Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FAO Manchester United supporters

• 21-07-2003 1:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭

Am I the only one absolutely furious???

We needed a winger to replace Beckham, so instead of getting Geremi in the deal with Real we let him go to Chelsea (one of the best right wingers in PL right now)

We need someone to replace giggs on the left but today Kenyon and Fergie are quoted as saying they're not interested in Duff, one of the best in the PL who obviously wants to come to Utd

We need a striker - what's going on with Defoe

We spend the whole summer chasing some overrated goon who's only interested in money

Our team is a shambles at the moment, especially when you look at the squad Chelsea are creating

Oh and I'm way peeved over the Beckham deal - should've gotten at least 30M - look at how much he's making them before he even kicks a ball

As much as I dislike Beckham I think Ruud is gonna miss those passes/crosses this season

Tim Howard and Bellion are welcome additions but after offloading our biggest player I expected them to buy 3/4 great young players to start rebuilding the squad

Why have'nt be bought Stephen Carr - Neville is some clown and will be even less effective without Beckham to link up with now

PAH - end of rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Our team is a shambles?!?

If you call the team that are league champions and CL quarter finalists a shambles what do think about Arsenal or Liverpool?

Even though he has made a few errors in his time at OT, I still have faith in Fergie and his plans because of the success he has brought over the past 13 years.

He is probably not interested in Duff because he still has plans for Giggs on the left. He was looking for Ronaldinho to play in the hole behind Ruud so he will probably still be looking for a similar type of player.

If United do start the new season with the squad they have the moment I will not be worried. IMO only Arsenal will challenge them again and hopefully with a better working back five they will do even better next season.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭colster

I'm not furious. I trust Ferguson. He sold Kanchelskis, Hughes and Ince and look what happened there.
    Darren Fletcher is supposed to be a better prospect than Beckham was.
    Anyway we have signed Howard, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion and Kleberson is signing subject to work permit approval.
    I think we have a good enough squad to win the Premiership. The defence is solid. We have improved an already strong midfield and we have a quick striker in Bellion who United have needed for a couple of years.

Anyway i reckon Ronaldinho would have been a disaster.

I think we probably do need one more player to challenge for the CL.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Play Veron infront of the defence, far better possistion for a player without much pace but with good vision and great passing, lets them control midfeild far easier and he can see the whole pitch, look how well it worked with Pirlo at milan, he was an attacking midfeilder/striker untill the start of last season.

If I was AF I'd sign Albertini, as far as I know Milaqn are letting him got for free/next to nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

not worried either . Fergie has never let us down to date . I am sur he knows what he is doing and as already stated Fletcher looks a good prospect and Ollie played well in beck position last season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭50Cent

IMO we need another centre back, we need a backup for Giggs and we need a dedicated right winger. That is if we are to follow the 4-4-2 formation...HOWEVER there is mighty talk about this 4-3-2-1 formation. We still need a replacement for Ronnie...Am i the only one who thinks this guy is just total class?Anyway we shall see how good/or bad he gets over the coming season...one thing is for sure...im gonna be glued to sky sports every saturday night for the Spanish Football anyway...

We need a player like Aimar/Saviola none of which we will get and Joaquin to play that role on the right similar to Figos role at madrid. I will not be saying anything regarding speculation EVER again until i see someone in the shirt...I though Ronnie was a done deal...

Originally posted by 50Cent
    IMO we need another centre back, we need a backup for Giggs and we need a dedicated right winger. That is if we are to follow the 4-4-2 formation...HOWEVER there is mighty talk about this 4-3-2-1 formation. We still need a replacement for Ronnie...Am i the only one who thinks this guy is just total class?Anyway we shall see how good/or bad he gets over the coming season...one thing is for sure...im gonna be glued to sky sports every saturday night for the Spanish Football anyway...

We need a player like Aimar/Saviola none of which we will get and Joaquin to play that role on the right similar to Figos role at madrid. I will not be saying anything regarding speculation EVER again until i see someone in the shirt...I though Ronnie was a done deal...

Joaquin plays nothing like Figo... Infact he is more of a wing back, like Cafu or Ze Roberto..

And also, seem's I was wront about Albertini...

AC MILAN PRESS RELEASE
    07/21/2003 18:30

MILAN - AC Milan and SS Lazio would like to announce that they have found an agreement on the following transfers:
    1) Demetrio Albertini moves from Milan to Lazio on a permanent basis and has signed with the Biancocelesti a two-year contract which expires on June 30 2005.
    2) Giuseppe Pancaro moves in the opposite direction on a two-year loan which links him to the Rossoneri for seasons 2003/2004 and 2004/2005.
    3) Both players have been transfered on free terms

Joaquin plays nothing like Figo... Infact he is more of a wing back, like Cafu or Ze Roberto..

Ye sure...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭hoolio

One of the best things Man U could do IMO is buy two decent wingers.And i only mean decent - i'm not talking Joaquin and Van Der Meede here,i'm suggesting maybe he should buy two 3 million pound wingers.People like David Thompson,Steven Reid,Fabrice Fernandes etc.Natural wingers (no disrespect to Ole but i like players playing in their own position).People who won't be setting world football on fire but will give adequate performances week in week out and to provide cover for Giggs and will be able to fill in on the right.Decent wingers who can get past players and can occasionally raise their game much higher.And no i'm definitely not suggesting Steven Reid will win the Champions League for them but someone like him would be a nice addition to your squad.And he's one for the future anyway and i'm hoping for great things from him - he's 2 years younger then Duff and what was public opinion on Duff like 2 years ago? So the short version is I think getting some decent cheap young wingers would be a good idea,unless they have some academy wonderkids waiting in the wings.

If i was Fergie this summer i would have offloaded Beckham and thrown money at Ajax for Van der Vaart and Van der Meede. That or Aimar or someone like that.Now he should definitely go for Carr and get in people like Defoe/Kapo but if he wants a Brazilian playmate for Kleberson how about Lucio (if he'd come) or Kaka (on fire recently apparently - in the worthless Gold Cup i know)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I tbh. I think Steven Reid is a better player than Beckham ever was after the '99 season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭tinofapples

It's anyones guess who we are gonna sign now.

I think we've already missed out on a future star in Quaresmo , a winger likened to the great Figo.

United were linked with him 18 months ago but did anything materialise ? No of course not cause they were too keen on Bugs Bunny yet didn't put their money where their mouth was !!

Interesting few weeks ahead.

I felt p***ed off over the Ronnie affair but I felt an awful lot more p***ed off over them not entering the race for Duff

No point crying over spilt milk though !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Bannor

Newcastle price Dyer at £25M from The Guardian
    However, United have so far received only the first £5.8m instalment of David Beckham's £25m transfer fee from Real Madrid and are suffering from cash flow problems, making Chelsea clear favourites to win any auction for Dyer.
    Barcelona have made Riquelme available for loan following Ronaldinho's signing - they could do alot worse than that, not much of a risk considering there would be no cash involved and he'd have Veron to help him settle. His one short coming is his lack of pace but it wouldn't be an issue if he got a free role behind RVN.

Also ... Saviola is available! Wait 'til Chelsea hear this :eek:
    Rijkaard has told Saviola he can go

The idea was that Saviola would get his Spanish nationality sorted out before the beginning of the new season and reduce the number of non-community members in the first team squad - unfortunately it will take longer than expected for "El Conejo" to become a Spanish national.

The new president and board see Riquelme as a symbol of the ex-president, Gaspart, reign. The player is not a popular figure atm with the new administration.

The idea was to loan him out to a Spanish or Portuguese club for a year. They tried Athletico Madrid, Villareal, Sporting Lisboa and Oporto without success, so there is a move towards selling him to the highest bidder or sending him back to Latin America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭marct

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I tbh. I think Steven Reid is a better player than Beckham ever was after the '99 season.

Please say you are trolling! If not you simply have no idea what you are talking about!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by marct
    Please say you are trolling! If not you simply have no idea what you are talking about!
    I'm deadly serious, apart from crosses and free kicks what has Beckham done in the last couple of years? Nothing. He has seemed to drift into the middle more and more often where he was least effective. The only football he did play was for England.

Reid is not as good at free kicks but he is still damn good at them, his crosses are not bad either. He's a much better all round player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭marct

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I'm deadly serious, apart from crosses and free kicks what has Beckham done in the last couple of years? Nothing. He has seemed to drift into the middle more and more often where he was least effective. The only football he did play was for England.

Reid is not as good at free kicks but he is still damn good at them, his crosses are not bad either. He's a much better all round player.

WOW! I've been on various message boards for the last few years and thats the silliest thing I've ever heard. Fair enough, people are entitled to their opinions but that has no basis in reality. Granted he wasnt at his best for Utd last season but he got 17 goals the season before. He sets up a stupid amount of goals, runs his heart out and pops up in Europe- Deportivo and Real anyone! TBH sounds like sour grapes that he's gone to me and if Reid was the new Beckham he wouldnt be playing for Milwall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JohnnyBravo

what kind of a stupid statement is that beckham is 100 times the player steven reid is steven reid is a division one player plain and simple if he is so good why hasnt a premiership club bought him beckhams crossing is an amazing asset for any club to have to have a ball whipped in directly to your feet if you are a striker is a dream come true just ask van the man anyone saying steven reid is better than beckham knows nothing about football and is making a pure ass of themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by Seaneh
    Demetrio Albertini moves from Milan to Lazio on a permanent basis and has signed with the Biancocelesti a two-year contract which expires on June 30 2005.

Sad to see Albertini's Milan career go the way it has.

That Pancaro chap any good? CM says he's shit :f

hes class been lazios most consistant performer this year and last and an italian international

He is ok, But he won't be a starter, that's for sure, he can play left or right back, is a decaint left winger aswell, atloeast it's cover for Cafu and Kladaze.

Maybe they cultivate him to play in the middle, he is strong, good in the air... I dunno, I guess he can't be a bad signing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭hoolio

steven reid is a division one player plain and simple if he is so good why hasnt a premiership club bought him

Well Blackburn are buying him - they had an offer accepted so they only have to agree personal terms now.He's going to be playing European football next season - not too bad for a crappy division one player.
    He sets up a stupid amount of goals, runs his heart out and pops up in Europe- Deportivo and Real anyone!

Last season David Beckham notched up 9 assists.Contrast that with Giggs's on 13 and Diouf and Ole both getting 8 he isn't that much better then strikers playing out of position. And i know this has nothing to do with anything but Henry got 23 assists - some player.And you can run all you like,workrate alone doesn't make you a good player - Dyer,Kilbane.And yeah he had some very good European performances but there were other times like the first leg against Real where he was just terrified to even attempt to go next or near Roberto Carlos - who isn't even that great defensively.

Basically i don't think there is that much really to choose between them.And you have to remember Reid is 6 years younger then him so give the guy a chance to prove himself.Sure Beckham can take a great freekick but Reid can actually get past players and attacks the last defender.But all around I might slighly favour Reid - he just brings more to the table,plus he doesnt have an 'image'.And i'm not just saying this because i'm a disgruntled Man U fan (i support Newcastle) and it's not some misguided patiotism either - Reid is as English as Beckham ffs. So now Steven Reid is moving to Blackburn.A talented young Irish winger playing for Blackburn you say? Remind you of anybody? Reid is still 2 years younger then Duff and like i said before - who rated Damien Duff so highly 2 years ago? A great World Cup or European Chamionship (if we get to either) and you could see another Irish winger making a big money move from Blackburn.

I guess i'm an ass then..............:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

If they can get 15M for Veron I think they should sell him - he's had enough time to prove himself, he's useless, anyway when everyone's fit there's no place for him in the team.

I agree there are some young lads looking good for this season (Fletcher and Richardson) but you have to ease them into the team like they did with John O'Shea. They should've bought Geremi on the cheap (in Beckham deal) plus they're relying too much on certain players now (RVN, scholes) to score, need another striker.

I don't think it's fair on Ole to play him on the right, he's actually brilliant in that position but I don't see him as a permanent replacement to Beckham. Giggs is getting on and when was the last time he crossed a ball - we lacked width last season (Beckham kept drifting into the centre leaving Neville to cross)

As far as I know Bellion can play on he right but is a natural striker, if they'd gotten Duff they could play giggs just behind to the left of RVN

Anyhoo I'm just annoyed because at the moment I think our squad has been weakened not strengthened plus we need another defender - isn't Wes Brown out til xmas - I think our defence should look like

Carr Ferdinand Silvestre O'Shea

and I'd be happy since Keane can slot into central defence and you can switch O'Shea, Silvestre and Brown, Carr would be a good buy, I think Hoddle is having problems at Spurs at the mo

Our current squad isn't strong enough to win the Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

The team is far from a shambles, United are champions remember !

Beckham could not fit into the formation which served the team well in Europe. Granted his crossing and free kicks will be missed, but it was time for him to go, end of !

Giggs, Scholes, Solksjaer will be playing behind Ruud as will Veron.

Veron is a great player, he's been average at times for United, but dont underistimate him

Keane and any one from Butt, Fortune and Phil will play in front of a sold back four.

We dont need S. Carr, it beggars belief why Irish United fans want to buy every average Irish player, ie, Carr, Duff and Finnan.

Duff is not needed, he had a great world cup granted, but he's not up to United's standard, perhaps for no more than £8 million maybe but no more.

Barthez
    Gary Nev, Ferdinard, Silvestre, O'Shea

Keane, Butt

Solksjaer, Scholes, Giggs

Ruud

I mean look at that for a first team !!!! Best in England and will win the Champions league this time round.

If you truely believe that team is up to CL standerds you are a bit out of touch.

Can you remind us whos the current champions are and how did utd fare the last times they met.

We were unlucky in europe last year.

Ye werent unlucky ye were found out ye conceeded way to many goals at home to madrid showed them too much respect and got trounced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Man United 4
    Celtic 0

Bellion grabs a goal in his first game and Ollie plays a stormer on the right, dont be to worried about united this season.

Pay attention chaps , this thread is called :

FAO Manchester United supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭BadCharlie

I think steven reid is a good player. His still young and can only get better. Bec had lots going for him as a player but was not the perfect player far from it i think. The english had him over ratted and i think AF knew this also thats why he sold him.
    Took his time in getting rid of bec i would have done it years ago. But as said above bec is worth alot of money.
    It be intresting to c if AF adds to his team but u can be assured he knows something we dont. Maybe some of the young players have developed into great players. Well we all know MU have left go lots of young players in the past only for them to turn out to be fantastic players!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Got up to watch the match @ 4am .... Kanckered know but well worth it

Have to say, they played very solidly [especially in defence surprisingly .... John O'Shea had a great match @ the heart of the defence - kept Sutton quiet] .... Giggsy played well too, so hopefully, it bodes well for the future.

Bellion looks to be a great investment ... his pace is electrifying & he took his goal well!!

RVN and Ole were their usual amazing selves!!

Keane tackled hard [too hard for the Peno] and pretty much controlled the area in front of the defence before he was substituted .... Veron [his replacement] showed off his eye for great passes, pinging them to Ole & Giggsy!!

I can see why Kenyon et al. have confidence in the current squad!! I still think they're missing something though :confused:

Picture the scene Ruud gets injured for 2/3 months midway through the season !!

What would we do then ?

Struggle !!

Originally posted by tinofapples
    Picture the scene Ruud gets injured for 2/3 months midway through the season !!

& I think that's what we're missing ... a world class striker!!

Forlan - He trys hard & maybe he'll start getting the luck he deserves.

Bellion - Looks like a great prospect for the future, but needs time.

Ole Solskjaer - Goes without saying that he is world class, but he's not able to hold the ball up like RVN.

I say United should break the bank & put a bid in for Raul ... Isn't he pissed off over the Becks deal and all the publicity it's getting??

HAHAHAHAHA Raul at Utd? Are ya well and truely mad? he wouldnt leave Real even if he was asked too...

We still need a world class striker and a centre back...thats definite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Bannor

Originally posted by PhatFiesta
    I say United should break the bank
    By all accounts it seems the bank is broken and that's Man Utd's problem with transfers this summer.

johnny bravo
    Ye werent unlucky ye were found out ye conceeded way to many goals at home to madrid showed them too much respect and got trounced

My reply to this is in my inital question. as you ignored the question i will answer it for you. We beat the current champions every time we met them last season . So I do think we were unlucky to be knocked out when we were. With a bit of luck we could have scored more goals in the second half of the away leg.

So what you beat them in the group stages at that stage they were concentrating on the scudetto you were simply outplayed by madrid your defense was hugley suspect and ferdinand was completely exposed by a not so fit looking ronaldo

this thred is entitled fao manchester united supporters why dont you start one for the chelsea fans where the two of you can slag off united to your hearts content. You will be playing with the big boys next season (for the first time in yonks) and we will see how you fare.

im not slagging you off and you must think id be crazy to bet on us winning the league anyone remember vialli every year we were favourites and every year we fell short like liverpool be under no illusions the title is going to arsenal or ye but id put my money on ye

Man Yoo didn't beat A.C. Milan at all last season, or in any season in the last 80 years for that matter...

i thought that but im too lazy to check it

ok i was too lazt to check as well.The match was dull and i switch off at half time . forgot juve lost on pens. But they were still there in the final and we beat the twice last season. (Memo to self
    check facts before posting). Johnnbravo good luck to the blues next season if the new players bring the consistancy they will liven things up. I hope they are the top london team next year and they certainly appear to be buying the players to do that.

Originally posted by Seaneh
    Man Yoo didn't beat A.C. Milan at all last season, or in any season in the last 80 years for that matter...

I hate to break this to you, but you are mistaken ... Man Utd beat AC Milan 1-0 @ Old Trafford in the first leg of the European Cup 1968/69 [34 years ago] ....

Admittedly they lost 2-1 on aggregate, but hey, they beat them!!

Phatfiesta
    I hate to break this to you, but you are mistaken ... Man Utd beat AC Milan 1-0 @ Old Trafford in the first leg of the European Cup 1968/69 [34 years ago] ....

Memo to Seanah

Same as memo to self;)