Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Bad is Irish TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Yes it is part of the new Licence fee deal.

Also The BAI = The Broadcasting Authority of Ireland will replace the BCI (Broadcasting commision of Ireland) and the RTE Executive who currently over see Broadcasting issues in Ireland.

€7.50 will be given to programming out side of RTE.
    €5,000,000 altogether.

The Licence is also linked to INFLATION.

for every 1 decent programme over the years you prob have 5 disastors. come on now.

You can pay your licence every month if you want.

Originally posted by Elmo
    Prime Time
    The Clinic
    Batchelor's Walk
    The Panel
    The Late Late Show
    Fair City
    RTE News
    The Den
    True Lives
    Would You Beleive

not forgetting
    About the house
    Ask Anna
    Off the Rails
    The health squad
    Ear to the Ground
    House hunters
    and Read right now.

And most of those independently produced programmes have had to be planned at a time when the licence fee was static or not rising with respect to inflation.

If RTÉ don't continue to improve over the course of the coming years, I'd understand, but in a country of 3.5 million people comparing them to the BBC is not a good comparison, we in Ireland just simply don't have the scale.

mm

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

€7.50 will be given to programming out side of RTE.
    €5,000,000 altogether.

so that leaves around €82,000,000 plus advertising revenue for RTE. They spent €3,000,000 on Premiership Footy so that leaves €79,000,000 + Advertising revenue. Now, if they can't produce some decent TV with that, they really are useless.

Originally posted by LFCFan
    Well, I'm talking about over the history of the RTE. You could probably write a list of 20 excellent shows but a also a list of 200 disasters.
    With respect, you are exaggerating a bit when you mention 200 shows.
    Most TV channels drop shows that don't get good audiences and Most tv channels in an attempt to gain advertising revenue put on what I call "lowest common denominator" TV, thats how they survive.
    The BBC aren't immune to making whopping mistakes in their time too, how much did they waste on El Dorado...

mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i dont want to be seen as defending Telly Bingo

i thought it was the National Lottery who paid for that, besides i could fund that show myself it is done on such a low budget

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    i dont want to be seen as defending Telly Bingo

i thought it was the National Lottery who paid for that, besides i could fund that show myself it is done on such a low budget

Telly Bingo is an embarrassment and I dread to think what foreigners must think of us after watching it. Shirly Temple bar! FFS, it is so bad it's frightning. I don't care how low the budget was, muck like that should not be put on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by Man
    The BBC aren't immune to making whopping mistakes in their time too, how much did they waste on El Dorado...

mm

You keep banging on about the BBC and ITV. Let's reiterate that WE DO NOT PAY ANY MONEY TO WATCH THESE CHANNELS.
    This is a discussion about Irish T.V.; RTE 1, Network 2, TV3 and TG4.
    We're talking value for money
    We're asking
    "Can RTE justify charging every household in the country (not to mention the pubs with 3 or 4 T.V's in each) €150 per year"

I don't believe that we are getting a fair return for €150 p.a.
    RTE have very little original programming themselves.
    They have repeatedly knocked back Irish independants in place of mindless, shock value brain candy.

Most of the time (not all of the time, but most of the time) there is nothing worth watching on RTE.

Let's take the "decorating' programmes that have started up in recent years.
    I've seen most of the ones of different channels both Irish and English. RTE came up with the format long after the rest had done it. But there was twist. There was NO LIMIT to the amount a designer could spend on a kitchen (obviously it was all borrowed but the fact that there wasn't a limit was just dumb)
    You had this FANTASTIC kitchen and the cost was 25,000!!!
    I could design a great kitchen with 25,000!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

TBH, Duncan Stewart and the original "Our House" was around as long if not longer than "Ground Force" or "Changing Rooms"

We dont pay for BBC/ITV, but the British public do for the BBC, and at the last population count, theres a lot more of them that can pay a licence fee than us.

WE DO NOT PAY ANY MONEY TO WATCH THESE CHANNELS.

I thought you had to pay Sky, NTL or Chourus. MMMMMMMM

RTE came up with the format long after the rest had done it

SO, who cares who came up with what first.

Emmerdale is based on RTÉ agri-soaps
    RTE have very little original programming themselves.

Most of Prime Time TV on RTE One is Irish except for Midweek movie and EastEnders.

I think about The House and Beyond The Hall door are both very different from the British versions.

Certainly N2 need to produce more Home Grown Programmes.

You keep banging on about the BBC and ITV

It's funny how you can bang on about how great the BBC are in comparsion to RTE. Double Standards I do beleive.

Originally posted by Kananga
    You keep banging on about the BBC and ITV. Let's reiterate that WE DO NOT PAY ANY MONEY TO WATCH THESE CHANNELS.

Yet RTE is contantly being compared to them, you are not comparing like markets.
    I don't believe that we are getting a fair return for €150 p.a.
    Not everybody will have paid this yet and it's only the first year of this hike, as I said before, how can you expect to see it's fruits instantaneously.
    To even be mentioning that figure in relation to past RTE output takes a lot away from your argument ;)

mm

I thought you had to pay Sky, NTL or Chourus. MMMMMMMM

I'll credit you with more intelligence than that.
    As you will know NTL etc are not responsible for what the BBC show on their channels. Come on.
    Would you complain to NTL if the BBC showed something that offended you? Or RTE? No you wouldn't cos any idiot would know that they're not responsible for what the channels show.
    Get real.
    IIt's funny how you can bang on about how great the BBC are in comparsion to RTE. Double Standards I do beleive.

Where did I say that? Don't tell me what you 'think' I meant Point out where I said the BBC are great in comparison to RTE.
    SO, who cares who came up with what first.
    Emmerdale is based on RTÉ agri-soaps

My point is RTE have little original thinking in their organisation.

- Big Brother
    - That "survivor" series on a desert Island
    - Millionaire
    - Pop Idols or whatever the Irish one is called
    - Friends
    etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc

Most of Prime Time TV on RTE One is Irish except for Midweek movie and EastEnders.

Yeah, Like Derek Davis tonight with Tommy Teirnan on a boat?
    Not something I'll be sitting at the video recorder waiting for.

Hidden History at 2210 looks like an alright series though.

Ah, so its taste then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

I was just wondering who here has only got the Irish channels on there t.v.??

If you have more than the Irish channels then what made you get the extra channels (even if those extra channels were the English ones)??

I am currently in a situation which means that I only have RTE1 and RTE2 on my t.v. I am so sick of repeats. I am so sick of the sh!te which they drum out day after day after day. I am even more furious that money is actually paid for it. Yes there are some few programs which I do like but the rest is really starting to bug me. I do believe there is only so many documentaries that a person can watch. I do find these programs fancinating but so *many* of them is just an overkill.

I have been living like this for 6wks now and my tv watching has been cut down to a minimal (which is a good thing I suppose) but there has been money spent on a tv license and what for?? I am now in the situation where I don't want the tv anymore due to the rubbish which is passed off as acceptible viewing.

Where is my refund is all I can say???

Rgds,
    A.

I'll credit you with more intelligence than that.
    As you will know NTL etc are not responsible for what the BBC show on their channels. Come on.

Excuse me, but if you are paying NTL, you are contributing to the BBC programme fund as NTL pay royalties out of your subscription for to re broadcast their channels.
    Would you complain to NTL if the BBC showed something that offended you? Or RTE? No you wouldn't cos any idiot would know that they're not responsible for what the channels show.

Yes people would complain to NTL, if the BBC suddenly started showing objectionable material.
    I'd imagine if they showed late night uncensored prún for instance they'd be taken off the air here.
    { quite a lot of people would get sky though or put up large aerials :D }
    Yeah, Like Derek Davis tonight with Tommy Teirnan on a boat?

But you see, part of the function of a licence fee is to proiduce special interest or public service programming for an audience that is too small for an advertising market to support.

I thought the friends were still popular by the way , why do you complain about that show??

mm

What I hate is when RTE try to copy another show but with Personalityless presenters. I mean, Celebrity Farm was supposed to be an entertainment show but they got yer one from the Farm show to present it. Why? Just because it was set on a farm. How many brain cells thought that one up. Originality is missing from RTE shows. Why can't they make more programmes like The Family or Paths to Freedom etc. They were great but there's no follow up. Fergus's Wedding was good but we need more consistency.

RTE don't show many repeats except during the day and at night.

Oh and Friends but then the rest of them do that as well.

Why don't you try tuning in TV3 and TG4.

I grew up with only the 2 channels.

I have to say at times it was annoying but most of the time I was happy with them

Annoying when the had an ard fheis on 1 and golf on 2.:mad:

I mean if you only had BBC 1 and 2 it would pretty much be the same.
    Sorry for the comparison.

I mean if you only had BBC 1 and 2 it would pretty much be the same.
    Sorry for the comparison.

This isn't true. There have been plenty of times when the whole night was spent watching stuff on the 2 BBC channels. The same I cannot say for RTE1 and Network 2. I can't remember the last time I watched 2 shows in a row on RTE. They have Eastenders but with no Ads on BBC1 there's no competition (I can live without soaps but I live with my Fiancè so there's no chance of getting away from them). We watch Emmerdale and Corry on TV3.

Paths To Freedom the movie is coming out this month.

I think we all agree that:-

1. RTE need to change.

I would like to see RTÉ One making the in house production i.e. prime time, the news etc.
    I would like N2 to have RTE's IPU commision most of its programming.
    That RTÉ One and N2 have 100% Irish Programming during prime time.

2. TV3 need to change

I don't think any of us want an ITV Ireland which is what it is becoming.

General Irish TV needs change and quick.

Paths To Freedom the movie is coming out this month.

Are you serious?

General Irish TV needs change and quick.

At least we agree on something :)

Yeah its called Spin The Bottle

Originally posted by Man
    To even be mentioning that figure in relation to past RTE output takes a lot away from your argument ;)

mm

Well, to be mentioning monies that TV3 may recieve in the future doesn't do a lot for your own arguments.
    The past is an awful lot easier to see than the future. I am not impressed with RTE's track record in the past. Even before they got the increase in license fees.
    Originally posted by Man
    Excuse me, but if you are paying NTL, you are contributing to the BBC programme fund as NTL pay royalties out of your subscription for to re broadcast their channels.

ah jaysus. Yeah and I bought a McDonalds last week and seeing as McDonalds pay corporation tax to the American government, I am indirectly supporting the war in Iraq.
    Whatever you want, Man. OK NTL are wholly and totally responsible for what the BBC show on TV. Run around the room making the Victory sign and let's get back to the
    "How bad is Irish T.V." thread.

From NTL's website,

If you request the Television Service, we will supply it to the best of our ability. However, television programme contents, packages of channels, programming schedules, broadcast hours of any channel, channel allocations and transmission times may change or channels or television programmes may no longer be available. This may occur for reasons beyond our control, including decisions of programme providers.

Which i would read as "we're not responsible for what the broadcasters do"

more like "We could give a Fu ck".

but when people give out about replacing EuroSport with E4, oh well nothing to do with NTL.

Gone of the topic.

Getting board with the topic. :o

Aye. Is there anything else we can argue about? I think the RTE logo sucks :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by DMC
    Ah, so its taste then.

This is probably what the whole thread comes down to.

Although its hard to ignore such staggeringly stupid statements as :
    WE DO NOT PAY ANY MONEY TO WATCH THESE CHANNELS.

(No we dont, but theres 60 million people who do - were just lucky enough to see it)

and this one almost slipped by
    How much of that 26% is down to the older generation who know no better?

That ones actually insulting. Maybe those people LIKE some of the output? Shocking i know, but not everyone likes the same thing.

Good thing too or we'd all be stuck watching whatever you happen to like.

Originally posted by Dustaz
    That ones actually insulting. Maybe those people LIKE some of the output? Shocking i know, but not everyone likes the same thing.

Good thing too or we'd all be stuck watching whatever you happen to like.

What's wrong with this statement? Parts of Ireland are still living in the past. I know at least 10 households down the country that are very reluctant to get Sky/Chorus, yet they are always giving out about nothing being on. These people make up a big chunk of RTE's 26% market share because they have no choice.

And I'll say it again. I want RTE to be successful. I want a national broadcaster I can be proud of. I'd love if the majority of my viewing was done on the Irish Channels, maybe then I wouldn't have to pay Sky so much in my quest for decent tv. The sad fact is, RTE don't do enough good TV so I am forced to look elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I don't think any of us want an ITV Ireland which is what it is becoming.

Why not? They evidently have viewing figures which support their existence so quite a few people out there are perfectly happy with TV3 and it's output. When people stop liking, and watching it, in sufficient numbers - maybe they'll change - but until then just because you don't like what they show, it doesn't mean they should not show it.

I am not impressed with RTE's track record in the past. Even before they got the increase in license fees.

Well why didn't you say that then instead of trying to say that the €150 fee was what you paid for past output.
    The licence fee was kept at a static rate for quite some time without any rise at all.
    And in the meantime worldwide advertising spends were constricted for a time post 9-11.
    This would have had a double whammy on RTÉ'S budget considering at the same time TV3 was competing in the pool and new entrants Sky one and Sky news came along to take Irish advertising.
    Well, to be mentioning monies that TV3 may recieve in the future doesn't do a lot for your own arguments.
    I only mentioned that when you were talking about RTÉ exclusively having the €150 licence fee.
    I was correcting you and asking you to get your facts straight.
    I'd say that was helping my argument quite a lot actually au contraire!
    Indeed it was a point of information to you as you didn't seem to know that fact:rolleyes:
    ah jaysus. Yeah and I bought a McDonalds last week and seeing as McDonalds pay corporation tax to the American government, I am indirectly supporting the war in Iraq.

Well the fact of the matter is, your subscription to NTL reflects what they have to pay to the stations that they carry. You are funding that directly as you are paying NTL to provide the channels for you, they wouldn't be able to provide them if they didn't pay part of their subscription in royalties to the UK tv companies.

The same is true of Sky digital subscriptions.
    You are therefore if you are an NTL customer contributing to the programme funds of the BBC, ITV and Ch4 and your assertion in that case that you aren't paying for them is void.

Run around the room making the Victory sign

I will do no such thing, but I will continue to inform and clarify matters where necessary ;)

mm

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I think some people here are confusing their view of a good or bad program or channel with what are successful programs and channels or required programs for our national broadcaster.

Still on the topic of who pays what....

NTL and Chrous, to carry BBC/ITV/Ch4 etc. need to pay those broadcasters royalties in order to show their channels.

For instance, NTL pay BBC Worldwide (their commercial arm) for the rights to BBC 1 and BBC 2 (on digital BBC World) This is collected per customer as part of your annual subscription.

Originally posted by Man
    Well why didn't you say that then instead of trying to say that the €150 fee was what you paid for past output.

Please quote where I said that the €150 has paid for content previous to when the license fee was increased to €150.

Originally posted by Man
    I only mentioned that when you were talking about RTÉ exclusively having the €150 licence fee.
    I was correcting you and asking you to get your facts straight.
    I'd say that was helping my argument quite a lot actually au contraire!
    Indeed it was a point of information to you as you didn't seem to know that fact

And RTE DO have exclusive rights to the €150 T.V. license.
    TV3 may be offered a portion of it in the future but, at present, right now, TV3 do not receive any payments from the license fee.

Your original statement was;

"Ok this year a proportion of the €150 is going to independent radio and TV3"

This statement is incorrect insofar as they are not currently getting any money from the T.V. license.
    Therefore, RTE currently receives all the monies collected from T.V. license fees.
    Therefore, consumers are not in a position to dictate what TV3 show until they do get a proportion of the license fee. FACT.

What does the fact that TV3 MAY be offered part of the license fee IN THE FUTURE have to do with the CURRENT content on RTE?

If you can show me some verifiable evidence that TV3 are getting some of the license fee AT PRESENT, then I will fully retract what I have said.

And to clear up the "we're paying the BCC and ITV"
    We pay to recieve the programs via NTL or whatever. We do not pay for the content.
    Incontrast, we PAY, with the license fee, for the CONTENT on RTE.
    We pay NTL 204 euro p.a. (the basic one cost 17 p.m.) to receive RTE1, Network2, TV3, TG4, BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Channel 4, E4, Sky 1,Sky News, Discovery and CNN.
    So my 17 euro pays for the content on this channels? I don't think so. the 17 euro I pay NTL is purely the fee to actually recieve those channels.

If it was for content then the difference between what we pay RTE for 3 channels plus radio (€150) and what we pay NTL for 13 channels (€17) is substantial.

TV3 may be offered a portion of it in the future but, at present, right now, TV3 do not receive any payments from the license fee.

No RTE do not have exclusive rights to the €150 T.V license (It should not be call this because it really is a Radio, TV, etc licence).
    as the new rule applies to the new increase in the licence fee which has only now become €150, previously RTE had full exclusive rights to the licence.

TV3 may not bid to get any of the licence. (If they choose)
    TV3 may not be awarded any of the licence. (If they bid)
    But some one will get that amount of money.

The allocation of the €5,000,000 will also be available for Independent Radio.

I think that TG4 maybe able to get some of this money.
    If it was for content then the difference between what we pay RTE for 3 channels plus radio (€150) and what we pay NTL for 13 channels (€17) is substantial.

170 you mean.

You pay NTL for 9 British channels, they are required by law to carry the 4 irish channels.

You do not pay RTE for 3 TV channels only 2. RTE provide 6,000,000 to TG4 but TG4 also receives money from the exchequre worth 26,000,000 euro. Plus a small amount of advertising revenue.

You pay RTE for:-

RTE ONE
    N2
    RADIO 1
    2FM
    LYRIC FM
    RNAG
    NCO
    SCO
    COR NA NOG
    RTE BROADCASTING FACILITIES
    Why not? They evidently have viewing figures which support their existence so quite a few people out there are perfectly happy with TV3 and it's output.

Because it does not add choice to the channels already available. I don't like the fact that I can see Coro St., Emmerdale, Cold Feet, Heartbeat, Prime Suspect on two channels at the same time if I want ITV I will get NTL.

These programmes do not
    TV3's aim is to tap the qualities of community pride, independence, creative talent, humor and determination that are a vital part of Irish society, and, in so doing, to bring to its audience a full representation of life in Ireland and of its interaction with the rest of the world.
    Now do they.
    When people stop liking, and watching it, in sufficient numbers - maybe they'll change - but until then just because you don't like what they show, it doesn't mean they should not show it.

You can apply this attitude to RTE.

It should not be call this because it really is a Radio, TV, etc

But if you don't own a TV and only a Radio, you don't have to pay the license fee so yes, it should be called a TV license.

So should the TV licence just go towards TV?

That's not the point. It's called a TV License in that you need a license to own a TV. You do not need a license to own a radio.

But why should people who do not listen to the radio pay for it?

I mean that would be my consumer issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I don't like..

Ah yes, you don't like. We'll don't watch. As a purely commercial venture TV3 can show what they like, when they like. By not watching, you're not supporting them. If people don't support them in sufficent numbers then they will chance, but until then you've had your say in the process by not viewing the channel.

But why should people who do not listen to the radio pay for it?

I mean that would be my consumer issue.

trying to enforce a Radio license would be impossible so they just lump it in with the TV license. I don't agree with €150 for the license anyway. I would gladly pay it though if I thought the money was being put to good use.

Buffy Boy in what context did I say, I Don't like. Please fully quote me.

I don't like the way that TV3 has nothing to do with Ireland in any shape or form. (Not even their waste of money on the dunphy show gives them that).

TV3 is an Irish channel not a West Brit Channel.

It seem to think that we are just another part of the UK which we are not. They have not shown any kind of attempt at competing with RTE. and this is one of the reasons that RTE have not change because they are still competing with British TV.

I don't mind TV3 beening a commerical venture, but to make little Prime Time TV is riduculus.

TV3 have it easy. Too easy.

Buffy Boy in what context did I say, I Don't like. Please fully quote me.

I don't like the way that TV3 has nothing to do with Ireland in any shape or form. (Not even their waste of money on the dunphy show gives them that).

TV3 is an Irish channel not a West Brit Channel.

It seem to think that we are just another part of the UK which we are not. They have not shown any kind of attempt at competing with RTE. and this is one of the reasons that RTE have not change because they are still competing with British TV.

I don't mind TV3 beening a commerical venture, but to make little Prime Time TV is riduculus.

TV3 have it easy. Too easy.

Unfortunatly, in this day and age TV stations put a lot of crap on because for some strange reason people love these crap shows like Pop Idol and Big Brother etc etc. As long as they continue to get the viewing figures they need the likes of TV3 will continue to show rubbish. Like you've said, if people stop watching TV3 would be forced to change. Can't see it happening anytime soon though.

I don't agree with €150 for the license anyway.

LFC if we didn't have the License fee we would have to put up with the crap that is TV3 on all 4 channels.

I think that the TV licence is put to too much use over a too wide a spectrum of media.

As long as they continue to get the viewing figures they need the likes of TV3 will continue to show rubbish.

I wouldn't mind if TV3 made any of these shows but they dont, they just import them.

LFC if we didn't have the License fee we would have to put up with the crap that is TV3 on all 4 channels.

I think that the TV licence is put to too much use over a too wide a spectrum of media.

But we put up with a lot of crap on all 4 stations anyway.

Anyway, it's not that I don't agree with a license fee in general, it's that I'm not happy with what is done with the money. You're right though, it is spread way too thinly and RTE are forced into making too many PSB programmes etc. There should probably be a complete overhaul of how the money is spent. Maybe a seperate channel for PSB only that could be given a percentage of the fee so RTE could concentrate more on decent programming.

I wouldn't mind if TV3 made any of these shows but they dont, they just import them.

They're a business and they need to make a profit. Buying in cheap imports works out better for them than making their own. I hate TV3 for this. Like I've said, I'm sick of all the ads for weepy bargain basement crap they buy from the States.

TV could easily get viewers with cheep shows made in Ireland.

Just as many viewers as they get for their US output.

In fairness they have Malcolm In The Middle.

US output only gets to a high of 150,000 viewers on TV3.

Same on N2.

Just as many viewers as they get for their US output.

that's the point though. They buy cheap crap from America and get just as many viewers as they would if they actually commissioned some of their own programmes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

As there is every tuesday night on RTE2 there were two nature programs (the documentaries which I spoke of earlier) last night and guess what the first one was on?? sharks (again). They have showed very similar documentaries in the last couple of weeks. I think I've watched 3 doc's relating to sharks and 2-3 relating to snakes in a last few weeks, iirc. Now if they insist on showing these documentaries could they not vary it a bit?? It's just a small thing surely.

Just my two cense,

A.

Yes N2 schedule has gone to **** lately.

e.g. N2 wild every night at 8.
    e.g. The Practice removed every second saturday, what have they done with this show
    e.g. Father Ted, Friends at 9 every week day, thus you have show coming on later then they should be on especially the Thursday movie which is interupted by the News on Two.
    I mean if they didn't show friends at 9 on a thursday and started the movie at 9 they wouldn't have to interupt it with the News.

Thats whats annoying me about RTÉ at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

I object with a passion about having to pay a licence fee to RTE. They are truly a shambles of an organisation and I am so thankful for being able to see BBC and C4 when I was growing up. The amount of quality programs both these channels have put out is staggering. I know the BBC have get a hell of alot more income from there licence fee's but they have to pay out more as well.

C4 has a much smaller budget compaired to the BBC and make RTE look like a bunch of drunks messing around with a hand held video cam.

One only has to look at some of the Irish talent that feel they need to move to the UK as they will never get a decent carieer in RTE as they not a Byrne, Kenny or Ryan.

As for the people ragging on TV3, just think if RTE werent allowed to show adverts seeing as they have the licence fee, how much better TV3 would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭youdecide

I love irish tv, its very good. look at all the **** on french and english tv.
    THE CLINIC on RTE is really good. Psycho Fiona!

Please quote where I said that the €150 has paid for content previous to when the license fee was increased to €150.
    Certainly.
    You said here :
    Purely because we pay €150 euro each year, which is a substantial amount of money, and we're shown drivel in return.
    I pointed out that the €150 is this years licence fee,all of which hasn't been collected yet. you are saying there that , we paid €150 each year for what has been served up to date.
    When clearly any programmes that extra income might contribute towards have not been shown yet.
    You cannot suggest that programmes that have not been aired are drivel.

Incorrect as Elmo has pointed out.
    If you can show me some verifiable evidence that TV3 are getting some of the license fee AT PRESENT, then I will fully retract what I have said.
    Certainly have a read here .
    Five percent of the net proceeds from the new fee (€7 approx) is to be ring fenced as a special broadcasting fund for new, additional, innovative content, from which all free-to-air broadcasters (independent broadcasters licensed by the BCI and RTE, with special emphasis given to locally based community broadcasters), can draw. This fund is expected to amount to approximately €8 million annually.

TV3 can participate, but if they don't the money is available for other broadcasters rather than RTÉ.

mm