Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

United poor showing against wolves

• 27-08-2003 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭

Whats the story with utd even though people say that it was a weakened team against wolves they were s**t.O'Shea's goal was good though very happy for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

twas a good goal but i agree with the performance it wat dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Dire Indeed!! I am happy for O'Shea tho. Ronaldo seemed to take a bit much out of the ball probably tryin to impress the Old Trafford faithful and Kleberson was non-existent in mid-field. Roy Keane was very good again. Forlán needs to learn how to cross a ball when he finds himself on the touch line!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He, he! Ruud Van Who?

A one goal defeat feels like a "moral victory" (remember them?)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

U are definatly right bout Ronaldo he tryed to much and Ince stopped him on most occasions,as for Kleberson,wat can i say HE WAS BRUTAL and Ferguson done good in bringin on Scholes and Giggs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

it wasn't the best match i have seen but Camera (forgive me if i got the name wrong) should have had 2 goals. 1 of them easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Utd were very laboured in their play and only improved in the last 15-20 it was Kleberson's first game but was v quiet Djemba played some great balls but did some give some balls away, Ronaldo will have to work on his end product, Wolves can hold up their heads high should have equalised Henri Camara clean throguh I thought it was going to nestle in the far corner.:)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Originally posted by Steve_o
    Forlán needs to learn how to cross a ball when he finds himself on the touch line!

What's with the fadas today. Football365 went mad writing Hernán Crespo all over the show earlier. Tomorrow it'll be Román Abramovich and then they'll all be wanting them. Steve Finnán, Chris Colemán will be demanding equal fada recognition with all the top earners...

van the man didn't even have a shot on target very odd for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,621 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

United still won the game. A Different Centre Half partnership, a practically brand new midfield, a new 18 year old up front. 3 points is 3 points.

we all know that it's just woulda like to see the new guys gel a bit more fergi did send 72 million euros on these players afterall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

Sad indeed, that game put me to sleep! I predicted a whooping and got egg on my face. Still 3 points is 3 points and utd have never win three games in a row at start of any season in premeirship.

Kleberson and Djemba very poor and good ole Irwin mastered Ronaldo. The boy needs to learn its a team game but he will!

Southampton is another game where Fergie might end up with egg on his face, this to play the first team again. Giggs is due to have a great season in my books.

Utd should have bought crespo, my god Chelsea have now got a striker in sdame league as van the man and Smertin off on loan after a few days, very wierd club. He was bought to keep his fellow countrymen happy.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Three points from a dire performance is still good enough. I thought we could have added to our goals scored tally big time tonight but I'm happy that we won.

Where did you pull 72 million out of?

twas mentioned in todays star

Oh if it was the star it must be true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Are any of you willing to mention the fact that Wolves played much better tonight and that might, just might have had something to do with Utds failure in front of goal (O'Shea apart)?

Mike.

What about Wolves failure in front of Goal, the score suggests it was worse than uniteds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭canker

I didnt think performance was that bad. Djemba Djemba still likes giving the ball away tho.

-cánker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

Fair play Mike, it was a massive improvement from Wolves but i cant see them stay up. portsmouth for them next, and they are playing well. sheringham still a decent player to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

was it more to do with keano playing centre half and United playing too deep as a result.

No one to boss the midfield when he's on his own goal line.

Kaimera your exactly right without Keane in midfield neither Kleberson or Djemba-Djemba had the balls to start giving out to anybody all Keano could do was give out to G.Neville for all the mistakes he mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

As a United supporter I have to admit United looked a very average team tonight but Wolves did play well and deserved a point. All United players were well below average except keane and o'shea and Howard(even though Wolves had their chances, they never made him make a save). The 2 Nevilles were their usual selves, nothing spectacular. Ronaldo, he needs to learn how to do the simple things first, the amount of times Gary Neville made runs up the touchline in the first half only to be ignored by Ronaldo taking too much out of the ball was ridiculous(Neville eventually gave up making the forward runs). As said by most intelligent football fans after the Bolton match, wait for the whole season to judge him, not on one 30 minute great performance and not on one average performance. Djema, he was average, gave the ball away more times than i've seen Veron do in a match, but i think hes rushing his passes way too much, when he takes his time to select his passes hes a much better player. He can only learn from Keane. Kleberson was poor, but im not going to judge him, he's just simply nowhere near match fitness. Solskier was average, forlan was his usual unpredictable self. Van Nistleroy was way off form, the same as he has been in the first 2 games. He looks very lethargic and there appears to be no sharpness there.
    What worried me the most tonight was that there was absolutely no protection at all from the midfield tonight for the defence, Wolves could shoot at will. All in all an atrocious performance but 3 points is 3 points

Take a look at the United tonight midfield lads and compare it to last year...

Tonight:
    Ronaldo
    Djemba
    Kleberson
    Solskjaer

Last year:
    Giggs
    Keane
    Scholes
    Beckham

Its basically a new midfield. What do ye expect of them?

to be able to do the simple things and hold ono the ball for a start, it doesnt matter if its a new midfield, the least you expect is that.

Anyone that has seen Ronaldo play before he signed for united will understand they have bought a very special young talent. Manchester United are not stupid, there a business and they would not spend 12-13 million on an 18 year old without expecting some return, even if long term. As for tonights match, Ferguson played 2 players just back from injury, complete new midfield (practically), a central defense that has not played together before, one of which is a midfielder. Wolves are a poor team, Ferguson knows this and used tonights match to take a look at his new players. Not once were united in danger of losing it, Howard not making one significant save.

what are u on about, not once did united look in danger of losing it??????. Camara one on one at end of first half, just barely wide, camara again one on one slightly wild with finishing. Camara at corner if he had made any contact from inces knockdown it would have been a certain goal, not to count the amount of shots wolves had from the edge of the box.

talla have you never seen United lose their lead before? Do you not think that United would have upped the tempo again if they lost a goal and go down the other end and score one?

Camara could still be there now and he wouldn't score, brutal, both of he's shots wide by 2 feet which howard had well covered anyways, as for his flight of the bumblebee effort, that summed him up.

Talla is right Boogles if it wasnt for Camara not being on top form Utd could have lost that match very easily

yes i have and to be honest with you, because of all the changes and experimentation tonight i though there was no cohesion about them and they did not look like they able to step up a gear. can you think of a save that oakes hadto make after o'sheas goal?

Originally posted by talla
    yes i have and to be honest with you, because of all the changes and experimentation tonight i though there was no cohesion about them and they did not look like they able to step up a gear. can you think of a save that oakes hadto make after o'sheas goal?
    Any team with Roy Keane in it will be able to step up a gear, believe me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Did anyone hear on Sky Sports tonight it was the first time since 1994 that united had a midfield without giggs, keane, butt, scholes, beckham and giggs.

"Talla is right Boogles if it wasnt for Camara not being on top form Utd could have lost that match very easily"

How do you know that he wasn't on top form?

I agree with you Pornapster, but not when hes in the centre of defence.

Originally posted by Boggles

How do you know that he wasn't on top form?

Because ive seen him play much better

Us United supporters accuse Liverpool supporters of viewing their team and matches with rose tinted glasses, we're doin the exact same thing here. If that had of been any other premiership team tonight united would have lost. the performance was not good enough, it was as simple as that.

I agree with you Pornapster, but not when hes in the centre of defence.
    Fergie could have always moved him out of the centre of defence if he needed to.

Originally posted by kmart6
    Because ive seen him play much better

In the premiership?

and put who there apart from the nevilles, and then who goes to righ back/left back, solksier or giggs, team loses its shape altogether

If that had of been any other premiership team tonight united would have lost. the performance was not good enough, it was as simple as that.

They only livened up a bit when Scholes and Giggs came on which they needed to do to keep any1 watchin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

Originally posted by eireboy
    united had a midfield without giggs, keane, butt, scholes, beckham and giggs.

so good they named giggsy twice

i thought wolves were really really good considering they didnt have lescot, ndah, murray, kennedy or miller

and put who there apart from the nevilles, and then who goes to righ back/left back, solksier or giggs, team loses its shape altogether
    Have you not seen United play 3-4-3? They played with that formation alot when they've been down by a goal in the 98/99 season and it was a success (obviously).

In the premiership?

No not in the premership i think to be honest not alot of Wolves players have played well in the premership

Originally posted by ella minnow pea
    so good they named giggsy twice

i thought wolves were really really good considering they didnt have lescot, ndah, murray, kennedy or miller

Who?

yes i have, but the simple fact is they shouldnt have to. They played great on saturday, i just dont think a lot of the players walked onto the pitch with the right attitude tonight, they were expecting it to just happen for them. Also on the it almost looked liked they had forgotten how to play 4-4-2 But on the plus point, i doubt we'll see them play as bad again this season.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

em their players??

or is this a ha-ha-how-scarcastic-am-i, only-know-prem-teams thing?

Originally posted by ella minnow pea
    em their players??

or is this a ha-ha-how-scarcastic-am-i, only-know-prem-teams thing?

Not names that roll off the tounge are they? Plus arn't Wolves are premiership team? Or was tonight a cup match???

Who?

All those players are the majority of Wolves main players there all just out through major injuries

Not names that roll off the tounge are they?

Kennedy is Irish shows how much ur interested in soccer

Originally posted by kmart6
    Kennedy is Irish shows how much ur interested in soccer

The Great Mark Kennedy, Classy. Wasn't he the one thrown out of the Irish squad for getting into a fight in a night club and jumping on the roof of a car a week before a match. Plus he's injured more times than Darren Anderton, I repeat who?