Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Irishman jokes?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭TheSonOfBattles

Originally posted by Paddy20
    BioHazRd,

Quote you: " Paddy20, you still can't answer my question from the other thread, so why are you going to campaign when you can't answer a simple question that relates so closely to said campaign ?." end quote.

Exactly what "campaign " are you on about ?..

If you'd bothered to look back you'd see that it was me was asking that Paddy20. By your campaign I was refer you to....
    Many years ago. 'Paddy Jokes', were declared as racist and illegal in England. IMHO the same rule should be applied to this useless claptrap on Boards.ie ?..

P.:ninja:

and your constant campaign to get these banned off boards.ie.

And i'll ask the question again, just to make sure you remember it clearly: If something is meant to be funny, if people (sane people) do laugh at it, and its said in a humourous place, how can it be racist? Everyone that hears it knows the teller has nothing against said people (in this case he's one of said people ffs) so, where is the racism?

I asked 3 or 4 times in one night, and you were the only person replying yet you avoided the question outright, which is why i'm curious for an answer.

I think you'll have to agree this strikes close to the heart of the matter, and that if you can't answer it, your asking these jokes to be banned is pointless.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

ecksor,

Quote: " Since the question of nationality is the issue here and isn't actually crucial to the jokes. I suggest that we drop the nationality from any further jokes and merely number the various Paddys. " end quote.

If the Moderators of this forum agree with your suggestion. Then I am more than happy with that. As long as nationality is not included. There will be no objections/arguements or "formal complaints" from this real life Irish resident citizen who happened to be christened Patrick.

Grand so. If BioHazRd is happy with that then he can sticky something mandating the numbering convention that I suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Paddy, ecksor's point is that there is no difference in the joke if you start it with "Paddy Belgianman, Paddy Swissman and Paddy Isrealiman go into bar....". Is that more acceptable to you?
    Just like his numbering convention (:p) it's generally agreed, and thought of, that they're just 3 random guys. Their nationality is irrelevant.

There is such a thing as being too politically correct and a humourless git Paddy20. :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Don't be putting words in my mouth now, I'm just trying to find labels that nobody could find offensive.

The main character from that XIII game ain't best pleased with your idea ecksor from what I hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

TheSonOfBattles,

Ok, I will try and answer your question. While those posting material of the type that I personally find offensive may not intentionally have set out to cause offence.

The simple fact is that it is offensive, and posters should consider that possible readers are Irish citizens still living in the UK where this type of material was used by the British to demoralise the Irish living in their midst. This is why it was criminalised.

When Boards posters resort to posting the same type of material on this humour forum. Then yes I believe it causes unwarranted offence to many Irish citizens in Ireland and abroad.

If you do not or can not understand this. Then you have been brainwashed, and that is your problem.

That is my final comment on this particular issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

That is my final comment on this particular issue.
    Wanna bet?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I lived in England and did find sometimes that if a group of my workmates started telling “Paddy” jokes or “what’s an Irishman’s latest invention?” jokes I would get offended if they kept on going.
    Personally I’ve never liked the Jokes because of this.
    No mater what people say about it being a joke if you’re offending someone and changing the joke slightly will keep it funny but not offend then why not do it?

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dwayneburke

I understand what your saying Doc...and agree with your view to some point....but what I dont get what is wrong with "Irish people telling them to other Irish people" ....There is no way i would get offended,,,,I only get offended if they are crap jokes with a weak punchline...

BTW did ya hear the one about the Englishmans latest invention.........????:p :):p

I agree with dwayneburke on this one. If a load of english people set out to tell them in front of an Irish person to annoy/discriminate him, then obviously its wrong. But this is Irish people telling it to Irish people, so where's the harm.

Oh, and my god paddy20 your full of some load. I'm brainwashed now apparantly! HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHa, best laugh i've had in here today. Who did it exactly? THE EVIL ENGLISHMAN IS IT? Newsflash, the english aren't and never were evil, a few were greedy and ordered hostilities toward our small nation as part of empire building, thats it. Most English people were and and still are grand people. Who brainwashed me then? My parents maybe? My god your a muppet of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Anyways,
    Back to the business at hand:

Paddy18, Paddy19 and Paddy20 walk into a bar. The barman turns to them and says "Is this some sort of joke?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

This is unbelievable... I think Paddy20's trolling. There's no way somebody can be so rediculous. Why not just lay the butt of the joke on Paddy Englishman? That's what I do anyway.

joke ( P ) Pronunciation Key (jk)
    n.
    Something said or done to evoke laughter or amusement, especially an amusing story with a punch line.
    A mischievous trick; a prank.
    An amusing or ludicrous incident or situation.
    Informal.
    Something not to be taken seriously; a triviality: The accident was no joke.
    An object of amusement or laughter; a laughingstock: His loud tie was the joke of the office.

Cop on Paddy20... can you imagine if the mods insisted we start numbering the Paddys in the jokes rather than assigning a nationality. Talk about PC!

Yeah I'd find it offensive if a bunch of English guys were telling them to annoy me, but fúck it. I always thought one of the Irish's greatest traits was the ability to laugh at ourselves and not take ourselves too seriously. Paddy20, ye sound like an aul wan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

The day Irish people can't take the piss out of themselves because of legislation will be a sad day.

You're a thick, Paddy20. That's just my opinion, and no matter how many links to a another countries laws you post, I won't think otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Originally posted by ecksor
    Don't be putting words in my mouth now, I'm just trying to find labels that nobody could find offensive.

What about Android 18 off Dragonball Z, she might take offense!

Oh and Btw paddy, you seem to be misinterpreting jokes of which you are the butt, as people supporting you. well done

:confused: - Paddy20 (clueless)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Paddy Englishman, Paddy Irishman and Paddy Scotsman were @ the Olympics but didn't have any tickets and couldn't get into the stadium to watch so Paddy Englishman smiles at the other two, picks up a manhole cover and sez, "I don't know about you, but all I need is this to get inside." The other two don't believe him, but walk up behind him to the front of the building where Paddy Englishman declares;
    "Patrick Smith, England- discus!"
    To the astonishment of the other two Paddy Englishman is left inside.

Well having seen this Paddy Scotsman spies a long wooden pole and decides to try his luck; "Patraik McAngus! Scohtlahnd! Pole jumpin'!"
    Once again he was admitted.

Paddy Irishman, now all alone begun to wrack his brains trying to come up with a way to get inside. Finally, beside a nearby construction site he spies a roll of barbed wire which he picks up, marches towards the front and proclaims that he is:
    "Paddy Murphy sir! For Ireland- fencin'!"

so crap but I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

LOL,very good:D

Thank You for finnaly getting back to the jokes

Paddy Englishman, Paddy Irishman and Paddy scotsman are in a theme park when they see a slide. it's a bit small, so they wonder what its doing here. Then they notice this toothless old man standing next to it. They ask him what the deal is with the slide and he says to them

"This is a magic slide. Whatever you say before you go down it you will land in a huge vat of"

So paddy englishman goes up the slide, shouts "GOLD!" and sure enough, he slides down into a giant vat of gold.

Then paddy scotsman climbs up, shouts "WHISKEY!" and lo and behold theres a huge vat of whisky, which he slides head first into.

Then Paddy Irishman gets his turn, so he's standing on the top of the slide, trying to think of what he wants, when suddenly he slips, and as he's falling he shouts

"SHÍT!"

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

lol,old but still good

Keep'em comin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

brilliant! keep em coming, nothing like a good Paddy joke

Paddy English man, Paddy Irishman and Paddy fat man are in a plane. Suddenly they hear an announcement that the plane is about to crash into a volcano where everyone will suffer a slow and tortourous death. The pilot also ads that there are no parachutes and thanks them for flying ryanair

After much delibaration they decide to just end their lives quickly by jumping out of the plane

Paddy Englishman jumps out and shouts "GOD BLESS THE QUEEN!"

Paddy Irishman jumps out and shouts "GOD BLESS THE TAOISEACH!"

Paddy Fat Man jumps out and shouts "GOD BLESS WHOEVER THE FÚCK I LAND ON!"

Now tell me paddy20, do you find that racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

It's "Weightist"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Heres a couple of prezzies:-

1; www.insultmonger.com

2; www.brawl-hall.com

These two websites cater for all types/tastes of questionable humour !.

ga ga goo goo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Flashman

Well done paddy20, your links have won back the respect and goodwill of your peers.

I can't believe paddy20's rediculously hyper-pc comments were entertained at all, and not immediately recognised as trolling.

[Edit] and I can not even begin to conceive how you can crusade to protect us against the "racist and illegal" paddy jokes, and then link to porn.

i dont think hes actually trolling , just very thick in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

Ok, this has been done to death now - time to lock it.

Bio