Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thank you Mr. Ryan

• 29-08-2003 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭

a big thank you to Gerry Ryan for his genorosity in paying the €1400 fine the GAA decided to give the the Laois county Board after the Leinster Final.

For those of you who dont know, Joe Higgins had his two sons out on the pitch as the teams did their parade lap b4 the match.

His sons [twins] are only 5-6 years of age and yet the GAA persisted that twas in contravene of the rules.

another case of the GAA being stuck in the Dark Ages?
    are the intent on shooting themselves in the foot like the FAI?

I mean ffs, as Ryan said, it was great PR or a family day out.

anyway, thanks again Gerry :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I agree with Gerry Ryan it was stupid the G.A.A. couldnt leave such a small thing alone.

The fact that the rule that there shouting about says a team can not have a mascot you couldnt really call them mascots all they did was walk around Croke Park with there dad and uncle,for which the County Board gets fined its f**kin madness.

Far play to Gerry Ryan for paying the fine and maybe that will stop more stupid fines

Did uyou hear how the Laois County Board were goin to ask people to send a euro each to the main G.A.A. offices just to make life difficult for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Armagh delayed the entire of the last game by sitting in the dressing room and all they receive is a warning about time keeping. These are entirely different set of rules here.

Ive said it before and I'll stick to it, The GAA is anti-leinster.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I think that the GAA should take a serious look at all of their non-playing rules during the coming months. Some rules are just laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I wouldn't say anti-Leinster but Porn is right, they really do gotta look at that frickin' rule book again.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

They need to sort out bigger problems first - the level of inconsistency in refereeing for a start.

defo agree with ya there sparks.
    it's been pretty poor this summer and has been for a while.

Theres no flow to the game the average amount of frees a championship game is 41 and last sunday in the Kerry-Tyrone match there was 72

That's down to piss-poor refereeing from a Roscommon referee kmart...

Yeh i get what ur sayin Sparks like that ref was given frees when a Kerry player was in possesion and there was three lads around him but not fouling him,they werent even touching him

Originally posted by kmart6
    Yeh i get what ur sayin Sparks like that ref was given frees when a Kerry player was in possesion and there was three lads around him but not fouling him,they werent even touching him

That can't be the penalty-that-was-really-a-free-to-tyrone you're talking about - 'cos there was definite contact there! Cooper's ribs must have been black-and-purple the next day...

The thing was, the linemen had clear views of that, and the ref never even asked. Likewise for Canavan's first "injury", when he ran full-tilt into Moynihan's elbow.

No im on about the one with Dara O'Cinneide your right about the Colin Cooper thing though

Originally posted by kmart6
    No im on about the one with Dara O'Cinneide your right about the Colin Cooper thing though
    Ah, right. That's not the foul I remember on Dara though - the one I remember is where he'd fallen over, and while he was on the ground, a Tyrone player ran up to him, stuck his boot in Dara's earhole and fell over, with the whole hands-to-the-head, oh-look-at-me-I'm-injured routine. While he's doing this, Dara gets up, shakes off the initial fall and the subsequent kick to the head and wanders off - while the Tyrone man is still lying on the ground going "gwan ref, gizza free wouldya?"...

And of course, no linesman calls it, the ref's looking the other way and no foul, no yellow card.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 dubaim

Not only is there the matter of the fine regarding the two mascots but apparently the GAA will not let flags celebrating this year, the year of disabilities, be flown at upcoming matches, the remaining semi, and the two finals.

The GAA must be a PR person's nightmare or are they just so plainly arrogant that they feel they can do just do what they want.

Yes, the games are exciting and there is still a strong amatuer spirit but they do not appear to be at all interested in having any resemblance to an inclusive society.

If I was a Northern Unionist, I would still be seeing the GAA as another example of Ireland's backward thinking, parochial attitude. Enough from me, I'm off to mass!

The GAA must be a PR person's nightmare or are they just so plainly arrogant that they feel they can do just do what they want.
    It's damn hard to feel sympathetic for PR and media people regarding sport in Ireland. If the feckers knew there were sports outside the GAA, IRFU, FAI, and the occasional medal from runners and swimmers, that'd be one thing. But the reality is that they don't bother to promote sports that aren't already hugely popular - ie. those sports for whom the job's already done.

But maybe I'm just cynical after spending a year or two trying to promote a minority sport...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

A couple of things. Firstly i've never seen a linesman do much more than point a flag when the ball goes out (often in an arbitrary direction) and advise the ref in times of conflict. Other than that he doesn't interfere in decisions. What your saying is bring in an assistant referee type and afaik that's not what they are at th moment.
    Originally posted by Sparks
    It's damn hard to feel sympathetic for PR and media people regarding sport in Ireland. If the feckers knew there were sports outside the GAA, IRFU, FAI, and the occasional medal from runners and swimmers, that'd be one thing. But the reality is that they don't bother to promote sports that aren't already hugely popular - ie. those sports for whom the job's already done.

But maybe I'm just cynical after spending a year or two trying to promote a minority sport...

While I understand what you're saying minority sports do get coverage in the indo and the times. They won't get huge write-ups because there isn't the interest there that there is in the bigger, more popular sports. If the sport grows to have interest then it'll get more coverage. That growing of the sport isn't just the medias job. In fact it has more to do with the sport itself than with the media. For an example of what I mean look at soccer in the US. It's now getting quite a lot of attention from starting up from tiny beginnings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Big up to Mr. Ryan, what a nice bloke he must be, to do something like that.

Im sick and tired of the GAA, I really am. I love the game(s), I love the craic and I love playing ...but the whole association is a sham.

Originally posted by Imposter
    A couple of things. Firstly i've never seen a linesman do much more than point a flag when the ball goes out (often in an arbitrary direction) and advise the ref in times of conflict. Other than that he doesn't interfere in decisions. What your saying is bring in an assistant referee type and afaik that's not what they are at th moment.
    I was more thinking of having refs that were not only able to see, but knew the rules as well.
    But perhaps for the larger matches, it's time to bring in video judges. Yes, I know it's a bit american, but the alternative is the "what can I get away with" style of football...
    While I understand what you're saying minority sports do get coverage in the indo and the times. They won't get huge write-ups because there isn't the interest there that there is in the bigger, more popular sports. If the sport grows to have interest then it'll get more coverage. That growing of the sport isn't just the medias job.
    No, it's the PR people's job. However, you have to remember I'm cynical due to having several senior editors in the print media tell me that they won't cover my sport no matter how popular it is (because target shooters use guns and all the gun space in the paper is reserved for thugs that use them on people, apparently...)

Originally posted by Sparks
    I was more thinking of having refs that were not only able to see, but knew the rules as well.
    But perhaps for the larger matches, it's time to bring in video judges. Yes, I know it's a bit american, but the alternative is the "what can I get away with" style of football...
    Long before Kerry starting losing :D refs were like this! Thew problem with refs in the GAA is that they are in no way accountable. They mess-up this week and their back out next week. The same happens in Soccer although they don't have such a shortage of refs as the GAA does.

I think too many of the rules are left up to the ref. The major problem with football is what contact is allowed. Refs don't seem to know, players don't seem to care. I was under the impression that only a shoulder charge was allowed. I was also under the inpression that a player could punch the BALL out of anothers hands. I was also under the impression that charging was illegal.

Take the rules and then look at the pulling and dragging and kicking and and and ... and I think a proper tackle like in Compromise rules needs to be introduced. Do players hold the ball for too long NO, Do they charge at the opposition NO. And it's easier to police for a ref.

Just my thoughts.

just in case the gaa succeed in promoting the games amongst the youth and encourage them to participate they go do something like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

Originally posted by gerire
    The GAA is anti-leinster.

no.

just anti-teams that beat dublin

Originally posted by ella minnow pea

Of course dublin is prob one of the GAAs biggest earner why else would they be lucking for money of Laois for something as stupid as this.

By the way loved your new rules for dublin thread

Originally posted by ella minnow pea
    no.

now now Ella...less of the Dub bashing plz in this thread:)

Originally posted by Kaimera
    now now Ella...less of the Dub bashing plz :)
    But if there was no Dub bashing this forum would die!

and it's deserved in most cases:D

it was off topic :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

yeah your all banned for 17 years for dub bashing !!!

Edit

Apperently Im not allowed ban you ALL for 17 years
    so never mind, back to your dub bashing you filty bog hoppers

/Edit

But seriously, and back on topic. Is Gerry ryan from laois or does he live there ? what made him fork out for the fine ?

nope, Ryan aint from Laois.

He just found what the fine was for so appaling, he paid it himself.