Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(java) interfaces problem.

Options
  • 15-12-2003 11:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭

Hi, I'm having a problem with interfaces in java. I've never written my own before, and we didn't cover em much when we were learning java last year.

Basically I'm trying to write like a clock so that I can use it in simple game that i'm working on. I've written a clock class that runs in it's own thread, as well as a ClockListener (the interface in question). I wanted the clock to have an interval and every time that interval ran out, it'd call the objects that were listening to the clock, that way the objects could do things on a regular basis, such as move an enemy etc. I wrote an interface that the clock listeners would have to implement, that way i'd know that the method clockInterval() would exist. I wanted the clock to call clockInterval() to tell the object that the clock had 'chimed'.

In writing the clock definition, i just called all of it's listeners Objects (keep it general right), but when I try to call the clockInterval() method while in the Clock, it says that Object doesn't have that method. How can I force all objects that are set to listen to the clock to have to implement ClockListener? When I just write ClockListener[] listeners; it says that the class ClockListener doesn't exist. I'm in new territory here.

The clock interval interface
    public interface ClockListener {
    	public void clockInterval(); 
    }

The clock class.
    public class Clock extends Thread {
    	//The number of millisencond between the calls to the Clock listeners.