Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Funniest F*ck Up In English Football

• 11-11-2003 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭

The current shambles at Leeds ensures I start every day with a smile.

Which of these always cracks a grin on yer face?

Which is the funniest? 53 votes

Leeds - Champions League contenders to Nationwide League in 2 seasons with unfathomable debts
    0% 0 votes
    Liverpool losing the league on the last day against the Arse
    41% 22 votes
    Arsenal in the Champions League
    11% 6 votes
    Brian Clough thumping the fan in the face
    28% 15 votes
    Man U's inablility to beat West Ham, handing Blackburn the league
    18% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Wheres David Dunn's attempted back heal / Trip over .. now that was funny :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

What about Paulo DiCanio's push on the referee!!

or

Roy Keane's swing @ Alan Shearer .... Shearerlooked like he was about to bawl!!

Damn they were funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

What about :ninja: Cantona?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Gerard Houllier's explanation for Robbie Fowlers cocaine celebration. "He was trying to act like a cow eating grass".

Beat Arsene Wenger any day!

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Gerard Houllier's explanation for Robbie Fowlers cocaine celebration. "He was trying to act like a cow eating grass".

Beat Arsene Wenger any day!

Really serious issues with the whole anti Liverpool stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Fergusons excuse that the players couldn't see each other because of the colour of their shirts when they were beaten 6-3 by Southampton :D

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Really serious issues with the whole anti Liverpool stuff.
    You have some serious issues relating to all of my posts. Just add me to your ignore list if it bothers you that much.

Originally posted by LFCFan
    Fergusons excuse that the players couldn't see each other because of the colour of their shirts when they were beaten 6-3 by Southampton :D
    Wrong! We were beaten 3-1 that day actually. It was the year before we were beaten 6-3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Defeats to Southampton aren't anything to brag about, dear boy :D

You have some serious issues relating to all of my posts. Just add me to your ignore list if it bothers you that much.

Nope, just notice some serious hatred towards Liverpool FC.. Its just a game like... If you cant take someone disputing what you say, you shouldnt post in a public bulletin board...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Originally posted by LFCFan

That has to be the best :D

Wrong! We were beaten 3-1 that day actually. It was the year before we were beaten 6-3.

Sorry for getting the correct defeat to Southampton mixed up. Of course it was the 3-1 defeat. 6-3 probably had just as good an excuse. Wonder does Ferguson have a book of excuses handy when he goes to West Ham and Southampton :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

Nope, just notice some serious hatred towards Liverpool FC.. Its just a game like... If you cant take someone disputing what you say, you shouldnt post in a public bulletin board...

O stop nit picking, he wasnt even giving out about liverpool there he justs aid he thought that excuse was funny. You dont see any Man u fan get all hot and bothered when you slag off ferguson for a comment he actually made. I also happen to think that incident was funny along with a lot of the excuses ferguson makes.

My personal favourite is the sliding tackle by Babb into the goal post, dunno what competition this was in tho ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Not a fùckup but Dennis Laws backheel for ManC to Put Manu into the second division is still hysterical.

Mind you, As an arsenal fan i cant believe Nayim isnt in there. Or Adams dropping Morrow on his arm and breaking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Mind you, As an arsenal fan i cant believe Nayim isnt in there. Or Adams dropping Morrow on his arm and breaking it.

Or losing to both bolton and leeds last season when it looked like you had the title sewn up. It makes me laugh anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Originally posted by The Muppet
    Or losing to both bolton and leeds last season when it looked like you had the title sewn up. It makes me laugh anyway

And the muppet strikes again spewing his crap all over these forums

oh by the way arsenal DREW with bolton. something utd did aswell during last season.
    and the biggest **** up ever was arsenal losing to leeds!!!!

just goes to show how inept u are and u really only post to wind people up

quit while your ahead!

Touchy:D

Look at the list in the Poll Utd drawing with west ham to lose the title is listed are you suggesting then purpose was to wind up Utd supporters?

As a Utd Supporter I Find Arsenals collapse in the run in to last years title as the biggest F*ck up in English Football after all wenger said that the title was theirs and they were going to go the season unbeaten:D

I understand what annoys you about this but thats my choice for biggest F*ck up Whats Yours?:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Originally posted by The Muppet
    Touchy:D

Look at the list in the Poll Utd drawing with west ham to lose the title is listed are you suggesting then purpose was to wind up Utd supporters?

As a Utd Supporter I Find Arsenals collapse in the run in to last years title as the biggest F*ck up in English Football after all wenger said that the title was theirs and they were going to go the season unbeaten:D

I understand what annoys you about this but thats my choice for biggest F*ck up Whats Yours?:D

what u on about liverpool and arsenal are mentioned there aswell

fair enough ur entitled to ur opinion but ur obvioulsy around ten because u cant remember any football pre 1999

and wenger never said the title was thiers and that they would be unbeaten all season

he said that IF they played well (this was last year now) AND kept it up to the end of the season they MIGHT be able to go unbeaten all season!!

see the differnence. if you dont well dont worry secondary school is around the corner. You will learn new words there!!:D :D

the biggest **** up in english football
    well in my opinion its utd being so succesfull in the 90's because they then attracted the biggest dim wits and N00bs around for so called supporters and yes muppet u are included in this group

now lets start the "I supported UTD when i was five when they were $hite thread!!

/*****************************************
    begin>:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

Funny?

Ronnie Rosenthal's smacking the corssbar of an open goal from a few yards out. Classic

Ronaldo(MU v Gers) doing a dozen steps over the ball and then slipping on his arse was a laugh too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

David Dunn tripping over trying to do that bit off skill a few weeks ago and Beckham slipping taking the penalty against turkey then seeing the ad with him kicking a conversion during the half time break, hilarious:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i always laugh thinking about the time when Kevin Keegan went a bit mad in an interview about beating Manchester United to the title on Monday Night Football all those years ago :p:p

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

"I would love it if we beat them, love it"

sorry kev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

Not a fùckup but Dennis Laws backheel for ManC to Put Manu into the second division is still hysterical

then

then
    And the muppet strikes again spewing his crap all over these forums

Who's spewing crap now? Dustaz commented on what he thought was funny, Man u getting relegated by a back heal then Muppet saying he thought it was funny how arsenal just collapsed last season.
    Frankly my dear Jank the two are similar and you are the one spewing crap in this case. people go outta their way to make muppet look like a muppet when a lot of the time he doesnt need your help :p

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    So me quoting Houllier on the Fowler incident was "serious hatred towards Liverpool FC"?!

some of you people seriously need to take some chill pills. As far as I'm concerned a lot of you don't have what it takes to be a footy supporter. The slightest little slagging and you get all offended. I'm a Liverpool supporter and I haven't taken offense to anything said about Liverpool because at the end of the day it's all banter, the life blood of all footy discussions. If you don't like it then you shouldn't bother having footy discussions.

Here Here.

Posted By BK- DZr
    people go outta their way to make muppet look like a muppet when a lot of the time he doesnt need your hel

;):D

So me quoting Houllier on the Fowler incident was "serious hatred towards Liverpool FC"?!

Of course, cause I based my opinion just on that....

Anyway, most of the stuff mentioned so far is pretty pety.. I am now assuming the moral highground :p

Well it wasn't. It was the funniest thing that came to mind when I read this thread. As B-K-Dzr said:
    O stop nit picking, he wasnt even giving out about liverpool there he justs aid he thought that excuse was funny. You dont see any Man u fan get all hot and bothered when you slag off ferguson for a comment he actually made. I also happen to think that incident was funny along with a lot of the excuses ferguson makes.

I can take someone disputing my opinion, with no problem at all. I'm not the one who is getting all worked up about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Girls, break it up there will ye, this is spanning a few threads now so cut it out please.

Funniest moment - the United one where they had like 7 shots in the space of a minute on the west ham goal and still did not score, then allowing Kenny to celebrate winning the league at Anfield even though they had just conceded that goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Laides Ladies Ladies,
    The funniest is defo brian clough giving one of his own fans a slap allmost a punch, i'd pay money to see wegner doing that. It even ended up that the fan he slapped, they meet up and gave clough a kiss on the cheek when clough was ment to be saying sorry.
    Now whois your Daddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Rivaldo WC2002 vs Turkey; collapsing in a heap grabbing his head when he was hit in the leg by the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Serbian

Originally posted by jank
    and wenger never said the title was thiers and that they would be unbeaten all season

he said that IF they played well (this was last year now) AND kept it up to the end of the season they MIGHT be able to go unbeaten all season!!
    You're right there, he didn't say that they would go unbeaten all season.

However, he did say this:

"No-one will finish above us."

http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/g5968.html

08/18/2002. Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has thrown down the Premiership gauntlet by claiming that his team can go through the season unbeaten.

The Gunners won the domestic double last season and were unbeaten away from home in the league, but Wenger feels that his players can create history this season.

He said, "No-one will finish above us. It would not surprise me if we went unbeaten all season. We want to improve on everything."

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    I wonder did it surprise him when they didn,t go unbeaten?

Thats what I consider the Funniest F*ckup in english football . Wenger counting his chickens and going public on it only end up with egg on his face. I doubt he,ll make the same mistake this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I agree, I doubt that he will make the same mistake again, I doubt anybody will finish above them this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Bar possibly chelsea.
    Man U will get 3rd spot imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭DEG viper

nah United will find form after christmas and win the title again, and chelsea will finish 2nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

wrong again flanders(deg viper) united will go on a losing run for the rest of the season and finish 19th just above leeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Funniest?

In 1987 Shamrock Rovers decided it'd be a geat idea to turn their homeground Glenmalure Park into a housing estate and spend the next two decades trapsing around Dublin like interants getting kicked out of one ground after another on an almost annual basis.

The club (much like their supporters) has been a joke ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭SCULLY

Originally posted by B-K-DzR

My personal favourite is the sliding tackle by Babb into the goal post, dunno what competition this was in tho ;)

Might be wrong but I think it was v Chelsea , and wac Caseragi's (sp?) one and only Chelsea goal.

Funniest football memory is Clough walloping then fan though I still get a laugh out of Thomas' last gasp goal v Liverpool (it's up for grabs now!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Rodney Trotter

Funniest F*ck Up In English Football?

Gerard Houllier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭marct

Originally posted by Rodney Trotter
    Funniest F*ck Up In English Football?

Gerard Houllier!

Another insightful and thoughtful contribution from the new soul of these boards...:rolleyes:

Oh, I'm sorry. Did I post something that was wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

No, you posted something that was retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Shaque attack

the biggest f**k up in english football is Gary Neville

And what could that have been?

GH followed in the line of many managers to have f***ed up a club, most notably the leader of f*****g up clubs, Sue Dalglish, who messed up Liverpool, Blackburn, Newcastle and Celtic.

In summary your response is typical of the myopic Liverpool supporters who cannot grasp the reality of what has happened and what is happening to the club. Long may it last, it couldn't happen a nicer shower of t055pots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

NOt so much a fúck up in English football, but this should lighten some of the tension in this thread!It really is fantastic!

CLICKY (1MB)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭marct

GH followed in the line of many managers to have f***ed up a club, most notably the leader of f*****g up clubs, Sue Dalglish, who messed up Liverpool, Blackburn, Newcastle and Celtic.

In summary your response is typical of the myopic Liverpool supporters who cannot grasp the reality of what has happened and what is happening to the club. Long may it last, it couldn't happen a nicer shower of t055pots!

Yawn:o Another one for the ignore list methinks. Run along now dear the adults are talking..BTW didnt Dalglish win the league at Blackburn? Sorry must have been someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Now if you could just think about what you have said for one minute. How can a manger who has guided the club to A Uefa Cup, 2 League Cups, Champions League participation, A second place finish in the Prem be a F*ck up?? What does that say for the rest of the league?

Now seen as how you seem to have a wonderful in-sight into the goings on at anfield why don't you turn your obviously incredible brane power into informing me, and the rest of the "myopic" Liverpool supporters into what is happening at anfield. Or else just STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Here Here

Rodney is indeed a *Flaming* PLONKER ....