Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Westlink tollbridge

• 19-09-2003 11:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭

Why does the westlink tollbridge have people standing at the lanes where you throw your money into a basket.
    Especially at peak times... what is the point of it?????

• Registered Users Posts: 78,387 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sometimes it (the coins, the backet, whatever) doesn't work and it's better to have someone there at peak times than have a huge tailback. Then you have muppets who don't have coins or don't have money or only have a credit card or only have Sterling or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

What is done to those with no money or credit cards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭rander00

They get de **** kicked out of them by all the ppl in the tailbk.

Or someone bails them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Guess I was one of those muppets :)

One time I was at toll bridge booth, I could not find the proper amount of coins in the car !
    This was at the place where you dont throw them into the basket but hand 'em to the NTR person. Me and mate were frantically looking for the missing coins which were either on us\in the astray holder\under seat
    We were searching pockets for a missing 50cents, it took a few min to find it while ye man was saying 'ye are holding up the traffic lads, big queue behind ya'

I didnt give a fluk anyway about the queue, plenty of other lanes available for others to go into, for a lousy 50cents I couldnt care less, sure they are ripping us off at that bridge anyway !!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

its rheyre bridge they can charge what they like no1 is forcing u to use it. if u think ur being ripped off for sumting y do u buy/use it

Originally posted by Stekelly
    its rheyre bridge they can charge what they like no1 is forcing u to use it. if u think ur being ripped off for sumting y do u buy/use it

There is no alternative

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

And before the M50 was opened, you did what to travel from point A to point B? There is an alternative, don't use the motorway...

Such a journey would be stupid and time consuming.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by Bond-James Bond

Agreed. However, you didn't say that. You said...
    There is no alternative

There is.

You want to save time? Travel the M50, and pay the toll.

It's a fair cop:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It is usually more time consumint to go via the M50 toll bridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Originally posted by gurramok
    One time I was at toll bridge booth, I could not find the proper amount of coins in the car !
    This was at the place where you dont throw them into the basket but hand 'em to the NTR person. Me and mate were frantically looking for the missing coins which were either on us\in the astray holder\under seat
    We were searching pockets for a missing 50cents, it took a few min to find it while ye man was saying 'ye are holding up the traffic lads, big queue behind ya'

I didnt give a fluk anyway about the queue, plenty of other lanes available for others to go into, for a lousy 50cents I couldnt care less, sure they are ripping us off at that bridge anyway !!

Man, I can't stand you idiots. I always seem to be stuck behind some moran like you. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭query

I travel quite frequently from Blanchardstown to Lucan or Clondalkin. It is so much quicker going across the back roads than the M50 - and a more pleasant drive!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭pclancy

I leaned the best ways around the toll bridge at peak times when i was working up there. Between lucan and blanch there are some cool backroads which dont seem to get used that much. I was working as a field service engineer so getting from one end of the city to the other as quickly as possible often meant going through some parts of town or the country but theres always a better way then the M50. During the day when its not so busy its grand but at peak times forget it. Especially when you have muppets holding up the traffic.

My worst hate is when you see people going into the eazypass lane, going the whole way up to the barrier and then saying "oh! S hit! I didnt realise it was eazypass only! They must have ten million signs all around that lane saying what it is. If you use the tollbridge a lot get eazypass, it saves a bit of time allright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Last time i looked up at the signs on the M50 EVERY booth had Eazypass written over it.
    They should take the advert off of the No Eazypass lanes.

What about this link for a solution?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=116064

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Silent Bob

What ticks me off about the M50 toll bridge is this.

Back when we had 20% VAT they added VAT to the 80p charge for the bridge and got the figure of £1 instead of 96p this is a 4p "hidden" increase (most people say 20% of £1 is 20p, okay they did it right). Taking into account that VAT changed back to 21% shortly afterward still doesn't work out right (should be 96.8p not £1)

Then we change to the Euro and they increase the charge to €1.30 instead of €1.27

Then they get a new bridge built about a year or so before the toll period for the old bridge runs out. Somehow I think that the toll operators will manage to extend the toll on the original bridge to last as long as the toll period on the new one.

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    Last time i looked up at the signs on the M50 EVERY booth had Eazypass written over it.
    They should take the advert off of the No Eazypass lanes.

ah comon! You can use eazypass in any of the lanes but there are HUGE signs, cones and markers pointing to the eazypass only lane and its pretty obvious to anyone who can read that its for eazypass users only!!! Yet you still get people driving into it then panicking at the last moment when they realise what it is.

it doesnt matter anyway, that toll bridge makes the M50 the laughing stock of europe. Plonking that yoke right in the middle of the motorway, creating delays that spread the whole length of the M50 was such a stupid, irish way of doing things that Id say the whole of europe is laughing at us. Imagine how much less congestion there would be if it wasnt there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Well guess what? the traffic is so bad there that most people dont even see the signs much less read them until they are in a lane for one of them.
    Its never happened to me but i fully understand why people end up in the easypass only lane.

pclancy,
    there is an answer to removing the tolls at the toll bridge.
    See the link in my last post.
    Dont think it'll ever happen tho. Maybe they like the traffic jams at the bridge. Gives them an excuse to tax cars more by saying its the cars that are the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

totally agree with pclancy.... the M50 is a total joke they have a toll bridge slap bang in the middle of the only city centre bye-pass road even though it isn't finished for one and has been under construction for almost 20 years.

Fiction or Fact???????? Just some things I heard.................

It can all be tied back to certain politicians and their cronies, they are the ones who bought the land around the M50 route (strangely enough, where did they get the idea....hmmmm) anyway, who then in turn have to be compensated for the route through THEIR land, but hey.... they want more compensation, so they drag it through the courts holding up the construction as settlement after settlement has to be agreed so they make an excuse that the bridge construction has to be paid for... hence the toll, even though by now the bridge must have been paid for around 100 times over. Now then...... after the compensations are paid then it emerges the evil M50 route land buying thats been going on and we have ourselves another yee haw darn tooten Tribunal to find out whats been happening and some nature reserve route or snail is used as an excuse to yet slow it up again...... In the meantime the toll goes up, no developments are done to the original bridge car tax rises, insurance rises, cost of living rises, petrol prices rise, car tyre prices rise, car furry dice prices rise and then they announance a new bridge is to be constructed (after the money we have all been paying i would have tought they would have had a better bridge, something made of gold with sparklers and fireworks going off when you cross it) but no its the exact same as the first one (tried and tested i guess) or else some bloke had the bridge in his back garden and sold it to the NRA at half price and threw in a few new toll booths at no extra cost................

hmmmmmmm interesting

So as you speed down (25 Miles an Hour, if your very lucky on the M50) in your new spanking car after paying your car insurance, car tax, Vehicle Reg tax( A total joke don't get me started), filled the thing with petrol and your furry dice and arrive at the pearly gates (Toll Booth) fumble around for your 1.30 euros (god help ya if your driving a truck, thats alot of fumbling to make the toll) while in the easy pass lane, just remember that your 1.30 goes a long way to the infrastural network of this great nation (long way being an off shore swiss bank account no doubt to an exiled priest with a son, don't deny that it's not possible...... jesus i'm starting to actually think that now........)

They even announced the other day, as good old Bertie was cutting the ribbon to open the new bridge (even though its been open for the last month or so and we have been paying a toll on it or was that toll imaginery seeing as the bridge wasn't there till Bertie cut the ribbon, which was probably the ribbon used to open the first one, just tied together again) that .............

"Its not the toll booths that cause the back logs on the M50"

Well then why don't they have a toll free day and see what happens!!!!!!!! the sh*tes

God i think i'll just go through town from now on and stop depressing myself.... instead i'll sit in my car stuck in traffic being diverted left right and centre around the LUAS works....

As for the LUAS........... maybe another day..................

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

like it.....

I would be in the knots laughing at that if i didnt realise that every bit of it is true!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Nicely wrote Fudger. Damn Fine Fail, and their henchmen.

Toll bridge causes too much traffic (always quiet on exit side of booths, jammers on entry side) and does this not cost the country money in,:

1. Petrol, cars startin and stoppin every minute, clutches been overused,

2. Employees late, deliveries late and what not.

Oul Bertie on Primetime last night, showed him and the 'Gang', out at Galway races collectin money, mainly off Vintners and publicans, farmers and peeps in construction industry, the b*****ds.

Slide of hand, .. . . brown envelope, thank u very much.

'I'd like to see the Don'. 'You may see Don Ahernioni when he is ready, and he likes to take his time so u may be waitin a while'.
    Waitin few years for his govmt to do anythin. tsshhhhh:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

"I would be in the knots laughing at that if i didnt realise that every bit of it is true!"
    I totaly agree, but if you dont laugh, you'd cry in this country!

• Registered Users Posts: 78,387 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by pclancy
    Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    Last time i looked up at the signs on the M50 EVERY booth had Eazypass written over it.They should take the advert off of the No Eazypass lanes. ah comon! You can use eazypass in any of the lanes but there are HUGE signs, cones and markers pointing to the eazypass only lane and its pretty obvious to anyone who can read that its for eazypass users only!!! Yet you still get people driving into it then panicking at the last moment when they realise what it is.
    Does it actually say "NO CASH"?

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Cromwelly

Does it actually say "NO CASH"?

Yes, but only in English. Maybe if they offered translations in Stupidish.

They should double the price of the toll if paying cash in an Ezpass lane.

With the extra cash saved they could build a clock tower and employ a spotty youth with an assault rifle to weed out white vans.

what have you against white vans?

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Cromwelly

Maybe it's the whole achromic commercialism bag I detest.

Or maybe the fact that they're so often driven by blue collar types who would give the average mountain gorilla a smug look of superiority ?

I guess they have a part to play.

They're not as bad as Micras.

Originally posted by Cromwelly
    They're not as bad as Micras.

I drive a Micra:D
    You looking for a fight? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

I took the bus in today and noticed that when I passed over the M50 that the tailback was southbound. There was no delay northbound at the tollbooth. Was rather surprised at this. NTR, of course said last weekend at the opening of new bridge the delays are due to the interchanges. The worst of these being the Mad Cow roundabout.

Any other time when I'm going to work on the bike, I don't have time to look at this, but I have seen longer tailbacks from N4 onto M50 southbound.

So NTR might be right :eek:
    for the moment ... Roll on Luas