Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some questions

• 29-11-1999 4:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭

Well hello,

It's been a long long time since I posted a topic but I need to know a few things, I'm still a relative newbie but I was wondering if there was a tournie for college students only. I think this would really catch on and even if the computers in the college are a bit sh!te there's usually an internet cafe fairly close to the college (I'm in Dundalk and there is even one here (heh heh)).

My second question is does anyone know of any summer night classes in Dublin that specialise in game design subjects (such as graphics, music or coding).

My third question is: I am studying computing and I was just wondering if anyone had a job offer of summer work in Dublin (in a computing related job). I am a dedicated and sometimes brilliant worker and I hate my current job (my boss think's she's the reincarnation of Hitler and it's not computer related). Unfortunately the pay is alright approx £5/hour which makes it hard to leave.

My final question is : in quake1 is there any way of getting the mouse to be on mouse look without having to hold a key or a mouse button (a la quake2 and halflife)

Thanks for your patience
    and I'll be back.

bye for now
    Baz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

I have no idea about the first 3,

But unless this is over simplistic,
    just add -

+mlook

to your cfg and exec it when you play.

J.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Lo.

+mlook at console does the mouse thing.

On the subject of work, if you are really stuck try Dell in Limerick, they pay around 4.50 - 4.70 standard but time and 1/2 for 1st 4 hours OT and doubletime after that so if you do serious weeks you can rake it in.

The SW Validation lab in Raheen in limerick is sound nuff for that, you'll nps with interview if you just say you know windows & pc hardware well enough.

G'luck.

Al.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Thanks for the tips people but I'm looking for somewhere in Dublin to work and how about a college tournie huh??

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

if you hit the tilda (~) key and drop down the consol, then you can type in +mlook and that will giove you mouse look

sense of deja vu??

oh, you can try IBM for a tech support job.
    they willhire anyone these days.
    and its 5 weeks trasining on days as well.

they need the staff, all the best [people are leaving wink.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭Skyclad

I suggested a college tourney a while back but the idea didnt catch on.

People probably want to wait till Koopa and Beast are finally thrown out smile.gif

If you want to play Trinity at any time, give me a buzz and Ill arrange a war.

Dave

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

WHAT'S DEJA VOO?

TROJAN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

ere we'll play ya dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭El_Presidente

Yeah , DCU would kick Trinity around the place.

Bring it on.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Sonic

ta fook , u know ul is full of talent!

Thought yis lads werent interested, or scared. Anyway, default all lpb league. UL, DCU, Trinity. Any other takers?

I hear maynooth post-primary are interested...

Nah theyre too good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

hey skyclad
    why don't u organize a college thingy ?
    u know u want to and youd get 12-16 players easy ?
    go on
    harVey

Well I'm pretty sure that i could get 6-12 players easily up here in dundalk. And the reason is that LAN's are great.

btw about that courses thing that i asked about.....

C'mon people can't you give me a straight answer. Do you want a college tournie or not I know I want one but I'm not playing with myself (at least not with my computer running(well at least not with quake on the screen)). Anyway thats enough of my dark past please reply and give straight answers.

bye for now
    Baz

You mock the maynooth lads but they have a crack team that has been in secret training.

You will learn to fear them with big names like...

Gerry
    The Celtic Tiger
    [9]Excelcior (yeah the rumours are true, hes been signed up)

and... ummm... well ok, they only have 3 but thats more then eneogh to put yis in your place (except DCU of course)

A college league sounds great, question is, in what game??? q3 gets my vote but if your feeling "old-school" we can play q1.

El

Thanks for the info i was afraid that would be the answer. anywhoo looks like at the moment its maynooth and dundalk up for it so how bout elsewhere or are ye all chicken

bye for now
    Baz

I don't care what game but i know for sure that the computers up here wouldn't be able to handle quake 3 so we would have to go off campus to play which is kind of a bum cos then it would cost money.

bye for now
    Baz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

With regard to your question on game design/coding courses...

To the best of my knowledge, only one game design and programming course exists in this country - the LUDO course, which is a PLc course. I think some of the guys here have done it. Seems ok, but it is only a PLC and will only give you the most basic grounding in games. You'll need more than that to break into the industry.

It doesn't do nights or summers, afaik.

In the UK there are 2 or 3 places running degrees in Computing with emphasis on games... if you're serious about it, I can reccomend the course in ABertay-Dundee (tay.ac.uk), Computer Games Technology with Virtual Environments.

I know this isn't exactly what you were looking for, but it's better than just saying "no" isn't it wink.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Guinnessman

ye ill play sonic,nicky,taz,toulouse??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,433 ✭✭✭Gerry

I would play and there are worse players
    than I (shock horror). If I can beat el pres
    on dm4 well.... soon I'll be in the big money. I can play quake1 np cos there is
    no firewall or at least it doesnt stop me playing quake. If anyone can give me a minigl for the ati rage pro ( its a dell p3 450)
    in college I can play glqw and quake3.
    (its called opengl32.dll) I cant find it anywhere on the net. I dont want links to
    full drivers cos i dont have admin. Thanks

cant play q3 from dcu.
    qw we are on for though... muhahaha

[This message has been edited by Kali (edited 03-12-1999).]

No way around the fire wall eh?

Guess we'll have to play q1 then.

Gerry, you beat me once out of literally hundreds of games. But hey, if it makes you happy...

El

No, its jusr that every now and then I feel like takin u down a peg or two. smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

is it NT drivers yer looking for, Gerry?

No I dont have admin. But there is a file
    in the windows system directory for
    the ati opengl its called opengl32.dll
    this is not on my machine
    if you put it in the q3 directory it will work
    if you find it my email is
    newfoundwealth@hotmail.com

No it doesnt work for glqw but thanks anyway. I cant put the file in windows/system directory because of no
    admin rights. I think the ati drivers look
    for the file in windows\system and not
    in the quake dir like 3dfx which I have at
    home smile.gif I'll try it with q3 soon as it d/ls

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Sonic

ya we are , we will announce our team (which will win it) as soon as the dates are organised

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Done, did that work for you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭jArgHA

Lads I'm running a P2 400 Windows NT system with an STB Velocity 128 (Riva) and Color Palette set to True Color. Whenevr I start up (small) WinQuake the colors go crazy like there's only 16 colors or something. It used to work fine a few weeks back but now I can't play a decent game against some Reapers. I've tried running the wq batch file with the 'verysafe' parameter, but it makes no difference. Can anyone point out what could be wrong ??

Cheers,
    jAH