Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quake2 and Quake3 for muppets

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

Spose i might as well help this pointless thread get to 100 posts.

Ze - (Im the King of CA and you know it ja na) - ro

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ah now, I see a great bit dirty tarring brush heading in my way.

I dont doubt that some q1ers like to rag the q2eers a bit about their game (mostly cos the y respond hotly and indignantly to defend their game).

However there are q1 players who, even tho they dont play q2 at all and may not like it, *do* actually support the q2 community and protest their right to live in peace.

How often do you see Eddie or Conor on a q2 server. I didnt play q2 at all at QP (which will be open to q2ers again this year).
    So while I know it must be irksome to be called muppets by people who probably havent given your game a fair chance, please be accurate with that big tarring brush of yers!

DeVore
    oh ps: I think this is 91. Only 9 to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Actually your all wrong all quake is shiite, now Ultima theres a game. did I tell you about the time I took a trip buck and then ran into ......

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

ok
    just to throw some some gasoline on the nuclear reactor core...

here is a guy who is saying exactly what I dislike about quake2 and prefer about quake 1.

If only he wasnt as blatantly biased. his argument is sound though and if you stripe away the abrasivness, I think he has nailed why the long term players dont want to move to quake2 and why it seems like so much milling around to us...

http://www.truegamers.com/interviews/rix/page7.asp

remember that I agree with what he says and utterly disagree with the way he says it.

DeVore.
    {94!}

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Bet you wished you had ISDN around now huh?

Btw, that weapon imbalance is a load of sh!te.

I find it funny that one of the arguments is "the weapons are balanced so everyone has a fair chance". So why don't people all have average scores every time they play then?

Even funnier from the Q1 camp is "The Rail gun and BFG are too powerful" which kind of shoots holes in your weapon balance argument.

The secret to winning in Quake2 isn't the weapons it's efficent use of the armor (including shards) and health. Sod legging it for that RL when everyone else is going for it, just get some armor instead and watch them suffer for thier mistake.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

Right heres my contribution,

CA is a great ****in game. Great for a pickup game when you get home from work and need a fix. Sure, the teamplay mode isnt helpful to developing war skills - but how many wars do I play? I can normally hold my own on the CA server - and am happy with that - thats my quake buzz.

War without a doubt is the purest form of quake. Weapon and level control, the sort of stuff ppl like me havent time to develop. Leave it to the young uns....

Quake 2 is cool. Tis a bit too slow for my liking but thats MHO.

Slosh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Hmm, not an entirely accurate view of quake 2 in that article, typical Quake 1 talk. The idea that the weapons are all balanced in Quake 2 is rubbish, there may be a greater varity of them that in quake 1 allowing for ppl to specialise in a weapon ie. rail , rl or what ever takes you fancy. If any of you had bothered to read the Doozer tactics like we did you'd know that the key to winning a game is controling these weapons, armor and respawns, much like it is in Quake 1.

All these comparisions of the two games are pointless, there totally differnt, Q1 if you like a fast frenzed game, Quake 2 if you like to employ a lot of tactics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Fiend

Scarab: Don't really know you but you're an idiot for not getting your facts right =) I was at QP and I beat Beast in an unofficial duel on the first day. Wasn't really a duel, just no one else had their machine set up at the time to join in. He lost so bad he went back to Quake1 for a while. Dr.Teeth and Dupre (former Quake1 player like myself) and a few others there who didn't play Beast can beat him cause they're better than me.

BLADE and the rest of yas:
    You guys actually READ Thresh's review? He doesn't hate Quake2 and from what I've read obvious played it as much as Quake1. He's beta-testing Quake3 for ID and think it's going to be great. Instead of reading Blade's selective quotes, go read the whole thing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Yay!! I'm no. 100 smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Riker

You've prolly been sittin there all night
    waitin for tha smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kegser

Probably was to, Riker. I bet you were waiting for number 101 though smile.gif

"I find the entire Quake 1 vs. Quake 2 argument annoying.. It pretty much comes down to this in my mind: Quake2 is designed so that someone can not get any big advantage to where they are on the level. So, it is pointless to really KNOW a level and all its sounds. Quake2 is designed so that no weapon is really better than others in most situations - so it is pointless to learn which weapons to use in which situations, and pointless to guard a weapon (guarding things is a BIG skill in Quake1).

So if you want to play a game that is easier to pick up on, and there isn't as much to it, play Quake2. However if id goes back to the roots and looks at Quake1 gameplay, you'll find that Q3 arena will be much more like Quake. I feel sorry for all those Quake2 players out there when Q3 comes out, they'll probably hate it.

Backing up a bit to the "average" player and Quake1 vs. Quake2, you hear them say "If I could get a gun, I would kill you!" a lot. They are absolutely right. "Stupid game, can't get a gun" are all common quotes. The reason they can't get a gun is because they are being DENIED. Thats what I love about Quake.. You can do anything, and if you UNDERSTAND what is being done to you, you can usually counter it.

Thats what makes Quake 1 so much more deep than Quake 2 - there is no "1 best strategy". You have to look at what is being done to you, and you have to look at how your tactics match up, and make adjustments. There are so many possibilities, that is what has kept it interesting for 2 years."

Basically that's a load of ****e. In Quake 2 if you know the sounds on a level(for example Dm1) you can really take control of the game. From these sounds alone you can determine the position of an enemy- i.e. if you hear an Armor you know he is in one of three places, and the sounds you hear directly after will tell you exactly where.

Another thing is, weapon control is also used a lot in Q2. If you control the Rocket Launcher on DM1, the opposition will have a very hard time unless they are exceptionally skilled with the use of the railgun or chaingun.

Ah well, this thread should die out about now since most people seem to be copping on to some things.

Kegs.

By the way, who started the ****e about War and CA? WRONG THREAD!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭MikeS

He He He ROFLMBO!! Ye all fell fer it smile.gif Blade was looking for the biggest thread EVER! and and his first post was a meaningless load of bull to get us all to reply to it...nothing else.... Looks like he's gonna make it.. Well done Balde ooops Blade ROFLMBO! (Please note that Blade has the copyright of 'ROFLMBO' and no one should use it without his permission) WHOOOP! Go Fer IT BALDE!....dog nab it..sorry i ment Blade tongue.gif hehehehehe

MikeS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭MikeS

P.S. YEP! I AM! not ****ed smile.gif

ROFLMBO! (permission given by Blade)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Koopa

rofl
    blade actually said that himself, not me (you sick ****er lors :p)

oh yeah, dirty debbie is now looking for you.

angeleyes is alll yours smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

"Here comes the pain baby!" - Wonder if Blade is holding the record for the largest in size thread?
    The reason they can't get a gun is because they are being DENIED. Thats what I love about Quake.. You can do anything, and if you UNDERSTAND what is being done to you, you can usually counter it.

Erm, same applies to Quake2 I'm sorry to say. If you know a player is more a railgun player or BFG or RL, by denying them that weapon you are forcing them to play on your terms.
    Thats what makes Quake 1 so much more deep than Quake 2 - there is no "1 best strategy".

Funny I always thought camp the fok out of the RL/Quad/Pent and your laughing. Well against most players. After that it all boils down to aim and dodging.

The difference in Q2 is that every weapon has the potential to kill straight off (except for that naff blaster) so the camp the weapon tactic doesn't work as most experienced Q2 players change weapons often, whereas in Q1 people tend to stay to the usual weapons if at all possible.
    You have to look at what is being done to you, and you have to look at how your tactics match up, and make adjustments. There are so many possibilities, that is what has kept it interesting for 2 years."

Well that and the fact it will play nice on a lower spec machine the Q2 will.
    Basically that's a load of ****e. In Quake 2 if you know the sounds on a level(for example Dm1) you can really take control of the game. ....

*SIGHS* The exact same applies to Q1. Just ask Koopa if you don't believe me. That's why you fake the sounds. Only pick up 3 shards instead of four, jump a couple of times before picking up armor so the person thinks your at some other armor.
    Another thing is, weapon control is also used a lot in Q2.....

Maybe on the games you play, but most players I've played against who are any good change weapons often and you'll find some players who are more deadly with the hand grenades then with anything else.

.... Look just give up trying to compare the two, it's pointless. It's like comparing Test drive and Carmaggeon. And no I don't want anyone to argue this point smile.gif

Btw, for the love of god someone please close this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

I agree with Blade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭tecno

right lads what the hell are u posting sh*te on this post like a personal board this thread is about q1 being for muppets oh i mean q2 and q3
    hears my bit haha im going to get a bita abuse over this but to hell with it

i think q1 players are rather fat headed know it all ppl they need to cop on to life and not be so serious most of them have beer bellies smile.gif and there calling us muppets haha did u see any q2ers posting about how q1 is so ****e nope dont think so and do saying how q1 is so small all the levels are tiny thats y the rl is quicker cause it only has to go a few feet also if it is quicker it takes less skill to aim and dodge it its just fire at the person u dont have to use your brain to guess were his next move will be and fire there
    so blade tongue.gif next time shhhh relax and smoke da weed and forget about posting
    all games are different but no need to cause any friction between em ok
    p.s *cough*frechies rox at q1*cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

All quake levels small tecno ?? Just shows how much you know. I could go on and on about stupid mistakes you made in your post(like your rocket speed speach, try reading the above posts). Next time try to think before you post, and maybe next time you won't make such a big ass of yourself smile.gif

Take it

bubbles

bubbles@iol.ie

Haha take it Nethouse q2eers!
    Second (/me does a little jig)
    And wwman has a big fat head and his mother dresses him weird.
    :p
    DeV (safe in Italy by the time you read this)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Ye whats this Dev you came second in a Q2 FFA in the nethouse or something??? and u don't even play the game??? Are u a closet Q2'er Dev? just tell me man it's cool like.

Blade

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭juNkie

HAHA Take it Q1ers!! us quake2ers would drink yis under the table any day.

Thomas, don't forget lad, u said you'd sort out that game! don forget.

who do u actually luv....

juNk laa

[This message has been edited by juNkie (edited 13-03-99).]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

wELL GOTTA AGREE WITH HOBBES A FEW POSTS AGO ABOUT THIS WHOLE Q1/Q2 THING. oH AND SOMEONE CLOSE THIS THREAD, IF YOU CAN'T ARGUE YOU'RE POINT AFTER OVER 100 POSTS..... nEED I SAY MORE ?

pS jUST THOUGHT I'D SEE WHAT IT'S LIKE TO BE tHE vAGGAGBOND FOR A FEW MINUTES smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭shank

Whats all this about Q1'ers the only ones that have beer bellies, my ones commin on quite nicely ta very much.

shank1@usa.net
    q2n.quake.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2 DonRon

Okay... Nice one Blade...You win...Longest thread...Better luck next time Von smile.gif

Gawd, it's sooo easy to stir ****e between q1/q2 players.

For whatever it's worth - I play q1 and q2 regularly on LAN and Modem. I find the duels and small wars (4v4) are more intense in Q1 but ctf and big wars rule on Q2.

CA is a lot of fun and I agree with Dev that it takes real skill to play (spam is a signpost to the spammer). However I find it quite difficult to adjust between duels/wars and ca/rocket arena.

'Muppet' flames between q1/q2 ppl is like flames between the Irish rugby team and the Irish Soccer team... The games are similar but as anyone who has properly played both will agree: they are VERY different and both require skill.

With that in mind... aren't all DOOM players just the LAMEST!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kegser

Death to you all.

Mwahahahaha.

I think this is the best post on this whole thread.

Kegs.

Yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 cgnfJames

erm whats all this about smile.gif 118

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Dupre

I agree with DonRon.

After playing Quake 1 again for the past 2 days (and really enjoying it too),
    I've definitely found Quake 1 duels more fun.

As for team-games, I'm sorry but I really think Quake 2 is more suited.

Funnily enough, I reckon its the weapons balance in both games that make them respectively strong in the different fields.
    Think about it ...

Finally, the Atari ST is much better than the Amiga, the ZX Spectrum kicked the Commodore 64's ass and um ... bananas taste nicer than plums.
    There - I'm sure we'll get at least another 100 posts with that lot smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Dupre

Damn this thread takes a long time to load.

(sorry about the space filler, but I don't like leaving threads on uneven numbers, as we all know, even numbers are far better than uneven numbers and take a lot more skill to reach).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Cheez

Both quake1 and 2 kick ********s
    They are the best games I know and I
    play them both
    I think im better a quake2 than 1 but thats
    not because its a muppets game its pretty
    cool
    but ahh sure what ever you like yourself wink.gif
    oh yea go here - www.xworld.com/cobain/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Nicky

quake2 is more fun than quake1