Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What ya reckon

• 27-09-1999 1:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Dev says I can go, but at my "own risk". So what do you ppl think I should do, If you don't want me to arrive, fine I'll not bother. Am I welcome there?
    Div

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

You have two chances of being welcome there, slim and fat, and slim just got started into that big plate of cream buns.

So then, that would be a "no".

Remember a while back the petition to have you put offline? Remember all the people who willingly signed that, giving real names and email addresses? Well, they'll all be there. And I very much doubt that any minds have changed recently.

[This message has been edited by Shinji (edited 27-09-99).]

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

you can go if you want.
    its an open event and should be open to all.
    just try to stay away from everyone that you have 'relations' problem with..which just happens to be most ppl by the looks of things.
    just stay quiet and play a bit of quake and apologise to everyone you meet, even if you dont know who they are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Ho ho ho!
    You should go Daa, bring some 'o yer boyyz along and yill be fuine.
    Just look out for the dirty, fat, rejects with the tinfoil axes, cuz there after you...
    Anyways I think everyone will be looking out for cobra so they can shmack him around for being such a gimp.

Ho ho ho!

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

I'll spend the entire weekend on whats probably the greatest Quake mod ever ...

Kicking you from every Server..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Hold on a minute here.

As I recall, Daa was at the last QP, and if memory serves right, there wasn't a peep from him all weekend. He then scampers back to the safety of his own PC in Ennis, and, over the following year, manages to set new lows in deviant social behaviour. The message that allowing him to attend this year is:

"You can do what you want, to anyone you want, and we'll still let you come to organised events, because we're sure you'll behave."

I have no particular problem with Daa attending QPII, but don't expect to be let plug into the LAN there. He can play against Frogbots for the whole weekend, or rediscover the joys of singleplayer for all I care. He can just watch if he wants to. But if I, and I know at least a dozen or two others who would wholeheartedly agree, have absolutely ANYTHING to do with it at all, he will not get NEAR a server. Funnily enough, I might just mysteriously get admin smile.gif.

In short, you can come, but you can't play. You asked, and that's what I reckon, Mr. dhehir.

Hail To The King, Baby.

Ja-(not a hope in hell)-den.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Hecate

The question is daa; do YOU think it would be in the intrest of your continuing physical well being to turn up at QP this year?

I've never had any problems with you personally, but judging from the opinions of most people around here, staying as far away from Croke park as possible after the 23rd of October would be a good idea smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Vorosha

I don't care either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

Dont bother me neither....i'll be at the bar.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Personally I believe that everyone owns their own words and there comes a time when they come home to roost.

You know I believe this as I've made it clear on several occasions.

Daaa is allowed to come to QP. He may not be welcome, thats a different thing. But wouldnt it be nice to bring it all home to Mr Hehir that we are thoroughly sick and tired of his immature childish sh|te.
    I for one would take a brief moment out from owning you all on CA to tell him exactly how I felt.

By the end of the weekend Daaaa would be one traumatized little boy from all the negativity flung his way.

Theres a saying about your pigeons coming home to roost and daaaa's got a whole flock of them.

DeV.

[This message has been edited by DeVore (edited 27-09-99).]

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ste

I'd personally luv to see my good buddy good pal dave come along

lets be honest loike no1's gonna go near the led (he's as hard as brass) and he'll bring joy to myself and my pals with his intense humour and wholey prolific personality

i know yall come along davey, stay in ur aunties and head down this direction for a bita craic shure boyo.

1 for davey boyo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I don't care either way....can't see anyone touching davey tho' tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Personally I couldn't give a toss as I won't be there.

When he was at QP he was really quiet and well behaved, but then again he hadn't managed to p1ss off so many people. Even if no one starts on Daa it will certainly be a wakeup call for him.

Tell you one thing, I wouldn't let him near a machine I owned.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

lads lads lads.
    since the servers there will be other peoples machines i dont think you have the right to kick anyone from a server.
    also i dont think anyone can ban anyone from a public event. as qp2 is officially part of gealcon (i assume its the same situation as last year) then its open too any member of the public. without exception.
    if someone acts the bolix in there then they can be thrown out.
    as for 'admins' and stuff, i think if anyone acts the muppet someone will stand up and shout accross the floor at the offender. there is no need for admins.

im neither in favour of daa attending or staying away. he used my pc last year and was not a bother.
    but i dont think anyone (with the exception of the organsiors) has the right to ban someone or keep htem off the lan.
    if you dont want someone playing, then dont let them near your pc, or just dont go onto the same server as that person.

theres no need to get facist about who can go or not.
    like i said at the end of the day its up to the individual and if they feel comfortable in a room of 100 people who dont really like them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

And not everyone there 'hates' daa....i for one have to problem with the lad.

HeH poor Daa.I dont realy want him to go because i will then have to stop smoking everybody on CA and hold my brother back from killing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dhehir

C him there so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dhehir

Here, I'm gonna say it. Don't be licking the ops arses, and trying to stick with da bunch. I haven't even had arguments with some of you but you're being influenced so easily by the others in higher ranks of authority through the games scene who I HAVE had encounters with. The only reason I am in so much trouble is 'cos I slagged and ****ed off some admins and had a few arguments which would have been passed off if I were anybody else. I'm gonna have guts and I'm gonna show up there, If I get the **** baten outta me, or murdered at least I WENT. I have stepped over the line on many occasions, and said things in the heat of battle which I wouldn't mean. EVERYBODY DOES. Most of my pranks and jokes are not meant to abuse, but get dreadfully out of hand and people take them up wrong, and before I know it I am having a raging argument or slagging someone. I AM SORRY, BUT I SHOULDN'T BOTHER YOU. If I knew you people individually you wouldn't take much notice of the abusiveness I might have projected towards you. I REALLY DIDN'T MEAN MUCH (if any) AT ALL. I posted this while sitting down thinking about whether to go or not, and I just flipped and said what da hell, let them know what I really think.

IF IT MEANS ANYTHING - Daa yar soundest buddy who you mis-interprate must of the time

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You're right daaa you dont mean any harm you are just the kind of dick who gets a laff out of abusing other people. To you its funny. Thats why I want to see you there, cos you are a coward who wouldnt say those things to peoples faces if you werent hiding behind an ip no.

WWMan says:
    "also i dont think anyone can ban anyone from a public event. as qp2 is officially part of
    gealcon (i assume its the same situation as last year) then its open too any member of
    the public. without exception."

Not quite true, we have banned trouble makers in the past but daaa doesnt fall into that category as far as QP is concerned.

"if someone acts the bolix in there then they can be thrown out."

The same rules apply as last year. I'm not being fascist but you can see the potential for some ******* to **** things up for others.
    If I see ANYONE messing with the computer of another person, messing, running recklessly, acting the knob. I wont do a thing about it.

We have security guards 24 hrs a day in the place. They are paid to not argue with you.
    They will just eject you forcibly.

I will be nowhere to be seen if that happens.

It didnt happen last year at all and I'm hoping everyone is as intelligent this year. Theres a great lan being planned, we should all just enjoy it. If one person causes a blemish on the fun to be had those days, I will take the greater good of the many into account.

Admins will be set up on the machines, Slosh will be organising them. I will, for reasons I cant even fathom myself, petition slosh to allow daaa a period of grace during the weekend.

If its abused I will take it more then personally.

This is all horribly fascist and NOT what qp is about. Anyone there last year will tell you and from now on I am not commenting on this topic to concentrate on more positive elements.

DeV.
    www.spinsol.com/qp

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Right so heres my opinion.

Everyone is wimpering about Daa and his antics and asking for his accounts to be removed, his parents to be contacted etc. and then the first lan comes around and its the "lets not be facists" bullsh!t.

Basic and simple I do not think he should be allowed in. If he is I will leave and I will expect a full refund of my entrance fee. This is typical, the only message we'll be sending out is you can act the maggot and when a lan comes around you'll be let back in. I do not care if he sits in the corner by himself I remember the crap he pulled earlier this year towards Adra and others in the Quake Community, if he's banned from the Servers he should be banned from the lan.

Gandalf.

www.gibworld.com/gandalf gandalf@gibworld.com

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

Sorry Dev, I have to disagree with some of this and I really don't want to pish you off.

Since quaknet started I have saw many a log and listened too many people complaining on irc about his antics. I can go on and on about this.

I personally don't have a problem with the little lad. But as a whole, I would consider that if Daa and Daa like troublemakers went to QPII it would be like saying 'sure, you'll behave there' but when their gone, they'll be the same abusive person.

I know I have to put up with that kinda sh1te on irc and I dont see why I have to put up with it at a lan.

Sure, what the hell, invite pee-wee and all the other plonkers who got out of hand. I cannot see myself going to QP2 and if he arrives you will be getting those nice guards to escort me from the building because of the sh1te I will create.

I cannot be part of the message - 'sure p1sh on people with your emails, irc crap, but its ok to come along to a community event'

Again Tom, apologies, but I cannot be two faced.

[This message has been edited by MindPhuck (edited 27-09-99).]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I'm caught between a rock and a hard place here, so bear with me.

I love LANs. Where you're stuck out in the high ping sticks like me, the idea of playing for three whole days with a sub 20 ping and no disconnects, is like Christmas come early. There you are, stuffed into a room, crowded with other Quake players. People, whom unlike most of your other friends, understand the compulsion that drew you there. People who know the strange obsession to play, and play, and then play more. I've seen guys at LANs, play for so long, that they've fallen asleep still holding onto the mouse, and I know why. It is something we all share. I can't really fathom why I am this way, after all, it's only a game.

What gauls me here, is that I have a chance to revel in an overload of Quake, and I have to share that with some dysfunctional little turd. The kind of snotty nosed insolent that thinks a half ar$ed "I'm sorry" makes it all OK. I don't believe he's sorry. I don't even believe he's capable of being sorry. I can't pretend that he hasn't been the sinister little **** that he has been, and just sit down and play away, as if nothings wrong. On this, I have to agree with Gan and MP. He doesn't deserve to be let participate in an event like this.

However, I would like to see him there, even if he just sticks his head in for a minute. For that minute, I would take time out from pasting Tom all over that CA server, and remind him, face to face (when he can't hide behind his dial-up), of just how small he really is. You won't be touched at QPII Daa, I'll actually make sure of that. I wouldn't let a fellow Quaker (even a Q2 player), demean himself, or the event, by wasting valuable calories pounding you into the ground. The kind of treatment you'll get at QP if you go, will be far worse than that. I don't think you'll play at QP, and I'd be suprised if you showed up. Believe me, you're better off hiding in Ennis, where it's safe.

Hail To the King, Baby.

Jaden.

Jaden,
    as far as CA goes, you may have disappeared up your own ass so fast that you are giving Stephen Hawking a headache...but in this respect you are bang on and its people like you who make me want to do QP.

I dont need this worry so I'd appreciate people gritting their teeth if they cant stand being in the same room as daa...

... anyway, someone (I wont mention who smile.gif ) has given me a cunning plan.
    A plan so cunning you could put a tail on it and call it a fox!

I swear I'll not only have gand and adra and all the others AND daaa in the same room, but I'll see to it that they PAY for the pleasure....gand will BEG me for five more minutes smile.gif

Curious, well you'll just have to book your spot....and believe me, book early!

=:^>

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Sonic

damn bandi ul email want.....to.....mail...now...b4.....its.....too...late....grrrrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Is 'baten' actually a word?? smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

its simple imo.

Daa come - Many people upset.

Daa no come - No one upset.

Just ban the fu(king (unt and be done with it.

Period.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Chaos

i sense somthing like a big daa embarisment or soemthing biggrin.gif

www.gibworld.com/chaos
    DK 0wns U

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

I personally would love to see that icon of Irish gaming appear smile.gif
    I reckon it would be loads of fun heh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

Let Daa come if he wants, I presume he understands that there are a few people who will probably lose the rag with him, not me I don't give a sh!t, but he'll be kinda stupid if he does turn up in my opinion. I doubt anybody expecting a guaranteed slap is stupid enough to go.

Zero.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭juNkie

I want Chrome to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Bunny

Yah you should go daa...sure people are usually different online than they are "in real life"