Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Veron to Chelsea - £14mill

• 14-07-2003 12:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭

What ya think of this?

Dont you think it would be a bit too ridiculous to sell veron since signing(and still) getting ROnaldinho takes so long, meaning ALL clubs will try get the most for a player especially if Utd are interested...

I mean, how is selling a player and buying a new one adding depth to the squad?

Or is this all speculation and bull?

What ya think?

*I personally think id like Veron to stay but it all depends who comes in for him...i guess:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I hope he does stay. If he improves his tracking back and cuts out the silly mistakes then he'll be a great player for United. Now Beckhams gone he's the best passer in the team (his best quality imo) and he's great at free kicks. To loose £18 million (I think we payed £32 million) on a player in 2 years is crazy. It'd be worth more to United to hold onto him. Imho I think we have yet to see the best of Veron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭50Cent

Ye your not far off...£28.1mill

I would like him to stay too...hes an excellent player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

he's brutal and we would be robbing chelsea taken 14m for him
    worthless imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

I agree. Id rather have the 14 million to spend on someone who will work and fúck up less.

Anyway with Ronnie on his way he hasnt a hope of getting in the starting line-up. Keano and Scholes will start in the middle of the field.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ya see, Man yoo play poor auld Juan Carlos out of pisistion, that is why he doesnt always play great.

Also, he has done grand for Man Yoo, set up some great goals, his passing is the best in the premiership and his vision is exclent.

why do people say "Man Yoo" ?

Anyway, i dont want Veron to leave...how the hell does that add depth to the squad! Someone answer this!!!

Obviously selling him does not add depth to the squad but is he willing to sit on the bench for all the big games this season?

I certainly wouldnt start him against Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea, Newcastle, Real, Milan or city. I would prefer Keane, Scholes or Butt.

IMO he wont start any of the big premier league or CL games. So if Chelsea want to pay 14 million for him fair enough. With that money United could put in a bid for Duff and scupper Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I'd say they'll wait until they have Duff before giving Man U any money.

£14m is too much for a player who hasn't adapted to the Premiership. If he's leaving he should go back to Italy or to Spain he might be worth the money there.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by bucks73
    Obviously selling him does not add depth to the squad but is he willing to sit on the bench for all the big games this season?

I certainly wouldnt start him against Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea, Newcastle, Real, Milan or city. I would prefer Keane, Scholes or Butt.

IMO he wont start any of the big premier league or CL games. So if Chelsea want to pay 14 million for him fair enough. With that money United could put in a bid for Duff and scupper Chelsea.
    He played well against Arsenal and Chelsea last season. He scored and set up vital goals in both games.

And he also has a clause in his contract saying that he must play CL games as far as I know (as long as he is fit and if he is rested, he gets the choice whether he plays or not). Something along those lines.

I think he'll start the season on the right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

I'm split on this!!

I rate Veron, but as said before he is far too inconsistent!!

I actually believe him to be a better passer of the ball than Becks or @ least has the ability to be!! His main let down in the passing stakes is that he is always looking to make an audacious pass, rather than simple one!!

We'll have to see. If they so sell him though, they must make it priority to get Duffer or @ least as good a player!!

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    He played well against Arsenal and Chelsea last season. He scored and set up vital goals in both games.

And he also has a clause in his contract saying that he must play CL games as far as I know (as long as he is fit and if he is rested, he gets the choice whether he plays or not). Something along those lines.

I think he'll start the season on the right.

I doubt very Fergie would allow a player to have a clause in his contract guaranteeing him his place in any kind of game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I doubt very Fergie would allow a player to have a clause in his contract

Me Too. IMO Verons style is more suited to the european game that the premiership. He likes to have time on the ball which he rarely gets in league games. Arsenal and Chelsea play a more european style football than most other teams in the premiership and that could explain why he played well against them last year. He just can't hack the physical aspects of the premiership though he was showing signs of improvement near the end of the season .
    He is quoted as saying he wants to stay at utd for one more to prove himself so maybe now that he has had time to settle in he should be given a last chance.

All this speculation really screws up the head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

As a Chelsea Fan, I'd personally prefer Veron to stay, I think 14million is a lot to pay for a player who is past it!

He has a meeting with Fergie tomorrow to discuss his future. I have a feeling Fergie will be shaking his hand and saying thanks very much, all the best.

The rumoured move for Kleberson may be that Fergie wants another Brazilian at the club to make it easier for Ronaldinho to settle. If they both sign Veron will end up way down the pecking order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Bannor

NO BID FOR SVEN'S FAVOURITE VERON: RANIERI from Sky Sports

Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri has denied the Blues have made an offer for Juan Sebastian Veron.

New owner Roman Abramovich has reportedly bid £14 million for the Argentinian international midfielder, who was Manchester United's club record buy when they paid £28 million for him two years ago.

But boss Ranieri, who is set to sign West Ham defender Glen Johnson and Real Madrid midfielder Geremi, has denied that Veron will be the next arrival at Stamford Bridge.

Ranieri told the Evening Standard: "We've not spoken to him (Veron). I don't know what people are on about."

Veron played under Sven Goran Eriksson at both Sampdoria and Lazio but Chelsea have denied that the England boss will replace Ranieri.

Veron's agent Fernando Hidalgo said that his client wants to stay at Old Trafford for another season.

He told The Guardian: "He will talk to Ferguson because he wouldn't want to leave if the manager still sees a future for him at the club.

"The talks planned between Veron and Ferguson will be critical as to whether Chelsea's interest in the player comes to anything.

"The player wants one more year at United. He wants to repay the club for the faith they have shown in investing in him, and he wants to prove to Sir Alex that he is still a good player."

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by bucks73
    I doubt very Fergie would allow a player to have a clause in his contract guaranteeing him his place in any kind of game.
    You are probably right, but I heard about that somewhere. I forget where though.