Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd Vs. Stuttgart [scores]

• 01-10-2003 9:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭

Van Nist just made it 2-1

Fair play to him for taking the penalty after his string of misses.

Worrying performance so far from Utd. Although I fancy them to bring it back.

Will make the rangers game interesting if the lose.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yeh fair play to him he's done well but utd have been static

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Thoroughly deserved victory for stuttgart. They outplayed Utd and there possession play in the final minutes was commendable.

Makes things very interesting now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Pana just pulled back a late equaliser there in the 87th minute. If it finishes like that the group is shaping up to be very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

being a celtic\pool fan it doesn't overly concern me, but united didn't look comfortable at all out there tonite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Ughh feck it anyway, not to much to say very well played Stuttgart brillant defence.
    Oh and Fergie get rid of Forlan !!!!

Just saw the Utd penalty incident. Ronaldo dived.

Was pathetic, we went down like he was stabbed in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

fair play stuttgart, typical german side and got the 3 points at home.

ronaldo went down under contact, the same as stuttgarts penalty. the 2 were more or less the same, both were exagerated but thats football.

1st half was brutel from utd. very poor in passing and totally pressured off the ball. second half was little better and ferdinand was a mess.

howard flapped at a few crosses but to be fair made a great peno save and crucial save late on, he made up for his mistakes.
    overall a poor result for man u although theres no shame losing on german soil against a top german side.

a slip up from utd but i dont think they'll be panicking just yet. terrific game although im disappointed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

A poor performance by UTD.

However take nothing away from Stuttgart, they played very well. :)

Originally posted by smemon
    ronaldo went down under contact, the same as stuttgarts penalty. the 2 were more or less the same, both were exagerated but thats football.

The contact wasn't enough to make Ronaldo go down, he could have stayed on his feet and stood his ground. For Stuttgarts the player was caught and taken off his feet, he exaggerated the fall, but it was still a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

keeper was pressuring ronaldo, no need to get so close to him, he made contact and like most arsenal and liverpool players, ronaldo went down.

ferdinand caught that fella's ankle alright but he too could have stayed on his feet.

although if i had my way none would have been given.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Terrible performance from a Man Utd point of view, they just could not hold onto the ball. There was spells where they were pressured off the ball, but most of the time they were too casual and it lost the game for them. Stuttgart didn't have to play well to beat us, but they still deserved it more than us after that performance. I'm really pissed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I only saw the second half... Utd were shakey at best... Ferdinand was being a muppet for some strange reason. Ronaldo dived, but under the rules, it was still a penalty.. Stupid rules is all I can say... He did dive like a big girl...
    he made contact and like most arsenal and liverpool players,

who mentioned Arsenal or Liverpool... Jaysus

Fair played to Ruud for taking the penalty.

Finally, United need a to strenghten their squad, talk about players out of position.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I think yis are overreacting a bit. Sure Utd had a bad game but it happens to everyone. My main concern for Utd would be Rio Ferdinand, he seems to struggle in the CL.

Fergie didn't get the tactics right tonight though even if he had they'd probably still have lost. Ronaldo was completely ineffective on the left and Scholes isn't suited to playing on the right, Stuttgart got away with murder down the left while Scholes was there. Keane had a quiet game and i think this was important as Stuttgart ran centre midfield. The Utd midfielders got dispossed from behind by the two Stuttgart forwards far, far too often.

They'll still qualify fairly easily though. I was disappointed Rangers dropped that goal at the end as i think it will make the group much less open. (I fancy united to beat Rangers both times meaning they'll finish top fairly comfortably).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

like most arsenal and liverpool players, ronaldo went down

wtf have arsenal or liverpool got to do with this thread

not a bad game. Stuttgart were excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Agree with Kaids, Ferdinand just isnt up to Champions League Standard. No wonder he doesnt tackle that much, if his tackle that gave away the peno is anything to go by. he was at fault for both goals(keane just as much to blame for second one).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

2 points from the game....

Firstly I thought this was the first time they missed Beckham and Veron. I thought there was no real playmaker in midfield apart from Giggs although I thought he had a good game. Ranaldo was shíte. Balls into the box were poor... and as for defence :rolleyes:. Ferdinand should be put down.... along with Forlan.

Secondly the match presentation from RTE2 was fusking dire. Did anyone else notice the lingering shots of the players whilst the play was continuing on the field? Jesus I hope to god UTV are showing the next game. Even TV3 would be better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

A totally ineffective attempt by United .... most worryingly being Keano losing the midfield battle, but no need to panic, he'll back on form for the next match!!

Ronnie's dive was a thing of beauty :D:D

Thought the Stutgart peno was deserved, even if he did launch himself into the air!!

Ferdinand was useless, but it was funny when he got a kick in the proverbials during his tackle for the peno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭SCULLY

Originally posted by daveg
    2 points from the game....

Firstly I thought this was the first time they missed Beckham and Veron. I thought there was no real playmaker in midfield apart from Giggs although I thought he had a good game. Ranaldo was shíte. Balls into the box were poor... and as for defence :rolleyes:. Ferdinand should be put down.... along with Forlan.

Secondly the match presentation from RTE2 was fusking dire. Did anyone else notice the lingering shots of the players whilst the play was continuing on the field? Jesus I hope to god UTV are showing the next game. Even TV3 would be better...

I watched the Chelsea game - you really didn't miss Veron - honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Originally posted by daveg

The actual match has nothing to do with RTE themselves. Al they do is receive the pictures from whoever is broadcasting them? You dont actually think RTE send an Outside Broadcast unit all the way over to Grmany with cameramen etc? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Up to the Mighty Gers now to knock the Utd out. Come on ye boys in blue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

keeper was pressuring ronaldo, no need to get so close to him, he made contact and like most arsenal and liverpool players, ronaldo went down.

HAHAHAHAHHA oh you just had to drag your obsession with Arsenal and Liverpool in. Of course Van Nistelrooy never would have dived under that sort of contact :rolleyes:

A defeat in Europe!!! Back to the drawing board Ferguson!!!!!

p.s. I hope Rangers fucking stuff Man Utd, highly unlikely I know, but if Stuttgart can, Rangers certainly can. Ferdinand for England!

I just read that on uefa-co-efficients, most Irish national league sides that have won the league are ranked higher than stuttgart :)

/me waits for the usualy tirade of defensiveness from Utd fans.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

great win for the germans man utd played poorly and deserved to loose but i can see Stuttgart getting hammered at old trafford and god help Birmingham City on saturday i'd say they'll get some backlash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Agree with most of what being said. Typical English team hit on the break by the continental side. Stutgard were very well organise and defended well .UTDS Defence were v poor. Some how Forlan comming off the bench does not create the same expectancy as Ole would.:D
    Utd didnt deserve anything form the game on their second half performance. (Hope fergie pus Ronaldo right on the diving (I hate That) as he has Ruud.

We should still capable of qualifying so over all the situation could be worse.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

did not see the match and thank god, I hear we were crap, sin é, will still qualify, hope Ronnie does not start that sh**e with the diving, drives me mad.

Peno save was meant to be good?? Ferdinand was poor, shock horror

Originally posted by TwoShedsJackson
    HAHAHAHAHHA oh you just had to drag your obsession with Arsenal and Liverpool in. Of course Van Nistelrooy never would have dived under that sort of contact :rolleyes:

A defeat in Europe!!! Back to the drawing board Ferguson!!!!!

p.s. I hope Rangers fucking stuff Man Utd, highly unlikely I know, but if Stuttgart can, Rangers certainly can. Ferdinand for England!
    Sorry Mr. Jackson but who do you support?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

I enjoyed the match but there was several incidents of diving by stuttgart - including their penalty. Ferdinand went through his man and he was never going to stay on his feet but if we complain about rvn doing that (which he hasn't been lately) then it's only fair to be consistant. Yes diving under contact and penalty deserved but if refs then decide to give yellows or reds the whole thing is a farce...

I enjoyed the match but there was several incidents of diving by stuttgart - including their penalty. Ferdinand went through his man and he was never going to stay on his feet but if we complain about rvn doing that (which he hasn't been lately) then it's only fair to be consistant.

Obviously the honest thoughts of a real soccer fan and not the usual ABU crap we get from a minority here.
    Fair dues Pete I,ll shout twice as loud for the pool on Saturday now .;)

Originally posted by The Muppet
    Obviously the honest thoughts of a real soccer fan and not the usual ABU crap we get from a minority here.
    Fair dues Pete I,ll shout twice as loud for the pool on Saturday now .;)

Are you two sleeping together or just part of a self adulation club?

In fairness anyone who things Utd aren't going to win the group needs there head examined, but it shows they are fallible.

Don't get me wrong Muppet, I'm still going to cheer for Rangers:D. Both of those matches will be strongly contested and they could easily both result in draws. If that does happen then the group will be interesting, more likely though utd will get 4 from 6 points...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

For those who are saying stuttgart were crap they should realise that they are top of the Bundesliga at the moment. They also finished high up last year (Higher than Dortmund who are only in the uefa cup) or they wouldn't be in Champions league.

As for the TV, that's SAT1 in germany's fault. RTL were covering the matches last year and they were quite good but they seem to have gone for quality programming this year (Search for a star!)

Their coverage is even funnier as those long shots of players don't even correspond to what the commentator is on about at the time!

United were crap last night. Silvestre was invisible, O'Shea and Ferdinand were bad. None of the midfield or strikers did well imo. And Keane and Howard were at fault for the second goal.

Still think we should qualify easily though.

Don't get me wrong Muppet, I'm still going to cheer for Rangers

Thats as it should be p-pete . If liverpool ever manage to get into the CL again I will be doing likewise.:D

Muppet? Have you ever been to Bochum in Germany by any chance?

I'll bet he's got the t-shirt sykeirl:D

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Sorry Mr. Jackson but who do you support?

Newcastle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Newcastle.
    my Condolences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 utopio

Yes STUTTGART WIN!!!!!

Who had ever thought that. I am from Stuttgart and only two years ago I thought stuttgart would come to the second league in germany and now they beat one of the best teams in the world. I am realllyyy happpy.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well done Utopia, did not know we had a Stuggart fan on here. Well deserved of your teams win. Only 3 goals conceeded now in 8 matches? that is a great achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Quote:
    Muppet? Have you ever been to Bochum in Germany by any chance?

?????????????????

Whats that got to do with the CL ????

Tinky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 utopio

Originally posted by yop
    Well done Utopia, did not know we had a Stuggart fan on here. Well deserved of your teams win. Only 3 goals conceeded now in 8 matches? that is a great achievement
    I am from Stuttgart. In our league we still haven't got any goal against us.

I am from Stuttgart. In our league we still haven't got any goal against us

Know that alright, I follow the German leagues. Should be interesting to see how long this goes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Originally posted by sykeirl
    I just read that on uefa-co-efficients, most Irish national league sides that have won the league are ranked higher than stuttgart :)

/me waits for the usualy tirade of defensiveness from Utd fans.....

Jesus you would love that wouldnt you, why dont you concentrate on your own team instead of trying to start arguements with other fans
    Who is your team btw, betcha its liverpool

:D Wrong Rasta, Similar standard different league, Wait for it, The Mighty Notts Forest:D

Posted By p-pete
    I'll bet he's got the t-shirt sykeirl

It would be worth more than the trophy if i had.

Newcastle.
    Fine. Quit going on about how much you hate United when you don't have anything to boast about yourself. I think its called jealousy. If you want to do it start a thread about it or something.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Fine. Quit going on about how much you hate United when you don't have anything to boast about yourself. I think its called jealousy. If you want to do it start a thread about it or something.

Shan't.

Fair enough, continue with your jealousy.

Jealousy isn't the root of all hatred, some people inspire it by just being themselves:D

Originally posted by p.pete
    Jealousy isn't the root of all hatred, some people inspire it by just being themselves:D

I agree.

I actually like Man Utd as a team its just some of the fans and one or two players that annoy me.

I dont believe you, Maybe if you could point to a few of your recent positive Utd posts to back up this claim I could be persuaded.

Maybe I don't care what you think :)