Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Damage you've had

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Ryo Hazuki
    I was going too fast on a bicycle (no brakes) and ploughed straight into a car coming out of a driveway
    lol, reminded me of a time i was cycling home & someeone opened a car door in my path /me goes flying headfirst into car:rolleyes:
    lucky i came away unschathed

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Had a few injuries
    But i have some sort of bone enzyme problem so I have never felt it when I brok any bones. (lucky me)

Broke Left wrist in three places, never noticed until the broken bones pinched an artury and stopped the blood flow.

Fractured Left wrist again.

Tramua in my head after a car accident. Don't know what trauma is, I thaugh it was just bad headaches.

Some how managed to deform my collor bone. It's out of shape and the doctors have no explination.

Broke two big toes, doctors discovered that during an operation, I never knew about it until afterwards. One of them had set wrong so they broke it during the op and re set it.

Fractured three ribs after a tackle from a genitic monster of a human during a rugby match.

Several bad falls where I now have either scars or groves inmy skull from the falls.

Cut wrist from putting fist through glass door by acident, nice little scars from that.

Broke about 3 teeth playing sports and had to get one root canal.

Got oncussion from having my head smacked off a goal post during a game.

Dislocated fingers several times.

Took a lump out of my left shin bone when fell on the corner of a table.

Pallet fell on me and nails on it stook into my leg and tore it as it slid off me. Man I cried after that one as I was only 10

Ripped my head open off the ground after going over the handel bars of a bike. Right where my eyebrow is, so now the scar is covered. Thank god.

Tore my right leg open one after getting it caught in barbed wire. It took hold and ripped a nice gash. You could see the contents of my leg.

Stood on nails (a few times) minor enough.

My biggest injury is when I ripped my right knee apart. I rupured the ligaments and somehow managed to tear the cratilage off completly. Load of operations, a month in hospital and a year on crutches cured that, kinda. Had to learn how to walk again after it as the wound got infected and there was a blood clot near the calf muscel about a month after the operation. Cause loads more damage to the muscel. The doc said, is the infection had not bee discovered I would have lost my right leg from the kneed down. And it's my favourite leg. I went in on the friday instead of the monday after cause I would have not been able to make it on the monday. Luckly I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭neohoki

okay so they're not MY injuries but my brother is extremely accident prone

1.When he was around 3 he stuck his foot in a boiling hot pot of stew and burnt it horribly(it's still kinda disfigured)
    2.He was jumping on his bed fell over bit his lip and ripped it open
    3.Okay you know when you're in the park and u throw a huge metal spanner up into the trees to get conkers down...well anyway...he decided to run under the tree when my dad was throwing the spanner up and it hit him on the head splitting it open(fun for all!!!)
    4.We had this french babysitter person and he wa swlaking along with and he just fell over and split his head open again!!
    4.he's ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Some of the posts above just have me in stitches lmao'ing! (padoom tish). Neo's part 3 - laugh.gif

I'm wincing at the thought of some of them too. Maybe mammy was right to wrap me in all that cotton wool.

Forgot to mention, mine were from a one tonne roller, video recorder, and sister's stoopid lil stoopid bike.

When you're at one end of a hall looking away from the hall area and the other people at the other end start shoutin your name like mad, you're not just gonna just duck immediately, are you? No, well, I didn't.
    I turned round to see what was going on only to be greeted by the reception of a unihockey puck at full speed to my eye. Fupping gobsh!tes. One of the lights went out for quite a few hours. There was blood in the colouredy bit of the eye. It was a bit like one of those googley-eye things.

It is what it's.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

not much but when I have they've been doozies!

Smashed my right hand index knuckle against a concrete wall in school.

Numerous sprains, busted knuckles and bloodied noses playing basketball (a supposed non-contact sport... hahah yeah right).

Numerous scars from working as a cobbler including nailing two fingers together with a compressed nail gun. Ow!

Busted front tooth playing Rugby.

Ripped both ligaments sprinting in the All Ireland finals (clocking a personal best at the same time I might add ... /me polishes fingernails on chest)

Bone marrow biopsis for an occluded retinal vein. Most painful thing I've EVER experienced.

Broken rib while snowboard (as well as snapping my credit card in half due to the impact. !)

Compressed two vertebrae from a totally fncked up jump while snowboarding. Entailing a trip to the hospital and two days on morpheine-dervied painkillers (very powerful drug that... tripped off my head for a day. Fun!)

Fnck, I'm a mess LOL.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by DeVore
    Entailing a trip to the hospital and two days on morpheine-dervied painkillers (very powerful drug that... tripped off my head for a day. Fun!)

|I concur..best drugs ever-legal..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

-3yo, jumped off the couch onto the oul lads car keys.Went all the way through my foot. The key was visible threough the skin but didn't pierce it.

-9yo, Slipped on a spilt drink at a school xmas party onto my face and 'knocked a tooth out'. I went to hospital with the da and the mother and school janitor went through the party rubbish at the end of the night looking for the tooth. Couldn't find it but an xray taken a day or two later showed it was actually behind my nose!!

23-23yo, worked in a bar and a 6ft tall CO2 bottle fell on my big toe, well and truelly squishing it. It still looks a bit funny now.

After a month on crutches and finally getting back to work, within about two days a drunk driver hit me. I was driving one of those mini subaru hi-ace thingings. The engine is under the front seats so there is about 4inches of air and about 3mm of metal between your feet and the outside world. I turn a bend and see this sierra spinning on the wet road towards me. There was nothing I could do and the back drivers side corner of his car hit smack bang in the middle of the front of the van. TG there is a spare tyre under the floor there cause if he had have hit a few inches left or right, either me or my mate would have probably lost our legs. Anyway the van got thrown backwards and over on its side. The windscreen popped out and the mate climbed out. I shouted "What about me!" I'm hanging about 5ft in the air by my seat belt with my legs trapped by the dashboard.:D Anyway, the Drunk drives off after he regained conciousness cause we were too in shock to remember to take the keys out of his ignition. The ambulance and guards arrive and ask if we got his reg no. NO!! We get into the back of the ambulance and a few minutes later a guard comes to the back door and holds up a reg plate and says "Is this yours?". NO!!!:D :D Off course the drunk was waiting in his gaff with a bottle of whiskey waiting for the guards and said he just took it to calm his nerves after the crash so we couldn't get him for DUI but at least the insurance paid out reasonably quickly seeing as we had a culprit.

Oh yeah and my younger brother when he was about 6 backed into a super sayer naked(sp) (ya know those calor gas heaters with the three panels). He still bears a faint scar of the imprint of the heater grille on his arse 20 years later!:D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

can i add to what i already put here

today: fell down the stairs. i broke a finger, cracked a rib and have loads of bruises and scrapes. lucky i was dragged to the hospital this evening. i really didn't think it was bad. i thought i could have slept it off. oh well. lots of rest the doctor said :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 729 ✭✭✭popinfresh

posted by nekkidbibleman:
    Perhaps my favourite one is the little scar on my chin. How did I get it, I hear you ask? Cúpla year ago, on a kid's tricycle, going 90mph around in a circle - put the feet down to stop and go flying over the handlebars. Oh, the shame.
    ROFL, the same thing happened me when i was 6. I got a scar on my chin. except i had an actual bike i was going too fast and pulled only the front brakes therefore flipping the bike over. That's weird..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

Fractured my skull when I was 4 (fell out my 1st floor bedroom window and landed head first on concrete path below - nearly killed myself) in ICU for 2 weeks.

Broke my right wrist when I was about 10.

Badly gashed above my right eye requiring 6 stitches (was walking out of Club 92 when my body thought I had enough and switched off. I collapsed to the ground where by my glassed dug up in to my forehead above my right eye. Blood every where).

More recently, slipped on a stairs and screwed up my upper back and sprained the **** out of my left wrist.

Numerous other bad gashes over the years from bad spills or acting the maggot as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Nothing too major, had a bit of a fender bender when I was about 2, drove my walker down a flight of steps and did quite a bit of damage to it andmyself apparently.
    I got my right foot a bit crushed when I was 14, somebody walked on it with an iceskate. I was barefoot at the time so it hurt a lot and had to have surgery on my toes to sort them out.
    That's about all. I've been lucky! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭BoobeR

Looks like you've had a bit of a bad old time TinCool m8 :eek: