Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi Dvd burner going for 130 quid

• 04-01-2004 1:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭

I taught this thread should get a mention in the Bargain forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Its a cloned Pioneer 06 allegedly. Good value.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭violenza

This tread suggests that you can't upgrade the firmware, you might need to use babel fish to translate...any ideas???

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?threadid=82116&highlight=medion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

flashman at rpc1.org has made a tool that can apparently flash any OEM pioneer drive (i.e Asus, Teac, Medion etc) to the "real" pioneer firmware.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭violenza

Yep...looks good.

Thanks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭acid

overclockers.co.uk has an 8x speed writer for about €120 (+ delivery)

MSI DR8-A 8x DVD±R/±RW

8x DVD+R writing / 4x DVD+RW rewriting
    4x DVD-R writing / 2x DVD-RW rewriting / 12x DVD-ROM reading
    40x CD-R writing / 24x CD-RW rewriting / 40x CD-ROM reading
    BURN-Proof™ prevents buffer underrun and minimizes recording failures
    Supported over-burn feature
    Supported 99 (870MB) or 90min (800MB) CD-R disc
    Supported 8cm or 12cm disc diameter
    2MB internal buffer
    Firmware upgradeable

Its only 8x for +R discs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭mayto

the nec 2500a dvd burner (bulk) writes 8x for+/- r and 4x +/- rw and svp are sellling it for 168 euro incl. delivery http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk/acatalog/Hardware_Section__.html from today,the 6th. waiting for info off oc-freak on cdfreaks.com about it before i buy one as pioneer a07 with same specs is out in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭viking

On page 18 of the Irish Sun today, there is a full page ad for Aldi but the price of the DVD burner is 199.99 Euro??

Can anyone confirm the correct price?

viking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Roshomon

Well the price on the Aldi specials leaflet is 130 so thats more than likely correct.

And anyways 199.99 would hardly be a good price for this burner seeing as you can pick up the Pioneer A06 for about 155 delivered from UK.

Rosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Originally posted by viking
    On page 18 of the Irish Sun today, there is a full page ad for Aldi but the price of the DVD burner is 199.99 Euro??

The web site sayes EUR 129.99 and has done so for some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭an_taoiseach

Would one of you give Aldi in Sandyford a call tomorrow and point out the error ?

I have found them to be very approachable. ( Dont fall off your chair ) - they may even thank you for pointing this out.

I'd do it myself but I'm travelling for most of tomorrow :(

An T

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

So is this offer still worth getting? Is it confirmed as a Pioneer 106 rather than "it looks like one kinda"? I wants me a burner...

Aldi in Parnell Street had 8 dvd burners available! Eight !!!

I was in the first 15 and was pretty sure that I would be able to get one. They took people's names and phone numbers in case they were able to get anymore but I won't hold my breath.

Eight!!!

Jaysus, what a waste of an hour...

PS. They only had about 3 external Hard Disks available....

viking

Bo77ocks! I was going to send Father down at lunch time to pick one up for me! Well if they're gone already, he may as well not bother. Thanks for letting us know.
    Dabsdirect, here I come!

Arghhhh..I also wasted an hour of my life!
    An hour I could have been sleeping.
    And I was late for work!!

Eight is not enough damnit!!

Rosh

Rosh,

Was this at the store in Parnell Street?

viking

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Aldi in Ballincollig was cleared out as well - I went there for the HDD (which I got) , was about 7th in the queue and I noticed that the burners were nearly all gone.. when I left there was one still there...

Originally posted by viking
    Rosh,

Was this at the store in Parnell Street?

viking

Yup, i think i was talking to you but i could be mistaken!

For all those that missed out on the burner you can get the Pioneer A06 at dabs.co.uk for €123 before delivery. If you know someone in NI delivery is fairly cheap there.

Also, hopefully the Pioneer A06 will drop in price as i read somewhere that the A07 is on its way :D

rosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

is there anywhere online that has a similar external hard drive at around the same price? i had a look around myself and came up with nothing. my dad wanted to get one, so went up to coolock for 8am but went down the wrong side of the aisle. by the time got to the other side they were all gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭ozmo

Originally posted by carrotcake
    is there anywhere online that has a similar external hard drive at around the same price? i had a look around myself and came up with nothing. my dad wanted to get one, so went up to coolock for 8am but went down the wrong side of the aisle. by the time got to the other side they were all gone!

Maplin have a USB2.0 External Hardisk box. You just pop in an IDE drive.
    I think it was about 45 euros in the Christmas sales.

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭oneweb

Yep, couldn't believe when I heard the security guy at the Parnell Street branch sayin' they only had _8_ burners! Also that they only had _3_ HDs (but I didn't want one of those so that didn't matter) I foolishly let some smelly oul' fella in front of me thinkin he wanted a bargain shoe holder or somethin. Turns out he wanted a burner and a HD :O (ever so naive, ever so polite - I've gotta cop on and get mean. Grrrrr).

So they took names. I got the manager to check Coolock but they had also run out. Their numbers are ex-directory fyi, manager wouldn't give the number of any store :(

You'd think they wouldn't bother advertising them in the mainstream papers when they're only gonna get 8 ffs :rolleyes:

Recognised at least one face from boards.

Wonder how many burners/hds the staff availed of???...

It is what it's.

I got one of the burners from Aldi carlow this morning. Apparently they only had six in stock.

There are 11 Aldi stores in Ireland. If each store had 8 drives available to the public then that makes 88 drives in total for the whole of Ireland!

What a pathetic "promotion"....
    I got one of the burners from Aldi carlow this morning. Apparently they only had six in stock.
    Ah, you must work in Aldi so.... ;)

viking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

I missed out aswell, its a wee bit of a nasty marketing trick imo. The dvd burner offer was probably designed to get people into the shop so they would buy other products aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Dabs HAH!

UKP 105 + UKP 30 delivery (and out of stock)

Blankdiskshop

UKP 84 + UKP 15 Deliver (out of stock too but have a look at the whole list)

http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk/acatalog/Hardware_Section__.html

Originally posted by Muck
    Dabs HAH!

UKP 105 + UKP 30 delivery (and out of stock)

Blankdiskshop

UKP 84 + UKP 15 Deliver (out of stock too but have a look at the whole list)

http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk/acatalog/Hardware_Section__.html

Umm that's the Pioneer 106 for that price whereas the Dabs one is the Pioneer A06. Dabs sell the Pioneer 106 for 85 sterling here
    So what's the difference between the two models?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭oneweb

Originally posted by ixoy
    So what's the difference between the two models?
    One's Retail boxed (A06), one's OEM (106).

It is what it's.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Paul007

I missed out in Aldi today aswell.
    No sooner had the doors opened the damn things were gone.

I'd buy one online but I haven't got a credit card.
    Does anyone know any sites that accept other methods of payment?

Originally posted by oneweb
    One's Retail boxed (A06), one's OEM (106).
    So essentially the only difference is some software [already have Nero 6] and a couple of cables [easy to pick up]? That's the sole difference?