Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd-v-Stuggart

• 09-12-2003 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭

Man Utd have quailified first in their group by beating Stuggart 2-0 in Old Trafford

Goals from RVN and Giggs sealed the victory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Good restrained tactics to contain Stuttgart ensuring they didn't get a foothold in the game.

and Scholes coming back on form after injury which is great.

Good Liverpoolesqe performance to win the table !!

Tinky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

It was really important for United to win the group as they will have a better chance of playing an easier match in round 2 since the winners of each group play the runners up.

Winners so far:
    Man Utd
    Chelsea
    Real Madrid
    AC Milan

Runners-Up So far:
    Stuttgart
    Sparta Prague
    Porto
    Celta Vigo

Take your pick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Take your pick!

Stuggart please.:) (with both legs at Old Trafford);)

Good result and performance. Great to see Giggsy and RVN builing such a good understanding of each other.

Augers well for Derby weekend,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

The Stuttgart lads didn't seem that up for it, they seemed a bit overawed by the occasion, but they are a young team, and from previous matches they look as if they'll be a very good team in a few years.

Nice to see Van Nistelrooy getting a case of the 'Ronaldo stepovers' at one point :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Great performance all round by United. Thank god Scholes is back. His distribution of the ball is superb and he holds possession as well as Keane. The thought RVN had a superb game also showing he has something to offer outside the box. His goal was very well taken as the ball was behind him.

Roll on February.....

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yeah, great team performance by United. They did what they had to do. Now we can look forward to Saturday knowing that we have a good selection of midfielders that are fully fit. My team for Saturday:

Howard

O'Shea
    G. Neville
    Ferdinand
    Silvestre

Giggs
    Ronaldo
    Keane
    Scholes

Kleberson

v. Nistelrooy

I know that Ronaldo is probably a little inexperienced for these types of games but he does give United natural width on the right, which we lacked against Chelsea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Hopefully Van N,Kleberson & Scholes can gell together - if they get passing and moving at speed it will destroy any team.

Yeah, I don't think he's ever tried out this formation before, I think he's played more of a 4-4-1-1 formation. I think that 4-3-2-1 (aka. Christmas Tree) would be far more effective, especially with the way Keane is playing at the moment. Plus its a fairly seasonal formation. ;)
    Howard

G. Neville Ferdinand Silvestre O'Shea

Ronaldo Keane Giggs

Kleberson Scholes

v. Nistelrooy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

van nistellrooy's build up tho giggs goal eas excellent and giggs took his goal extremely well great goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Tupelo

I hate to put a downer on things, but I think they gave the ball away far too easily for the first 30 minutes. Later in the competition they'll be punished for that by a team that isn't in awe of the whole old trafford experience.

Other than that though, all the usuals played great but I thought that Bellion made some fantastic runs on and off the ball.

Has anyone any thoughts on Djemba Djemba and Fortune? I think Djemba Djemba will come good in a season or two but Fortune, I just don't think he's that good.

Agreeon Djemba , I think fortun is a good squad player as he can play anywhere along the left, He was playing very well last year until injured, not as ood yet this season be he did put in some excellen performances at Left Back early on.

I agree wit your comments about giving the ball way easy last night but hopefully by the later stages the team will be more settled and thsi problem will be rectified.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Howard

Ronaldo Keane Giggs

Kleberson Scholes

v. Nistelrooy

hmm good formation but a bit unbalanced
    too many attacking players there with too much expected from keane
    id swop phil for kleberson and throw "he who dances and falls alot" up front with scholes

Originally posted by jank

Howard

Ronaldo Keane Giggs

Kleberson Scholes

v. Nistelrooy

hmm good formation but a bit unbalanced
    too many attacking players there with too much expected from keane
    id swop phil for kleberson and throw "he who dances and falls alot" up front with scholes
    yeah they may be very attacking but they also get back and defend aswell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Ro

Just back from Manchester - first time in Old Trafford. Match was very enjoyable - ref and the linesman made a few cockups in the first half. Thought Giggs, Van Nistelrooy and Fletcher played very well. Wasn't impressed by Fortune at all, he was fairly poor with the ball going forward.

I was sitting in the East stand just above the Stuttgart supporters and they didn't stop singing from the moment they got in until they left. Some of the chants they had were classics, though I don't know why they were singing Auf Wiedersen when they were loosing 2-0. After Van Nistelrooy scored he legged it into the corner and was giving them loads of abuse. They weren't impressed with that or after the second goal when the rest of the east stand started singing 'your not singing any more'. :)

Also I have to say that there seemed to be an awful lot of the prawn sandwitch merchants over in the north stand. At half time this massive section of the crowd just emptied out and it was only then I realised why there wasn't any singing coming from over there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Tupelo

Very true, I couldn't believe it when either Giggs or RVN got the ball there were boo's!!! And they were louder than the home supporters, I think the problem is that there are only a small section of the crowd know any real chants outside of "Utd" and "Ruud" and to a lesser extent "country road". Shame really. The best club deserves the best support!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

yeah i agree with the above - the suits wasting valuable space at stadiums.

i dont think, in fact i know stuttgart players weren't over-awed by the occasion. this is a team 15 games unbeaten in germany, semi-finalists last year in the uefa cup. these guys beat utd remember in stuttgart, i doubt they were fearing utd too much.

they were played at their own game and didnt know how to deal with it. utd were solid in defense and looked threatening on the attack. stuttgart tried to soak up pressure and hit on the counter but once utd went 1-0 up, they didnt know what to do. giggs and van nistelrooy were class, the rest did allright.

scholes didnt do much, lacked sharpness, needs a few more games. fletcher was average, worked hard and never stopped running but needs to hold onto the ball more and pass it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Tupelo
    I think the problem is that there are only a small section of the crowd know any real chants outside of "Utd" and "Ruud" and to a lesser extent "country road". Shame really. The best club deserves the best support!!

Ever heard of Pete Boyle?

Regardless of team bias, i find most terrace songs hillarious. It was nice to hear the xmas cantona one getting an outing last night ( the best thing about the game tbh :) )

The Solksjar/shearer one is my Number 1 but there are some class chants at most grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Originally posted by The Muppet
    The Solksjar/shearer one is my Number 1 but there are some class chants at most grounds.

yeah, best one has to go to the utd supporters against rangers at old trafford-" so f**king easy, this is so f**kn easy......"
    just rubbin it in, rangers fans wouldnt have liked that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭James R

Fortune isn't great going forward but he's still a valuable asset. Against Blackburn he was man-of-the-match. Last night wasn't great (maybe he's not equipped for the Champions League or maybe it was just an off night?).

Djemba Djemba will come good. He was out for a number of weeks cause he was looking after his sick mum in Africa so all in all he has had very little time to settle.

"solskjear my ole solskjaer
    you keep scoring when skys are gray
    alan shearer who fuc king needs him
    so please dont my solskjaer away"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

http://www.footballchants.org/

Try this site !:D :D

Tinky

LOL... I haven't heard this version of "Keano's magic" before...

"Oh, Keanos fucking magic, he wears a magic hat
    And when he saw McCarthy, he said 'you fucking twat'
    You only played for Millwall, and City coz your shite,
    I play for man united and im fucking dynamite!"

i never heard that one either excellent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 utopio

Yes the VFB had too much fear from such a big name as Manchester and they are in a small crisis now. Sadly they only seemed to have the power for running with 50 % in the last weeks.
    But I was very disappointed of the Manchester fans, are they allways that quiet. Well ManU maybe has the best team but Stuttgart the best fans :). Even singing when they are loosing and staying peacefully all the time, we at least should get the "best and friendliest fans" award. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

i thought the scottish fans would be better than them germans but ive never experienced either so i cant say i know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 utopio

The scottish are great!! But here the VFB showed what great fans they have. Well that's the price for so much success, nobody is happy about a 2:0 anymore, no atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

I never been to Old Trafford but im told that a lot of the fans are day trippers which dont help the atmosphere none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I was there last year for the match against Newcastle got loud every so often but Newcastle fan's were nearly louder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭James R

Yeah haven't been in Old Trafford for a few months now but something I noticed in recent times while watching utd games on tv is that when utd score you can hear the away supporters booing louder than you can hear the home support shouting.
    Very weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

"Oh, Keanos fucking magic, he wears a magic hat
    And when he saw McCarthy, he said 'you fucking twat'
    You only played for Millwall, and City coz your shite,
    I play for man united and im fucking dynamite!"

Roy Keano - Oh oh
    Roy Keano - Oh oh oh oh
    He cost 6 million quid
    He scored for real madrid