Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pictures of Pain from the very steep finish of the FBD RÁS today

• 27-05-2010 8:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭

Seskin Hill is a category one climb and from what i heard quiet a few of the riders werent expecting this hill, the last 300 meters before the finish is steepest. This hill is close to where Sean Kelly grew up.

I took these with a 400D and 100 F/2.8

The winner cruising to victory alone with ease by the looks of it
    4645047221_de289360cc_o.jpg

4645049425_dcbd8d92b9_o.jpg

4645048571_92d4a07ed9_b.jpg

4645666202_61ded861c7_o.jpg

4645665510_806b7f22bd_o.jpg

4645664790_811f2f10dd_o.jpg

4645052505_f01c45edb8_o.jpg

4645062677_e9f7a77c91_o.jpg

4645679424_1e5bb7205d_o.jpg

4645678760_080fd86b55_o.jpg

4645063871_a126689776_o.jpg

Whats the broom for?
    4645677492_6f0482ca7a_o.jpg

4645676282_2bb177b2d6_o.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Some great shots, the broom is for the broom wagon that sweeps the riders up who abandon. The tight portrait shots are the best of the set, the face on the UCD guy is priceless

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Some brilliant picts there. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 SouthDublinMan

I work with the lad in the broom wagon!

Nice pics the Pain etched on the lads face! Well Done!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Some really class shots in there. Love the last one of the Gardai lounging around in their leathers. Must be feckin sweatin like .....well you know them little farm animals that sweat :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Some really class shots in there. Love the last one of the Gardai lounging around in their leathers. Must be feckin sweatin like .....well you know them little farm animals that sweat :D

You cruel man. That's not nice. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

4645676282_2bb177b2d6_o.jpg

I'd say those lads are ready for anything!! Especially a few donuts :D

Nice work there - nice spot at the top of a very long hill by the looks of it!!

Expressions are great

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,331 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

some great shots there.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,308 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

#4 is a boardsie

See his "crash" post here

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Dizraeligears

Excellent pixx

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

Great pics - I'm the one 4th down (with the cuts) - could you send it to me for my blog? will of course say who it is from...

biking (a t) ryansherlock (dot) com

• Registered Users Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Superb shots, thanks for sharing

• Registered Users Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

That one of the gardai is absolutely fantastic. There's a wierd surreal air to it, the black leather clad figures lounging daintily around on the immaculately cut grass.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

The Garda photo is a keeper, it literally made me spit out my mouthful of wine due to laughter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Great photos and thanks for posting them.
    Terrific shot of Cassidy close up, Ryan Sherlock (well done Ryan) and the Gardaí.

What camera and lens were you using? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Straatvark

Nice pictures!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

Great shots, really enjoyed them.

I do a spin class regularly so I sorta feel their pain :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,186 ✭✭✭kensutz

Hugh_C wrote: »
    Great shots, really enjoyed them.

I do a spin class regularly so I sorta feel their pain :)

Nothing compares to Seskin Hill ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Cheers for all the comments, my first time taking sports shots.

The Garda one was a surprise at the end alright, It was just begging to be snapped, lying out baking on the immaculate golf course.

Not sure If my method of taking the shots was best, as I said I was using a 400D with the Canon 100 f/2.8 lens. I had the camera on AV mode for most of the shots and selected one of the focusing dots and focused on specific riders heads as they attacked the hill.

What would best practice be in a situation like this? It would have been handy If the camera was more than 9 point autofocus as the points weren't always in ideal positions.

Should I just have used sport mode? Maybe thats a no brainer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

The Garda Traffic lads are saving their strength for the night stage, I speak from experience.