Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Connolly the whinger!!

• 10-08-2003 12:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=158352&cpid=10&title=Connolly+quit+threat+to+Hammers

Connolly's just launched the proverbial broadside at his manager -directly after his debut.

This almost puts the "I should be Irelands first choice striker.", Don Givens fiasco in the ha'penny place.

In fairness it appears to me in both episodes he was actually wronged but jaysus his ego could go twelve rounds with Desailly's or Djalminha's any day.

Go get 'em tiger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He's probably right, but going to the press about it is totally the wrong way to handle things. Roeder still seem's pretty a clueless manager though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

I think Connolloy was right. Mellor only landed in London on Thursday and he was given a start. He is an unproven player and he was thrown into the first team. While Connolloy is no Pele hes is a proven goalscorer in the First Division.

Roeder is not the right man for the Job. He called securiy to remove Sebastien Schemmel from training last week. He's hardly a good man manager now is he?

If Defoe leaves too then I don't think West Ham will see the Premiership next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

i was a little suprised with mellor starting. I know hes a good prospect but what i didnt know before sathurday is how much he lacks pace.Could some1 tell me if hes just unfit or realy that slow !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Connolly was spot on in his sentiment but completely wrong in his behaviour.

He proved his point well with the goal, and Conollys suggestion that first team football for Mellor is a clause in the loan deal may not be as far fetched as it sounds.

What will be interesting though, is how Roeder reacts. If he is any sort of a man, Connolly will be transfer listed or severely repremanded.

I wonder would Forest go back in for him? I wonder do we want him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by sykeirl
    What will be interesting though, is how Roeder reacts. If he is any sort of a man, Connolly will be transfer listed or severely repremanded.

Transfer listing somebody in the first division is a bit of a fruitless jesture. The chances of him being signed by a premiership side are slim and the total number of transfers this summer that actually involved money is a very small number indeed. Letting him go for nothing would say an awful lot about Roeder (mostly bad things).

Didn't see it but great to hear Mellor is getting his game:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I'd love to see him join.

His goals to games ratio in the first division is literally second to none.

Him, Harewood and Johnson rotating woudl be fearsome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Anyone hear about him giving Glen Roeder stick over putting him on as sub, and if it happens again he'll be looking for another club. he says this 3 weeks after signing for them!!

http://msn.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,32-1099856,00.html

This after his whinging about not being first choice striker for Ireland!!

This lad should do his talking on the pitch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭kensutz

Connolly's coming to Norwich, Connolly's coming to Norwich!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

has Glenn Roeder landed himself another Paolo Di Canio :p ROFL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Roeder is not the right man for the Job. He called securiy to remove Sebastien Schemmel from training last week. He's hardly a good man manager now is he?

jesus christ!thats awful,i agree roeders man management skills are dreadful as is his actual managerial experience,i mean before w.ham did he not have an awful spell at watford years back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Mellor scored for Liverpool in the cups or something last season didn't he?? Anyway, Connolly is arguably right in that he has more right to a first team place than Mellor, but A) he did come on as a sub and B) he did score the winner on his debut.

He seems to think he's George Weah or someone, he should cop on to himself or he'll be playing in a lower division yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Bannor

There's a clause in Mellor's loan agreement that says he has to start every game he is match for for.

The tactic worked on Saturday - Mellor ran the defense ragged and should have scored himself. Connolly came on, and beat a tired defense to score his goal - He may not have had the same impact on the game if he played from the start, his effectiveness was in no small way helped by the extreme heat on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Apparently the reason Connolly didn't start was because he wasn't match fit as he's had no pre-season games. Mellor on the other hand had taken a fairly active role in Liverpools before the loan move.

Stupid git should have had this out in Private with Roader :)

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    has Glenn Roeder landed himself another Paolo Di Canio :p ROFL
    Connolly is a twit for complaingin in public. He did have a very good point though but should have kept it private. I hope to god WHU can keep him and get us back to our rightful place in the premiership next season.
    Connolly another DiCanio...as far as complaining goes then yes..but there will only ever be one DiCanio...GOD...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Connolly should never have come out & complained in public ... he should get his ass kicked ... West Ham won the match, so it looks to me like Roeder's team selection was vindicated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Merged the two Connolly threads :)

Gandalf.

Originally posted by Ludo
    Connolly is a twit for complaingin in public. He did have a very good point though but should have kept it private. I hope to god WHU can keep him and get us back to our rightful place in the premiership next season.
    Connolly another DiCanio...as far as complaining goes then yes..but there will only ever be one DiCanio...GOD...
    Personally I don't think Connolly has a case - he only joined West Ham a couple of weeks ago.

His match fitness is questionable - how many pre-season games did he play? If he only made his West Ham debut on Saturday then that would suggest he didn't play any real football over the summer break. He could have run around on a training pitch for two weeks but that isn't going to give him match fitness. Mellor on the other hand has played a substantial role in Liverpool's pre-season games.

Of the two, Mellor was more likely to cause the Preston defense problems for the greater period of the game because of his match fitness. Roeder's tactic paid off and Connolly has no cause for complaint. Would he have had the same effect on the game if he played from the start - not in the near 100F heat.

Connolly is pure ego - obviously the plight of West Ham is not a concern otherwise he wouldn't be putting his ego before getting the best result for the team.

Once Mellor gets in a few training sessions with Etherington, Connolly is going to find himself being a sub so he better get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Sorry I dont agree that Connolly has no right to be upset. Connolly will be a West Ham player for a few years to come. Mellor is only a loanee who will be off back to de pool after the season. Who do you think we should be trying to keep happy of those two? Connolly of course. Connoly scored 24 goals in 28 games for Wimbledon last season and is just about the best striker at first division level. Therefore I believe Mellor should be the one warming the bench. He will still get lots of games though through injuries/bans/rotation.
    It is typical of Roeders uselessness to piss off our new "star" player within a few weeks. Roeder hasnt a clue about man-management. Just look what he did to Schemmell...getting security to escort him fro the premises has to be one of the most stupid things I have ever heard of a manager doing.
    ROEDER OUT!!!
    BROWN OUT!!!

Is an unfit David Connolly better than a fit Neil Mellor? Personally I don't think so. It's not a case of keeping the new signing vs loanee happy.

1 - Connolly hasn't had any real pre-season training and isn't 100% fit.
    2 - He has also been carrying an injury.
    3 - Mellor had a full pre-season with Liverpool.
    4 - West Ham are now playing with two wingers (Garcia and Etherington), who swing balls in from out wide. With this style of play Mellor as opposed to Connolly compliments Defoe best.
    5 - The manager picks the team, i.e. Glen Roeder - the decision is final.

Connolly may have been upset not to start the game but to throw a childish fit before the media is completely unprofessional. It's not like he didn't get to play - he came on as a substitute and scored the winning goal, it should be a cause for celebration. The fact that it's not tells you more about David Connolly as a man and his ego, than Glen Roeder's man management skills.

The goal for West Ham this season is promotion and that means having the team that's going to get the best result on the pitch - last weekend Connolly didn't meet the criteria, if he was fully match fit then he would have a case to complain.

Connolly will do a decent job for West Ham in the First Division when he's fit. If West Ham win promotion to the Premier League, he will be sold - he's a journeyman who's not good enough for the highest level. He wouldn't be anywhere near the Ireland squad if we could produce strikers the way we churn out full backs.

As for Schemmell - There's a malaise in the English game because of the money bubble that is the Premiership and Sky's TV contract. The money artificially inflates the salaries of players and when a club leaves the bubble they are in dire straights because there is no means of sustaining the high wages. The high earners become vampires bleeding the club dry and in this case the vampire Schemmell is playing the victim.

My understanding of the situation is that Schemmell is on a high salary at West Ham and he also receives high appearance fees. The West Ham Directors need to cut the wage bill and have tried to sell him, but nobody is willing to match the wages he's on at West Ham. Schemmell says he wants to play football - that being the case why doesn't he voluntarily waive the appearance fees or offer to take a pay cut?

I'm not a West Ham fan and I don't care about the security guard incident. In my mind, players like Schemmell are mercenaries. Johnson and Cole were sold because they are the players West Ham can get money for. Money that is much needed to pay the salaries of players like Schemmell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

He got 2 in the carling cup last night....

Defoe got the third, apparently they have quite the partnership... no mention of Mellor!

... no mention of Mellor!
    Don't want him cup tied now do we - you know how important the Carling Cup is to Liverpool:D

WH have gotten rid of Schemmel to Portsmouth - should be good for their wage structure further disrupting any notion of Defoe leaving (unless he does something that will require security being called:D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Fair play to Connolly he backed up his outburst last night. Scored two made the third. Thats 3 goals in 2 games and should give him preference over "should have scored" Mellor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

connolly is a good div 1 striker. I think its clear that he hasnt got it on the international stage, and should west ham get promoted, i'd say they'll flog him to the next premiership hopefuls :P