Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the institute of education is a hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

Originally posted by Boston
    Unless your willing to work yo uwill go no where there.

Erm... if you're not willing to work, you're going nowhere no matter what school you're at. Yeah, having good teachers helps, but at the end of the day you need to put in the work. I've never been to the IOE, so I can't judge, but it seems to me that what it provides is an environment that makes putting in the work a little bit easier.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I think it's slightly more than 4.5 actually, might be wrong.

Also, I've heard only good things from my friends about the place, did a grind there during the year aswell, and was sufficiently impressed.

And yes, you don't deserve to go to college if you're not going to work for it.

btw I did an interview before they let me into the place, so I sincerely doubt they let just anyone in, after all, they can afford to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Originally posted by tribble
    He's just throwing a tantrum as he watchs his IOE peers surge ahead in education - leaving him with nothing more than a mouthful of dust and a poor leaving cert.

I'll have fries with that.

tribble

well i got 520 point in the leaving and my first choice, so your talking bull

richindub2: all the teachers that thought me there, thought the day school as well. ANd many people on a saturday went there in the day school (i knew afew, ****). Nothing wrong with the caliber of teacher, in fact the way they though was pretty decent, and i personally can't complain about this. Just the whole time i'm there i'm thinkign to myself, theres no way a weaker students keeping up with this stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

If youre so weak as to have issue keeping up with the teachers simplified grinds then maybe you should consider getting one on one grinds? Its unlikely youll find any other grinds classes going much slower than the IOE.

Am i the only one who thought the whole atmosphere there was completely depressing? afew other lads i know said the exact same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Did you not say you had Pat Doyle?
    His classes are very lively.

The atmosphere would be depressing if things flew over your head.

The saddest thing is when you allow it to remain that way.

Originally posted by PHB
    Did you not say you had Pat Doyle?
    His classes are very lively.

classes where go, just those 15 minute break with everyone sittign there in silence, and the the way the walls weren't plastered, just painted. God it was such a soul destroying, gut wrentching, spirit punishing hell hole. Yeachers where pretty good though. It just felt really manufactured and thelike battery famering students. All about the exam and nothing about actually teaching, which is fair enough if thats what you pay for. Maybe my problem is that it was so different to my school where i knew everyone and they knew me, from the first years right up. And i could have abite of craic with the teachers slagging that that stuff.

afaik, the institute is supposed to be more like college than secondary school, if you try to slag your lecturers for the craic I doubt they'd take it as fun.

They'd probably think you're being a bit childish. After all, everyone else is paying an awful ****ing lot of money to go there,
    I don't particularily feel like wasting nearly 5 grand of my parents hard earned cash to FECK AROUND.

Originally posted by Dataisgod

ah at the end of the day it is only the stupid people that need to go to IOE in the first place cause they can't get the marks they need in a 'normal' school.

I resent that comment. You're being a bit arrogant.

I'm stupid because I didn't get it the first time round? I think what's really tragic is the person who doesn't believe enough in themselves to try again.
    I'm better than that. And because I know I'm better than that I will succeed.

Originally posted by CuLT
    afaik, the institute is supposed to be more like college than secondary school, if you try to slag your lecturers for the craic I doubt they'd take it as fun.

They'd probably think you're being a bit childish. After all, everyone else is paying an awful ****ing lot of money to go there,
    I don't particularily feel like wasting nearly 5 grand of my parents hard earned cash to FECK AROUND.

without sound like i'm flaming you, your parents wouldn't be spending that five grand if you had done the Biz the first time around, so you are all ready wasting it. what i'm talking about here is abite of comfortabliity. Almost has to be a better atmosphere in the day school but still.

You're probably right Boston, if I had gone all out the first time round I would have done it. But I didn't. I didn't have my priorities right.
    If I believed that I couldn't do it properly if I set my mind to it for another year, what could I realistically expect from myself in anything I chose to do?

i didn.t post on boards for about 6 months durign the leaving, and then i'd go weeks without posting again. Are you prepared to give up TV, Girl, Drinking, Gaming, and the internet to do it. Untill the answer to those question are yes, then you shouldn't be considering repeating. I did, but i had 75 more points in the end then i needed, hell of allot better then 5 short. I said **** it i don't want to be here next year learning the same old crap off again and gave it my all. I was in a feicing remedial class in primary school, and ended up with the best result in leaving for my secondary school, so i'm a great believer in will power. If you think you have what it takes to do it, then by all means the IOE is the best place for pointing you in the right direction.

Your point is absolutely taken, I know what I have to give up, as much as I don't like the idea of it I'm fully prepared to do it.

I consider it a very worthy investment in my future, It'll be tough for a year, all my friends going ahead, doing it all over again, believe me, I've thought long and hard about it.
    But in the end, it's only a year, not even a year, 9 months. And I can deal with 9 months out of the rest of a life which I could regret choosing if I don't try it once more.

sounds like you know what your goiing to have to do, fair play. what subjects are you doing over there. I strongly suggest applied amths, if your anyway maths orientated. Allot of people regret not goign back and gettign the leavign cert they wanted.

I'm planning on English, Math, Biology, Chemistry, Economics, Geography and Classics.

The last three are new subjects, classics is the only one i'm not really sure about. I wish I was mathsy but I'm not :/ .

• Registered Users Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

What are you talking about Boston?

I gave up none of those things during 6th year.

I drank/socialised/played games/play computer.
    Although I did give up tv, but that wasn't a conscious decision, it was in lieu of computers. I just hate tv now.

I did give up the gym after xmas though, i went in the mornings at it was too tiring, I was in school too long.

I think PHB would avoid against Classics...

Perhaps Physics? Very little maths except formula learning, and just learning besides that.

It gets the sangre seal of approval!

Actually, PHB is the one who suggested classics :) , I did physics last year.
    Probably the most incredibly boring subject I have ever encountered ( And I did Tech for 2 weeks in 5th year). Literally couldn't stay awake while reading the book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Bono_85

Emm I just wanna say that the majority of ppl who go to the institute aren't actually repeating the L.C, so it isnt some special repeat school. I and a hell of a lot of others are doing it for the first time and have just chosen to do it there.

Classics is really hard to get an A in, but its really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really easy to get a high B in.

I know people who are far far far from acedemically gifted who got B1's.

Also you dont become a recluse unless are actually need 600 points.

You study from Sunday - Thursday.
    Take friday night and all of saturday off. You have to have a break, you have to have fun on friday and saturday.
    I recommend giving up drinking for the last 4/5 month stint.

You want to aim to do 3-4 hrs a night.
    Two Two hour blocks.

But everyone has their own stlye they will develop. I personally liked to study for 4 hours straight then stop, while others want to do 20 mins then break 20 mins then break etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Originally posted by CuLT
    I resent that comment. You're being a bit arrogant.

I'm stupid because I didn't get it the first time round? I think what's really tragic is the person who doesn't believe enough in themselves to try again.
    I'm better than that. And because I know I'm better than that I will succeed.

you missed the part of the post above that where i said i was flamin

Originally posted by Sangre
    What are you talking about Boston?

I gave up none of those things during 6th year.

I drank/socialised/played games/play computer.
    Although I did give up tv, but that wasn't a conscious decision, it was in lieu of computers. I just hate tv now.

I did give up the gym after xmas though, i went in the mornings at it was too tiring, I was in school too long.

well good for you mate, but in the end you weren't at all happy with what you got, and only managed to get your first choice on random selection. I did make the point of saying i did this and it was over kill in the end, but jesus its better to give up these things for 8 months then not do the biz. you have the rest of your life to party.

Cult: Not a bad selection at all. I could think of a few easier subjects then english though. Economics i loved, managed an A1 in it, but that said only 2.8 % got A1s in it. I seriously recommend physics in the IOE if you have pat doyle. Its not at all boring and the way he teaches makes it easy to remember. the biology teacher is abite mad, so that helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Originally posted by Boston
    well good for you mate, but in the end you weren't at all happy with what you got, and only managed to get your first choice on random selection. I did make the point of saying i did this and it was over kill in the end, but jesus its better to give up these things for 8 months then not do the biz. you have the rest of your life to party.

Would ye mind not being so self-rightous?
    Firstly, he got what he wanted, so it does not matter a **** if he got 10 or 500 points higher than it, give it a year of college and ye'll barely be able to remember what u got in the lc.

When i did the lc last year i must say i didn't give up everything, tis just about good time management, i still managed something in the region of 70hrs study a week and could do most things i wanted, i got a game or 2 of cs in minimum every day. I well exceeded the points i required, which *** i can't even remember ne more. And frankly i don't care, assuming i finish college what i got over what i needed in the lc doesn't matter jack ****.

So as dave said you just do what suits you, if your grades arn't what you want them to be in exam's during 6th year then adjust your study accordingly, if they are fine then thats grand too ye don't need to quit everything and become a hermit

Also, out of all the people i know who got over 500, I know one of them who gave up drinking, I know about 10 who drank a lot more :)

Well sorry if 530 isn't good enough for you Boston :rolleyes:

I definetly drank more in 6th year.

:p Boston

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭DSMe

You are the man Boston! Do people often confuse u with Jesus Christ?

Originally posted by PHB
    Also, out of all the people i know who got over 500, I know one of them who gave up drinking, I know about 10 who drank a lot more :)

well sorry lads, but i persumed (maybe i'm wrong) if cult was able to get the required points and not give up somethings then he would be already going to college. I never said he had to give them up, i said he should be willing to give them up. only he knows what he is able for. Personally i had my own reasons for studying to the level i did, and they had **** all to do with college.

Sangre if you got 530 points and drank every weekend, and spent hours on the net and socialised into the early hours of the morning, then jesus i've no problem saying your allot smarter and allot more capable then me, wish i was able to that.

Im tempted to put that in my sig Boston :)

Of coarse I gave up the socialising towards the LC, mostly after the mocks. But imo there is no need for that now.

It is absolute madness to totally give up socialising at any time during the leaving cert.
    If you do it right from the start, you won't have to do the 5-6 hrs a night we did cause we didnt start till december :)

Just do 3-4 hrs a night every night Sunday - Thursday and really relax at the weekend.