Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GalwayLAN8 - Date Check

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Originally posted by KinSlayer
    How about introducing a qualifying round for the competitions?

Was thinking for a desert combat one could run a doubles copetition.
    depending on the numbers have a qualifying round to bring the numbers to a multiple of 8

then pick your team mates and going by their stats from the qualifying round spilt them into groups of 8 so that each group of 8 has 4 teams in it. then work a round robin to find out the winners

So for a 24 person comp

Group A plays Group B
    Group B Plays Group C
    Group C plays Group A

the 2 man team with the highest score of the matches wins

This way people get to play with a person of their choice so its not totally random and you might actually get to sit beside your partner and not have to shout across the room or work in silent.

Thats working on the principal that we actually get 24 people who want to play cs, even if its for the laugh its hard to get more than 16 :(

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

CS Is Dead.
    Long Live NS:Combat.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

...When its eventually released!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭KinSlayer

with Cs you dont need the groups to be as big 4v4v4
    But i think that it wouldnt really work anyway as in cs there is no respawning as there is in a deathmatch game.

It should work for any team deathmatch game though

Also has the advantage that you dont need as many prizes as if you had eight per team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Mistakill

Originally posted by KinSlayer
    Was thinking for a desert combat one could run a doubles copetition.

I didnt see CS written once in that whole post Drake and pretzel

[edit]What about a bit of need for speed underground. i think there was a lan patch released[/edit]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

errr, I'd appreciate it if u called me quetzal tbh, there was no lan patch released, but a couple of people have developed an unnofficial one, which I have, it is a little bit buggy, but hey, it's worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

Why not play GTA Vice City MP on the lan? there's a small download at www.mtavc.com where u can get the MTA Client and Server to run on the lan, it's pretty class and we have to play it.
    Originally posted by quetzal
    errr, I'd appreciate it if u called me quetzal tbh

Don't be so mean to mistakill!

Originally posted by Mistakill
    I didnt see CS written once in that whole post Drake and pretzel

oh, i'm sorry. i just assumd it was cs... that being the only competition at the last lan.
    [edit]What about a bit of need for speed underground. i think there was a lan patch released[/edit]

or alternatively, i can just bring the ps2 version

Drake:thats a good option if we can't get the lan patch workin, but the graphics are much better on the pc, having played it on both ports, I think that the pc is superior in gameplay too. I'll be mean to whoever I want in small portions!and anyways, where was I mean?keh, I'm not gonna start arguin with gangsta and get me banned from another lan :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

how about Desert Combat will ye be playing it
    im carassing my joystick in anticipation :ninja:

ugh, desert combat :(

also quetzal on the sig.. its "could jesus microwave a burrito so hot, that he himself could not eat it"

Originally posted by ARM
    how about Desert Combat will ye be playing it
    im carassing my joystick in anticipation :ninja:

Yeah.
    Definately.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Well I'm all signed up (still gota pay though) and ready and waiting to play DC :D

Yeah, the venue is 100% confirmed etc.
    So if people could start paying into the account:
    From Room101.org:
    Cost Details :
    Please pay into the account as soon as posisble and retain receipt as proof of payment.
    This LAN will hopefully fully finance the first official GalwayLAN server
    €30 if you pay into the bank account before the LAN and show me the reciept
    or
    €35 on the day
    Account details:
    Branch: Bank of Ireland, NUIG
    A/c Number: 29091372
    Sort Code: 90 - 40 - 18
    Name: John Coleman
    Address: Homefarm, Moycullen, Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭vega_AH64

i know where you live now.
    time for some mail bombs.
    ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I move for a motion that all CS will be banned from the LAN. My ears have not recovered from the lans where I must listen to Drake get worked up ;):D

Go to this link.
    Download the game.

It will be played.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=133951

If you really must, you may consider yourselves "Beta Testers" for the Halo-beater of the year ;)

The lan would be **** without CS

hmm, this is hard, but I'm gonna have to actually agree with Drake, I don't like cs as a serious game, but I don't mind playing it for the laugh of playing such a stupid game, Cs is necessary, 3 of the glaners probably wouldn't come if there was no CS, I don't think CS should be played in general, but, I suppose, it's ok at a lan, as long as people don't get "carried away", specially if I play :>.

P.S. CS sucks!

who said no CS?

How was last night Alan? Good hunting?

Do ye want to play 1.5 or 1.6?
    There's a very slim chance that we'll have netaccess, and it'll only be pors 80 and 22, with maybe a tunnel through frink for 6667.

Does steam auth through port80?

no idea how to get steam working on lan, so it'll be stuck on 1.5

plus, quetzal feels the exact same about cs as i do about battlefield, quakeworld, and pretty much every other game we play at the lan.

also, ronan said no cs :D

Well I intend to play a bit of it.

Found out what ports Steam uses.
    It's not good news.
    it'll be v1.5 unless someone (flamegrill?) can give me a shell on an external server to tunnel the ports through.
    They'd be very low bandwidth usage, enough to auth with Steam.

I wonder what the setup is with multiple (~40) auths from one IP?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Just play 1.5. I'm sure alot of people won't have 1.6 and they would have to download the updates when they get it anyway.

Originally posted by SyxPak

I wonder what the setup is with multiple (~40) auths from one IP?

ERROR: STEAM USER ID TICKET HAS EXPIRED.

fuing unbelievable.

Hope ye like battlefield and quake lads :)

v1.5 it is so.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

dunno if this is any use to you or not Alan but here's a link to a hacked version of 1.6.

it doesn't have steam so you can play it on lan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Tyax

I have CS 1.6 Offline Version 3.0 which will work for yee, I am using it at my LAN Dunalk 3. I'm posting it to Sniipe who I believe is going to your LAN, perhaps yee could use that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I've removed myself from room101

I wont be attending this LAN I'm afraid.
    ...and there was much rejoicing...

Got a few PC probs, and I want to get some new hardware in before I attend a LAN again.
    So I've got to start saving now.

I'll pop down on the day with a folder full of discs, if anyone wants anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Nice one Tyax thats really sound of you :)

the lack of people coming to this lan saddens me :(