Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea...who???

• 13-08-2003 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭

Eh what was that? They were in control but failed to capitalise. Veron looked lost as usual...

duff amazing as usual...

gudjohson very quiet besides his good well taken goal

Johnson amazing hot prospect....

bridge and geremi looked good too...

But come on? 2-0? I want to see you give Pool the worst possible start on Sunday...dont let me down.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

There is nothing special about chelsea. Only one or two would get into the United 11 and that is Duff and Gallas.

I think all this money will put extra pressure on only half decent players. Chelsea for the Worthington Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Veron looked lost? you obviously missed his 40 yard passes to Duff and co,and it was his first game drifted in alot Johnson was outstanding, Duff was running the show the forwards were poor though, despite Guddy scoring.

If I was a Utd fan I'd be a little concerned that Fergie has said he has finished spending no world class CB to play alongside Rio yet again, will be exposed in CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

I agree with Ubah One about Veron, he did look lost. He is definately not a right midfielder. I still think he will do well at Chelsea but not out there. Duff looked sensational. He linked up very well with Bridge. Glen Johnson too looked good. I thought Lampard was ok but he will get better. Geremi I thought had a poor game as did Forsell and Gudjohnsen. They failed to get a telling touch on the ball and for all of Chelsea good passing and possesion I think the front two gave the ball away far too cheaply. Still it was their first competitive game and they looked impressive. The problems will arise further into the season if they Keep Jimmy Floyd, Joe Cole and friends on the bench, they aint gonna be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

I'm happy Liverpool are playing them first:D

The worst point were the strikers and on that note Mutu will probably play against the pool:eek:

Duff was brilliant in the first half - all the strikers had to do was tap the ball in (thank fcuk united didn't get him - RVN would have non stop wet dreams) but they couldn't manage it. They were basically getting the ball handed to them on a plate and should have made more of the opportunities created for them.

Also Duff should form a great partnership with Bridge - this will need a little time to develope though.

There is still great CBs at the club but they are now playing alongside two new FBs, so these relationships will also need time to gel. The back four didn't look as stable as last year but when they get used to playing alongside each other it could be a great defence.

Another relationship that should eventually gel very well is Johnson (played brilliant) and whoever grabs the right midfield position. Veron wasn't lost, he was right there on the right wing - where he shouldn't be, he was just crap. One 40yard ball doesn't make a performance smuckers. Still a great player but will need to be played differently.

So overall, lots of promise but a poor performance.

It was more than one pass Pete, watch the game next time guys instead of flicking around.:)

Originally posted by smuckers
    It was more than one pass Pete, watch the game next time guys instead of flicking around.:)
    Was in the pub on front of a big screen specifically to watch the match - no flicking around. The guy will hopefully have a great season but I think he can play a lot better than he did last night.

btw. watch out for gloating manc fans saying ye have bought a donkey based on that performance (they're always quick to take the knives out) - just remind them ye got him for half price:D

He'll get better it was hist first game I thought Joey Cole linked up well when he came on.
    Utd fans can say all they one of the reasons Utd signed Ronaldo is because of his name. :D not doubting his talent though.
    I've got a story about that.

CFC and Utd were going for Ronaldo his original price was only around 8, they jacked up the price to 12.5, Fergie had to pay it cause he was worried RA would outbid him he assumed that we were going to up the bid and came in with 12.5 mil.
    Utd has first refusal anyway cause of their connections with Sporting lisbon.

Zilina 0 Chelsea 2

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003

New signings Damien Duff and substitute Joe Cole set up the goals for Eidur Gudjohnsen and an own goal in the first game of the Roman Abramovich era tonight.
    Three quarters of an hour before kick-off rain suddenly descended at a furious rate which was great news for the Chelsea players because the pitch was like rock when they arrived.
    All the new boys were heavily involved in lovely passing movements in the first three minutes of the game, and the final one of those resulted in a Mikael Forssell shot being deflected for a corner. But from that corner Chelsea were exposed, and the troublesome Barcik hit an excellent pass for Durica with Zalina three against one, but running Durica failed to control and chasing Marcel Desailly cleared up.
    Chelsea kept creating. The new boys fashioned a fantastic chance when Juan Sebastian Veron’s 50 yard cross-field free-kick was wonderfully chested down by Duff who then danced through Barcik and Zabavnik before crossing low for Forssell to stab over under pressure.

Next, Gudjohnsen flicked Veron’s pass expertly into Frank Lampard’s run, but the England international when through smashed his low shot fractionally wide of the far post when a goal looked certain.
    Thereafter, for most of the remainder of the half, despite all the possession, despite all the brilliant long passes, little flicks and extraordinary movement, there was no threat. You almost longed for a little less searching for brilliance and a little more basics. That’s not to say there wasn’t hard work and covering and chasing and all the necessities carried out, it’s just that too much was being asked of everybody by everybody. And several people were yet to show top form.
    At the other end Zalina carried the threat of Barcik all the time, but despite some good passing moments of their own, they rarely penetrated and never asked a question of Carlo Cudicini. Duff forced the first booking when Sninsky fouled him from behind ten minutes before half-time, and with four minutes to go to the interval Duff produced the product to go with the brilliance. He played a one-two with Forssell and crossed low for Gudjohnsen, sliding in at the far post, to net Chelsea’s first goal of the Abramovich era. The pressure was lifted in time for the break.
    Zalina continued afterwards with their 4-1-4-1 formation, and Barcik produced for them again with a fine cross, but Varadin headed over. Chelsea responded with Wayne Bridge finding Duff in the inside-right channel, and he went past a defender and hit a powerful low right-footer which was well held by Trabalik.
    With 12 minutes of the second-half gone Claudio Ranieri made his first substitution. Jesper Gronkjaer replaced Forssell, and Chelsea switched to 4-2-3-1 with Lampard holding in midfield with Geremi, Gronkjaer and Duff forward up the flanks, Veron free in the middle and Gudjohnsen alone up front. Within three minutes Lampard had struck a fierce 20 yarder which Trabalik held well low to his right.
    Zilina coach Milan Lesicky must have felt Chelsea’s right hand side was dominating because he replaced his left hand side after 65 minutes, Drahno for left-back Stasi and Putik for left-midefielder Durica.
    Joe Cole made his debut on 69 minutes, replacing Duff on the left-wing. He roamed more and the structure wasn’t so solid, but six minutes later on the edge of the area he produced a marvellous back-heel for Gudjohnsen, and under pressure substitute left-back Drahno chipped his own goalkeeper for an entertaining own goal. 0-2, match over.
    There was still time for Lampard to hit a 30 yarder which was punched round and to force a block from the advancing Trabalik when he ran on to Veron’s chip.
    Zilina showed their ambition when they replaced sole striker Varadin with another sole striker Putiki with nine minutes left.
    When the referee blew his whistle for time, the home team hadn’t mustered one shot on target. Great new players at Chelsea, and one happy Italian manager!

what was B Davies on last night Forssel the swede?

Nice point about Ronaldos price. AFAIK he was rated at 10mil last year but due to them not being in the CL and needing the cash badly the price was down to 6mil at the start of the Summer. I guess they knew Ferguson wanted him badly and with RA in the back of everyones mind United end up paying an inflated price again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

3 outstanding points from last nights game for me

duff was excellent , great to see an irishman playing for chelsea again

geremi was so quiet you'd be forgiven for not noticing him except for his (close) free kick

the back line was all over the place , you could see dessa calling for the offside line but only JT went with him.

also , i thought veron was pretty poor (but then it is hard for me to suddenly switch from berating him at every opportunity for being a heskey-like donkey) ditto Joe Cole , maybe its coz i'm used to slagging him but Ranieri isn't fond of players wandering out of position , he's talented but he could be a liability. Seems Gronk hasn't quite sorted out his crossinjg problems yet. Bridge and Johnson looked right at home

oh yeah , with duff / gronk and possibly veron service whoever is our regular striker should be in for a golden boot this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    There is nothing special about chelsea. Only one or two would get into the United 11 and that is Duff and Gallas.

Really, how many games did Veron start for United last season ??
    21 in the premiership wasn't it, along with 9 in the CL, any chance he'd make it onto the united team :rolleyes:

T4TF, I think the fact that he was sold to Chelsea may prove the point that no he wouldn't make it into the team. Not now. but there is certainly a few playes I would have in the team.

Duff, Johnsen and Terry wouldn't be bad players to have in a team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭UbahOne

Originally posted by smuckers
    Veron looked lost? you obviously missed his 40 yard passes to Duff and co,and it was his first game drifted in alot Johnson was outstanding, Duff was running the show the forwards were poor though, despite Guddy scoring.

If I was a Utd fan I'd be a little concerned that Fergie has said he has finished spending no world class CB to play alongside Rio yet again, will be exposed in CL.

No i watched the whole thing. veron was lost, best midfielder in the world...at times. Not at all last night. Fergie never said he finished spending...where do you get that from? And why change the subject? Chelsea dominated a **** team from the start. Your defence was a bit all over the place at times. Johnson and Duff were your best players. No real surprise though. You still better beat Pool on sunday...:D
    21 in the premiership wasn't it, along with 9 in the CL, any chance he'd make it onto the united team

Not a ****en chance right now...our team has changed and he would not make it which is why we sold him. We dont need the money badly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hehehe I love all this.

Chelsea at times looked class last night. Considering this was their first competative match and the opposition (even thou they are crap) have had 5 matches already this season I thought they did well. The only areas that I would be worried about were the strikers but I doubt that Forrsell and Gudjohnson would be the first choice pairing. If this team gels quickly they will be challanging. Don't know why they played Veron on the right thou, he is totally wasted there. Duff was frightening, everytime I see him playing he gets better and better. With him providing ammunition Mutu might be a good bet for the golden boot this year.

Gandalf.

i really want to see Mutu play actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

veron was typical. a few outside of the foot crossfield balls and a few flicks that make him look stupid.

he's carried on the EXACT same way for chelsea as he left off for utd. duff, as i have always said is chelsea's only star. the rest are good but not potential champions, 2nd,3rd perhaps.

its a poor result against a poor side. 4,5-0 should have been the outcome. lampard, duff,bridge and johnson played well. the rest were disappointing. hopefully they'll all be on top form against liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

For god sake, this thread is ridiculous, I'm a UTD fan. What were ppl expecting of Chelsea, it was their first competitive match together, they never looked like losing last night. Yeh the team they were playing were a weak team, but the rest of you UTD supporters have a very short memory. Remember UTD had to play a Hungarian team in the champions league qualifiers this time last year, UTD actually went and lost 1 nil in the away leg. Enuff said!!

2nd or 3rd will do nicely this year thanks

ber in mind this was the FIRST competitive game, I fully expect to drop some silly points before Christmas but to start to kick ass in the second half of the season

No I remember that Talla....but this is the Chelsea everyone is talking about and deserve to be scrutinised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

yes it is fair too scrutinize them, but none of the chelsea fans in here are stating that they will win the champions league or premiership this year, but ppl are pointing out that chelsea should have won 4 or 5 nil last night, so that means they are not going to win anything this year. Come on, get real(i know you never said this ubahone). The only thing that can be learned from last night is they were dodgy at the back(which will be sorted when Gallas is back in the team) and a bit weak up front.

True...

Ubah don't get your knickers in a twist we never stated that we'd win the league unlike some of the Gooners on text. For feck sake it was Veron's first match, we may has well sell him now lol judge a player over a season not on one match, I remember Lampard had a terrible debut against Newcy 2 years ago, but no one harped on about it.

oh ffs this is getting ridicuolous...did i say you would win the league or win the champos cup at all? AT ALL? OR EVEN SAY ANY CHELSEA FAN SAID IT!!! NO I DIDNT!!!

No i still think Veron is an utter class midfielder but....he has a lot to answer for this season.

oh ffs this is getting ridicuolous...did i say you would win the league or win the champos cup at all? AT ALL? OR EVEN SAY ANY CHELSEA FAN SAID IT!!! NO I DIDNT!!!

No i still think Veron is an utter class midfielder but....he has a lot to answer for this season.

Chelsea played well last night. Some of the players had a great debut and Bridge and Duff were terefic. Even though the opposition were only an average team Chelsea still needed to win and they did. They always looked comfortable.

The big test for them though is on Sunday. I can't wait to see how Carragher deals with Duff. If he does a good job then I'd fancy Liverpool to draw or win. If not I'd go for a Chelsea win. Should be a good one though.

The close scrutiny of Chelsea is inevitable - they are the team that everyone is interested in at the moment. While not a solid performance last night there was a huge amount of potential there that was very obvious.

First fully competitive game of the season for Chelsea and they came through it 2-0. Liverpool are yet to have their first competitive match and I'm a little nervous that it is going to come against a team who have already dipped their toe in the water (we will be ready though:) )

Im looking forward to the Liverpool v Chelsea match more that i was looking forward to Utd V Arsenal last sunday...

Originally posted by UbahOne
    Im looking forward to the Liverpool v Chelsea match more that i was looking forward to Utd V Arsenal last sunday...
    So am I, something about Liverpools exciting play that always has me glued:D Hopefully Chelsea play their part too.

Btw the Charity (Community) Shield is just a friendly - apart from being the first football of the season and the only silverware that younited will win this season there is not much else going for it. Most fans didn't even make it.

i'm starting to wish the pool game was a few months away it's been forever since we beat them at anfield. Still i reckon it will be a draw myself.
    Even with a slightly disorganised chelsea there is so much threat going forward , duff, gronks and cole that old GH will have to out bore himself and probably go for a 7 at the back formation ;-)

fancy jimmy to score first.

btw
    is there a chelsea pub in cork or anything ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Reckon Harry will score first, guess we will just have to wait and see...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Originally posted by growler

btw
    is there a chelsea pub in cork or anything ?

I'm sure if you give Mr. Abromovich a ring he might start a Chelsea pub chain down there:p

Originally posted by growler
    Even with a slightly disorganised chelsea there is so much threat going forward , duff, gronks and cole that old GH will have to out bore himself and probably go for a 7 at the back formation ;-)

fancy jimmy to score first.

finally, someone who realises GH is boring. 7 at the back, i feel the same although i'd go for 8 myself with kewell and owen playing upfront. 8-1-1 that'l be his formation on sunday. duff will make an even bigger fool of carragher who is a fool anyway.

thats if he plays. finnan could take his position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭marct

Originally posted by smemon
    finally, someone who realises GH is boring. 7 at the back, i feel the same although i'd go for 8 myself with kewell and owen playing upfront. 8-1-1 that'l be his formation on sunday. duff will make an even bigger fool of carragher who is a fool anyway.

thats if he plays. finnan could take his position.

We all realise he is boring! But whatever you say about Carragher he is a bloody great defender even if he does get vertigo when he ventures into the oppositions half:) Duff was his usual amazing self yesterday but he wont get much change out of Carragher. I reckon it'll be a scoring draw.

I agree that Carragher is a great defender but unfortunately he could bring a lot more to the team. He was responisble last season for a lot of the long balls played (and his long ball ain't great either:mad: ). As a defender though he is great.

I won't eat those words if Duff makes a fool of him because that is what Duff does best and he's very good at it.

Btw the Charity (Community) Shield is just a friendly - apart from being the first football of the season and the only silverware that younited will win this season there is not much else going for it. Most fans didn't even make it.

Can i just correct you there? United will win MANY A TROPHY THIS SEASON!!! :D:D

Also, MOST ARSE fans didnt make it. The Utd stands were packed out fully. Just though id correct that...

utd will challenge on all fronts as usual. chmps league should be handy enough until quarter finals. anything can happen then depend on who your drawn against.

league will be 2 horse race- utd and arsenal. fa. cup, well utd havnt won it since 99, this maybe our year.

i predict the doubl for utd, no chmps league this year :( liverpool to retain the plastic trophy this year.

duff WILL run riot against carragher. he's a good defender but cant handle world class players.

I feel like buying a chelsea jersey just to have Duff on the back of it...he will destroy you on sunday...and we will see that Duff is better than kewell? Kewells isnt still injured is he?

Carragher is a good defender but is stupid and made an awful lot of mistakes last season.

I feel like buying a chelsea jersey just to have Duff on the back of it...he will destroy you on sunday...and we will see that Duff is better than kewell? Kewells isnt still injured is he?

Carragher is a good defender but is stupid and made an awful lot of mistakes last season.

Who is better between the two wont really matter to you guys as you didnt get either:D But thats fine as C Ronaldo is the best up and coming midfielder in the world etc etc:rolleyes:

Can i just correct you there? United will win MANY A TROPHY THIS SEASON
    As discussed earlier, you are entitled to your incorrect opinion.

Also, MOST ARSE fans didnt make it. The Utd stands were packed out fully. Just though id correct that...
    Maybe that's because they have a chance of winning some silverware later in the season and are going to wait until then?
    Kewell is injury free as far as I know. Avoid making up your mind on one viewing though - it's that kind of thing that has ManU paying inflated prices for over rated players.

Make sure to hold onto the jersey as well for when he walks over Uniteds full backs later in the season.

Yep, but mostly when going forward (as mentioned earlier he ain't the best at that), defensively he was quite sound in general.

ronaldo snubbed liverpool. kewell snubbed utd, duff didnt, we never bid for duff, unfortunately.

we'll see who comes out on top this season, kewell or ronaldo. i know who my moneys on. carragher is an old fashioned defender, he's a true defender but thats all he can do, boot it clear of his area. no wonder GH plays him.

p.pete are you serious?
    Maybe that's because they have a chance of winning some silverware later in the season and are going to wait until then?

If you are, your not even worth discussing anythign with...

i wont even read the rest of your post...this sums it up.

p.pete are you serious?

If you are, [snipped] not even worth discussing anythign with...

i wont even read the rest of your post...this sums it up.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

chealsea for the worthington cup

its the carling cup know.

yee are both wrong, its the plastic cup.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    Really, how many games did Veron start for United last season ??
    21 in the premiership wasn't it, along with 9 in the CL, any chance he'd make it onto the united team :rolleyes:
    Only because he cost United £28.1 million. They were probably trying to put him in the shop window. I think we got good money back for him. He was a waste of space and it showed as he did not start in any of our 13 games in the run in at the end of last season.

You'll miss his range of passing and you may miss Becks more than you think.

We will miss Becks and Veron...but not enough as we are grateful for having the replacements brought in this season.