Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sports Quiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Originally posted by Sarge
    mhhhh i smell google

Nope,smell all you want,heard it on Eurosport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Big Ears

mardavikia it is although i belive he's an attacking left sided midfielder from iran.

My Q I do believe

Which N.B.A. #1 draft pick has the highest average points per game in their career?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

kevin garner ? think thats how u spell his second name ?

was gonna say MJ but he was 3rd round choice

Nope,not Kevin Garnett

Just to make it clear for everybody,that when I say #1 draft pick I mean first round pick

Sarge know's what im talking about

aye i know what your on about but havin a clue who it might be ... i just hope for your sake it isnt some one as far back as the stoneage cos its bad enuff asking that sort of question ... :D

iverson
    malone
    byrant
    hardaway ( pennY)
    pipan
    bird

there alll my guess`s cant think of ay more :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Originally posted by DMC
    Who was the first presenter of Sports Report, on BBC Radio. Its now on 5 Live at 5pm on Saturdays, but who was the original presenter?

This one was never answered.

Was it our own late great Eamon Andrews, who went on to the embarrasment that was 'This is your Life'?

I know he presented some radio sports program way back when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

And that was the one. Correct!

Sorry about the delay, I was away for Christmas, but I forgot about this completely. :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Which country adopted Irelands green jersey for their away colours - after playing ireland in their first football match?

i know Northern ireland. seriously though il go with Mexico

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

West Germany

I thought it was West Germany because Ireland was the first country to play them after the war? Nobody else liked them but hey, our Taoiseach had signed the book of condolences when Adolf popped his clogs.

OK I'm claiming the rights to a question for being old enough to remember Eamonn Andrews on the radio.

What have the following international soccer players got in common?

Meunzenberg (Germany 1930s)
    Posipal (West Germany 1950s)
    Iribar (Spain 1960s)
    Mahut (France 1980s)
    Michel (Spain 1980s)

Clue: Irish connection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

West Germany

Reason:
    Ireland was the first country to play them after the war

correct.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Originally posted by Hairy Homer
    I thought it was West Germany because Ireland was the first country to play them after the war? Nobody else liked them but hey, our Taoiseach had signed the book of condolences when Adolf popped his clogs.

OK I'm claiming the rights to a question for being old enough to remember Eamonn Andrews on the radio.

Iribar (Spain 1960s)
    Mahut (France 1980s)
    Michel (Spain 1980s)

Guess, they all scored in Dalymount

Jaysus, how many people have scored in Dalymount over the years. Even if you're only talking about on the pitch, fnaar fnaar.

So far as I know these guys are the only members of an exlusive group with a particular achievement to link them all. Which is....?

Originally posted by Sarge
    aye i know what your on about but havin a clue who it might be ... i just hope for your sake it isnt some one as far back as the stoneage cos its bad enuff asking that sort of question ... :D

iverson
    malone
    byrant
    hardaway ( pennY)
    pipan
    bird

there alll my guess`s cant think of ay more :D

Nope he is'nt from the stone age

You have the answer but it's not to hard when you list the best players from past and present

The answer is Kobe Bryant he has an average of 21.2

Originally posted by kmart6
    Nope he is'nt from the stone age

You have the answer but it's not to hard when you list the best players from past and present

The answer is Kobe Bryant he has an average of 21.2

so i got this question right sooo my question !!!!!

red rum won the grand national three times.. who was his trainer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Iribar (Spain 1960s)
    Mahut (France 1980s)
    Michel (Spain 1980s)

They all scored o.g's against Ireland.

red rum won the grand national three times.. who was his trainer ? [/B]

Ginger McCain

thats the crrect answer but ... i think you googled the question and got the answer which is very lame .......... no fun in that at all any way i have no proof so your question !

To be honest i didn't know the Red Rum answer a googles it but I did know the o.g one. I wanted them both correct cause it's abit crap having 2 questions on the go at the same time. Anyway the red rum one was a rubbish question far to easy just to search for it. I still don't know if the o.g one is correct all i know is that michel lad scored an on o.g against us so I'm presuming the others did too.

so your fun is googling for the answers :S strange to me cos nots point of the quiz .. if it was we could call it the google sports quiz ?

Well since this is nearly dead im going to try and get it going again

Which N.F.L. Q.B. has the record for throwing a touchdown pass in 15 straight play-off games??

Fairly easy one to get going again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Stake

It's the mighty Brett Favre.

Not so mighty last week, what the hell was he doing throwing that pass, lost me a possible 200 euro.

Blame the defense and the 4th and 26 moment...

Yeah, that was the main reason they lost but still that pass was a shocker. I know he throws a few wild ones now and then but that was just taking the piss.

Told you it was an easy one

Bit of a wild overtime by Brett,it's those type of passes that are stopping him from being the best Q.B. ever

Well that's always been Favre's style. It's apity he was put in that position in the first place if you ask me. Dreadful defense on that 4th and 26 cost Green bay their spot in the championship game.

Anyways, how does this work? I got it right, so i ask a question?

Ok.

Which pundit of the game once famously remarked "Football is a game of 120 minutes and then the Germans win on penalties"?

il guess bobby robson since he was the England manager at the time.

Nope. Guess again.

Lineker,
    or Lynham or someone to that effect

Correct. It was Linekar. Your move, gerire.

GAA

Only three counties have never won provincial titles. Who are they?

i assume new york and london are not part of this question then right ? .So il say louth monaghan and fermanagh.

1 out of 3

and correct about not including London and New York

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

louth, wicklow and carlow?

Also 1 from 3 but a different one to other answer

monaghan carlow leitrim

none

fermanagh wicklow and longford

2 of 3

Fermanagh,Wicklow and Westmeath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Fermanagh,Wicklow and leitrim?

Originally posted by kmart6
    Fermanagh,Wicklow and Westmeath

Thank christ somebody got it. You question kmart

quote:

Iribar (Spain 1960s)
    Mahut (France 1980s)
    Michel (Spain 1980s)

Originally posted by Davey Devil
    They all scored o.g's against Ireland.

Sorry about the delay in getting back here. Completely forgot about this. You're kinda right. They have all actually scored own goals FOR Ireland. Or scored while playing against Ireland.

Put enough pedantry.

Who was nicknamed ''The Admiral'' in the N.B.A. before he retired

SAN ANTONIO - David Robinson's

Correct,could'nt think of a harder Q

name 8 premership players that you can put on a bbq ....

first one ..... patrik berger
    next 7