Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitzwilliam Thursday 15th

• 12-01-2004 11:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭

I should be going along to this on thursday again, lots of fun after last thursday, I'll be bringing along 2 n00bs with me so there's fresh meat for any boardsters going.

Again I should we in Fireworks for some food and some pool from about 6pm before going to the Fitzwilliam for about 9 ish.

Anyone joining me?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Well I'm a gluton for punishment, so I'll be there

Hyzepher

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I'll be there with 2 friends from work. Might not make fireworks though so I'll see you folks there.

Originally posted by musician
    I'll be there with 2 friends from work. Might not make fireworks though so I'll see you folks there.

How did you do last time - did we meet?

Hyzepher

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Went out with about 2 tables left I think. My Aces beaten by Dapper's Q5 drawn to a set of 5s. The cheek. We didn't meet unfortunately so I'll look out for you next time. I think I may have been on your table at the start before being moved over to Mr. Pudding's table who said "Do you mind if I ask you a weird question?". I knew what was coming next :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

we should all get tattoos of Dev's face on the back of our hands so we can identify other boardsters :D

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Obscure

Couldn't find it on any of the posts but is the betting in Fitzwilliam pot limit or no-limit? Hope to make it on thursday.

Ob'

no limit iirc,

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

i shall see you all there again this week and i'll try and make fireworks again since i missed that last time.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

can hardly wait

..seriously

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

I'll try my utmost to make it this time.

I think I'll bring a spare shirt.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Yeah I should be there again this week am trying to get one or two others to come along aswell. Looking forward to seeing you all

• Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by musician
    Went out with about 2 tables left I think. My Aces beaten by Dapper's Q5 drawn to a set of 5s. The cheek.
    Sorry about that! My stack was big and I was feeling reckless, I knocked someone out earlier in the night who had gone all in on a AK suited with a Q5 suited so I was feeling lucky.

I got found out eventually though.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Obscure

Is there any dress code at all in Fitzwilliam? Dont want to turn up in runners just to get turned away!!!

Ob'

runners and jeans is grand, think I saw some people last week in tracksuit bottoms,
    but there's no dresscode really, its all quite laid back and the staff are very friendly and approachable for any questions you might have

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

I'm more than likely going to turn up tonight. However, I don't think I will be able to stay long enough to play, but I do want to pop in for a look.
    I'll be the guy peering annoyingly over everyone's shoulder. ;)

Out of curiousity, do they have bouncers on the door?;)

Yep - well bouncers in a nice way.

If you join up - you will need to to gain access - they give you a free bet - you never know you might get lucky at the blackjack table - stay clear of the roulette.

Hyzepher

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭dapope

I've never been to the Fitzwilliam, i'd love to go sometime. I'm based in Limerick :( Next time i'm overnight in Dublin i plan on going. Keep an eye out for me, i'll be the one takin all your chips :p

How many placings are there in the tournaments at the Fitzwilliam? 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th? How much do they usually take home?

What a night, must say was fantastic was sitting beside Mr Pudding until the final table and were joined by hyzepher aswell.

Won one of the seats as did a friend I brought with me so the 2 of us had big smiles on our faces in the car on the way home unlike our driver who lost at around 12 and waited 2 1/2 hours to drive us home, at least it was worth the wait.

Crazy hand of the night had to be, holding a pair of 6's bit of betting flop throws out 3 5's myself and a girl go all in she has pair of 10's so is leading, 4th card shows nothing and river throws up a 6 for me to win with a house of 6's and 5's I think.

Also I really enjoyed the fact that I beat the last player to get the final 4.

Heres something else weird I got the 10 clubs something like 7 times and won 5 hands with it, threw it away once and folded it late once.

GO 10 CLUBS
    10a.gif

Originally posted by gerire
    Won one of the seats as did a friend I brought with me so the 2 of us had big smiles on our faces in the car on the way home

Well done - you were playing well when I joined up.

Didn't do too badly myself but not as well as I would have liked (Obviously) - came 10th. Played well up to the point I moved tables and then I went a bit cold - there is an advantage when you dont need to move tables as you have a good idea about how the other players play on your tables after an hour or two - when you move you need to start all over again.

Hyzepher

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Had a great night meself. Was a bit worried that the previous week was beginners luck. I think I went out in 7th. I know I played a lot of hands which I should not have but I was playing a bit loose on the basis that I already have the seat in the big game.

Roll on next week!

MrP

Not one of my better poker nights by a long shot.
    €50 down for buy-ins and top-up, things got a bit better after the freeze-out.
    My best hand all night was a flush on the flop, apart from that it was high pairs, think I got trips once.
    I had AA and then KK, one got nailed by a straight on the turn and river, the other got done by three 6's on the river.

On the second last table with Hyzepher and Mr pudding, my stack was dwindling away so I had to risk going just about all-in on A-9 with A-7-7 on the table. A guy to my right had KK in his hand so I had a slight lead, but fair play to him for staying in he got another K on the turn.

Again very enjoyable, but should really be more careful when I'm on my second buy-in 6 hands in.

Some poor guy, Ross, I think, got nailed when the dealer messed up and didn't see that one other person still had cards when she was pushing the chips to Ross. Ross mucked his cards but had to give up the pot to the guy that the dealer missed. Trimmed his stack by half.

On the second last table with Hyzepher and Mr pudding,

Did you join from upstairs? Cause I was sitting in between Mr Pudding and Hyzepher...

yep, joined from upstairs to the table next to ye, then moved to keep numbers even.
    Was sitting the far end from yourself, beside the chinese guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭jArgHA

when ye say the winners get free seats to the €250 night, is this night a winner takes all, ie. €250 ?

also do u actually win any cash on the thursday nights if u make it to the last table ?

Originally posted by jArgHA
    when ye say the winners get free seats to the €250 night, is this night a winner takes all, ie. €250 ?
    dunno, I'm sure theres a hefty cash prize, but the casino will always take its cut before giving the remainder as prizes.
    Originally posted by jArgHA
    also do u actually win any cash on the thursday nights if u make it to the last table ?
    the free satellite tournaments have no cash prizes, only free entrys to the €250 end of month game, sometimes they'll have a prize of some cash towards buying yourself a ticket for the €250 game, that depends on how much money they get from buy-ins though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

The final Thursday of the month is the €250 entry game + €20 for registration. Winners of tickets don't have to pay this money. I was talking to that old lad Jim lad night, he came something like 7th in last week's 250 and won €500 he's wife came 5th she got €2000. I think the winner took about €13,000. He said it was a very good turn out that night so the bigger the field the more money in the prize fund. I'll be seeing you other ticket winners in the final. I was suprised how young the final table was last night. The last time I got to the final table about a month ago the average age was about 45.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

geeez.. i'd definitely **** myself playing for that kindof cash.
    13,000!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Now that I think about it €13,000 seems abit high but that's what Jim said. There must have been a really big field for a prize like that.

Originally posted by Davey Devil
    I was suprised how young the final table was last night. The last time I got to the final table about a month ago the average age was about 45.

TBH I think the influx of boards.ie has greatly increased the attendance at this freeroll events - and brought down the average age. I was talking to a dealer last night and he said that he has never seen so many noobs in the last two weeks.

Hyzepher

Originally posted by Davey Devil
    Now that I think about it €13,000 seems abit high but that's what Jim said. There must have been a really big field for a prize like that.
    4 full tables of ten people x (250+20 registration) = €10800
    5 tables = €13500, maybe it'd be that the full prize fund is around €13k?
    Hyzpeher: I think the influx of boards.ie has greatly increased the attendance at this freeroll events
    there's been about 10 boards people the last 2 weeks or so, more if you count friends of boardsters