Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An album everyone should have in yer opinion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 rodeo-terrorist

1. tindersticks - tindersticks
    2. entroducing - dj shadow
    3. debut - bjork
    4. soft bulletin - flaming lips
    5. pet sounds - beach boys
    6. good morning spider - sparklehorse
    7. and nothing... - yo la tengo
    8. worst case - dEUS
    9. heartworm - whipping boy
    10. people are strange - stnina nordenstam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Neil_B

Guns 'n' Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    U2 - Achtung Baby
    Stevie Wonder – Songs in the key of life
    Marvin Gay – What’s going on
    Soundgarden - Superunknown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭sodiumlightbaby

The The - Soul Mining
    The Cure - Pornography
    Sex Pistols - Never mind the bollocks
    Siouxsie & the banshees - Kalaidescope
    Soft cell - Non Stop erotic caberet
    The Stranglers - The Raven
    The Psychedelic Furs - Talk Talk Talk
    Yazoo - Upstairs at Erics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Raggamuffin

Originally posted by Rob Taylor

Beach Boys - Sunflower/Surf's Up
    Ben Folds - Rockin The Suburbs
    REM - New Adventures/Up
    Clash - London Calling
    Air - Moon Safari
    Pulp - This Is Hardcore
    Dexy's Midnight runners - Searching For The Young Soul Rebels
    The Band - The Band
    Johnny Cash - Live at San Quentin
    Depeche Mode - Songs of Faith and Devotion
    Blondie - Parallel Lines
    The The - Dusk
    Radiohead - Kid A
    50 Cent - Get Rich or Die Tryin
    Eminem - Marshall Mathers LP
    Faith No More - Angel Dust
    U2 - Achtung Baby
    Squeeze - Cool For Cats
    Simple Minds - New Gold Dream
    Beatles - Abbey Road
    Stranglers - Aural Sculpture
    Tom Petty - Full Moon Fever
    Springsteen - The River
    Lou Reed - Set The Twilight Reeling
    Traveling Wilburys - Vol 1
    Blur - Parklife
    Bob Dylan - Street Legal/Oh Mercy
    Rolling Stones - Some Girls
    Queen - Sheer Heart Attack
    Bob Marley - Exodus
    NWA - Straight Outta Compton
    Aerosmith - Toys in the attic/Pump
    Joe Strummer - Rock Art and the XRay Style
    Leonard Cohen - I'm your Man/The Future

How about that for a genre-straddling list!!!!

Cheers

Rob

interesting choice.
    Eminem and 50 cent over Nirvana? nice choice

Kid A... hmmm somebody must have lost their musical judgement ability in a fire.

Buzzcocks? Singles going steady? no? oh ok aerosmith instead.

Black Flag - Damaged? ah no travelling wilburys instead.

Stevie wonder - innervisions? **** that Ben folds "rockin the suburbs".

NWA seem to have stolen a reason to be on this list instead of grandmaster flash.

U2... seemigly you think this album would be there instead or Replacements - Let it be? right? or some Beat Happening?

Mudhoney?
    Husker Du?
    THe Hollies?
    The Faces?
    THe Byrds?
    Sonic Youth?

shocking list and genre straddling it aint.

to name but 5?

quick ones.

Minutemen - double nickels on a dime
    Beatles - White Album
    Neil young - after the gold rush
    pixies - surfer rosa
    dinosaur jr. - you're living all over me

loads of honaourable mentions (the cure) etc.
    but it's a pointless thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭stez

Jaysus raggamuffin, can you not just put up your suggestions without criticising other people's. Just accept that as a human race, we have different musical tastes....and that goes for anyone who feels like slagging off other peoples choices.
    Anyway, I agree with NWA - Straight Outta Compton and here's more....

Burnin' - The Wailers
    The Beatles - Revolver
    Marvin Gaye - What's Goin' On
    The Jam - All Mod Cons
    Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
    The Smiths - The Queen Is Dead
    The Who - Who's Next

If I had to single that down to one, if my life depended on it, I'd go with Burnin' by the Wailers....if you haven't heard it, buy it, Bob Marley and the Wailers albums are usually pretty reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Saint-dotsie

the objective of this thread was to state one album from yer record collection that you believe everyone should have,unfortunately lond lists were put forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭stez

Ok....I'll go with The Wailers - Burnin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Rob Taylor

Ah, Raggamuffin. Never miss an opportunity to criticise, do you? And if it's a pointless thread, why bother submitting? To slag off other people's choices? Now THAT's pointless. Each to their own, remember that. Interesting that when I gave you an opportunity to stop mouthing and do something creative (ie to script a show for the Album Archive), you declined. Funny that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Mewzel

Originally posted by Saint-dotsie
    yerself is steam is more of an aquired taste, mm i love sweet odysee of ....... and frittering

id probably agree. frittering would definitely be my fave track on yourself is steam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Cherry

Ah, Raggamuffin... Interesting that when I gave you an opportunity to stop mouthing and do something creative (ie to script a show for the Album Archive), you declined. Funny that.....

It's easier to be dismissive of others than to have others be dismissive of you.

Maybe he was afraid that everyone would rip the piss out of him & his script..

Poor widdle boy.

A few more albums now I think of them (I can never be limited to just one. Don't opress me!) -

Gold
    Here Be Monsters
    Howdy
    Lost Horizons
    Mer De Noms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭lamda

Each to their own, remember that.

You hit the nail on the head there Rob... each to their own; which is why I think this thread is pointless. It's very arrogant IMO to say one album that everyone should have, as music is subjective and people's tastes vary.. so its impossible to say that there is one particular album (or a huge list of them) that everyone should have in their collection. I mean take your own list for example.. granted you mentioned a lot of stuff that I own and love myself but some of them i'd never want to own in a million years. It's basically a thread to write your favourite albums really isnt it... why cant it just be that without saying everyone should have x album?

Interesting that when I gave you an opportunity to stop mouthing and do something creative (ie to script a show for the Album Archive), you declined. Funny that.....

1."gave me an oppurtunity to stop mouthing"

2."do something creative"

3."declined"

1. I did'nt see it as an oppurtunity to stop mouthing as i see nothing wrong with critcism. You did'nt give me anything, to be honest, and the "oppurtunity" was marginal.

2. Where is this coming from? Unfortunatly i've got nearly 3 years experience on radio, by now, and scripting is'nt the hardest thing in the world. I prefer to earn my place on radio rather than useless charity.

3. Decline? sorry, i just ignored it, to be honest, too much work to do during the year.I did'nt really like your show's format and album choice; "everyone to their own right?. I can pretty much do the same thing but where as for the moment you're confined to "internet only" i prefer the luxury of FM.

Oh and i don't play 50 cent and eminem, dreadfully sorry there old chap.

yours pretentiously mouthing off,
    raggamuffin

we love ragamuffin,
    frittering is a delicous song indeed, its not my fave mercury rev tho even tho its great, see you on the other side is just like wow all the time.

you know if you dont agree with the thread dont post on it.. (should be a board rule, and yeah im a facist )

i would just like to see am i on the right board and are people here into the same thing as me musicaly.

regatta de blanc- the police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Why are people getting so hyped up about it. everyone likes to broadcast what albums and bands they like in the hope of influencing others. sure i agree that when 2 people are both telling each othere that their fav album is the best in the world it's a bit stupid. but finding out what other people like is interesting.

The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie and the Infinit Saddness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Mewzel

my bloody valentine - loveless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Rob Taylor

Raggamuffin, I know you reckon scripting isn't the hardest thing in the world, but it'd be even easier if you spelt "opportunity", "didn't" "criticism" and "isn't" correctly.

Just a friendly tip, old chap......

Yours, with spellcheck,

Rob

so bitchy and everyone likes to piss everyone off, why? im not a hippy but if people can get along whats the point of living and if this is how yis behave in cyber life real life must be a terror for the people yis all know, oh dear god im being dragged into this sordid mud slinging activity, lol

the whos next- the who

landmark rock album and defo their best,

tothe best of my knowledge your script does'nt have to be inch perfect.

Anyway who in god's name is going to know about a spelling error if they are listening to the show?

nice one rob you sure got me.

grow up

spiritualized- ladies and gentlmen were floating in space
    beautifukl sounds and melodies but more importantly a good intro to a great band,
    it reminds me of the people i miss the most

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Originally posted by Raggamuffin
    tothe best of my knowledge your script does'nt have to be inch perfect.

Anyway who in god's name is going to know about a spelling error if they are listening to the show?

nice one rob you sure got me.

grow up

MEOW!!!
    THIS CATS GOT CLAWS!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Some great albums mentioned but an awful load of bollick aswell.

My faves that i can think of are ...

Nirvana, Nevermind
    Smashing Pumpkins, Siamese Dream & Gish
    Radiohead, The Bends & OK Computer
    Stone Roses, Stone Roses & Second Coming
    Primal Scream, Screamadelica
    White Stripes, Elephant
    Pixies, Doolittle & Come on Pilgrim
    Nine Inch Nails, The Downward Spiral
    Pearl Jam, Ten
    U2, The Joshua Tree
    Therapy?, Nurse
    Tricky, Maxinquaye
    Faithless, Reverence
    Portishead, Dummy
    Beck, Odelay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭mentalimplosion

Originally posted by Mewzel

crocketts - we may be skinny and wirey

oh my god, until now i thought i was the only one who knew this band, except for my poor friends, who i have forced to listen to them. do you happen to know where i can get any earlier stuff e.g. james dean-esque EP of son of the devil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

The Velvet Underground and Nico
    Neil Young - After The Goldrush
    The Clash - London Calling
    Bob Dylan - Blood On The Tracks
    Talking Heads - More Songs About Buildings and Food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Pencapchew

Well back on topic....
    Nirvana - nevermind
    Snow patrol - songs for polar bears
    Beck - mellow gold
    The foo fighters - the colour and the shape

there really is too many to mention but I think nevermind is a must have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭memaeve

oh my god, until now i thought i was the only one who knew this band, except for my poor friends, who i have forced to listen to them. do you happen to know where i can get any earlier stuff e.g. james dean-esque EP of son of the devil?

I LOVE "The Great Brain Robbery"!!
    I just got it for "Survival of the Prettiest" but then fell in love with the whole album!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭mentalimplosion

i'm pretty sure you can get ''we may be skinny and wirey'' in market arcade. its equally good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Engulfophobia_m

Blue skied an' clear- morr music comp
    also putting the morr back into morrissey
    comfort of madness- pale saints
    nowhere- ride
    every chapterhouse album

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Heehee,

Great thread, maybe should be retitled as "What are yer favourite albums" but very interesting nonetheless. And we even had cheap jibes from Ragamuffin ("I prefer the luxury of FM")...bless!

Anyway, will work on my own list at some point, but just in relation to the Crocketts, I have some of their earlier stuff on CD so if ye can't find it in the markets or whatever, bop me a mail and Ill see can I do a copy.

Regards,

Pete Reed
    Phantom FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Shane Smith

Eric Clapton Unplugged