Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sla Rpg - Game Turns

• 12-06-2003 5:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭

Before we get things rolling can you check the SLA chatroom as ive posted just really breif rules (booooooo) in regards posting your game turn (remember kids you gotta be in charachter when you post so specky i want to see that hat on when you here ok :p

and with that let the games begin..........

SLA [Game Turn 1]

Its another wonderful cloudy, rainy day on MORT. You find yourselves at your own graduation party surrounded by friends, classmates and various teachers in Mort's premiere nightclub "The Pit".

Before joining SLA you all herd of the pit but its off limits to anyone who isn't an operative, its hard to think that this time 2 years ago you were a nobody, a Joe regular, out of work, out of money. Now your here working for the best company in the world of progress. From across the room you see you squad mates in various parts of the function room chatting to various people and generally looking like there enjoying themselves. Looks like your going to be spending the rest of your career in SLA with them however short or long that may be and you weren't exactly bunk mates back at meny. (SLA's Training academy)

Pretty soon your all going to have to go out and look for a job your not sure how to get work as a new recruit as there's so damn many of you. Still your sure something will come up. for now your going to kick back relax and enjoy the champagne that's making your head dizzy what you do next is up to you...........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

*Searches the room for fellow Shaktars(Teachers and veteran operatives)*

Inquires about BTN's,how to get them and whether anyone knows if theres one available for a squad of new recruits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭tank

*will follow Squall in his search on where to get some work occasionally stopping breifly to chat to teachers and fellow students where neccarry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Specky

Look for the most senior looking brain waster in the room, and introduce myself as leader of the best squad to graduate this year. Offer our services.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Wandering excitedly through the croud, Spirit pauses for a moment to take in the ambience. Looking around the bustling venue, she can barely believe that she has finally made it to The Pit, this is it, she'd graduated.
    Quelling the sharp tingle of excitement rising in her, she makes her way to the bar, and orders a drink. Glancing around while waiting, she observes many fast talking operatives relaxing, discussing the missions they have been assigned.

She spots two of her newly assembled squad scanning the crowd, "Brain Wasters" she murrmurs to her self, sighing and turning back to the bar to retrieve her drink.

She scanns the other occupants at the bar, looking for anyone interesting, and keeping her ears open for any tidbits that she knows she shouldn't hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭FlashBang

walks up to the bar, grabs a drink and sits next to Drakar who was just looking at two brain-wasters roaming around.

"... going to be a pleasure working with em, huh? They didn't exactly like me during training... and being assigned to the same squad as me sure as hell won't make them start any happy-dances. What do you think? You get along with that kind? I mean you're supposed to be a bit like them from what I read..."

lifts his glass and starts scanning the room for anyone that might look important. Drinks a bit, then puts the glass down after eyeing two other brain-wasters for a second.

"oh, heh, where are my manners? It's not like we really got to know each other during training. Well, it wasn't exactly a chatty time for most recruits... ...anyways! I'm Jason Steiner, weapons specialist! Dunno if you already checked my file." *reaches out his hand*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Tal' eania sit in the shadows watching the New ops running arround like it was thier birthdays getting giddy on bubbly.

She sips her Jack and ice slowly enjoying
    the chill and the burn.
    And wonders what the odds on half of them having thier files marked deceased by the end of this quater.

She watches the By play at the Bar from under her charred eyelids and recalls the info on her " classmates ".
    She sure as it was raining that she did not want any chipheads in her crew.
    Sla industires would find everything out evenualy bar a few details so why make it easy for them for as they say the Devils in the details as they make all the differnce.

She Glances at her Glass and decideds it is time to freshen her glass and heads to the bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

The easiest way to do this is i'll break the turn down per person )you'll see what i mean below) if there is anything in private you want to do without the other players knowing or if you want to ask a private question to any of the characters in the game then
    without letting the squad know then PM me and i'll PM you the answer back

SLA [Game Turn 1]: Continued

This bit is for squall and tank:

As you both approach the various teachers and instructors you both are given due respect and handshakes [Squall being Shaktar graduated top of the class]. most of the instructors are pretty well on at this point and have had alot to drink most of the responses you get are some along the lines of "My god Lad when i was your age i was out canoodling i never though of [BURP] s'cuse me" and "I'm gonna be sick outta my way"

You do however here the words "slayers crib" muttered once or twice it seems to be some sort of building downtown"

This bits for Specky

The most Senior brain waster in the room also turns out to be the only brain waster instructor at meny. He eye's you up as you approach. when you introduce yourself and your squad. he smirks and says "i remember when i was your age kid young and impetuous. you got b@lls kid i'll give you that. but you temporarily lack the skills. come back to me in a month or two when your not so green i think i might have some work for you then" meanwhile why not check out the slayers crib downtown that's where i got a name for myself"

This bits for Flashbang

your talking to Drakar (characters name: spirit) as you see one of the brain wasters approaching

This bits for Thead

as you approach the bar you see Spirit (drakar) and the human (you cant remember his name again) talking. The ebon appears to be keeping one ear politely on the conversation with the human and one on the surrounding area. typical of ebons always poking there noses where they don't belong you think to yourself

your about half way to the bar you choose what you want to go talk to the other members of the squad or to go to a different part of the bar

This bits for Drakar

You seem to be enjoying the moment as you reach the bar. the barman smiles and gives you a friendly nod and serves you your drink. from over your shoulder you hear

"... going to be a pleasure working with em, huh? They didn't exactly like me during training... and being assigned to the same squad as me sure as hell won't make them start any happy-dances. What do you think? You get along with that kind? I mean you're supposed to be a bit like them from what I read..."

you recognize the human as Jason Steiner, weapons specialist form your class at meny he's on your squad too if you recall he reaches out his hand in a gesture of a handshake

Also To your left are two brain wasters they look like sisters (they've crashed the party as there talking about there last mission they ran) one of them is muttering about ebons and if she see's another ebon again it will be too soon. they look at you and the human and one of them mutters to the human "listen friend if i were you stay away from ebons and trust me if you ever get a mission to a planet call Tir Stay the hell away from the place its nothing but trouble" at that they stalk out of the bar.

Tank turns to Squall (sorry dont know your charachters name)

any says "it seems that this place called slayers crib would be the best place to go to look for work, perhaps we should get the squad together and check it out?"

Tal' eania stalks to the bar , slams the glass down making the bar keep scowl and grining turn to the squad members there.

" Right as far as I am concerned this little
    celebration of how now we can all die for MR slayer is over. So what we are in the Pit but we have earned yet the right to R&R here as we have yet to do a mission.

We were assigned together as some sort of twisted joke but thats fine by me the type I like the best. I heading to the Sla cribs so see what type of crummy appartmnets we know have and i will see you all at the BPN pck up centre . Wear ur waders cos first ops is all was a **** run. "

Tal' eania Stalks off assuming that the rest will tell the remaning of the squads .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

At this point, Spirit is pretty used to people's attitudes to Ebons in general, and with a shrug dismisses the sisters attitude.

From the corner of her eye she notices Tal'eania make way to the bar. After the insightful pronouncements Tal'eania stomps off and Spirit murmurs to herself, "A real squad of characters here..." After a moment she adds in a somewhat cynical tone, "This is going to be great..."

Shaking her head, she turns back to the crowd and tries to see what the others are up to.

*To Tank*

"Agreed, Lets find the oth........" *Sees Tal'Eania Storm out*

"I think that one has her own plans"

*Sees 2 of his squad mates, an ebon and a human at the bar*

*Walks up to them and nods politely*

"We have information on where to get work. A place called "Slayers crib". Me and Tank are heading there now. If you wish to come along you are welcome to follow"

*Leaves the bar* *Hops on his SLA Bike and heads to Slayers Crib"

"Charming..."

*slowly drinks his glass empty*

"Well, I guess it'd look pretty bad if we don't show up as ONE squad. This hotshot might just waste our chances to get a mission. So... lets all meet at this 'Slayers crib'-place and hope it's not too late already."

*goes outside*
    *draws pistol and loads one clip of STD-ammo without chambering the first round*
    *holsters the pistol again*

*heads for "Slayers crib" after waiting for anyone else that might join him*

Hah! He knows....he knows I'm worthy of his trust, it's the others that are the problem....

Well at least I can get out of this place now...

Zmek already noticed Tal'Eania's exit..."she obviously finds this place and the company as obnoxious as I do....Tank and Squall seem to be making a move to, at least they're not slobbing around drinking and chatting with the others...."

Weaving through the crowd towards the exit Zmek hears Steiner's message about Slayer's Crib crackle over the comms link "I already heard human, but don't go barging in their...no sense in showing our strength....or weakness...."

Finally, out on the side walk Zmek surveys the street, party-goers milling around, some arriving, some leaving.

Steiner is loading a gun off to one side of the crowd.

"Don't shoot yourself yet human, there will be plenty of opportunities later".

"For now let's just assemble this squad and get moving"

Pulling across the street on his bike, Zmek pauses, looking back to check that all of the squad members are mobilised then accelerates away towards Slayers Crib

[Game Turn 2]

Since Squall and tank left first they will arrive at the SLAYERS pit first. the rest of the squad are right behind them in there various vehicles (within visual range) about 3 mins behind them

Tank and Squall:

As you approach the Massive downtown complex that is the slayers pit, from what you've gathered this is where most of the Op's go to get work. but never in your worst nightmare could you picture the monstrosity of a complex that stretches out before. its called slayers pit for a reason....the most obvious on is that the entire building seems to be surrounded by a large crater its like someone dug a hole 2 miles wide and a couple of thousands meters across... the building seems like it was build by an ebon of on some sort of mild altering drugs. the very sight of it sucks you will to live. Its a dark ominous place where hundreds of people are milling around (and that's just outside) where to even begin to start looking for a job,

Luckily you spot an old friend of your from before you joined Meny. A human (sorry he didn't send me his charachter name yet) he seems to be in a sort of que for something as you approach he tells you he's in line for BPN and your going to have to wait for one so you might as well join him.

The rest of the Squad:

[the description of slayers pit as above] you reach the slayers pit the massive complex stretches out before you, there are agents, Operatives and Cloak personal alike everywhere. It seems like Squalls is talking to another human and my the looks of it there friends, he seems to know the way to get a BPN as he says he's done one before. tank squall and the new human are waiting for you at the main entrance to the Slayers pit if you want to follow them its up to you.

*To Gaunt*

"its been a long time old friend, much too long"

"Tell me of yourself. How have you been?. Have you had much work?"

"I graduated only a few hours ago and am now part of a squad of new recruits along with tank here" *Introduces Tank to Gaunt*

"I fear there is little trust between us now, no unity. The Ebon will have it rough, as will the human. The brain wasters *shakes his head* so much potential, so much waste. But, they are all competant and if we can find some way to work together it is the makings of a excellent squad"

"Do not let yourself be pushed around. If there is any weakness in you they will exploit it. Watch the human Steiner, he is..........admirable"

For now i will let you meet them yourself

*Stands and ques quietly*

"Hm. Look at this place...nice decor but a little ostentatious for my liking."

Zmek sweeps by in a slowly decelerating arc, taking in the scene, trying to judge patterns and groups amongst the crowd. Pulling to a halt near some other parked vehicles he catches sight of Squall and Tank with their new companion and heads towards them on foot whilst continuing to scan the crowd.

While still some yards away, Zmek enquires over the comms link "who's the human Squall? what are you in line for?"

Skirting through the crowd, Zmek tries to get forward to see where the queue is going "half of these people look like rookies from the club...we better not be wasting our time in a pretzel queue here!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Gaunt

It's good to see you Squall. I knew you'ld make it through Meny, never doubted it for a second.

Thanks for letting me join in, being on my own's too risky, at least until I get to know my way around.

Tank, good to meet you, I look forward to us looking together.

Anyway i'm told this is the place to be if you're looking for a job.

*Nods at an approaching Brain Waster*Friend of yours Squall?

*to gaunt and squall*

"oh uh its the nasty brain waster coming." "i dont like them"

*looks at his feet*

"there eyes make me feel creepy there mean to me!"

*looks back at the human and shaktar*

"so you know each other from meny then? how did you guys meet?"

*arrives at the place*

*mumbles* "wow... nice and comfy..."

*checks the crowd and sees the team and moves up to em*

"greetings, time to get some work, I'd say... who's the new face?" (-> player-chat thread)

Tal' Eania, is sitting in the chairs watching the updates on the current BPN.

With the current number in the squad there were plenty of PMDs so they should a nice and nasty little job.
    She sits filing her nails wondering how long it will take then to get one.
    Not much point in making a fuss as all these low level ops are the same **** in a differnt place unless they actually mange to get an intesting on.

I'll assume that Drakar wants to do the same and queue up with the rest of the squad so i'll move on to the next game turn

Drakar if you want to do something else let me know and i'll post what happens in the next game turn

[Game turn 3]

Minutes turn into hours as painfully and very slowly you and the rest of the assembled squad move ever closer to the top of the que. as you approach the registration desk you all give you names SCL (security clearance level) and a finger print and retina scan so you are now registered Op's of SLA industries. The 2 humans on the registration desk are rude and pushy and the most conversation you get out of them is "registration complete will you please move along"

you now start to think WHAT where the hell are the BPN's then if all that was just for registration. Just as the two huge reinforced blast doors ahead of you open.......

They open out into a Huge hall the biggest you've ever seen in your life. Filled wall to wall with video screens BPN registration desks and operatives running backwards and forwards from the vid screens to the desks in a vain attempt to grab the best BPN's available.

your Squad being brand new wont really have much chance of getting a good BPN you all split up and below is the list of BPN's that you manage to get pick on from the list below:

[NOTE: you have to accept the BPN before you can get a more detailed information on the mission]

BPN 1:

Colour [Blue]
    Type [Street Maintenance]
    Payment: 50 Credits per Op
    Details: Squad required to patrol downtown mort

- - - - - - -

BPN 2:

Colour [Yellow]
    Type: [Retrieval]
    Payment: 200 Credits per Op
    Details: a Squad of Operatives are required to retrieve and safely transport package to a specified location

- - - - - - -

BPN 3:

colour [red]
    Type: [Emergency - Red Alert]
    Payment: 200 Credits per Op
    Details: Possible Darknight involvement at science research lab find and neutralize all Darknight operatives on site

- - - - - - -

BPN 4:

Colour: [white]
    Type: [Investigation]
    Payment: 300 Credits per Op
    Details: Investigate strange reports and missing personal at gotech Ore mining facility

- - - - - - -

One final thing:

I need you all to meet on the chatroom and decide on which BPN to go for ok then let me know

Thanks and good luck

*after the majority of the team decided for #2 (see chat-thread, 6 out of 6 votes were for #2 and 6 out of 7 members voted), steiner makes a rush to the appropriate registration-desk with whoever squad-members who want to follow him to register the mission*

*With agreement on BPN 2 Squall pushes through the crowd of recruits towards the registration desk*

Zmek walks briskly but calmly towards the desk in the broad wake left by Tank as he pushes through the crowd, staring coldly at any who show signs of agrievement at having been thrust aside.

I see that there is no Team leader for the squad. That's not a problem if you all wish to remain leaderless that's fine there are a couple of squads that operate like this until a leader proves himself worthy of taking over the squad

or if you want to vote for a squad leader that's fine by me too. Its all up to you guys for now until I'm told otherwise i'll assume your leaderless.

Game turn 4

So its decided the squad have voted and now the race begins.....

As Tank clears a path to the registration desk bodies fly left and right with grumble's and complaints from other people that sound like "hey watch where your swinging that stormer" and "put that thing away before you get us all killed" or "watch where your pointing that thing". You reach the Registration desk just in time and register your Squad for the Blue print news file number 2. you receive a fax sheet with your mission Details about 5 mins later:

Blue Print News file:

BPN Colour Code: Yellow
    SCL required: 10
    SCL Increase: 0.3
    Bonus: 200 Credits (per Op)
    Threat Level: Low if not confrontational

Details:

A squad of Operatives required for low-level retrieval assignment from Mort’s Orbital research and development Space Station “Aurora” Operatives will be requested to oversee the transport and delivery of critical Science and research equipment and department personal, Comprising mainly of Scientists to Mort’s Surface research station located at Andrews Air force based located outside Mort city In the wastelands. payment in full will be credited to operatives accounts once equipment has reached its destination.

Pickup details:

Please be at mort's central spaceport at 09:00 hours tomorrow morning for check-in and gate departure by no later than 08:30 hours.

[End fax]

With the mission in hand the squad has less than a day to prepare for there first assignment, which looks like its on a space station about 500 miles from ground level!!!

if there is anything you need to do before we start the mission now is the time to do it. (leave stuff back at you apartments) or write a last will in testament (just kidding). go back to a club for a drink. Then now is the time to do it. let me know either on the chatroom or the game turns post when your all ready to rock and roll.

equipment for this mission:

- Heavy Body Armor
    - a FEN 603 Pistol securely placed in a combat holster with one magazine of STD-ammo loaded
    - a FEN AR Assault-Rifle securely attached to him via a sling, loaded with one magazine of HEAP-ammo in single-fire mode
    - a MAC Knife holstered in his right boot
    - 4 spare clips of HEAP, AP and STD ammo for the rifle
    - 2 spare clips of STD, AP and HP ammo for the pistol

- Communicator
    - Identity Cards

Zmek reads quicky through the fax, transferring a few quick notes on objectives and payment to his personal organisor.

"well it might just be babysitting but at least it pays...shouldn't take too long to get finished either as long as these people are ready to move when we get there....and at it's off-Mort for a short while, I hope you all have space legs"

The brain waster looks up from the paper at the other squad members "no point in staying here and no point in making plans until we've seen the cargo....so we assemble in the morning...ON TIME!"

Slipping between two waiting lines of operatives Zmek turns away from the other squad members and heads back the way they came in, side stepping once or twice to avoid those dashing to sign in and glowering at anyone who dares to come close enough to collide with him.

In a single smooth arm movement he transfers mirrored shades from a sleeve pocket to his eyes as he approaches his parked bike, flicks the engine into life and darts quickly away into uptown bound traffic.

Tal' Eania reviews the BNP, not bad for a first op .3 level increase if completed and a chance to be off world. Well in orbit anyway and to maybe see those lights in space that she heard stories about as a youngling.

She faces the rest of the remains group
    and grins, " Hell I dont know about the rest of you but after nearly being strangled by all this blasted red tape I need a drink several infact. So I'm heading back to The Pit , may be a nice chance to rub some of the rawness off our new lil crew.
    Who is up for some personailty revealing drinking games ?
    Oh and I guess I can give one or two
    of ye a lift back. "

Tal' Eania walks to wards the exit jingling her Car keys , the harsh floresant light causes them to glit and glisten and the sliver Skull on it seems to be grining happily back at the group .

*Already waiting ouside Squall sees Tal'Eania and hears he speak to the squad*

"I too would enjoy a drink right now" " I will see you there Tal'Eania"

*Tying his ceremonial scarf around his forhead Squall hops on his bike, keys the ignition, revs the engine and takes off towards the pit in a cloud of dust*

Tal'einea hears the footsteps behind her and keeps going then , upon reaching her wheels she turns and fixes her charred gaze that those who followed.

" tomorrow we go into a totally unknow sistuation and when we have allllll the facts we cant back out,

who know what will happen we will be on a orbital that is a R&D station with who knows what type of ****ed up crud is lurking in the labs,

The cargo could be a plain package or a new breed of twisted stormer ,

and why worry about it for in Space know one can hear you scream and i am sure if it all goes terribly wrong those guys at the airbase can remotely trigger the whole orbital to blow or just leave us sitting up there till have all rotted.

You bet your eyeballs I'm Cheery. "

She hits the remote switch to open the car doors, " sit in the back dotn talk to me and dont mess the leather "

She gets in the car and once the retaina scan is done tunes the scanner to Waster Fm with it's own brand of twisted trash metal and revs the engine.