Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Vs Utd

• 30-11-2003 2:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭

I can't wait for this game and there is a great piece in The Sunday Times today anaylsing the players from each teams, built up to be a classic these games tend to not live up to expectations, The Utd Arse game is a perfect example. I predict a 1-1 draw, but I fear Utd may sneak it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Tough one to call, I can see either winning it. A draw seems fairly likely, but...

2-1 Chelsea maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Won,t be long now. Hope its a good open game. I,m not one for making predictions but this one is too close to call anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

1-0 to the Blues.

Defo penalty.
    Keane didn't make contact with the ball. Prolly should have been booked.

J.Cole should have scored. easy miss.

Chelsea were a bit dodgy at the back with some of them backpasses in the first half.
    Lucky to get away with them.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Final score 1-0.

Chelsea move top with 35 points, Arsenal on 34 and United's 3rd defeat of the season puts them on 31.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

absolutly delighted :D
    good penalty from lampard, Duff's first shot was pretty good too.
    Didnt see much of the rest of it, only really started watching when Duff came on...

Congarst to the Pensioners, close game, but Chelski deserved their 3 points . No problem with the pen. Now that they are in front and 5 to 4 to win the league it will be interesting to see how they handle the pressure and perform over the coming weeks .

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

A superb performance and a great win we stifled Utd,amazingly they didn't have a shot on target should have been more too, Melchiot shot straight at keeper Cole hit over the bar and Frank just wide, they came into it in the last 15 mins but CFC held their own. No doubt about the penno if he had made contact with the ball they would have had a case.
    Terry and Gallas were outstanding.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

fair play chelsea, probably deserved their win in the end. wasnt much between the sides really, both looked comfortable and had a few scraps of chances. cole's being the only clear cut one.

peno- on first glance, i said keano won the the ball, although the replays showd he got none of it. it was a penalty although i dunno how the ref could be 100% certain when he was behind the 2 players.

arsenals slip up today means utd's defeat isnt as costly as it could have been. still tight at the top with the big 3 all neck and neck.

one other thing- ronaldo was superb when he came on. lifted the whole side and got the utd pressure going. great asset to have, impresses me more and more every game. laugh all you want, if your a defender the last thing you want comming at you is quick feet, pace, bags of tricks and a 2 footer. a steal at 12m if you ask me.

Fergie being not very gracious at all, said they were unlucky to lose typical Fergie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

Chelsea deserved it and was a deffo penalty.
    Ronaldo made an impact when he came on but didnt have enough time.
    Forlan was woeful today but none of the front 4 really did much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭SCULLY

Originally posted by smuckers
    Fergie being not very gracious at all, said they were unlucky to lose typical Fergie.

Typical Ferguson reaction - 'Cole wasn't in control of the ball' 'Cole was going away from the goal' -- all of which don't matter if you are brought down in the box. (he also insisted keane got a touch of the ball after seeing the replay, which showed he didn't)

Great performance by CFC- Man Utd weren't great by any means but it is tough to know wheter the fact that they didn't have a shot on target was due to them playing poorly or CFC playing brilliantley. Still another win and clean sheet, and 2 points gain on Arsenal as well - all in all a good afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Agree with all of the above really.. Was defo a penalty and was a very accomplished performance overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I don't agree that Ronaldo lifted United - I thought he was no better than average. What lifted United was Chelsea playing only 1 up front, allowing United unchallenged posession on the halfway line.

This could be the start of a massive decline for United. I dount it, but we can all dream, can't we? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

ronaldo came on and was by far utd's best player bar maybe keane who made a few crunching challenges late on.

the fact chelsea played 1 upfront meant they had 5 in midfield which should have made it more difficult for ronaldo. i just think the lad is class. never before have i seen the skill he has and the pace he does it at.

fergie says he's got youth back into the side and he has too. if roy keane can be replaced utd have a great future. i was looking at the bench today and thinking when was the last time we had such a strong bench even with injuries.

dunno if anyone noticed but crespo and cole did not look too happy coming off. especially crespo. leaving duff out wont go down to well either.

Crespo had an average game bar The Cole move for penno, Duff being left out was a bold move but in the diamond does leave us slighlty vulnerable and people may have also noticed the ommission of Glen Johnson Claudio doesn't want to burn young Glen out and Mario is also used to the big games.
    2-0 would have been a fair reflection of the game as the press will be singling out the penno incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭James R

Originally posted by mr_angry

This could be the start of a massive decline for United. I dount it, but we can all dream, can't we? :p

Nah I disagree. Down the years Utd have tended to get better after Christmas. Remember that run last year?! Plus they'll have Wes Brown, Solskjaer and Scholes back soon. Not to mention any signings in the transfer window.

I just wouldn't write them off yet.

Originally posted by smemon

fergie says he's got youth back into the side and he has too. if roy keane can be replaced utd have a great future. i was looking at the bench today and thinking when was the last time we had such a strong bench even with injuries.

Bollox to that. He bought mid field players over the summer and they are not getting a regular game. Fair enough, it is to be expected with Ronaldo due to his age. When ya have a situation where a left back (P Neville) has played a full season in the centre of midfield aheard of Djemba Djemba and the world cup winner Klieberson, you gotta wonder were the buys a waste of money?

Uniteds midfield today were a joke. Giggs was out of position, Fortune is a squad player at best, Neville is a defender and the only decent mid fielder out there was Keane, who conceeded the penalty and had a few dodgy tackles. They were totally out classed by Chelsea today. Then you think, sure they are hit by injuries. But Scholes is the only first player missing and Ole is a striker who is playing as a right winger... Forlan is back to his normal lark too..

Then you look at the problem with Ferdinand. He is going to get a ban and Sepp Blatter is seemingly gonna push for United to be deducted points over Ferdinand still starting every game.

Not exactly looking good for the future. I say it again, they sold Beckham and Veron and bought no one of even nearly the same quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

i was looking at the bench today and thinking when was the last time we had such a strong bench even with injuries.

Surely that should just hammer home the point - Chelsea's bench was about 50 million times better. Even Arsenal's bench was better, and we're broke, have a load of injuries, and a load of suspensions. Plus our first team is better! :)
    I just wouldn't write them off yet.

I was doing nothing of the sort - just wishing I could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Chelsea were very impressive I must say. It's not very often a team will dominate a game so much against Man Utd.
    Terry and Gallas were rock solid at the back, apart from those early lapses with those slack backpasses, Cuddicni had it covered anyway. 7 consecutive clean sheets says it all really.
    Lampard was excellent. He really did play well and was unlucky not to have gotten a goal from open play. A great penalty too. Keane can have no arguements about it either.
    RVN and Forlan were nowhere. It was as if they werent even on the pitch. Utd really need Paul Scholes back on that pitch.

Kudos to Chelsea, a well earned 3 points, and top of the table.

Then you look at the problem with Ferdinand. He is going to get a ban and Sepp Blatter is seemingly gonna push for United to be deducted points over Ferdinand still starting every game.

How can they get docked points tho? They havent been told not to play him surely?

I feel Man u's squad is very thin. I used to be able to look at the bench and say, hey he dan come on and do the business. Today i thought Ronaldo might do something (and he did more than the others) but theres not really anyone. (likes of Solskjaer)

What Man U really need more than people in mid (i actually believe neville has recently played very well from midfield and thats why he got his place) is a 2nd top notch striker. Atm AF is sticking Giggs behind Van Nistlerooy or as today putting Forlan up front (who lets be honest is a decent player but blows hot and cold). They have very few options up front. Kleberson looks good but its too soon to really know and he aint really a creative player (which they are sorely missing it seems without scholes).

The team is looking the weakest it has done for years imo and when first choice players get injured i dont think they have the quality to replace them. Just my opinion and what i've noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

nothing showed me today that chelsea will win the league
    united made them look OK keane had a terrible 60-70 minutes
    diego was a joke and both defences were dodgey at best

chelsea didn't do anything special and united were terrible....

deffo peno

good luck to them they got their points doesn't mean anything tho....

united for the title again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭James Hunt

Any talk of a United decline is rubbish. When all is said and done about yesterdays game, people will realise that it was a close game, Chelsea may have shaded it, but even then they were hanging on and had to rely on a penalty (it was a penalty) that may not have been given to get their win. If they didn't get that, then the reaction would be totally different (Chelsea don't have it, United are solid etc...) and its still well before Christmas for jaysus sake

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    How can they get docked points tho? They havent been told not to play him surely?

Seemingly UEFA expect him not to have played and that the FA or United should have enforced that. UEFA are worried that a player suspect of purposely avoiding a drug test is allowed to keep playing will make the sport look bad, especially in the area of doping. Think about it, there is a reason he is not being allowed to play internationals.

Originally posted by James Hunt
    Any talk of a United decline is rubbish. When all is said and done about yesterdays game, people will realise that it was a close game, Chelsea may have shaded it, but even then they were hanging on and had to rely on a penalty (it was a penalty) that may not have been given to get their win. If they didn't get that, then the reaction would be totally different (Chelsea don't have it, United are solid etc...) and its still well before Christmas for jaysus sake

To be honest, everyone has been playing up the win a bit too much. However, to say they shaded it is pushing the boat out a bit much. The way united played in the second half reminded me of the way Liverpool player against United in the first half recently. They had buckets of possession but were toothless - 0 shots on target is a worrying stat when Man Utd are involved.

My criticism of P Neville in midfield is not of his performances. Considering he is a left back he has played very well. However, playing him that position and then throwing Fortune into the mix just leaves United very flat and to honest, average. Their attacking options were severely limited yesterday and the Chelsea midfield really did look a cut above. Giggs had an incredibly quiet game as well on the right.. He really should be out on the left where he has proved himself for 10+ years to be one of the very best.

When Ronaldo came on he made a big difference however and it was good to see. I read yesterday that he seemingly refused a random drug testing during the week. Doesnt sound too good either.

Originally posted by JesusThatsGreat
    Seemingly UEFA expect him not to have played and that the FA or United should have enforced that. UEFA are worried that a player suspect of purposely avoiding a drug test is allowed to keep playing will make the sport look bad, especially in the area of doping. Think about it, there is a reason he is not being allowed to play internationals.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3251454.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭James Hunt

To be honest, everyone has been playing up the win a bit too much. However, to say they shaded it is pushing the boat out a bit much. The way united played in the second half reminded me of the way Liverpool player against United in the first half recently. They had buckets of possession but were toothless - 0 shots on target is a worrying stat when Man Utd are involved.

My criticism of P Neville in midfield is not of his performances. Considering he is a left back he has played very well. However, playing him that position and then throwing Fortune into the mix just leaves United very flat and to honest, average. Their attacking options were severely limited yesterday and the Chelsea midfield really did look a cut above. Giggs had an incredibly quiet game as well on the right.. He really should be out on the left where he has proved himself for 10+ years to be one of the very best.

When Ronaldo came on he made a big difference however and it was good to see. I read yesterday that he seemingly refused a random drug testing during the week. Doesnt sound too good either.

Fortune did not play well yesterday, agreed. Phil Neville can hold his own in midfield to be fair, but he is workhorse, nothing more. He has become the No.1 contender since Scholes got injured but he is a poor substitute for The Ginger Prince. United seem to be relying on Keane even more than ever these days.

I take the point about Giggs. When he was tried in the centre on and off over the years, he never really looked great so why on earth he played him on the right, and has done so several times, I can't fathom to be honest.

That drug test refusal is a red herring. The whole Portugal side refused because it wasn't an offical test or some ****e. Its only news because it links with the Rio story at Man Utd.

I disagree with Chelsea shading it, for 75-80 mins were very comfortable and in the last 15 mins we were on the backfoot but Utd still couldn't create anything clear cut.
    Also the team were never pinned back for large periods in comparison to the past.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

All I have to say is well done to Chelsea, they deserved it overall.

Ronaldo and Kleberson should have started. Forlan should be shot.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    All I have to say is well done to Chelsea, they deserved it overall.

Ronaldo and Kleberson should have started. Forlan should be shot.

One word - Dejection :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I think chelsea were just the better side but neither could complain if it was a draw.

I thought it was a penalty but that the contact was quite minimal but the dive was top-notch. But Keane did miss the ball and made contact with the player.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

One word - Dejection :D
    You are used to it by now. I'm not. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Chelsea have beaten United before in the league , it doesn't mean they are gonna go on and win the league .

The league is always won in the run-in .
    That will be the key period , United have had disastrous runs in Oct/Nov in previous seasons and have still won the league .
    With that said they have not got the strength in depth they used to have , I think there will be one or two brought in in January , probably Defoe and I'd love to see Van Der Varrt , he's an excellent player.

Being a United fan I still fear Arsenal alot more than any other side. I'd love to see Fulham grap the 4th spot , Coleman's doing a great job even though he did inherit a pretty good squad .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Gallas , Makelele and Terry did a great job of protecting the chelsea box. With Giggs out of position for some reason he was very ineffectual , keane got pushed further back but more importantly chelsea kept up the pressurein midfield with tackles never allowing Man U an easy time on the ball.

I though that when Duff and Gronks came on the Ranieri was going to go on a full assault, but instead of coming at Man U , Chelsea started to sit back play a few long balls up to crespo / jimmy and inviting Utd to have a go. Anyway unlike countless time before Chelsea held on , defended brilliantly (though a bit panicky at times in the last 20 mins or so) and got the 3 points.

The ref must have been a Utd fan , although he gave the penalty , pretty much every decision and booking after that was pro-united, unbelieveable inconsistency I thought.

Did they show the Tenors Unlimited / Clive Woodward on TV before the game ?

Top of the league Top of the League X 50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Ok first of all Chelsea deserved to win it. It was a penalty i reckon regardless of where Joe Cole was allegedly heading. A trip in the box is a penalty either way.

Utd had all the posession but didnt look as dangerous. Forlan was the best player on the pitch for Utd along with Ronaldo when he came on. Work rate of forlan was second to none. Phil Neville was solid too. Utd had the better of chelsea in the first 18 minutes or so. If we had capitalised then, it would have been an even better game.

Utd are not finished here by any means and will still go on and win the Premier League this year i reckon. Experience will do it for them. its so close. I can imagine Chelsea and Utd really making a gap over Arsenal making it a two horse race after Christmas simply because of their squad depth.

I said it at the beginning of the season and ill say it again, Chelsea have a better chance of winning Europe with their squad then they do the Premier League. Dont take this the wrong way Chelsea fans, i just feel the experience will show. Anyway, just an opinion represented by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Forlan was the best player on the pitch for Utd

Did you start drinking at 9 or 10 yesterday morning or something ?

fun
    ny. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Firstly well done to Chelsea. Superb performance. Played us off the pitch. I thought we lost the battle in midfield. Def penalty - what was Keane at.

As posted earlier I'm delighted with United's performance up to December. We always play better the second half of the season and with Solskjaer, Brown and Scholes to come back into the squad I'm not worried.

Forlan was the best player on the pitch for Utd [/B]

Was this person watching a different game? I thought he was shíte.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Rodney Trotter

"US?"

"WE?"

Where were you playing?

UTD are not playing well at the moment. It's a risky strategy Fergie has played time and time again, hope to be in contention at Christmas then put the boot down and go for it. It worked last season when Ars imploded but now there are 2 team ahead.

I was in OT last weekend and they were very very lucky to beat B_Burn.

This team is not good enough to win C-League and could get hit in the knockout stages early on.

Originally posted by Ronaldo7

Utd are not finished here by any means and will still go on and win the Premier League this year i reckon. Experience will do it for them. its so close. I can imagine Chelsea and Utd really making a gap over Arsenal making it a two horse race after Christmas simply because of their squad depth. .

Have you read all of the posts above criticising United because of the lack of depth they have in their squad. They are in the exact same situation as Arsenal. They both have 12 or 13 excellent players and the rest are shoddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Originally posted by Rodney Trotter
    "US?"

"WE?"

Where were you playing?

It is quite common for football supporters to refer to their teams performance as "we played well" or "it was a great result for us". BTW when you post stuff like that you just come accross as a tosser tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by Rodney Trotter
    "US?"

"WE?"

Where were you playing?

Shut the fuck up Rodney.

Originally posted by daveg
    It is quite common for football supporters to refer to their teams performance as "we played well" or "it was a great result for us". BTW when you post stuff like that you just come accross as a tosser tbh.

Ah legend reply.

Think about it, there is a reason he is not being allowed to play internationals.
    Yer but if man u havent been told not to play him i dont think they can be docked points. As they have done nothing wrong (since ferdinand mised the drugs test i mean). There has to be a reason to get docked points and to say well you shoulda known now to play him just wouldnt hold water. Man u's high priced lawyers would have a field day.
    Shut the **** up Rodney.
    indeed

Forlan played decently enough in the first 30mins, after that his touched just left him.

I think we are hugely missing Scholes, it was very evident vs Chelsea. So amny times it was screaming for an edge of the box player to hammer it but there was no one there.

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    I think we are hugely missing Scholes, it was very evident vs Chelsea. So amny times it was screaming for an edge of the box player to hammer it but there was no one there.

Couldn't agree more. That what the basis for my criticism of the midfield yesterday. When ever they got forward there was a big hole behind the strikers and midfield. Someone like Scholes would normally be there to pick up any stray balls around the edge of the box. With Fortune, Keane and Neville playing behind the front two, you are always going to be missing people up the middle in attacking positions. Then when you play the best left winger in the country out of position on top of that, you are going to be in a spot of bother. And that showed yesterday.

Seriously though, does no one else think Forlan worked his ass off?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Rodney Trotter

Anyone using the term "us" and "we" for an English, or Scottish, team when you live in a completely different country, is a tosser.

If you are on the pitch, or an actual part of the club, then, by all means, use the term "WE", otherwise keep it to yourself.

As for explaining why the terms are used? Don't bother! I know why and where it's used, and only by idiots. Listen to yourselves! Irish accents saying "We" for United or Liverpool? Pathetic.

It's a custom best served by 12 year old juveniles with delusional visions of someday actually wearing the shirt.

(I've yet to see 2_sh1ts_Jackson make sense. Keep it coming boys, some day you might even make sense.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Rodney, we have had similar discussions here before about English teams, Irish teams etc. There is no point to them because at the end of the day, what YOU say is not going to make me support a different team.

Also, Personal Abuse will not be tolerated, that goes for you too Sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

. Then when you play the best left winger in the country out of position on top of that, you are going to be in a spot of bother. And that showed yesterday.
    im sorry i thought duff was a left winger ;)

Seriously though, does no one else think Forlan worked his ass off?

To be honest he always works his socks off but is ineffectual a lot of the time as he was yesterday. He wasn't the only one that was poor yesterday, Keano and Giggs didn,t play particularly well either. I hope fergie puts giggs back in position and gives ronaldo a place as after he came on we looked better even though chelsea had settled for their 1-0 at that stage.

Originally posted by Big Ears
    im sorry i thought duff was a left winger ;)

Heh down boy!!!