Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CIH virus

• 27-04-1999 6:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭

Anyone else get hit by this little bug yesterday? I got home from school to find my network complely fukked . It wasn't tooooo bad, after a while I remembered what it was and got my hands on a checker and managed to get the main PC back up but took all evening getting another PC back on its feet.

Beware!! the 26th of each month.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

Yeah it hit a good few machines down here. 3 machines in my bro's house got their HD's wiped, 3 others got the bios raped, boards have to be sent away, and a lash of others got done in too.
    Not my CHAMP of a machine, riddled with both strains of CIH, left on overnight on the 25-26th and not a strain on her, nice nice.

It deletes the first meg of info on the HD, i.e. the partition info, so all data on the drive is lost. Otherwise your Flash-Rom gets wiped, so no point in resetting ure bios coz its not there, it seems to do different shiit to different machines, there are about 6 or 7 machines includin mine that came from the same batch of Abit boards, seemed to be fine despite CIH having its hand up their arrses.
    We should all go over to taiwan and rape that bastid who wrote it with a rusty spoon. jah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭El_Presidente

rape the bastid

sounds like a plan.

Yeah that musta been what happened to my 2nd comp, luckly it had two HDs but I still lost the operating system... ummm I might take the opertunity to put Lunix on

El (finding the silver lineing in the cloud) pres

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ste

Yea, LOL

My mates HD and Partition got wiped, he put his date forward to see waht would happen, and the little cursor was turning when he booted up in windows and when he reset, ALL was gone.

ah well,
    **** happens smile.gif

.... not to me tho tongue.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

what is this nasty little *******, how do you get it and how do you stop it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭regi

Yeah it got me too. ****ed if I know how, the only 'dodgy' stuff on there was stuff that a certain northsider Indian put on there. Luckily, I had one of those Abit BH6 boards, so my flash wasn't screwed. But it did do funny things like change my boot order, and mess up all the default IRQs. A fiddle with the BIOS and a quick reinstall did the job anyhow.

Dan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭ChungKing

maybe im stating the obvious, but haven't you guys heard of anti-virus software? jaysus!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Well, work didn't get hit.

I haven't had a chance to check my 'puter at home yet..... eeeeeeeek!

Anyhoo, seemingly the latest macafee thingy update takes care of it nicely. (have to get me one o' those V shield thingiummies for the home.. bit late now eh!)

emmmm, Pres? exactly how and how far into Cloud are you intending to probe for that silver? tongue.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭regi

Naah I actually think it was the unofficial shareware version of tribes actually. But I'm blaming you anyway. Bollix! smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 iceman

lads check out the page http://www.datafellows.com/cih/
    has all the info on checking for it and how it gets there
    some ppl think it was on the sin demo?
    i got one in today for repair bois gone harddrive gone sad.gif
    later lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Koopa

i put dodgy stuff on your computer wha???
    my own puter doesnt seem to be affected.. despite me copying the whole of brood wars off Zero's computer, wsftp, and then the 'patch' to warez 1.05 again.
    all that lesbian porn on your HD is making your computer sick dan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Darkedge

For people like koopa and other guys who can access the trinity net, Dr Solomens anti virus is freely available and works like a charm.

love ya baby.