Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deirdre O'Kane

• 05-11-2003 6:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

Who loves Deirdre, she os one of the funniest people in ireland.:cool: :):p

who is the funniest 12 votes

Deirdre O'Kane
    0% 0 votes
    Ed Byrne
    16% 2 votes
    Tommy Teirnan
    83% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

no shes bloddy awful ..never liked her and even her voice goes through my head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭youdecide

Jesus how could you not love her, she is so funny. Did anyone see her in Vicar street? She is really funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭robo

Can we have more options please, so that maybe we can find out who is the funniest Irish comedian at the moment poll?

ye tell me some more and ill type em out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Well id say graham norton but hes not in ireland... he's a funny guy and makes money from moving out of this non profit hole. Anyone who's any good moves 2 england/usa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

ed byrne gets my vote on the above poll

but v good comedians are brendan o'carroll (tho some of his jokes do tend to get repeted in his shows)

and Ardal O'Hanlon is quite funny aswell ive seen one or two stand up shows and he is very funny aswell

and of course grahame norton he's class too

ye jesus i forgot about ardal, he is really funny. He really made Father ted good!

Does Graham Norton write his own jokes, he looks like he reads them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

yeah of the three options definitly ed beirne, but teirnan comes a very close second, ye forgotten bout dylan moran tho?

Who is Dylan Moran,( Sorry im from the country!!)

I think this may be Deirdre herself... Youdecide, I have to say Deirdre would even make Ireland top 10

Im funnier than deirdre, a dead cat on the side of the road is funnier than her and better looking too !

not in any order all these people are much better than yer wan

ardal o hanlan
    Jimeoin
    Barry from batchelors walk..I knwo hes just an actor but a funny one
    pauleen McGlynn
    barry murphy
    that fella from black books
    partick mcdonnell
    des bishop
    Billy connelly..I wish he was Irish then we truly would be the funniest people in the word ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

Originally posted by Alany
    that fella from black books

dylan moran.....:rolleyes:

No im not deirdre, but i agree with you, Barry is very funny!

Alany, thats a nice long list...Billy, sure he has been on the Late Late Show more than anyone else, so we can add him there as an honoury Irish comedian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Billy connelly..I wish he was Irish then we truly would be the funniest people in the word ever

PFFFFFFFFFT you cant even get a list to 10! Funniest people when it comes to englishman scottishman irishman jokes but cmon... less of the patriotic bs

Lighten Up Kold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

Originally posted by Alany
    Im funnier than deirdre, a dead cat on the side of the road is funnier than her

Agreed! If there was a race for unfunny females she would run a close second to Fiona Looney (her what's on The Panel)

As for other comedians:-

Ardal O'Hanlon (Excellent)
    Tommy Tiernan (Ditto, although his stuff does tend to get repeated)
    Jason Byrne
    Does Denis Leary count, he's half Irish and all that?

ye i think Dennis counts. Hes good

Kold I can list over 20 funneh irish people

I can prolly list more..

Kold i can list more than

List the twenty if you can. We should support the irish talent!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

My 20 Best Standups (and by stand up I exclude TV shows and acting) weighted best first but not actually in order:

Tommy Tiernan
    Dylan Moran
    Ed Byrne
    Barry Murphy (top 5 for Gunther Grun alone)
    Ardal O Hanlon
    Des Bishop
    Apres Match
    Dara O'Briain
    Jason Byrne (only live and avoid the front seats)
    Colin Murphy
    Paddy Courtney
    Reuben (Mime Artist, brilliant)
    David O'Doherty
    Karl Spain
    Mark Doherty
    Neil Delamere
    Joe Rooney
    Eddie Bannon
    John Henderson
    Brendan Dempsey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

Dylan Moran and Tommy Tiernan are the only Irish standup people that I find really funny, the rest of them are pretty woeful if you ask me. Jason Byrne? I can't claim to have ever seen a standup show of his but that show he had on RTE a while back made me f*cking nauseous. Brendan O'Connor from Don't Feed The Gondolas is probably the funniest Irish comic I've seen though, even if he is totally up his own hole :)

oh ye Brendan O Connor was ****in brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by Littletinyman
    Jason Byrne? I can't claim to have ever seen a standup show of his but that show he had on RTE a while back made me f*cking nauseous.

Yeeesss.... see, thats why the part of my post says stand up and excluding TV shows. Which makes your point in a less elaborate maner.

Jason Byrne does a pretty good sand up show, its generally 90% ad-libbed and the material pretty much centres around anyone unlucky enough to be sitting in the first two rows....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Bertie Ahern T.D. is da breast, because you left out my townie; Conal Gallen !.

P.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭shurl

Hmm, tis a toss between Tommy and Ed.

Theres something about Deirdre O' Kanes voice that wrecks my head.

Nih, going for Tommy. His Navan show was good.

S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

God Deirdre O'Kane is fucking shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Deirdre O'Kane is not funny. Her voice also drills through my head.

To be honest I can rarely watch an Irish stand-up comedian without feeling some sort of projection of embarrassment, although Ed Byrne can come out with a few gems.

why does everyone hate deirdres voice. I think its very irish!

Deirdre tries to hard to be like Pauline McLynn when she did Mrs Doyle! But Deirdre's voice is more annoying!