Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Call of Duty

• 14-11-2003 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭

I cant believe how little there is about Call of duty going around on here, if any (I didnt see anything). Its a feckin great game, I got the demo in a gaming magazine, dvd gamer. I've already gotten some good reviews by some my friends of the game and I plan to get it soon aswell. Has anyone here even heard of the game?, Does anyone here even play the game, all I know is its out now, I want to get it, and I want to know if any other irish gamers have it. Or to be more specific, any gamers from the boards.

If anyone from here does have it could they possibly post one of their best pics of playing in the game. I have played a pretty good demo but I want a good image from the game so I can put as my desktop wallpaper.

That is if anyone here has the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Theres been at least 2 threads on this in the last week or two one had a good pic of the Stalingrad mission

Its a good game, multiplayer is good fun

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

heres my thread with the stalingrad level screenshot

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=124488

Call of duty seems to be a hit and miss affair with most people in here, i personally like the game a lot, it is a bit short but theres more call of duty to come

cant wait

shin

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭joe90

Its a really good game and i m enjoying it. I like some off the historical battles base around D Day.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

I finished it today, last level in berlin is great but short, thought it was a bit rushed.

But for whats there its bang for the buck

Shin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

ha...shorter than I imagined.

finished it today also...got it Wed night.

prolly shouldn't be pissing about in college...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Originally posted by Kaimera
    ha...shorter than I imagined.

finished it today also...got it Wed night.

prolly shouldn't be pissing about in college...

Go back and play it on the toughest level. Or just go study ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

lol...

have a programming project to start next week....might start CoD 2nite again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Agent7249

Played the dawnville demo, feckin class. Kept playin it over and over, swarms of infantry, that disorientatino thing, oh god, that was cool, i thought i was dead until i looked ta my health meter:D .

Have any of ye played it online?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

One of the best games ive played in quite a while. And i have pretty much all of them.

Multiplayer is not a patch on BF1942 or desert combat.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Installed it over the weekend and went straight into toughest game settings.

Oh man is it something else :D

Currently playing my first mission as part of the British Commando brigade at Pegasus bridge on June 5th/6th :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Nyom.. nice game. I just played through Halo (didn't do much for me) and this is a hell of alot better.

Great atmosphere, mainly thanks to the sound effects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Agent7249

I wonder what it'd be like with surround sound and audigy (latest one 5.1?)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by Agent7249
    I wonder what it'd be like with surround sound and audigy (latest one 5.1?)

I've an audigy platinum and a creative labs 5.1 DTT 3500 set-up. You can practically FEEL the the zing of rounds flying past you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

I liked it. It's a great, great singleplayer game. It's everything MoD should be, but isn't. It's cinematic, great looking, fun, realistic, and great gameplay. I love the first mission, watching gliders being escorted by spitties and tempests, all in their invasion stripes. The fact they're REAL 3d aircraft is great, and they look great, not just some gimick really high in the sky passing really fast. And the flak is beautiful.

But, like MoD, it's just a singleplayer gimmick. Great fun, and far better then any MoD game. But, at the end of the day, you still don't have the unlinear freedom of something like battlefield. Still, a great game, I'm gunna buy as a present for my bro. He loves MoD, so I expect he'll die for this.

.ak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭regeneration

Any good mods or maps being started yet? Any gfood sites? Wouldn't mind seeing if this game gets any good community behind it and some half decent mods...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I don't find the linearity bothers me. It's a fairly old fasioned FPS in many respects with the heavy scripting and lack of exploration but the execution of the design is fantastic.

The atmosphere, the combat and the mission objectives were all excellent. Offline Battlefield is woefully lacking by comparison.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Finished playing it last night and I have to say easily one of the ebst ww2 games I have played. The atmosphear in it was incerdible in certain parts notably the level as the british where you have to hold the bridge and the music that is played for the last 90 seconds really added to it. Also the Stalingrad opening two levels were fantastic. Truely enjoyable game.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Bought it today ...... finished it today [took only a few hours]. Great game i must say for single player, even if it was short. Playing as soviet spooky though. A real spray affair with that pps gun thing. Pegasus bridge level is fantastic with the music. Really emorional music i have to say.

Have 5.1 and Audigy and it is fantastic. All i need is a better graphics card. Though, I ran the game on DirectX 8.1, never installed 9.0b and it still ran grand. Anyone else run it in 8.1?