Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Database question

Options
  • 12-09-2003 1:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭

Ok guys,

Im totally new to databases and need some advice.
    I need a database for a webpage which will hold text and multimedia information.

From looking at the intraweb, these seem the common types:

1.ASP

2.Cold fusion

3.CGI/Perl

4.Perl

Which would be the most suitable, given the fact that the database is to support multimedia info.?

Thanks for the all the help,

king :-)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Two things..

First of all decide where, and how, the website is going to be constructed.
    If its going to be dynamic content on a UNIX server, then possibly Perl or PHP scripts connecting to a Mysql/PostgreSQL db would be the best option.. on a Windows NT/2000 platform your best bet would probably be ASP or Perl and MSQL.

Secondly, thats a list of programming languages, suitable for accessing a data storage, not a list of databases. The most common database options would be MSQL, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle.

Also, why are you storing multimedia content in a database? on most systems that's horribly inefficient... just store a URL/link to the content and let the webserver handle the load.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Same as not databases, as kali said you if you are going for free db's then you are as well with MYSQL, it fine for use with Perl.