Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wierd request, need help with a paragraph in my thesis (accounting)

Options
  • 16-07-2003 12:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,028 ✭✭✭✭

im doing a thesis entitled:

the timing of asset sales: evidence of earnings management?

similar studies have been done in the US ,singapore and the Uk im doing it for irish companies

anyway my problem is that i have a nice paragraph on why a company would sell an investment asset, goes like this:

What factors cause firms to sell investment assets? Some sales are due to portfolio management considerations. This may involve eliminating the under performing investment assets and attempting to purchase other investment assets which will outperform. Other possible factors include a need to rebalance the investment asset portfolio to achieve sufficient diversification in the face of ongoing investment asset purchases. In many other cases, the cash flow generated by the sale of investment assets is used in the purchase of fixed assets required to support and expand core businesses. For example, Lang et al. (1995) argue that ‘management sells assets when doing so provides the cheapest funds to pursue its objectives rather than for operating efficiency reasons alone.’ In terms of the costs associated with different sources of financing, sales of investment assets would have a preference rank below current earnings but above debt increases or new issues of equity. Firms with strong earnings growth will generally have a larger pool of current earnings to finance expansion than firms with declining earnings