primary schools, a railway station, and Blanchardstown Shopping Centre, not to mention countless other shops and houses. Some of the points I've made are not obviously about safety, but they would serve to encourage more people to cycle and there is ample evidence that as the number of cyclists on the road increases the risk of an accident decreases for the average cyclist. Quote:
http://www.tfl.gov.uk/roadusers/cycling/9065.aspx
"The bicycle is just as good company as most husbands, and, when it gets old and shabby you can dispose of it and get a new one without shocking the entire community." Ann Strong, Minneapolis Tribune, August 1895. Last edited by Bunnyhopper; 20-01-2009 at 18:44. Reason: added the left-turn-at-red point |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
I'd love to see a clear legal responsibility placed on local authorities to ensure their roads are safe for cyclists. There are some heavily-patched sections of suburban road around Cork that are almost impassable on anything less than a mountain bike. On the subject of footpaths, another change I'd like to see is to make it legal for children under 12 to cycle on the footpath. This is the law in Western Australia and it has worked well to keep kids safe and encourage cycling to school. Another change is that I'd love to see is the mandatory use of leads when walking a dog on or beside a public road. And as they're at it, put an outright ban on those death trap extensible dog leads. |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
|
| Display Modes | |
|
|