Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what do u remember-s1

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Spenguin

Originally posted by Scarlett
    Aww, Alison, you know I wasn't being serious. You climb all the trees you want.

Hooray!!

I'm remembering some more now. Ana saying that i don't work hard enough in art class or something along those lines. I wasn't listening to her very well. All my food that I had in my fridge, my roommate didn't use the fridge at all. I remember all those hats that i loved. It inspired me to add to my own collection. Trying to convince Kate to go on my shoulders while wearing stevens coat so we'd look really really tall... She wouldn't though. and being refered to by some people as Richards sister. And trying to do that matrix thing on the wall. I got two steps in (YAY) but then I landed on my wrist and it was mightily sore for a while. And going to parties for free food. And the outrage I expressed at spar not being open for 24 hours a day (completely ruining their slogan). and umm.... HANNAH!! With the monkeys and the hugs. I liked that. and I liked that my trident was only one euro at some shop. My R.A. being mad at me cos someone told her about the whole birthday thing... and stuff. Oh my god, I just remembered the bathrobeman thing that Mairead did! That was so funny! She chased people with her robe billowing behind her and the top of it over her face like batman then she hid when they saw her. It doesn't sound funny, but you had to be there. And some guy being mad at me for making him sound crazy on the phone... and I'll be posting some more on this later.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Finding out who all you lot are

Hugh's face when I told him to go to bed

Macdara and Garog and that other guy's guilty faces when I told them to go to bed

When poncho Alex had to be physically restrained (sat on by 4 guys) to stop him bidding for cloud watching

Being one of the 2 psychos in my class (like I needed a test)

When, on the last night, my RA said "How I'll miss these hallway conversations. Saying Eoin, get into bed, where the hell is Seamus, for the love of god TJ will you put some pants on"

Disco ninjas

Intense loneliness. Oh wait, that's a constant in my life.

Going to the chipper with my RA group, and somehow not losing the foreigners (Alex, Kotaro and Pedro) to the local wildlife.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭twirly sponge

Originally posted by Spenguin
    Trying to convince Kate to go on my shoulders while wearing stevens coat so we'd look really really tall... She wouldn't though.

My R.A. being mad at me cos someone told her about the whole birthday thing... and stuff. Oh my god, I just remembered the bathrobeman thing that Mairead did! That was so funny! She chased people with her robe billowing behind her and the top of it over her face like batman then she hid when they saw her. It doesn't sound funny, but you had to be there.

Alison, I don't care how freakishly strong you are, I would NOT have fitted on your shoulders! I'm so happy it was your "birthday", that cake was yummy! Was Geraldine ever told that it wasn't actually your birthday? Mairead was so funny! I wasn't there for the batman thing but she was just funny.

As for the (harsh word) in our RA group, euh, she was sooo annoying, with her fake hiccups and all. I can't believe you slept in her room on the last night, she left it in such a tip, there was even old knickers in there. Eww.

Oh dear god no i did not sleep in her room!! I slept on the floor of Clodaghs room. EWWW!! Yeah I hated her 'chronic hiccups' too. She was mighty mean. Geraldine never found out and she never will. YAY! She was really mean to Clodagh, the harsh word was. You so could have fitted!! And we would have been king... well, technically you seeing as no one would be able to see me or else the whole effect would be ruined.

I had to sleep in clodaghs room because the R.A's were everywhere so I couldn't go back to my room or else I would have been caught.

Geraldine was so nice! I felt guilty that none of us told her about it not really being your birthday cos she was so nice with the cake and all. Poor Clodagh, she had to share a room wirh harsh word, Clodagh was lovely, harsh word was ****e. I opened my door and reached across to Clodaghs room on the last night and knocked cos me and Ana were going to go into ye but then I looked to the right and there was an RA right there! Oops! Hmm, maybe I would have fitted, but your shoulders are tiny so I dunno. Ah well, we can be King some other time...

If we had told Geraldine it wasn't really m'birthday
    1 she would have hated me
    2 she would have lost all faith in todays youth being honest.
    Could you live with the guilt of crushing her spirit Kate? huh? You would have fitted. And if you didn't, well, you would have. I wanted to be king then... Cheese i'm spaming tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Peterfing

So many memories. I couldn’t possibly write them all down…Doesn’t mean I can’t try!

-The people

-My class

-Going on so many field trips for our “creative selves” he he, ie going shopping, going to the playground, going to the museum

-The National History museum’s sexual chocolate cake

-Getting real food on these field trips

-The canteen food

-Finding out just how thick the skin on the hot chocolate could become

-The foeti rockers

-Constantly being told how cute me and Siobhán were (oh no wait, that was kind’ve annoying…)

-The stolen signs on our wall in the classroom

-The weird congregation of little old ladies who stole our room for study at the same time every week

-Watching our TA Niamh grow more and more incensed by Jamie’s harassment

-Finding out our TA was actually very nice after two weeks of not liking her all that much

-Being hated by Rory

-Getting into the variety show and not completely screwing up on the night as I was certain I would

-The secrets, heehee

-Having three RA s come to my room in the middle of the night cause I had my light on

-The fire drill

-The other fire drill

-Hearing everybody humming ‘Seven Nation Army’

-The name tags

-Not having a clue what Magic the Gathering was

-The people in bathrobes

-And kimonos

-The discos!

-Talking to people, getting to know new people everyday

-Oh yeah, the other fire drill

-Wondering what tht thumping noise was from another room every night

-Becoming addiceted to chewing gum merely because I couldn't get it in Spar

-Realising I had spent all the money in my bank account while in Blanchertstown (or however you spell it) and freaking out slightly

-All the people playing the points game

-My group winning the points game, yay

-That annoying slogan our RA decided to make us chant every now and then "What are we lads? F*cking invincible! What're everyone else? Gimps!" Ugh

- Making our Writing For Life leaflets and naming it "Who is Pavel Kosholap" after a guy who was supposed to be in our class, then never showed up, distributing them and then hearing the name Pavel Kosholap called out at the Awards Ceremony! :eek:

-Then finding out his name was Pavel Somethingelse

-The poncho

-Being freezing cold at the student games and getting the poncho! Thank you Alex

And many other memories.... I'll get back to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ll=llannah

....adding more because of sheer lack of interest in doing anything productive.....

- completely missing the second fire drill
    - the name tags, my god, the name tags.
    - the old lady bingo session in the evenings, and hearing people say "oh dear sweet jesus, have we been here this long that the wfl class has gone grey and multiplied?"
    - the select few. and liz. and spending virtually all my time with them.
    - getting food from the chipper from alex because he was ever so nice
    - the fire drill. (not because it was late...it really wasn't that late...) but because I was cold and alot of people who now say they were fully dressed really weren't.
    - being scared by the windows in the library and taking two days to realize what the hell was going on (they open and shut automatically. oooh....aaaah.)
    - how strange my floor was in that it smelled like different people (for instance, one night our floor smelled like someone, the next it smelled like someone else...) and how by the second day the floor was already covered with shed hair. and liz's and mine looked exactly the same.
    - naming the bathroom bob and referring to it as such, consoling it, and giving it attention.
    - bitching about the lack of orgies.
    - being told to stop having pseudo orgies.
    - bitching even more.
    - the never-ending supply of chocolates from alex and liking him before I met him just for the fact that he was the supplier of the neverending boxes of chocolate
    - how christine in the office is so unbelievably cool.
    - being so scared when Caitriona knew my first middle and last name. and then being even more scared when she turned to Garog and knew his name as well.
    - suddenly realizing in the middle of a conversation that Barry was the barry from boards.
    - monsters inc.
    - not seeing mike. and being angry about the not seeing of mike.
    - liz and I stealing matthew's phone and talking to cathal.
    - falling asleep in class and then being woken up and asked to read a paragraph on sleep (which involved a paragraph on how teenagers tend to be sleep deprived and fall asleep in lectures with warm rooms.)
    - seeing the man wave to us from the next building while he was singing operatically
    - seth and kilkenny and not moving from one spot in the park until we ran to get food, and got on the bus.
    - seamus being impressed with the fact that i could pronounce irish names and and am not a dumb american and that i knew how to say hello and bye and how are you and all that in irish...before having taken the irish activity. and someone turning to me at one disco when i knew all the words to your anthem and saying "wait...you're american, right? how do you know more words than i do?"
    - marc and wandering around with him. and how bad the last half of the movie was.
    - watching brendan and matthew eat toast after lights out and being terribly hungry and yelling at them to give us some food while knowing they wouldn't
    - the pan of good. and the box of evil.
    -explaining the layout of new york city utilizing kitchen appliances as examples

I remember having a conversation with Marc that went something like "Look, they're not talking again" "Maybe we should go over and talk to them so they don't feel awkward" about a couple (who I won't name in case she doesn't want me to) who NEVER talked to each other. Except for the time they did talk and Mairead said "So [name], you finally discovered the other use for your mouth"

And also the paper cup telephone that went from Ana's room to Elaine's room. But I don't think we ever actually used it.

As for Batgirl in Pink, her outfit co-ordinated with mine too, but she looked stupid, especially that crap around her eyes, that was just ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ll=llannah

especially that crap around her eyes, that was just ridiculous.

it was nonsense on stilts. utter nonsense on stilts.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

With wings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

That made my head want to bleed and my lungs collapse into themselves after screams of disgust. There's a line between kitsch and tacky, and she pissed all over that line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Awaywthdfaeries

I tink she came to my room b4 the disco and asked me was the make-up was to much!!:p (i tink)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

YOU'VE CROSSED THE LINE!

IN FACT, THE LINE IS A URINAL TO YOU! YOU PISSED ON TOP OF THE LINE! YOU SICK ****!

And you bitch at me for spamming?:ninja:

Originally posted by It wasn't me!
    And you bitch at me for spamming?:ninja:
    Use not the ninja smiley lightly, non ninja spammer

I'll use the viking smily next time.
    :horned:

Some ones I remembered today:

Moving in on the first day, and finding the contents of my apartment (other than the obligatory furniture) to be one of those breakfast bars (slightly mangled) and 12 safe sex mini-pamphlets (without the free condoms). Worrying, considering the previous occupants were with the special olympics.

/me shudders

The safe sex thingys didn't go to waste, though. I gave them to a group of RAs that were hanging around my corridor on the last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭mentalimplosion

Originally posted by twirly sponge
    I remember having a conversation with Marc that went something like "Look, they're not talking again" "Maybe we should go over and talk to them so they don't feel awkward" about a couple (who I won't name in case she doesn't want me to) who NEVER talked to each other. Except for the time they did talk and Mairead said "So [name], you finally discovered the other use for your mouth"

And also the paper cup telephone that went from Ana's room to Elaine's room. But I don't think we ever actually used it.

haha, i remember that couple! i still think we should have gone and un-awkward-ed them, cuz they sure were awkward. and the telephone rocked. until other people did it too and started walking around saying, oh let's go use our telephone?

i remember the HAUNTED NAMETAG. grass fights, me filling marc's pants with stones (don't even ask...), and alison, i don't remember me giving out to you in class, i was just mad cuz you were way better than me. and my, that cake was good...

Originally posted by mentalimplosion
    and alison, i don't remember me giving out to you in class, i was just mad cuz you were way better than me. and my, that cake was good...

weel, you weren't so much giving out ( i have this tendency to exaggerate stories a tad sometimes, so forgive me), but you were calmly telling me that i shouldn't be dosing so much in class as I didn't to any work and had really long bathroom breaks all the time. with the cake, I think i should have been suspicious when they wanted me to go to the bathroom to wash my hands... at that stage they didn't trust me anymore and wouldn't let me go to the bathroom more than once a class... And then Aisling ran to tell me... i should have left DCU and ran away to sunny mexico. But I didn't. Oh, and don't lie. I was the most crap in the class and we both know it and I don't really care that I'm not good but just don't lie. My acrylic sucked so much. As did my oil. I only liked my glaze painting, and even that wasn't too great. And don't reply telling me that I'm good and not bad cos thats just not true...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 sk_irl

well i'm sure that i'm months too late with all thes memories but muireann told me i had to post them here and i knowe that that mother of hers has some dangerous connections her in sligo anyway not to worry here are some of mine.
    the first thing i can remember is the day that alex turned up, a day late, and was shocked to see that socialism had reached ireland (kind of ironic coming from an american)
    i also remember speaking irish with owen, just for the hell of it and also to ensure that most of the dubs who feel they are too good to be bother learning our national language couldn't understand (that's not a general statement it only refers to those dubs who don't speak the language, of which there are many, in fact thewre were many culchies with the same attitude)
    tjere was that time that we went to santry and we got meet muireanns nother, although i couldn't help noticing the fact thart muireann seemed uneasy with us dining with her folks.
    also there was the time that we were given the project of making a product to improve the world. barry somehow figured that flying airport was the way to go (btw barry have you found a use for a flying airport yet, you must realise that a lazy boy you can **** in is a far better idea, stolen from the simpsonbs or not).
    there was of course our wonderful TA who had no problem kicking the crap out of me owen and tj. his own form of discipline. i think anyone in engineering will agree we had the soundest TA and teacher for that matter.
    though saying that they were pricks about the sending of messages over the network in the computer labs, but luckily they had no problem with us playing multiplayer quake over the network, even if no1 could beat alex or to a lesser extent barry.
    and of course there was the time quite close to the end of the course that lisa and max were playing nervous and lisa accidently took it to far (you scarred that poor boy damn it lisa)
    well i think that thats akk that i can remember (i hope that that has satisfied your desire for my memories muireann) but of course i can' leave this without thanking lisa jane and aisling for shouting me every night for those three weeks as they walked past us at the top of the stairs outside the girls corridors.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭nosmo

More:

My roommate Alex being really cool, listening to me whinge lots, introducing me to French metal music and lots of cool percussion and not minding when I did something questionable on the kitchen floor.
    Doing very little in class, not learning much, being confused, and loathing PROLOG
    The "necrophilia" incident when watching the RA student games on the last day..
    Putting some odd cocunut ****e in my hair (Thanks, Sim!)
    Complaining about the smell in Steven's room
    Listening to Fear Factory in Steve's room
    Matthias's hair at the two last discos
    The Fire Alarm. It deserves a mention..
    Calling someone a wench a lot, can't seem to remember who.
    Stealing Garóg's food
    Being with Danny and Ronan, et. al when they visited and seeing them getting kicked off campus
    Getting myself and Fio G-lined on IRC in study repeatedly

Originally posted by sk_irl
    also there was the time that we were given the project of making a product to improve the world. barry somehow figured that flying airport was the way to go (btw barry have you found a use for a flying airport yet, you must realise that a lazy boy you can **** in is a far better idea, stolen from the simpsonbs or not).
    It'd work. I just don't want to make it yet. It's ahead of it's time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 sk_irl

It'd work. I just don't want to make it yet. It's ahead of it's time
    barry you silly tosser i think that we all know that a flying airport would never work. with no way to get passengers to it, lest you fly them there (which defeats the purpose of an airport) your airport is doomed to failure

Originally posted by Spenguin
    My acrylic sucked so much. As did my oil. I only liked my glaze painting, and even that wasn't too great. And don't reply telling me that I'm good and not bad cos thats just not true...
    Alison, what did you do for your acrylic? I can't remember. And you did roses for your oil, right? That was really good. My oil painting was soooo bad but I was too lazy in the end to try and make it any better. And you WERE good, and that IS true.