Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MetallicA!!! So what did you think?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Sold out man. Got a spare?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by It wasn't me!
    Sold out man. Got a spare?

No, it isn't.

No, I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

yeah tickets are still available, but hell if they do sell out you could always go to Machine Head in October ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭af666x

Erm because Machine Head are an Iron Maiden cover band? How does that one work exactly???

Machine Head suck. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

well now i thought it was just under excillent
    hope they DO come back next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭gucci

couldnt go cos i was working so am prayin dat they will come again.heard it on radio-sounded class,was also first time to hear frantic and thought it was very good.

was bit annoying how often he said "yeah dublin"
    reckon they will be playin in hyde park roscommon next year...will he say yeah dublin there aswell??probably!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

I went to the concert with my brother and a few of his mates. And after the initial hassle with tickets and trying to find everyone, it was one of the best concerts I have ever been to.

To be honest, I was going with an open mind as far as The Darkness and Linkin Park were concerned. I was impressed with The Darkness, I have to say, the guitarist might have won a few people over with his Thin Lizzy t-shirt and announcing to everybody that it was Phil Lynnot's birthday :) I had only heard the two songs they had released (A Thing Called Love & Growing On Me) but really enjoyed "Get You're Hands Offa My Woman...Futher Mucker!" At times there was shades of AC/DC, but there's nothing wrong with that!!

I missed the first half of Linkin Park, due to the afformentioned probs with tickets and making sure all the the lads were actually inside the R.D.S. Caught the last half, not really a fan, didn't mind missing out, but fair play to them for not bailing on account of the abuse.

Managed to get pretty close to the barrier for Metallica. Jaysus, talk about taking your life in your own hands :D Even while the stage was being rigged up, the crowd was swaying with the occasional charge leaving poor unfortunates on their backs! But the atmosphere being what it was, everybody helped everybody else to their feet! (Unlike the platoon of SCUM that inhabited Slane....but that's for a different rant :))

I thought Metallica themselves were absolutely amazing! A mate of mine (who didn't go) was telling me weeks in advance that it's just gonna end up being a touring session for St. Anger i.e. play the entire new album from begining to end, then, "Goodnight Dublin, see you in 2016" Thank Christ he was wrong!! I didn't think they would play as many song from "Kill 'em All" though

Overall:-

I never get sick of hearing "The Ecstacy Of Gold" Hairs on the back of your goosebumps stuff, especially when they walked out on stage. :D

Was pleasantly surprised to hear "Seek And Destroy" and "No Remorse" but you could really tell who knew the words and who were standing around waiting for "Frantic" :rolleyes:

The pyro-technics for Blackened were breath-taking. You could feel the blast of heat from where we were, nevermind front and center (Bye, bye eyebrows!!)

Was a little disappointed they didn't play "Fade To Black" but I suppose they couldn't really have made it fit between songs like "Harvester Of Sorrow" and "Sanitarium" Not too put out that they didn't do Whiskey. More to look forward to when they come back.

Lost my voice for two days after the concert, had no accomodation, so had to sleep outside Heuston Station for the train the following morning, but nothing could wipe the smile off my face!

Pure class!!

There is a review of the concert from this here web-site www.encycmet.com/ It's a pretty good site for discography, lyrics and the like :)

Anyone have any information on where or when the lads are back again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Lukin Black

Originally posted by gucci
    reckon they will be playin in hyde park roscommon next year...will he say yeah dublin there aswell??probably!

Anybody near the girl that kept shouting out "What about Belfast, ye bastards!"? Was really funny :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

It'll be Breffni Park, Cavan for next year. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    It'll be Breffni Park, Cavan for next year. :D
    Funny hey

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭gucci

yeah i heard ya one shouting belfaston the radio during the pyrotecnics!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Originally posted by Okie
    I never get sick of hearing "The Ecstacy Of Gold" Hairs on the back of your goosebumps stuff, especially when they walked out on stage. :D

Yeah, it was class hearing a whole bunch of people humming along to it in the pit.
    Originally posted by Gucci
    It was a bit, but to be honest it made my day that little bit better hearing him growl "Scanning the scene down in Dublin tonight!"