Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

English Slagging Us Again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

cheers, will have to put this fella straight. england reserves, whats he like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Christ Smemon I hope you did'nt register just to post that! Get a life (both of you!) :D

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Why should we let them get away with calling us English Reserves. I personally think that's the greatest insult anybody can throw at our country and team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

English asshole's i really though people like him where killed many years ago........Then again he does come from the Isle of Wight its well known they like their own sisters over their

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

English ****s cant wait till Turkey kick their ass

mcCarthy was born in waterford anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Yeah, i can't believe what he said. Fair play to that German lad though, he seems to know a lot about Irish soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Haha, that German guy is coming out with some real classics, "Martin Keown for example who has an Irish dad and was brought up as an Irishman although obviously he got his looks from his English mother".

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Any chance of getting yer man Heinz over to the boards? Good to see someone sticking up for us when there's none of our lads around.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Don't forget to post about England trying to steal Ryan Giggs off Wales. Hargreaves is Canadian too. Sven is Swedish... I'm sure there is more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

cheers, got those points in. we'll make this guy eat his words yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by Big Ears
    mcCarthy was born in waterford anyway.

Er, he was born in Barnsley his dad was from Tallow in west Waterford.

Now then, any other grown-ups fancy attending this thread?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭qwertyup

Owen Welsh too...

/me runs

mCcarthy was born in waterford and moved to barnsley as a baby. it said so in a book i read about him a couple of years back.

I don't believe you, Mike65 picking up for that guy. How could you not get angry from hearing someone calling our national team the english reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Because they are, plain and simple.

he's a traiter lets get him banned :) .

Face the facts big ears, we're nothing more then an English provence.

Sorry to go off topic.

Originally posted by Sangre
    Because they are, plain and simple.
    I hope your being sarcastic?

Why?

Originally posted by Sangre
    Face the facts big ears, we're nothing more then an English provence.

Sorry to go off topic.
    As the last post on the linked thread say's, England may look good on paper but the Irish are better as a whole. The Irish team are all friends with each other but there is so much rivalry in football these day that the English team has portions who don't get along and there are so many new faces being added all the time which is going to effect their performance on the pitch. The Ireland team is more or less the same every game.

if you saw in the other thread here is the scores between the two countries from the last 30 years:

95 IRL 1-0 ENG friendly
    91 ENG 1-1 IRL euro qual
    90 IRL 1-1 ENG euro qual
    90 IRL 1-1 ENG italia 90
    88 IRL 1-0 ENG euro 88
    80 ENG 2-0 IRL euro qual
    78 IRL 1-1 ENG euro qual
    76 ENG 1-1 IRL friendly

Why is there rivalry in the English game and not ours?

Answer: There isn't, they all play in the PL, they all do the exact same thing.

This concept of friendliness and teamwork Irish people spout is a load of bolloxs probably thought up by the same people who conceived 'craic'.

Wishful thinking.

Well if you remember correctly the charity shield. Francis Jeffers(English) got sent off for purposely kicking one of the Neville's (English). They will probably be in the same English team one day which will effect the atmosphere in the training ground etc. That is the only incident that springs to mind but since the majority of the Premier League are English players I'm sure that there was more incidents like this.

The only time I can remember two Irish player puposely going at each other was Roy Keane and Jason McAteer and Keane was retired from international football at the time. I can't actually imagine to Irish internationals fighting on the pitch.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

We're all part of Jackies army...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Its good to see that the Irish representatives on football forums are just as narrow minded as the English.. You think you could have reputed his point with facts, as oppossed to insults... Well done lads, clap clap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

We're all off to win the league...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by qwertyup
    Owen Welsh too...

/me runs

Owen was born in Cherster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by sykeirl
    Owen was born in Cherster.

which brings me nicely to my copy and paste from that forum
    Actually some of chester is in wales.Infact a true fact here.Chester city have one goal in england and one in wales.
    Sounds mad dunnit

thats kind of cool i think. England and Wales could play each other and both sets of fans could stay in their own countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Owen was born in Chester (practically wales) and grew up in the Welsh village of Hawarden.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Giggs has english blood and played for england schoolboys.He chose to play for wales because of his father.

Thats a load of arse. Giggs was born in Cardiff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

yes go slag off the english... then go back to supporting all your english teams

well played.

if you put only half the effort into actually supporting your own game over here ireland would be a better side.
    Well if you remember correctly the charity shield. Francis Jeffers(English) got sent off for purposely kicking one of the Neville's (English). They will probably be in the same English team one day which will effect the atmosphere in the training ground etc. That is the only incident that springs to mind but since the majority of the Premier League are English players I'm sure that there was more incidents like this.

you really think they hold a grudge over 1 game when they have to play alongside each other for country? have you actually played football atall EVER?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

as for this whole -

"my granny took a shìt in a glasgow toilet, am i eligible to play for scotland" stuff..

I hate it with a passion.

Neil Sullivan for example is english, and i dont want him playing for scotland. (an example, although i fully believe in what i say here..)

as for giggs, yeh i remember seeing videos of him playing in a under-18 (or maybe 16 cant remember exactly) england shirt.

Originally posted by Big Chief
    yes go slag off the english... then go back to supporting all your english teams

well played.

if you put only half the effort into actually supporting your own game over here ireland would be a better side.
    The people on these boards were angry at our team being called the England reserves. it was a few English lads on the other boards who felt that they could give our national team such an insult without people replying to their posts. And also, I don't support an English team aswell as a lot of the people on these boards.
    you really think they hold a grudge over 1 game when they have to play alongside each other for country? have you actually played football atall EVER?
    OMG I think you should be asking yourself the same question. The charity Shield was just one incindent I could think of but there are plenty more. There are so many players who go at each other every time they play, many of them two English players. People don't just go and make friends like you did in 1st class. For example, Roy Keane didn't want to pay for Ireland because McCarthy was the manager.

BTW the two Irish incidents I mentioned was Keane and McAteer and Keane and McCarthy, Keane is now retired. I don't think their are any two Irish internationals who would have a fight on the pitch but their are plenty of English who would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Originally posted by eireboy
    BTW the two Irish incidents I mentioned was Keane and McAteer and Keane and McCarthy, Keane is now retired. I don't think their are any two Irish internationals who would have a fight on the pitch but their are plenty of English who would.

Thats not quite true, remember the FA cup semi final a few years ago and Keane was sent off(not the arsenal one), i think it was against Crystal Palace or Aston Villa(cant remember which it was) but keane staqmped all over a player on the ground, well ray houghton was playing that day and after the incident the two of them tore into eachother and both were international team mates at the time.

Originally posted by talla
    Thats not quite true, remember the FA cup semi final a few years ago and Keane was sent off(not the arsenal one), i think it was against Crystal Palace or Aston Villa(cant remember which it was) but keane staqmped all over a player on the ground, well ray houghton was playing that day and after the incident the two of them tore into eachother and both were international team mates at the time.
    Oh, I didn't know that but out of the players today I can't think of two Irish, exluding Roy Keane, who would purposely hurt each other on the pitch. I think Roy Keane is an exeption to everything;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Originally posted by eireboy
    Oh, I didn't know that but out of the players today I can't think of two Irish, exluding Roy Keane, who would purposely hurt each other on the pitch. I think Roy Keane is an exeption to everything;)

Very True :D

Ahh bugger, nobody took the bait on my troll.

Ummm... go ireland and such, and btw, I think those defending the Irish (except the German) are making us looky stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Don't forget to post about England trying to steal Ryan Giggs off Wales. Hargreaves is Canadian too. Sven is Swedish... I'm sure there is more.

John Barnes who the english always forget about.

Originally posted by Dustaz

who would blame them after that horrendous song he brought out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

correct me if im wrong....

but since when was ireland (Rep of) been a "home nation"?? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Originally posted by Dustaz

Terry Butcher was born in Singapore

Let the guy have his little poll. I find myself losing interest in anyone who calls this country 'Eire' anyway so whatever he says about us after that really doesn't merit comment IMHO.

rep of ireland isnt in the uk or britain but it is in the british isles. So i suppose saying ireland is a home nation isnt that incorrect.

Originally posted by Big Ears
    rep of ireland isnt in the uk or britain but it is in the british isles. So i suppose saying ireland is a home nation isnt that incorrect.

no doubting it at all. we are a home nation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭dccarm

I wnodered that too. The republic never played in the original Home Nations matches.