Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Larry Murphy (Read mod note on post 1 before posting)

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Leave the guy alone, he's paid his dues to society.

WTF!?!?! He gets 15 YEARS for raping and attempting to murder a random woman, REFUSES treatment for whatever fwcked up mental illness hes got and gets out EARLY!?

Paid his dues my arse, as with everything else the state seems to be giving the bad guy the discount!:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭mr_staggerlee

prinz wrote: »
    So just how do you go about removing a man's capability to have sexual urges :rolleyes:
    we use drugs usually chemical castration, but if it a power thing that's different

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭FastFuse

smokedeels wrote: »
    was he charged and convicted of that?

Unfortunately, no. The lady in question chose not to press charges. Does that exclude her from being a victim? Most definitely not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

rebelmomma wrote: »
    The point is there are victimless crimes (in your opinion) I am mostly concerned with the ones that do have victims and do make you a danger to the public. Selfish I know but that is just me.I was asked my opinion of whether I thought all criminals should be named and shames and I gave it.

Then like fellingstressed said above, why didn't you just say that you'd like all dangerous criminals named and shamed rather than everyone who commits a crime fullstop. It's over-the-top lunacy to say that everyone who commits even the smallest insignificant crime should be on some public database.

In any case, if this Murphy character has half a brain he'll get the hell out of Ireland for a while. A dangerous piece of work he may be but he's hardly the only one. How does anyone know what type of person you have in your midst? Some of the sickest serial killers (e.g John Gacey, Ted Bundy) were fully functioning members of society who no-one suspected (Gacey was actually quite popular with locals).

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Miss Dymph

whycliff wrote: »
    In agreement with Larry Murphy? I didnt realise there was anything to agree or disagree with him about.

I think the man is a scumbag, the lowest of the low. Anyone man who rapes a woman deserves to be dealt with so that he no longer has any sexual urges.

Do i agree with the sensationalism, the pitchforks, the outrageous statements some of which your guilty of, the media hounding- No. Simple as that.

Its not a society I want Ireland to develop into.

I have never made any outrageous statements. I feel intense emotion toward a man who was photographed leaving the prison smirking at the protests and a man who has said his head was in a bad place but yet still to date has failed to issue an apology, a man who has raped, been violent to others in the past and a man believed to be linked to many other violent crimes which he refuses to talk about. I dont think its 'outrageous' to be angry about that.

If this Ireland is our future then I am at least happy, we still have enough decency and community spirit to rally together to make sure our loved ones wont live near a high risk re-offender, if thats what kind of society our Ireland is developing into then at least its not one where we are embracing rapists and waiving any apologies.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

prinz wrote: »
    So just how do you go about removing a man's capability to have sexual urges :rolleyes:

Chemical Castration.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

WTF!?!?! He gets 15 YEARS for raping and attempting to murder a random woman, REFUSES treatment for whatever fwcked up mental illness hes got and gets out EARLY!?

Paid his dues my arse, as with everything else the state seems to be giving the bad guy the discount!:mad::mad::mad::mad:
    He raped a woman, killed her, was found guilty in court, was given fifteen years in prison as punishment and has now served that punishment. He is an innocent man again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

He raped a woman, killed her, was found guilty in court, was given fifteen years in prison as punishment and has now served that punishment. He is an innocent man again.

When was he found guilty of killing a woman??? Do try to keep up! :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

He didn't kill her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

He raped a woman, killed her,

You seem like a well informed individual.

Edit.... lol at the 14:38 triple slap down.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭mr_staggerlee

He raped a woman, killed her, was found guilty in court, was given fifteen years in prison as punishment and has served that punishment. He is now an innocent man.
    that's warped he's not an innocent man, unless you're a dear christian and his sins have been washed away, go away and think again

• Registered Users Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Miss Dymph wrote: »
    I have never made any outrageous statements. I feel intense emotion toward a man who was photographed leaving the prison smirking at the protests and a man who has said his head was in a bad place but yet still to date has failed to issue an apology, a man who has raped, been violent to others in the past and a man believed to be linked to many other violent crimes which he refuses to talk about. I dont think its 'outrageous' to be angry about that.

If this Ireland is our future then I am at least happy, we still have enough decency and community spirit to rally together to make sure our loved ones wont live near a high risk re-offender, if thats what kind of society our Ireland is developing into then at least its not one where we are embracing rapists and waiving any apologies.

You feel intense emotion?

People say Larry Murphy needs help.

You are no more at risk today then you were this time last week.

You went to College in Carlow, Well I live and work in Carlow, my colleagues are all from Carlow, Rathvilly, Kiltegan, Hacketstown. Not too far from Murphy's home place.
    I'm sure if any of the Ladies here felt threatened, they would have mentioned it at least once this morning.

But your in Tramore, i'd be looking for some prozac to calm those nerves of yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭carlows

He raped a woman, killed her, was found guilty in court, was given fifteen years in prison as punishment and has served that punishment. He is now an innocent man.

Just to clarify he didn't kill her-needless to say he would have only for he was disturbed.

In my opinion, he is going to stay in the limelight under media attention like the General did because if not he will be killed. Either that or he'll leave the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

You might want to get your facts in order their chief

super-rush wrote: »
    He didn't kill her.
    When was he found guilty of killing a woman??? Do try to keep up!
    You seem like a well informed individual.
    Oops, well my point still stands.
    that's warped he's not an innocent man, unless you're a dear christian and his sins have been washed away, go away and think again.
    He has served his sentence so as far as I am concerned he is an innocent man again.

Oops, well my point still stands.

Shakily....... on one leg.

mikom wrote: »
    Shakily....... on one leg.
    You don't agree? Do you think once found guilty a person should be guilty for his whole life?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Chemical Castration.

So chemical castration, presumably forced because Murphy isn't giving any sort of consent to anything, is ok, but the media following him about on the first day he's out of prison is a witch-hunt and you don't want that future? Wtf? Now I know some posters are just spouting crap for attention.

You don't agree? Do you think once found guilty a person should be guilty for his whole life?

If you were found guilty of rape, you will always be the guy who was found guilty of rape.
    How others treat you because of this fact is up to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Unless proven to have been rehabilitated beyond all reasonable doubt predators like this should never enjoy freedom again IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

FFS 10 years buddy, not 15, your obviously ill-informed as everything you say is BS.

Do you think someone like him with the things he has done, with refusal to take treatment, with 10 years to keep himself company is now debt free to society? to that woman? after serving 2/3 of his sentence!?

Why don't you shelter him so if hes an innocent man? Introduce him to your family and friends! who knows maybe he'll hit it off with one of them and see where that goes!? Oh wait............

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Miss Dymph

You feel intense emotion?

People say Larry Murphy needs help.

You are no more at risk today then you were this time last week.

You went to College in Carlow, Well I live and work in Carlow, my colleagues are all from Carlow, Rathvilly, Kiltegan, Hacketstown. Not too far from Murphy's home place.
    I'm sure if any of the Ladies here felt threatened, they would have mentioned it at least once this morning.

But your in Tramore, i'd be looking for some prozac to calm those nerves of yours.

Then in 2 weeks time, ill have the unbelievable pleasure of living in the same county as you, lucky me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

He has served his sentence so as far as I am concerned he is an innocent man again.

No, he served his sentence so he is allowed to leave prison.

He's still guilty, he was found guilty of the crimes he was charged of.

A special investigation unit at Naas Garda Station was set up to determine whether a serial killer was responsible for the disappearance of the women -- Fiona Sinnott (19), Fiona Pender (25), Ciara Breen (18), Annie McCarrick (26), Jo Jo Dullard (21) and Deirdre Jacob (19).
    Two FBI agents were drafted in to assist it in the operation and the garda's cold case unit, the National Bureau of Criminal Investigations (NBCI), to examine their files on unsolved murders and the missing women.

They specialise in profiling serial killers and rapists.

Jailed rapist Larry Murphy has emerged as the only prime suspect in the women's disappearances. The FBI agents concluded that the modus operandi and profile of the unknown suspect fitted Larry Murphy in three of the cases

Source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

My 2 cents - the justice system in this country is well used to protecting rapists. Larry Murphy is in good hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Anyone who thinks this animal deserves to be shown any humanity is well off the mark IMO.

I reiterate the fact that if he had not been interrupted he would have killed this woman. He had a plastic bag over her head trying to suffocate her when these hunters came across him.

Whether or not he had anything to do with other disapperances is neither here or there. He was convicted of rape and attempted murder .
    If he had not been interrupted we may looking at another missing woman in this country.

He would most likely have been free for the last 10 years to rape and brutalise other women.

Putting a plastic bag over a woman's head and telling her you are going to kill her is the actions of a dangerous individual , an individual who has dismissed all oppurtuinities of councelling and rehabilatation whilst in prison.

By law he has served his time . By circumstance he was convicted of rape and attempted murder. By description he is a dangerous man and remains so. He should not be free to mix with decent members of society.

The law must be changed to protect people from animals of this type.

He should still be behind bars.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

He is a free man again yes. But hardly innocent. He was and still is guilty of the crimes he committed. And if he reoffends he should be put away for a very long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 DeltaC

MrDarcy wrote: »
    Things you might normally do, like maybe for instance putting the bins out last thing at night, imagine if you did that and there he was across the road looking over at you, you'd be freaked out, given his reputation for stalking the woman that he attacked before he attacked her. I don't think it would be possible to live a normal life with this guy living on your street, you'd have to watch everything, your kids couldn't play outside, you couldn't go for a walk on your own, you would be living on your nerve. This guy's explanation for attacking the woman at the time was, "I just flipped"... Who is to say he won't "just flip", again, when you'd be putting out your bins or getting something out of the boot of your car???

This is an uncannily accurate description of what life was really like for people around here until they put him away - except, until they did put him away it just felt "normal" to be like that - it's hard to explain unless you have lived with it, I wouldn't have expected it myself until I did. It happens on a really instinctive level.

I do not want to think of anyone, ever, having to live like that, but not at the price of placing people at risk.

If he were tagged and his whereabouts made public, at least only the people at real risk from him would need to feel that way, and the rest of us could relax.

On the other hand, as long as we cannot keep him in prison, or humanely destroy him, there is no excuse, and nothing to be gained by placing him in a constantly impossible position. He must be allowed the necessities of life, not only so that we do not brutalise ourselves as a society but also, simply because, if you have a dangerous animal to deal with, turning it loose and then harrying it, and making it's life impossible, is not likely to work out very well.

I can also see, this morning, that the more informal attempts to track and publish his whereabouts are beginning to take some very unfortunate turns.

But we cannot just turn him loose to offend again at will. Each of us women has a right, and a duty to protect ourselves from being a part of that next offence any way that we can.

There are no easy, obvious answers, if there were someone would have put them in place before his release date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 fcukthat

I think it's a fair reflection of the state of our society that after a week of media hysteria and 50 pages worth of bollix on the country's biggest forum not one person has come up with a decent Larry Murphy joke.

You should all be ashamed of yourselves. This is why we need a general election asap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

fcukthat wrote: »
    I think it's a fair reflection of the state of our society that after a week of media hysteria and 50 pages worth of bollix on the country's biggest forum not one person has come up with a decent Larry Murphy joke.

You should all be ashamed of yourselves. This is why we need a general election asap!

Some threads go beyond the need to crack a joke.

You too have failed. If your looking for humour there are some other threads to indulge yourself in.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭carlows

Kasabian, your one of a few talkin any sense on this thread.