Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Some advice needed.

• 20-11-2003 11:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭

Hi,
    I am new to astronomy in general, but this years occurances, including the lunar eclipse, mars passing so close to earth and a supposed mateorite crash landing in kerry have got me really interested. I am hereby treating myself to a new telescope for xmas, and i would just like some advice regarding which would be good ones and which ones to avoid. I am thinking about this one in the argos catalog Click Here It is a Tasco 660x Refractor Telescope, and it suits my budget very well. My main area of interest would be the moon and some of the brightest stars in the sky and meteor showers whenever they fall.
    Also if somebody could tell me what would be the book/s to buy regarding astronomy and if they are any astronomy clubs in the kerry region.

Anyway thanking you in advance,

Regards netwhizkid.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

You would be much better off spending your money on a good pair of Binoculars than buying that telescope seriously it will only serve to put you off the hobby as they are really poorly made and not suited to the task at all. My advice get yourself a star atlas and a good pair of binoculars and work your way from there.