Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

~Tolkin~

Options
  • 24-09-2003 5:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭

I am new to learning all the pagan beliefs. In my studies of different ideas/beliefs. I've come across this site:

http://www.eskimo.com/~ouija/rqcult_odin.htm

On this site it shows the forming of Nine Worlds, Does anyone else seem to think maybe J.R.R. Tolkien was pullin from these beliefs when writing Lord of the Rings? Maybe he was a follower of some pagan ideas? Just though it was rather intresting. By NO means am I insinuating that he is making fun or poking at pagan ideas. I just thought it was a thought??
    :rolleyes:
    ~DR~

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Tolkien had a very deep love of the land.
    You have to remember he grew up during the coal industrial revaluation in Britain.

Strip mining was the most ' efficient ' way
    so get coal from the land, smog was everywhere. There were woods where he grew up and he hated when he had to move to the city when his father died.

Toilkien was in a devoted catholic, he converted in order to marry and love the mystries and rites of the Latin mass.

The rape of the Land by Saruman in the two towers) portrayed so graphical and well in the film) was all about the evil of using the earth as we see fit with no reverence and thought of the futures and what we are destroying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain