Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's yer poison?

• 25-09-2003 5:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭

Probably been asked a thousand times b4 but I'm curious.
    (thanks to the Guinness thread)

In an effort to get to know you people better and to know the lay of the land I was wondering what you all drink.

Me I'm primarily a Guinness man, but also enjoy a nice cold pint of Smithwicks.

When I buy offie I tend to go for imported beers rather than your horrid dutch gold type of crap.
    Chimay is quite possibly my favourite beer of all time.
    Franzizkaner, Singha, Sol, Leffe, Pilsner Ulquiel and Czech Budweiser (Budvar)

As for US Budweiser I hate it with a passion and those who drink it are part of the axis of plebian evil. It tops the unholy trinity of "beer" which it shares with Carlsberg and Heinekin.
    And then there's Carling- WAAAA!

I also like vodka, bloody mary's, red wine
    and walks on the park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Heineken but sometimes Bulmers on hot sunny days in the open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

Hmmm
    Hydrogen if I'm just out in the Pub, sometimes Stella (nyom) or that really nice Belgian one who's name i can't remember.

Used to drink gallons of bulmers but i sorta stopped after the "mornings after the nights before" :D

Shots all round *** :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Friend (*licks STaN) recently introduced me to Erdinger, tiz teh yummeh and of course ye old vodka :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

vodka, bud if i have to drinjk beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Bottles of Miller
    Pints of Murphys (1st choice) or Guinness
    Jameson/Crested Ten - often with Red Bull
    Tia Lusso or Baileys - possibly with Brandy (Hennessy)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Moi? When I'm on the beer it's Carlsberg generally but, if it's available, I prefer Erdinger. Heineken if all else fails.

Later in the night I switch to other drinks. Last time it was vodka and 7-Up. A lot of the time it's Smirnoff Ice or Barcardi Breezers. Yeah. Me = well tough bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

Chimay an expensive taste beer baron, which one Red or Blue?

Beer of choice Sapporo

http://www.sapporobeer.jp/english/

For splended reading

Also heineken beer bottled

and then on to the Tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

For beer, it would be Franziskaner, Duvel or Hoegaarden. Chimay is quite lovely also. Some lesser forms of beer that I would drink are Stella Artios, Miller, Guinness, Erdinger. But I generally drink Belgian or German stuff where available.

For shots/shorts, a nice Southern Comfort & Ginger Ale always goes down well. Failing that, Gin & Bitter. The Green Fairy, for obvious reasons. Vodka & Lime, nice and tasty.

I reconmend these brands:
    Bombay Saphire Gin
    Absolut Vodka
    Jagermeister

Some nice cocktails to try:

1shot Malibu
    1shot jagermeister
    Topped up with Pineapple juice.
    Tasy as hell, and hits a whallop!

1shot aftershock blue
    1bottle smirnoff ice.
    Quite icky, but can hit hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Nothing beats the cool clean crisp fresh taste of a pint of Budweiser.
    I know that sounds like an ad but i love the stuff:D

As for spirits smirnoff vodka is what id normally drink if i were on the vodka rip. But I havent drank a good amount of vodka in a while now though.

As for knacker drinking Dutch is tolerable enough I suppose.But Bud is my favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

mmm, can't go wrong with a pint of carlsberg or stella....
    started getting into guinness recently, handy to not have to worry about eating when you're out on the piss:rolleyes:
    partial to a bit of red wine every now & again.

and, dare i say it.... buckyww)
    only useful at that "2pm the next day & meh drugs have stopped working" stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Hinekein usually or whats usually nice is tia maria and luscosade
    (just dont mix the three of em or you'll be sorry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭oneweb

No beer for me. Tried the main ones and wasn't impressed. Luckily I've found a few drinks that I've liked from the very moment I tasted them...

Tia Maria & Coke,
    Malibu & Coke (or straight >:)),
    Baileys,
    Shots of all varieties.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,452 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Prescription pharmaceuticals.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I usually take Smithwicks or occasional Bulmers.

When in the mood for shorts it's usually a nice Famous Grouse, or the odd Vodka and Red (lemonade)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

Cyanide mainly, arsenic the odd time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Kronenburg (think thats how u spell it)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Heineken, Miller, or Guinness the odd time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Erdinger is the business..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Yeah I tried that Erdinger stuff the other day. Must say its pretty nice. Is it common? Do most bars stock it? I'll have to remember to have some next time I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭zeris

In my regulars where I know the pints are good I have Guinness. I really like Guinness. Otherwise if it is on draft I will have Stella. Drinking bottles, hmm, well a big thumbs up for Erdinger (must be doing very well in Ireland, everyone seems to like it), sometimes Warsteiner or Spaten. I like If I am in the Porterhouse, I usually have Speckled Hen (Yum!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by Creature
    Yeah I tried that Erdinger stuff the other day. Must say its pretty nice. Is it common? Do most bars stock it? I'll have to remember to have some next time I'm out.

It's becomming very common I think its the size of the bottle that attracts people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

I'll settle for a vodka in a pinch, but the drink of choice is definitely Southern Comfort. One of the greatest Irish creations of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

It certainly is a beautiful beer, and **** is it potent.. I am a big fella and can normally hold way too much drink, but this stuff would have me asleep after 7 or 8 pints....

There is a lovely bar in Dundalk called the Beerkeeper which sells foreign beers and during the Oktoberfest they sell Steins of the stuff (1 litre glasses)... Hmmm Hmmmm hmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Erdinger is the business..
    ah yeah, i was trying to remember the name of that stuff, well tasty.
    (and the glasses pwn, very tempting to nick)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Me?

Vodka .... pretty much many spirits.

Cosmopolitan's and Sex on the Beach i am quite partial too :)

I will always down a Baby Guinness if given one *wink*4th October *wink* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Lowinbrow...... I dont know how it's spelt, but that sure is loopy juice. I drink Amstel (Possibly the beer that was talked about earlier), Carlsberg when I;m in Ireland, Absinth, vodka, whickey, aftershock, and any short really.

Absinth and jackdaniels a shot of each in a glass, slightly more Absinth, if I'm feeling rich that is.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Southie and Red bull or Jack daniels and Red bull, bulmers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

well red wine if I'm out for dinner,
    then if I go to the pub afterwards, vodka and diet coke.

Coors lite or Miller if I'm drinking at home.

I recently bought strawberry smirnoff when I was away and this is gorgeous as a little treat, you couldn't drink a lot of it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

for belgian beers :

http://www.belgianstyle.com/mmguide/

But i am a Jim Beam kinda guy
    or southern Comfort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I drink everything and anything.

Except for cider and budweiser. Although in my younger days I used to drink these alot! Hmmmm.

Generally, beer = Carlsberg, but if there's nicer available, i.e - tiger beer, tsing tao etc. I'll driink them.

Sundays I always go for a few Guinness.

Sessions in the gaff... absolut or stolichnaya vodka, with the mixer of choice.